2012
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56
4.6
(307 Reviews)
Latest review almost 3 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CG
Christopher G.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/18/2016
Slow car
The car is painfully slow, quality interior is okay but tends to be scratched easily, clutch is as not made to stand the test of time, have issues wt the engine, which was replaced under warranty. Not worth more than 20k wt tech package.

Pros
Nice style

Cons
Under under under powered, engine and clutch assembly not reliable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Linda F.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/01/2017
MILEAGE UNDERSTATED
The mileage is not what Hyundai stated so now I get a gas stipend, but I have to remember to go in to the dealer every 5,000 miles to submit the paperwork, then wait for a paultry check to arrive. Needless to say I do not have trust in the Hyundai name and will not purchase another one of their cars. Also, it does not like the heat of this area or maybe it's the summer gas, but it hesitates from a complete stop.

Pros
Cute, get comments and compliments. Fun to drive. Easy to park.

Cons
Gas mileage not as stated. No spare tire. Hesitates in the heat. Road noise. Could use more horsepower. Broke front air dam and have to replace the whole front of the car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Shelley K.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/14/2018
Bad purchase
The seats are extremely uncomfortable. The suspension is terrible. It bottoms out over speed bumps and the bumper comes loose. Huge blind spot is super dangerous. Slow pick up. Perhaps the turbo would have been better?
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Mark P.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/15/2018
Underpowered and lots of repairs
We bought our 2012 Veloster pre-owned and have spent a not so small fortune reparing it constantly. Probably in the neighborhood of $3,000+ now. The vehicle is underpowered, and unless you are really short, you will no fit in the back seat. Teenagers do not fit. Should have bought a Toyota.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Kellan D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/30/2019
Yikes
The Veloster is a garbage car. It has a coupling in the steering column that WILL cause you problems. The flimsy plastic piece has been recalled in a handful of other Hyundai cars, but for some reason it hasn't been in the Veloster yet, even though it has the same potentially deadly issue. If this piece completely breaks, you will entirely loose control over steering. Oh yeah and it typically starts to have problems around 60,000 miles, which is when the factory warranty on the piece expires. Pretty convenient for Hyundai, especially because their shops are the only places where you can get it repaired. I'm now beginning to have problems with the oil pan, axel, body panels, and various parts of the interior as well, such as the sun visor and speakers. Hyundai makes garbage, plastic cars that break like cheap children's toys. Don't just avoid the Veloster, avoid Hyundai.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GL
Guadalupe L.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/20/2016
So many little problems
Lets see. 3 steering wheels, on radio #5, 2 seats and 1 exploded sunroof.

Pros
It runs well

Cons
All the little things that go wrong.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Debbie S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/09/2016
Various Issues - Current is Driver's Side Door Handle
What I'm disappointed in is the fact that the door handle is peeling off and has cut me several times when opening and closing the door. Also my brakes failed and that was the reason for my last visit. My steering wheel had to be replaced a few months after I bought the car as it was peeling. The navigation system also had to be replaced as it quit working. It is now starting to do the same thing with being slow to come up after starting the vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rick B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/22/2017
Big Mistake!!!
Believe it or not I have personally owned 67 different automobiles and this 2012 Veloster has been the worst and most disappointing Car that I have EVER owned. Recall after recall. Terrible service department as in it's all about you and 9 out of 10 times I have only came to service because of a recall and if I bring something else up..., like my sound system, NOTHING was EVER done to satisfy my concerns? I will end up going to another car repair center and they will tell me just what is wrong with my problem THIS time as in my sound system? It it too hard for you to understand that we as customers want answers! Just tell me what is WRONG with my sound system??? That is all!!! Answer my questions!!! Go to a salvage yard to fix my problem? Really???

Pros
Car looks good!

Cons
Dealing with service department! NOW with a $1,000.00 item needing to be replaced I can't even afford to sell this car!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Harlescia R.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/05/2018
veloster review
I wish I had known the car was classified as a sports car. I never would have bought it. The car rides very ruff. I like the sound system the most.
I hate the low profile tires. The trunk is a good size.

