2020
Hyundai
Veloster N

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(57 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MM
MARK M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/02/2020
Practical fun; accessible driving performance at a high level.
Excellent car for performance driving. Good mileage. Very useful and enjoyable to drive. Very quick and confidence-inspiring. Designed with care and precision. Much planning and driver-oriented touches. A daily driver that also provides sportiness and a marvelous precision of controls and handling.

Pros
Design; performance; comfort; overall driveability

Cons
Not a sport-utility but shouldn't be.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ANTHONY P.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/01/2020
Veloster N
The car is amazing for what you pay. There are understandable (and well documented in reviews of the car) trade-offs made on the interior of the car and it is missing some of the other "driver-assist" features like blind spot monitoring etc, but in my experience those are not things that most people who are seriously interested in this car will care too much about. When you consider the price and the smiles per gallon you get on this car, even while completely stock, it is the best in its class. Hyundai offers an extensive warranty on the car as well, and has made documents public that tracking your car will NOT void your warranty in any shape or form- and that this is how they intended the Veloster N to be used. Very pleased with my purchase, and my only regret is that I waited until 2020 to finally test drive and purchase one.

Pros
Nearly everything.

Cons
Interior has hard plastics which could scratch easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
AUSTIN A.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/31/2020
Inexpensive Fun
A very fun and practical car at a great value. Having the ability to choose comfort and fuel economy or speed and handling at the push of a button is awesome. I was also very impressed with the sound system, braking, and fuel economy (up to 34 mpg so far). It is quite practical as an every day driver, but can turn into a track-ready monster in an instant.

Pros
Power, cornering, braking, customization of drive systems, drive modes, exhaust sound, sound system, styling and appearance, and price.

Cons
No CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DAVID G.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2020
Love this car
Was on the fence about the car but after test driving one I knew it was the car for me. Still discovering new things about it a month later and where I live there is a large group of other Veloster N owners I have now made friends with and meet with regularly.

Pros
So far everything

Cons
Wish it had a fog light option, but thats just a personal preference other than that, none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OC
OLIVER C.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2020
Paint
I think a clear bra should be standard option on this car. Paint does not do well on highway. Also dealer need to make sure tire pressure is right upon giving car to customer. Mine was very low for weeks before my lights came on

Pros
Amazing in almost every way

Cons
Paint quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IM
Ivan M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
07/14/2020
Worst car money can buy
This car leaks fuel after 1000 miles from fuel lines or bad fuel pump and warranty dose nothing when the dealership dose nothing abc in Vegas on Rambo will leave the car and tell you they fix it but your car will still smell like fuel when you drive it I suppose bad car or company my personal experience I share on my YouTube Chanel also really bumpy ride

Pros
Cheap car Breaks after thousand miles no one does anything to fix it no warranty will do anything about it brand new

Cons
With cheap car comes cheap service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BRANDON G.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/14/2020
Fun car just needs premium interior
I really think it could use leather/sunroof, ride quality is pretty good. I love the sound and the performance is beautiful. Always a blast driving to work and back. Good warranty for a sports car. Hyundai knows what they're doing.

Cons
No sunroof, leather

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PAUL S.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2020
Great car
It’s an amazing car to own and drive! The interior is simple design but it makes up for it in the exterior. I think the exterior of the car looks great, and I wouldn’t change anything about it. The car is great for long drives in comfort mode and in N mode

Pros
It’s comfortable to drive in comfort mode
It’s comfortable to drive in N mode

Cons
Brakes pads can stick to brake rotor when moisture gets on them.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZS
Zach S.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/07/2020
Driver’s Car
There aren’t enough words for me to properly describe the thrilling experience I receive driving this car. It turns heads everywhere I go and people are always asking what it is. It has completely changed my perspective on Hyundai as a brand. I feel quite special being only 1 of 3 owners of a Veloster N in my state. Truly a unique and special machine.

