2019
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1318 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CL
Carol L.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/02/2019
back up camera and front camera
We are very disappointed in the camera system that is on this 2019 Tucson Ultimate. We have owned three other Hyundai vehicles that have had cameras and they have been very clear. This one is so bad that at night you cannot make out anything as you are backing up or pulling forward. The service dept. ordered a new camera and it is just as bad. They really do not know what the problem is and are trying to please us. If I had had any idea how blurry this camera was I would never have purchase this vehicle. In fact the next time our lease is up and we need to get another vehicle, I will definitely make sure that the camera system is producing a clear picture. I cannot believe that Hyundau would install a camera like this in their upscale Tucson model. As for the rest of the vehicle we are very happy with it.

Pros
The entire vehicle is a 9 or 10

Cons
The cameral system we would rate as a 1. It could actually cause an accident or worse strike a pedestrian who may be walking behind the car. I still would recommend this vehicle but would warn buyers that the camera system leaves a lot to be desired.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
STANLEY G.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/22/2019
From Another World
This car is designed by engineers from another world. They have no idea what a good car is. The locks and locking system are ridiculous. The key is big, heavy and not waterproof. The glove compartment is not lockable. Only one exterior key hole for four doors plus the hatch? What were they thinking? The doors unlock when shifting into park. What is the idea of this. This is a very dangerous feature and I would like to disable it. Radio staying on with key off until the door is opened is ridiculous. Do not like this either. No parking brake lever??

Pros
Cheap, decent ride, good handling.

Cons
Small noisy engine, very dark interior, poor locks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Diana B.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/30/2019
Horrible remote start
Fair warning- you do not get a key fob remote - and the blue link remote start makes your parking lights flash contantly until you are inside it. Would not have purchased this car had i known. Horrible to wake neighbors just by remote starting your car. Apparently has been a complaint for many years that the company ignores. Turning parking lights on would be fine- but flashing is irritating to everyone around.

Pros
Rides nice with lots of nice features

Cons
Horrible horrible xperience with remote start- might as well not have it, as it doesnt just flash the lights to let you know it worked- it keeps flashing them until you are in the car- wakes neighbors and renders it virtually unusable with no way of disarming that part of the function.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Alex W.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/05/2019
Tucson Value
I test drove the Hyundai Tucson Value with 2.0 engine. I didn't feel secure driving the vehicle because it didn't handle well. The salesman told me that this was due to the lane assistant feature, but I doubt this was the cause. I will be looking at other vehicles in the same class.

Pros
Not to big, not too small

Cons
Bad handling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NANCY K.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/31/2019
Excellent visibility and safety features
I bought this car for the excellent visibility and the safety features. I've driven for a month, slightly under 900 miles, and I am quite pleased with my choice. This survey is three pages too long. I'm done.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOSE S.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/29/2019
Do not recommend
There are too many standard features missing for a Limited model. There is too much emphasis on the screen and applications that will never be used. Would not recommend this car. This is my fourth consecutive Hyundai Limited and very disappointed on the 2019 Tucson Limited.

Pros
None.

Cons
Too much emphasis on applications.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Troy K.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/13/2019
Defective rear window.
The rear window glass had a blurry spot from the factory. New window was installed with a blur in different spot. The dealer told me to call Hyundai customer service. They said they could not do anything and told me to take it back to the dealer it was their problem to deal with. This is my fourth new Hyundai in four years and probably my last.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Brandon M.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/10/2019
Find a good dealer
Our new car had roof trim come loose withing the first weekend of having the car.. The car lugs when cold idles rough at cold start. our crash avoidance went bad. Dealer service is the worst i have ever delt with..

Pros
good looking car.

Cons
our dealer is the worst.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Caroline G.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/07/2020
$800 bill in first month of owning car
My husband and I purchased a 2019 Tucson one month ago. After owning a 2007 Hyundai Tucson for 12 years without any major problems we were excited to own another. About, a week ago, all of the lights on the dashboard came on and one of the headlights were out. Come to find out that the wire coverings and the wires underneath our car were all chewed by rodents (most likely squirrels). In newer models Hyundai is covering wires with soy and plant based proteins, as opposed to the plastic wirings that are currently in my 2007 model. Hyundai and our dealer failed to inform us of this potential issue as they are familiar with this problem (a 2017 class action lawsuit regarding this issue was dropped). This problem is not covered by warranty. Neither Hyundai or our dealership offered us any compensation for this damage so now we have a $800 bill on a car with less than 1,000 miles. This is unacceptable and I'd like to know what Hyundai is doing about this to prevent future Hyundai owners from dealing with the same problem. I'm all for more environmentally conscious measures but when it is exposed to wildlife, common sense must prevail. We are very unhappy and will not be referring any friends or family to Hyundai.

Pros
Comfortable

Cons
Plant based wire coverings

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
TRAVIS G.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/08/2020
Poor Craftsmanship and Underhanded Business Practices - Very Dissatisfied
We purchased a new 2019 Tuscon in December 2019. Three weeks later the dashboard is lit up, driver's side headlight is out, and multiple warnings on the dashboard display screen - check blind spot detection sensor and check front collision sensor. I took the car to the dealership to be informed that there was rodent damage to a wiring harness and left rear wheel sensor totaling $879. First, this damage could have already been in the car from the dealership! Its 3 weeks old with less than 700 miles. We have a 2007 Tuscon we love that sits in the same driveway with no damage. Second, Hyundai began using soy/plant based materials in its wiring components over the last few years, resulting in an increase in frequency of this type of damage. Just google it for yourself. There was a class action lawsuit in 2017 for this very issue, which Hyundai settled out of court. Hyundai USA and the dealer failed to inform me about this potential problem. I would have gladly spent $100 - $200 on preventative measures had they simply informed a repeat consumer. Instead I'm left with an almost $900 repair bill on a new car. Very disappointing way to treat consumers, whether the damage was already present or by failing to simply inform. I do not trust this company and do not recommend you buy from Hyundai.