Pros
sound system

Cons
ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Darrell M.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/25/2018
Fun car horrible transmission
This is a really cute fun little car I love its comfort amenities and the way it handles on the road what I do not like is the transmission it's horrible it jumps sometimes when you're sitting at a stoplight it feels like you're being bucked by a horse and apparently they can't correct it

Pros
Handling amenities and fun to drive

Cons
The transmission sucks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CODY B.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/06/2015
Volester
Over all the car is fantastic but in the past year I have had the car it has broke down many times over electrical issues mainly which is not good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MICHAEL A.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/28/2015
It works
The vehicle drives but just barely. I can't believe they put such a small engine in this car. I mean come on. It works...but onlay barely.

Pros
Looks good

Cons
Needs a bigger engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Geri S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/09/2016
Hyundai Veloster
Fun car to drive/own. The lighter weight provides great gas mileage, but it's a trade off as it doesn't handle well in even minor winter weather.

Pros
Sporty, fun, great gas mileage, great features such as the dashboard displays and controls on the steering wheel, blue tooth

Cons
Doesn't handle well in minor winter weather. Now that I have a grandchild, it's hard to get car seat/grandchild in and out of the small backseat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BJ
Be J.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/18/2016
Great City Car
The car has a lot of get up for it's size and fuel economy. The only problem I have with it is that because it rides so low, every change in the road is felt and can really batter the car.

Pros
For the size, it's a pretty powerful car that's pretty great on gas.

Cons
It rides so low that everything on the road is felt. Every bump, crack, and hole ravages the car. Especially the tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Amara T.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/29/2016
Looks Sharp but lacks speed to back up the looks.
I have the manual version of this which has been pretty reliable since I have owned mine. I am not a speed demon by no means but the car has very little power even though the looks say otherwise. It has a great sound system and is sure to turn heads.

Pros
Looks sharp, great sound system

Cons
Slow
Makes odd noises in clutch
XM trouble and Bluetooth issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jatir D.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/01/2016
Bad pint job
I have my veloster for 5 years and the pint start piling of! Also I have a black chevy Colorado 2008 and the pint still good.

Pros
Economic!

Cons
Bad sterling weels! To slow for be a 1.6 car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Marsha H.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/16/2017
Decent vehicle for the price
Great gas mileage, nice interior and exterior styling, car runs and responds well except, not impressed to much with the dual clutch transmission. Especially in that first gear. I have the automatic that can be driven manually or in auto mode, and in the first gear the car struggles to accelerate well and sometimes the RPM's shoot up. Honestly, I am not hopeful that the transmission on this vehicle will continue to last as long as the rest of the car. Everything else with the car is impressive though and very happy overall. But I would not recommend the DCT option to anyone.

Pros
Great gas mileage, versatile, styling, features

Cons
Dual clutch transmission performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alyxez S.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/27/2017
Very sporty hatchback
It is very sporty but without a turbo...it looses to a prius. Not enough Head and Leg room.

Pros
Unique Styling, 3-door Design
Sporty look

Cons
Not enough headroom in the back.
On manual transmission, if you have long arms its hard to shift gears without elbowing your passenger.
Has a sporty look, but not enough power to back it up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Anthony V.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/30/2017
Veloster
Average

Pros
Goog cornering

Cons
Tires wear out prematuraly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MZ
Michael Z.
2012 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/27/2017
Nice car but cheap build
This car looks really nice and has great gas mileage. I liked having the infotainment unit come standard. Keyless entry and push button start are also great features.

Unfortunatly the build quality of the in cabin accessories is really shoddy. The stereo and cruise controls on the stearing wheel no longer work. The fan control for the airconditioner cuts out every once in a while and I have to twist it back and forth to get the fan to come on. The touch screen on the infotainment unit doesnt always respond unless you press abnormally hard. The inside door handles are wrapped in a chrome looking sticker material and have developed air bubbles in them. I seem to also be going through batteries abnormally fast. One of them which I purchased through and had installed at the dealer died in a little over a year.

Pros
Infotainment unit comes standard
Great gas mileage
Looks awesome

Cons
Stereo controls on stearing wheel break really quickly
Cruise control wont last long before breaking also
Inside door handle wrapped in cheap chrome sticker paper
Power windows occasionally stick
Air conditioner fan control flaky

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 307 in total