2020
Hyundai
Veloster N

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(77 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SM
Sean M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2020
Veloster N
This car delivers on everything it is supposed to. Amazing value for a performance car. 200 characters dhejansjdhdhdhshdhshshsajjahshddksbdhdhdjdjzbdhdhdjdufudjdjfiridjxicjcjdkdjfhfjdjsjddjdjrofo

Pros
Super fun to drive

Cons
Too much fun

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LORENZO D.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2020
My time so far
First let me start by saying that the Veloster N was not top of my list of cars to check out this year when looking for something new to drive. I originally had my heart set on a Subaru WRX. After spending some time looking through the features of the Veloster N, I decided to make a trip over to the dealership to check it out. All it took was one test drive and I was sold. I completely ignored the sales people at the dealer trying to get me in on features, specs, blah blah blah. All it really came down to was how the vehicle actually drove, and could I see myself driving this car every day.

If you are reading this wondering if this car is right for you, answer these few short questions for yourself. Do you like sporty hatchbacks? Do you like to occasionally track your car or attend car related events? Do you care more about how the car drives than the fancy features it offers? Do you want your car to drive sporty when you feel like it but also be able to tone it down and get good gas mileage on a longer drive? If most if not all of those were yes answers, then this is the car for you.

Take the time to go drive one if a dealership near you has one. I promise that if you enjoy performance on a budget, this is the car for you.

Pros
-Fun to drive
-Comfortable seats
-No frills interior
-Great exterior styling
-Actually usable storage

Cons
-Does not have options as far as interior or exterior packages (aside from performance package)
-Does not come equipped with LED interior or license plate lights from the factory.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kevin E.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/12/2020
2020 Hyundai Veloster N - Almost Great
The 2020 Hyundai Veloster N (with the Performance Package) is an excellent value for a sports car. EXCELLENT handling, very good acceleration, and the best infotainment system on the market make it a solid purchase option. What holds this car back is the tight backseat, odd three door design, and some needed acceleration/power after 2nd gear.

Who should buy this car? Someone without children and without the need to put adults in the backseat. Someone who prioritizes handling and wants to daily drive a go-cart.

For reference, I considered a
VW GTI SE (slower/not as fun)
Honda Civic Type R (10k more expensive than the VN I found)
Kia K5 GT (lacks an LSD or else I would have bought it)
The new AWD Mazda (lacks an LSD)
Genesis G70 (much more expensive)
Mini Countryman JCW (much more expensive)
Subaru WRX STI (10k ish more expensive and the exhaust drone was annoying)

Since I found a 2020 Veloster N with the Performance Package for under $28,000 it would have been hard to justify any of the other choices.

Pros
Handling
Price

Cons
Not kid friendly
Tight backseat
Needs about 30hp more

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kyle F.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2020
Incredible Machine
The Hyundai Veloster N is the most fun and highest performing vehicle you can get for its price. I have absolutely zero regrets after owning this vehicle for a year. It still amazes me to this day and makes me smile every time i start it up and get behind the wheel. Bravo and hats off to Hyundai and Albert Bierman as well as the N Performance team!

Pros
Amazing performance.
Mind blowing handling.
Good gas mileage for how fast it is.
Manual transmission but auto is optional.
Incredible Value.

Cons
A little small if you are tall or wide.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEPHEN D.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2020
Quality, Comfort and FUN!
Great car with lots of energy and features! Changeable drive modes to suit your mood any day of the week! Quality audio system to listen to your favorite music, podcast, comedy etc. Really like the “pages” in dashboard

Pros
Drive modes and “rev”options
Able to view engine stats in N mode

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
Beast
My Veloster N is a beast. It has so many options for different performance levels it’s impressive. Handles better than any other vehicle I’ve owned before and the power is perfectly tuned to pass almost any car in its path. Also the fuel tank is only like 10 gallons but will last for almost 400 miles! Stereo is excellent too. It’s a bad ass car really.

Pros
Smooth, easy to drive, serious power, good gas mileage, and a great stereo system.

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HOLLY R.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/20/2020
A fun to drive hot hatch
I wanted a fun vehicle with a manual transmission. We had two Hyundai vehicles and we loved both of them. I did not even trade. We have found these to be reliable and inexpensive to own. When the "N" came out this became probably my most desired vehicle. Some research and a test drive along with Hyundai circle pricing sealed the deal. This car is a ball to drive and I have started some light modding. About the only hit from the magazines seems to be that its interior falls short of a Mercedes S class. Win!

Pros
Reliable
Excellent price / value
Fun to drive

Cons
None. I even like the interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JORDAN P.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/20/2020
Awesome Styling. Great Performance for the Price
This is one of the most powerful cars you can buy for just under $30k (if you know how to negotiate)!
Also, manual transmission only! Driver focused features (last year without nannies). Such a fantastic car.
Only knocks are rearward visibility is limited and paint quality is suspect (get paint protection on front facing panels!)

