2019
Hyundai
Tucson

Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72
4.7
(566 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CL
Carol L.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/02/2019
back up camera and front camera
We are very disappointed in the camera system that is on this 2019 Tucson Ultimate. We have owned three other Hyundai vehicles that have had cameras and they have been very clear. This one is so bad that at night you cannot make out anything as you are backing up or pulling forward. The service dept. ordered a new camera and it is just as bad. They really do not know what the problem is and are trying to please us. If I had had any idea how blurry this camera was I would never have purchase this vehicle. In fact the next time our lease is up and we need to get another vehicle, I will definitely make sure that the camera system is producing a clear picture. I cannot believe that Hyundau would install a camera like this in their upscale Tucson model. As for the rest of the vehicle we are very happy with it.

Pros
The entire vehicle is a 9 or 10

Cons
The cameral system we would rate as a 1. It could actually cause an accident or worse strike a pedestrian who may be walking behind the car. I still would recommend this vehicle but would warn buyers that the camera system leaves a lot to be desired.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
STANLEY G.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/22/2019
From Another World
This car is designed by engineers from another world. They have no idea what a good car is. The locks and locking system are ridiculous. The key is big, heavy and not waterproof. The glove compartment is not lockable. Only one exterior key hole for four doors plus the hatch? What were they thinking? The doors unlock when shifting into park. What is the idea of this. This is a very dangerous feature and I would like to disable it. Radio staying on with key off until the door is opened is ridiculous. Do not like this either. No parking brake lever??

Pros
Cheap, decent ride, good handling.

Cons
Small noisy engine, very dark interior, poor locks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Diana B.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/30/2019
Horrible remote start
Fair warning- you do not get a key fob remote - and the blue link remote start makes your parking lights flash contantly until you are inside it. Would not have purchased this car had i known. Horrible to wake neighbors just by remote starting your car. Apparently has been a complaint for many years that the company ignores. Turning parking lights on would be fine- but flashing is irritating to everyone around.

Pros
Rides nice with lots of nice features

Cons
Horrible horrible xperience with remote start- might as well not have it, as it doesnt just flash the lights to let you know it worked- it keeps flashing them until you are in the car- wakes neighbors and renders it virtually unusable with no way of disarming that part of the function.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
Alex W.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/05/2019
Tucson Value
I test drove the Hyundai Tucson Value with 2.0 engine. I didn't feel secure driving the vehicle because it didn't handle well. The salesman told me that this was due to the lane assistant feature, but I doubt this was the cause. I will be looking at other vehicles in the same class.

Pros
Not to big, not too small

Cons
Bad handling

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NANCY K.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/31/2019
Excellent visibility and safety features
I bought this car for the excellent visibility and the safety features. I've driven for a month, slightly under 900 miles, and I am quite pleased with my choice. This survey is three pages too long. I'm done.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jean H.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/19/2019
For a new vehicle it should have more options
I have always wanted a Tucson and now afer owning one for only 3 weeks I am sorry I purchased it. It doesn't even have a cd player in it. And the back up camera shows the vehicle to appear wider than it actually is. This vehicle is a great one but I just got a lemon.

Pros
Rear wiper blade, comfortable seats, cargo mat, cargo net

Cons
No cd player, faulty transmission, rear body is wider than front.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jean H.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/19/2019
Nice looking vehicle but
What a beautiful looking vehicle. Great paint job. Not well made. Very flimsy parts. Not happy with all the issues. With a new vehicle should not have any issues. Still waiting to hear from corporate.

Pros
Lane assist. Rear parking camera

Cons
No cd player. No compass. No gps unless u plug in phone.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
Jamie O.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/20/2019
Very slow pick up
Does not have push start or proximity sensor. Extremely slow pick up. Lane assist has pulled me into turn lanes when I’m not turning. Almost causing an accident. When I purchased it I though I had push start , I do not. Was promised a full tank of gas for having to come back since the “new” vehicle has a scratch on the bumper , they had to fix. Never received my full tank of gas. Vehicle idles rough, vibrates when stopped. I had a Genesis prior to this vehicle , zero trouble with it. Just not happy with this vehicle. Dislikes outweighing the likes on the Tucson. If I could trade this car for another Hyundai I would. This vehicle and the whole purchase has left a bad taste in my mouth. I’ve had 3 Hyundai’s now and have been very pleased. It’s unfortunate that I’m not having a great experience with this purchase unlike all the others.

Cons
Very slow pick up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
Cassandra V.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/02/2019
Poor power and shifting problems
Very dissapointed with my recent vehicle purchase. It has little power and shift irratically at times down shifting from a higher gear causing high RPMs. It also has trouble catching speed when getting on the freeway or going up a hill.

Pros
Entertainment and safety features.

Cons
Low power, gear shifts are not smooth and at times irratic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
Gay P.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/01/2019
Sales and Finance Not as expected or told
I had an 2017 Elantra and needed to increase size to transport grandkids so I inquired about an SUV when having service on the Elantra. I was shown the big SUV but too big. The Tucson was described as much like the Elantra with all the simililar features. The SUV does not have a sport feature so it is sluggish to move if needed to move swiftly. It does not have the same radio system or capabilities.plus it gets worse gas mileage. It really doesn't provide as much room for kids even and the storage for bookbags is less than the trunk. I also financed it with Hyundai and was told I would get a better rate than before but did not. I owed only $ 11500 on my Elantra with a 256 payment and now owe $ 29,000 with a payment of $ 420. I feel like I gave my car back for nothing in return and still making payments on it. Two months now and not getting any easier to stomach. I will try a bank financing to see if I can do better on the payment situation or even just the stone out of my stomach by trading the Hyundai and calling it all another sad car dealership story and join a support group with others in my neighborhood who warned me.