Pros
Head-turning looks
Amazing performance for the price
Beautiful exhaust tone
Very unique

Cons
Paint chips very easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MATTHEW W.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
A fun drive
Less is more if that less has everything one needs for a fun ride that easily morphs into practical and classy when necessary. The Veloster N is the far superior rally car against all the other brands that have fallen off and got lazy

Pros
Quick
Eye catching yet subtle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAMES S.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/05/2020
Great car
Such a great car. So much fun to drive. Always puts a smile on my face. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. Driving thru the mountains outside Phoenix is a true joy. Absolute rocketship, in the mountains and the way it gathers speed in the corners is amazing. Would definitely give an Evo a run for it's money.

Pros
Gorgeous car to look at from any angle. Seating position is perfect. A lot of thought was out into the overall layout

Cons
Could ride a little smoother. The 19's don't help the ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2020
Dream car
Most fun if ever had driving a car, this thing just puts a smile on your face. I come from a genesis coupe,GTI and WRX and I'd take the N over them anyday.exterior styling is great and stands out whenever I go out interior could use some work but honestly that's not what this car is about.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LESTER J.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Great sports car, excellent performance, fun, good price
More fun to drive and more visceral than a Honda Civic Type R. Amazing and addictive exhaust sounds. Incredible ability to customize and adjust your vehicle’s drive characteristics (active dampers, active exhaust, steering response, engine response, electronic differential response, rev matching, etc.)...all adjustable to your driving needs. The car is worth every penny. This is my first Hyundai and I never would have imagined I would ever consider or buy a Hyundai for a sports car. Albert Biermann, the former head of BMW’s M division, and now head of the N performance division of Hyundai has done a phenomenal job. There is serious and true reasons why there are so many excellent automotive reviews on this car. Not a surprise it WON Road and Track’s Performance Car of the Year for 2020! Highly recommended from a sports car enthusiast and also Porsche owner. The Veloster N is that good of a car!

Pros
Fun to drive, excellent performance, design by Albert Biermann former head of BMW’s M division - lots of BMW details and influence are apparent in the car, great price, incredible best in the industry warranty (10yr/100000mile powertrain is just unbelievable but true)

Cons
Lots of cheap looking interior plastics, sound generator in engine bay causes rattling and vibration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Joshua W.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/20/2020
nothing but problems
I have probably had 3 different warranty claims already at 6,000 miles, the dealer has had the car just as long as i have! New engine after 1,200 miles from a faulty rev matching programming I believe. Loss of performance and sound from the exhaust, dont kno if its from the new engine or not?

Pros
Value
Style
Fun driving
Adjustability

Cons
Early years of production
Engine replaced
New models have more options and features
Cant compete with other sports cars
Low quality build or not a finished product of programming

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 06/24/2020
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

BM
BLAKE M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2020
Amazing Car.
This being my 3rd Veloster Iv owned, I can say hands down this is the most fun, fastest, and over all best version of the Veloster Hyundai has ever made. N mode really turns this car into a different car while driving, if you haven't driven this car I highly recommend you do.

Pros
Everything else about the car. Amazing drive, rims, looks and value. Its a car guys car.

Cons
No upgraded interior options, very basic.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
CODY D.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2020
Fun and capable at a great value
I purchased this vehicle after a year of searching for the right car for me to buy. In the end, I decided on the Veloster N Performance Package because I prioritized driving fun above many other factors. This car presented me with the most enticing blend of an incredibly fun experience, track capability, and daily usability, while coming in under my price point. On the road, this car is well behaved. The ride is firm but not unusable. It is very stable on the highway. The fuel economy is good. The handling limits of the car will never be approached in any corner on public roads at a legal speed but the car is playful enough to still be engaging. The acceleration isn't so extreme that you find yourself speeding but it is still more than sufficient. It is in the sweet spot in my opinion.

While I have not tracked my Veloster N, 4 autocross events have given me good experience of how the car behaves at the limit. The limitations on factory camber adjustment hurts the grip capabilities and results in uneven tire wear. The car is still class competitive if we look at national times, but it still lags behind class competitors such as the Civic Type R and Focus RS, both of which cost more than this vehicle so that is a forgivable offense. The chassis balance is good. It never gets too far out of shape to become unreasonable for the driver to save. The car remains neutral if the driver tackles slaloms reasonably. Over exuberance in a weight transfer situation can cause oversteer, which actually neutralizes the natural understeer tendencies of the FWD platform.

