2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(313 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FM
Francesta M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2017
Great Fun Automobile
The Veloster is just an overall fun great automobile and I plan to buy another one once I'm ready to car a new car and only from Tracy Hyundai

Pros
Great Sporty Car; I'll buy Again

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
Charles T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2017
great car
economy, comfort and style all a feature in this vehicle, love it!

Pros
mileage

Cons
?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Anthony T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/30/2017
Under power and you have to modified
My car have about 118 hours which is stupid if your going to buy one get the turbo on it. The car also makes a chirping noise around 15-2k rpm so be careful of that and you can't do uber in your cause cause it only have 3 doors

Pros
Unique car to drive
Good on gas
Cheap insurance

Cons
Crappy transmission
Need to buy a rear torsion bar to keep the rear stabilise
Can't uber with it
Need more Power!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
Michael Z.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/27/2017
Nice car but cheap build
This car looks really nice and has great gas mileage. I liked having the infotainment unit come standard. Keyless entry and push button start are also great features.

Unfortunatly the build quality of the in cabin accessories is really shoddy. The stereo and cruise controls on the stearing wheel no longer work. The fan control for the airconditioner cuts out every once in a while and I have to twist it back and forth to get the fan to come on. The touch screen on the infotainment unit doesnt always respond unless you press abnormally hard. The inside door handles are wrapped in a chrome looking sticker material and have developed air bubbles in them. I seem to also be going through batteries abnormally fast. One of them which I purchased through and had installed at the dealer died in a little over a year.

Pros
Infotainment unit comes standard
Great gas mileage
Looks awesome

Cons
Stereo controls on stearing wheel break really quickly
Cruise control wont last long before breaking also
Inside door handle wrapped in cheap chrome sticker paper
Power windows occasionally stick
Air conditioner fan control flaky

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
David W.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/25/2017
A well thought out and put together vehicle.
This car has been quite reliable and easy to maintain. It handles very well and gets excellent fuel mileage. It looks faster than it really is but it is plenty capable. It does excellent in the snow and ice and I have not gotten it stuck once in 4 years of northwest ohio winters. It has more features and performance than vehicles that cost far more. It's styling isn't for everyone but it still turns heads everywhere I go. This car is very flexible with the 3rd door and hatchback. I haul my son and most of his stuff no problem.

Pros
Reliable, great fuel mileage (35mpg-38mpg usually), low maintenance, good handling, very flexible, eye catching styling, well laid out interior, lots of features for the price, good aftermarket for those who like to modify/customize.

Cons
Good tires can be a little pricy but spend the extra money because the stock ones are not that great. The trunk can be a little small for some things but the seats fold down and the package tray can be removed to make room. Back seats are not made for people over 6ft. Seats can be a little snug for bigger people. Center exhaust makes it difficult to put a hitch for bike racks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Stephen B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2017
Awesome car!!
Awesome cool car! Very reliable!

Pros
Gas mileage! Comfy! Cool design!

Cons
Transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL T. M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/21/2017
Some day buy a Hyundai
Researched and drove the car prior to buying. solidly built, great gas mileage and maneuverability. Purchase included the complete package and I'm happy about the Veloster. Accelerates well, visually attractive, and interior is comfortable and spacious.

Pros
Handles excellent, gas mileage can't be beat, service department is great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Julie R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/18/2017
I love my veloster
Fun to drive
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
Shawn F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2017
2012 Hyundai Veloseter
Excellent Car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Randolph G.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2017
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Great vehicle

Pros
Great gas mileage, very reliable, excellent service record

Cons
The only slight issue is the ride is a little rough over train tracks, bumps, etc., not as good as my wife's Elantra limited.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
Hacer B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2017
The most fun ever!
I wanted a fun car to drive, one that was also economical at the gas pump. I didn't think such a thing existed, but it does!! The Veloster is all of that and more. I have a six-speed manual with most of the accessories you would want. I have owned the car for about five years and continue to feel excited every morning I climb in and start it up. The only aspect I haven't liked but have gotten quite used to is the noise level in the cabin. A very small bother considering how much I love the car.

Pros
Really fund to drive
fuel efficient
unique styling
corners really well

Cons
Interior noise level is a little loud

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Leah M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2017
So fun to drive!
My veloster was so fun to drive and extremely reliable!

Pros
Fun to drive
Great gas mileage

Cons
Less space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YA
Yvette A.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/01/2017
2012 Veloster
I've purchased the car with approximately 6,000 miles on it. Love the car.

Pros
Great gas mileage. Fun car to drive

Cons
Not able to purchase some parts without having to go to the dealership.
The car currently has 42,000 miles and I have to replace the entire touch screen.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Anthony V.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/30/2017
Veloster
Average

Pros
Goog cornering

Cons
Tires wear out prematuraly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alyxez S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/27/2017
Very sporty hatchback
It is very sporty but without a turbo...it looses to a prius. Not enough Head and Leg room.

Pros
Unique Styling, 3-door Design
Sporty look

Cons
Not enough headroom in the back.
On manual transmission, if you have long arms its hard to shift gears without elbowing your passenger.
Has a sporty look, but not enough power to back it up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Barbara S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2017
Great vehicle great price!!
I bought my car in 2012. This car gets great gas mileage and has get up and go. I use my car in the summertime to drive back-and-forth to Colorado. When I go to Colorado and coming home I can even pass cars going uphill. The car is extremely comfortable and has so much more room then it looks like it does. Everyone who has seen my car loves it and can't believe it has a third door, not to mention all of the storage that it has. When I finish with this car I will give it to my granddaughter for her first car and buy another one from this dealership and when my other granddaughter gets older I will give her that car and Buy a third one from this dealership. The Veloster is a great car! Oh, fun to drive to! I just wish it had heated and cooled seats and electric seats.

Pros
The car is awesome and easy to use my phone hooks up to it easy too many pros to even list!!!

Cons
Only to cons I wish it had electric seats and heated and cooled seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Andy H.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/08/2017
Great commute car
Great little commute vehicle, good on gas and pretty responsive. Back seats let room is little right but other than that no complaints so far.

Pros
Gas mileage, sporty, fun to drive

Cons
Back seat let room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Steven L.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/07/2017
Great vehicle
Great ride with amazing MPG, a few minor things that I wish could be fixed like the Bluetooth doesn't always sync up and the multimedia touchscreen doesn't always respond and is always set to 8:00, but other than that the car is great! I've taken multiple car rides 15 and half hours plus and haven't had a problem. I also get a lot of compliments on the body style. Overall I love my car but I'm gonna need to buy the turbo next time.

Pros
Great MPG
Reliable
3 doors
Fun and sporty
Bluetooth connectivity with auxiliary

Cons
Kinda small inside
Low pro tires (feel every bump in the road)
Small trunk space but manageable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Michael M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2017
Dependable, solid car.
For the money, it beats a Ford Focus (which I owned) in ride and comfort. The mileage is great. I only wish that I got the Turbo model....maybe next time!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jim M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/05/2017
Love my Velostwt.
Great gas mileage and performance. Sporty and affordable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 313 in total