Pros
Reliable and will park in a standard size spot

Cons
too many to list

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Ellen G.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/19/2019
The SEL liftgate is horrible
The lift gate is impossible to raise and lower. It raises too high and it extremely heavy to lower. I am short and am an older woman and it is mostly unuseable. I don’t recommend this SEL version at all

Cons
The liftgate is horrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lena R.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/04/2019
Why doesn't the car have the blue Link installl
When the manager told us we have blue Link install and the sales rep said no and I can't install the auto start either or an alarm. So I why have to use my own car insurance only. For service they should relocate another and better location like Express

Pros
Alot of truck space

Cons
Why doesn't it have blue Link

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
Suzan E.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/08/2019
2019 Tucson -my second Tucson
When I picked up my new Tucson I complained about the very noisy engine. I was told there was nothing wrong. The following weekend I drove from Ft. Myers to Vierra Fl. My new car was noisy, steering wheel vibrated and car shook when I put it in reverse. When I got home to Ft. Myers, I brought my car in for servicing in hopes of having the issues addressed. They kept my new car overnight to see if my concerns could be recreated. I was told that they could not find anything wrong when tests were run.
They said that I had to let the car “warm up” before I put it in reverse. I NEVER had that issue with my 2016 Tucson and everyone I tell this story to says Bull____. My new car still shakes when I put it in reverse, still VERY noisy and still has vibrations on the steering wheel. It’s 4 weeks old and I have 3 years to go on my lease. Not a happy Tucson owner!

Pros
Love the size. It is comfortable. Fun to drive (when not having issues).
Like the auto release on lift.

Cons
Don’t like that A/C vents do not have on/off control. Do not like that you took away the gas release. Hate the smaller tires..I think that may be part of the rough ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Andrew A.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/21/2019
Strange shifting
The vehicle overall is nice but it seems to have trouble shifting. Doors are a little hard to close, don’t seem to catch very easy. The lack of a CD player is a disappointment. We have had two service visits already with less than satisfactory outcomes.

Pros
Looks nice and is comfy.

Cons
Shifts strange, high and long rpms before downshifting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FV
Florian V.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/29/2019
meh
This is my 3rd Tucson LE. It's supposed to be the best, it is not. It is dumbed up compared to the 2016 LE Turbo I had, no navigation anymore? Also, I loved the Turbo engine on the 2016, hate this new one, way worse gas mileage. Car is still good, but not quite satisfactory experience. Meh. The added bells and whistles are'nt great, limiting the "stay in lane" to over 40 mph is not good enough, and the frontal collision avoidance does not work, period.

Pros
Comfy, leather heated seats, heated steering wheel

Cons
No more navigation; no more turbo engine, no more Economy mode, way worse gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
M A.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/04/2019
Tuscon is decent but has two problems
Got my new car two weeks ago on Memorial weekend. I like the look and feel of my car. However it has two issues: -
1.) Front Collision Warning doesn't work at all. Not even once.
2.) Gas Mileage is very slow. 18 in city is what my trip meter shows. Hyundaiusa.com website shows 22/38 MPG City/Hwy. Not sure if its real or a typo on the website. This review doesn't let me upload screenshots or I would.

Pros
Infotainment well placed.
Android Auto.
Keyless entry.
BlueLink.

Cons
Forward Collision Warning doesn't work.
Poor Gas Mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JESSICA A.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
Okay for what you pay
You get what you pay for, nice car . I really hated that the second day j got the truck the button in the door handle stopped working and it took the dealerships 5 visits to fix and still didn’t get it completely right

Pros
Htrac, led lighting

Cons
Button door handle stopped working the second day

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kimberly L.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2019
This is an okay car.
The 2019 Hyundai Tuscon is an okay car, but the climate controls are sketchy and the hands free calling gets it wrong more often than it gets it right. It has good pick up but there is a lot of road noise and the tail gate takes forever to open/close. I don't know yet how well it will get around in the snow because I haven't had it through a winter.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CATHLEEN L.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/21/2019
Hyundai Night
More looks than handling. Would not recommend purchasing a vehicle because you love the way it looks and it is "similar" to my previous Tuscon. I should have walked away when the dealership did not present me with the figures promised me by their "customer loyalty" manager.

Pros
love the styling and overall ride

Cons
steering issues (pulls to the right) and already showing signs of rust after only 80 days.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SAMANTHA C.
2019 Hyundai Tucson
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2019
hyundai tuscan 2019
gave me a great deal on trade in and payments were affordable but not as happy as i thought id be.would have liked electric seats for moving forward/back, adjusting lumbar and etc, better gas mileage, more pick up when taking off

Pros
nice looking vehicle, somewhat nice to drive

Cons
uncomfortable seats, not alot of pick up when taking off, under mileage rate then anticipated

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 566 in total