As a daily driver the 19 inch wheels equipped on the performance package leave some to be desired. While they look nice, they weigh a considerable amount and they sacrifice too much tire sidewall. Many owners of the car have experienced sidewall failures, particularly on rough pavement. This immobilizes the car since it is without a spare and the vehicle needs to be recovered. Usability of the car is better than expected. It has more rear passenger room and cargo volume than the equivalent Corolla hatchback. I can fit a set of track tires, my tools, and luggage inside the back with the seats folded down. Perfect for going to the track and back. It can also turn 30 mpg at highway speeds so I have no issue with using it to commute to work or travel. The seats take some adjustment to achieve comfort, particularly in the lumbar region. They do hold you wheel during high g force events in competition. Infotainment is good and the interior layout is incredibly easy to use. The stereo system has a little too much distortion and my EQ is rather unorthodox compared to how I set it on studio grade equipment.

In summary, I think this car is the most fun you can have in a car that is usable every day for under $30,000. The pros definitely outweigh the drawbacks.

Pros
Fun to drive. Presents incredible performance value. Still maintains daily driver usability despite it's track focus.

Cons
19 inch wheels likely harm vehicle performance and ride quality. Some of the styling elements are not functional. Rear visibility is not great. Stereo system has a lot of distortion for being such a high spec. Lack of camber adjustment harms track performance and tire wear for owners limited to stock or street classes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HE
HARLEY E.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
Love IT!
Greatly enjoy the vehicle. Its snappy, quick, fun to drive, and looks amazing! It sounds great and love hearing the engine feel like it wants to eat a mustang GT when the turbo spools up and the exhaust tune widens!

Pros
That there is hardly no cons.
Performance
Stability
Speed
Handling

Cons
Not over 300HP
Not all wheel drive
No GPS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ARIC B.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2020
2020 VN, God tier drivers car.
Best car I've owned. Has the feel and joy of a Honda s2000, but with actual power and suburb handling. Lightweight, great sound, good seats, great shifter and clutch. Great styling. N Mode sounds and pops are to die for.

Pros
driving feel, performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Patrick R.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/13/2020
Credit Repair
I really loved and enjoyed the generosity, 100% responsive and 100% credit repair service offered me at Debooth Credit Solution. Hit them up for credit repair service (removal of negative items and score increase across all bureaus).They’re a good recommendation because they fixed mine too which is amazing, my reports is now freed from 19 negative items and few derogatory marks and score move up by 320points. They also clear collections and charge offs. Email: DEBOOTHCREDITSOLUTION@GMAIL.COM Phone: +1(562) 281-7621.

Pros
I really loved and enjoyed the generosity, 100% responsive and 100% credit repair service offered me at Debooth Credit Solution. Hit them up for credit repair service (removal of negative items and score increase across all bureaus).They’re a good recommendation because they fixed mine too which is amazing, my reports is now freed from 19 negative items and few derogatory marks and score move up by 320points. They also clear collections and charge offs. Email: DEBOOTHCREDITSOLUTION@GMAIL.COM Phone: +1(562) 281-7621.

Cons
I really loved and enjoyed the generosity, 100% responsive and 100% credit repair service offered me at Debooth Credit Solution. Hit them up for credit repair service (removal of negative items and score increase across all bureaus).They’re a good recommendation because they fixed mine too which is amazing, my reports is now freed from 19 negative items and few derogatory marks and score move up by 320points. They also clear collections and charge offs. Email: DEBOOTHCREDITSOLUTION@GMAIL.COM Phone: +1(562) 281-7621.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SCOTT B.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/10/2020
Great Car
Fast fun with impressive interior and cargo. Comfortable on long trip, easy to see out comparatively to others this size. The most fun for the dollar I’ve had and good gas mileage. Twenty more charac

Pros
See above

Cons
Sound system output needs some boost

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 57 in total