Pros
Top safety ratings

Cons
Shady business practices - failure to inform consumers, then take no responsibility for damage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/09/2020
Allow us to reopen the case we had with you and review your concern once more. Please expect a call shortly from our specialist. Thank you. ^cc

VK
Victor K.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/11/2020
Still cant fix transmission slippage and locking
An ongoing problem that hasn't been fixed in 4 years and is a threat to the safety of my family. When accelerating. Transmission locks in 3rd gear, when traveling at higher speeds, transmission slips back to 3rd gear... Technicians fix was to set the idle at a higher rpm, 3000. Now the engine runs harder, louder, fuel consumption is compromised, and I still have the same problems with the transmission

Cons
Trsnsmission, technicians inability to do major repairs dependant on comouter and creating newer ones

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 01/13/2020
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

PG
Paula G.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/19/2020
Not Happy with Hyundai
I purchased a new vehicle and had more problems than ever with any of my used vehicles. Hyundai handled me terribly and I will NEVER work with or purchase from them again. I was overcharged for a vehicle that turned out to be terrible
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jean H.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/19/2019
For a new vehicle it should have more options
I have always wanted a Tucson and now afer owning one for only 3 weeks I am sorry I purchased it. It doesn't even have a cd player in it. And the back up camera shows the vehicle to appear wider than it actually is. This vehicle is a great one but I just got a lemon.

Pros
Rear wiper blade, comfortable seats, cargo mat, cargo net

Cons
No cd player, faulty transmission, rear body is wider than front.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jean H.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/19/2019
Nice looking vehicle but
What a beautiful looking vehicle. Great paint job. Not well made. Very flimsy parts. Not happy with all the issues. With a new vehicle should not have any issues. Still waiting to hear from corporate.

Pros
Lane assist. Rear parking camera

Cons
No cd player. No compass. No gps unless u plug in phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jamie O.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/20/2019
Very slow pick up
Does not have push start or proximity sensor. Extremely slow pick up. Lane assist has pulled me into turn lanes when I’m not turning. Almost causing an accident. When I purchased it I though I had push start , I do not. Was promised a full tank of gas for having to come back since the “new” vehicle has a scratch on the bumper , they had to fix. Never received my full tank of gas. Vehicle idles rough, vibrates when stopped. I had a Genesis prior to this vehicle , zero trouble with it. Just not happy with this vehicle. Dislikes outweighing the likes on the Tucson. If I could trade this car for another Hyundai I would. This vehicle and the whole purchase has left a bad taste in my mouth. I’ve had 3 Hyundai’s now and have been very pleased. It’s unfortunate that I’m not having a great experience with this purchase unlike all the others.

Cons
Very slow pick up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
Cassandra V.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/02/2019
Poor power and shifting problems
Very dissapointed with my recent vehicle purchase. It has little power and shift irratically at times down shifting from a higher gear causing high RPMs. It also has trouble catching speed when getting on the freeway or going up a hill.

Pros
Entertainment and safety features.

Cons
Low power, gear shifts are not smooth and at times irratic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Gay P.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/01/2019
Sales and Finance Not as expected or told
I had an 2017 Elantra and needed to increase size to transport grandkids so I inquired about an SUV when having service on the Elantra. I was shown the big SUV but too big. The Tucson was described as much like the Elantra with all the simililar features. The SUV does not have a sport feature so it is sluggish to move if needed to move swiftly. It does not have the same radio system or capabilities.plus it gets worse gas mileage. It really doesn't provide as much room for kids even and the storage for bookbags is less than the trunk. I also financed it with Hyundai and was told I would get a better rate than before but did not. I owed only $ 11500 on my Elantra with a 256 payment and now owe $ 29,000 with a payment of $ 420. I feel like I gave my car back for nothing in return and still making payments on it. Two months now and not getting any easier to stomach. I will try a bank financing to see if I can do better on the payment situation or even just the stone out of my stomach by trading the Hyundai and calling it all another sad car dealership story and join a support group with others in my neighborhood who warned me.

Pros
Reliable and will park in a standard size spot

Cons
too many to list

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Ellen G.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/19/2019
The SEL liftgate is horrible
The lift gate is impossible to raise and lower. It raises too high and it extremely heavy to lower. I am short and am an older woman and it is mostly unuseable. I don’t recommend this SEL version at all

Cons
The liftgate is horrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
DANIEL R.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/03/2019
Tucson SEL
Probably an adequate vehicle for a certain buyer segment. Not a piece of crap but should be better for the price point. However, I think you get better quality, function and less gimmick pricing with Honda. Really just wanted 2nd vehicle for errands and such. The savings stepping down form Honda to Hyundai is not beneficial in the long run. I guess the old adage holds true, You only get what you pay for!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Carlton R.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/19/2019
Not the best Hyundai I ever owned
If you are looking for a stylish car, this is it. If you are looking for a solid build, this vehicle is not it. In my experience, you must buy a higher end Hyundai to get the quality you are looking for.

Pros
Beautiful styling, great features and fun to drive

Cons
Seems to be a cheap quality build. It rattles really bad in the passenger door and it sees like the slightest vibration causes the plastic dash and trim to rattle. The interior door panel on the passenger door where you shut the door released and had to be pushed back on. The gas mileage is pitiful. Having the 2016 Azera spoiled me as the car was rock solid when it came to its build and I never heard a sound from that car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1318 in total