Pros
Performance features found on cars 5-10k more in price

Cons
Visibility; paint.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Robin C.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2020
Wow! Love my new Veloster N
This car is so much fun! I'm so glad I made this purchase! It's fast sporty beautiful everything I was looking for! No regrets! Actually brought my older Veloster in for service the day I bought my new one wasn't expecting to make a purchase but after test drive that was the final decision to purchase!

Pros
Fast exciting comfortable reliable fantastic style gets a lot of compliments

Cons
None I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ANTOINE H.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/13/2020
Perfect car but
I have had the car for a while now and every day that I drive it I am happy it’s a tiny things that I nitpick but it’s just the luxury of having a new car sounds coming from the door my exhaust shield is falling off, my clearcoat for my rims falling apart and my headlight separating from the frame
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
KYLE E.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2020
What a surprise
The Veloster N is an amazing car in so many ways. For the price, it is as good as everything else near the same cost, but goes a step further with drive modes. Quiet and soft on the highway when you just want to get somewhere, stiff and loud when you get to the track, or anywhere in between when you just want to have fun on a drive. Nothing compares to the fun this car can offer right now in this price range.

Pros
Performance, driving experience, sounds- all around great car. Driving modes make it comfortable when you want it, almost like having two cars in one.

Cons
The interior could be nicer, but it's still good enough- the trade off for the performance at this price is worth it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CARLOS M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/07/2020
The best FWD
I love everything in the N.it's the best car i ever drove. The exhaust sound super good and nice. I really love the Veloster N.

I only wish if you can bring the Performance Part from N

The brakes, Alcantara Wheels ect.

Let me know.

Pros
Love The N

Cons
Alcantara

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Bradley K.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2020
Fun to drive!!!
The N is a blast to drive! You can feel the difference in each drive mode setting. Want a quite ride to work just leave it in normal mode. You want to hit some side roads use the custom N mode or go full N and have a track day. A ton of fun for under 30,000.00.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
GIANFRANCO P.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2020
Amazing value for money and awesome styling. VELOSTER N
Everything about the car is awesome it really is and amzing car even more when you compare prices only wish for a leather seat option and N Performance parts by Hyundai available in the United States market

Pros
Lots of features for a stock car like turbo noises, adjustable exhaust, suspension, engine response, steering, eLSD and split differencial.

Cons
Not leather seat and no N Performance parts for US market instead if you want to modify something you have to go 3rd party

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JAN J.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2020
Why is this an enjoyable car?
As a male 73 year old this is the only new car I have ever bought. Previous cars, all used, include 1955 Porche Speedster, Porche 1600 normal, Volvo 444, 142's, 1994 Audi "Uhr" Quatro, all purchased as .....used cars.
My present Veloster N is a thoroughly delightful ride. It is very satisfying driver enthusiast experience and is a vehicle that I am frankly
proud to own. I enjoy the the daily ritual of polishing an unassisted smooth double clutching" heal and toe down shift" braking technique as way of keeping alive, present and involved with a goo driver experience.


w

Pros
Attention to details

Cons
Rear view visibility!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JOSPEH P.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/10/2020
x
This car is a hoot to drive! I traded a Mazda Miata on this Veloster, and could not be happier. The Veloster will do everything that Mazda could in road holding, but out accelerate the Mazda easily. I enjoy driving this vehicle every time that I get in it.

Pros
A fantastic vehicle!

Cons
Please reverse the position of the speedometer and tachometer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FT
FRED T.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2020
fun
All about the drive. Looks great, sounds great, drives exceptionally well. Enough creature comforts (with none of the nonsense) and fuel economy to make it a solid daily driver. The warranty from Hyundai and a lifetime engine guarantee from the dealership are exceptional too. Plus all maintenance is paid for for the first three years by Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NOAH M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/04/2020
A drivers car that can fullfill many roles
I wanted, I got it, and now have owned it for a year. I put 16,000 miles on it in the first 6 months. I have used it for deliveries and sales. I have gone too car shows and hit every country road I can. This car is a pure hoot. Fast and agile. Affordable but focused. This is not just an amazing car it is proof that when engineers get their way and the stars align real cars can be made. From the powerful bulky 4 cylinder turbo too the locked front dif and Pirelli tires made specifically for this model it is smile producing fun machine.

Pros
Manual 6 speed
Twinscroll turbo
Locked front dif
Amazing suspension
Sound
This car is viscerally engaging
Reminds people why front wheel drive hot hatches
Rule the streets and tracks

Cons
Hard too find
Made in low numbers
Not famous yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MITCHEL C.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2020
A little powerhouse from Hyundai
I'm impressed with the styling, power, handling, technology, features, customization, and gas mileage of this car. It has an excellent amount of power, handled like it's on rails, and gets up to 30mpg. It's amazing to see Hyundai put this much dedication into a hatch. Thank you Hyundai for this little powerhouse!

Pros
styling, power, handling, technology, features, stereo, customization, and gas mileage.

Cons
Lack of safety features like lane assist, adaptive cruise control, etc, and an auto start feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JAMES B.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/31/2020
Best vehicle experience ever
amazing vehicle experience. will definitly recommend the dealership and vehicle to friends and family. super excited to have this vehicle for the years to come, 10 out of 10 experience. #hyundai for life
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 77 in total