2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5rating 4.52
4.5
(615 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MG
Michael G.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2019
My 2013 Veloster Review
I absolutely love the car from the first day I purchased it.... super sporty looking, great gas mileage, & I get many compliments, you’d never think it’s 6 yrs old , great car to customize, and cruise on Sundays

Pros
Cool car to customize if your into that kind of hobby like myself.....

Cons
Don’t care for the new 2019 body style, if I could keep my model & replace everything underneath brand new I’d do it in a heartbeat, unfortunately if I purchase a new car it won’t be the new Veloster, but I would remain in the Hyundai family

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HA
Henry A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
I love my veloster when I was younger I had several sports cars including a TR three and several others none handled better or as well as this vehicle and the gas mileage is impeccable
For the cost of this vehicle the handling is superb the speed is way above average and I cannot believe the gas mileage I am getting 30 to 37Miles per gallon the features that I received for their cost is also unbelievable

Pros
Handling, gas mileage, appearance, speed for the Cost,It is a great vehicle for the price

Cons
Visibility at the front right column dividing the windshield from the windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dirk B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/02/2019
2013 Veloster
I love my Veloster and it’s always a big hit with friends and people that see it or ride in it. The car is very underpowered considering it’s sporty looks. By installing a cold air intake it did help a little with the lag in performance but it could use another 100 Horsepower minimum to live up to its looks and handling.

Pros
Great looks and styling. Lots of front legroom even for a big guy like me. Handles great and a blast to drive on back country roads or in the city.

Cons
Very underpowered especially for how it looks. The Kumho tires that came on the car are cheap and loud even with very low miles. Whimpy sounding horn.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Chris S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/10/2019
Authentic are awesome inside and out, but for a 6 year old car with only 44,000 miles, things are starting to break, but for a 6 year old car with only 44,000 miles, things are starting to break
Authentics are awesome inside and out, but for a 6 year old car with only 44,000 miles, things are starting to break that should not be breaking. Plus, it keeps pulling in one direction. I have had the alignment checked numerous times by different facilities, and not one can figure out why. I am now being to think it may be a shock/strut, but again, with onl 44,000 they should not have gone bad already. I had a Ford Probe for 7 years and never had to replace my struts, and it had much better handling than the Veloster. I love the look of the 2013 Veloster, the 2019's, not so much.

Pros
Authentic are awesome inside and out.

Cons
Drives rough, and for a sporty car it doesn't hug the road whatsoever. I have noticed that Hyundai has a lot of used low mileage cars for sale. Frankly, I am being to think it may be to avoid covering the full warranty. I bought my car with I think 4k miles, strange amount of miles for a newish car. First owner must have brought it back almost immediately. I wouldn't have thought much of it until I overheard another customer at the dealership say she too had bought the car with only a few thousand miles on it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Leila S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2019
Dependable
I have never had a problem with my car since we bought it. Hyundai makes really excellent cars. Warranty is the best compared to other manufacturers. SterlingMcCall Hyundai dealership is one of the most professional that I have dealt with.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Edward S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2019
Love it!
IT IS A GREAT BUY FOR THE MONEY. fast and responsive when you want it to be, but also has the ability to be very fuel economical. Plenty of interior room for what I need even though it doesn't look as if it would be large enough. One negative is that it's often difficult to see the front of the car... that makes it too easy to run over low curbs in parking lots, etc. Also, I wish there was a convertible model... this is Florida after all.

Pros
Fast, affordable, economical, low cost maintenance USUALLY

Cons
Difficult to see the front of the car from driver's seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dewey C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
Veloster after 125,000 miles
I have owned this car since it was new; it runs well and reliably. I have replaced tires, engine oil, fluids, filters, and brake pads as needed, All of the car's functions operate as they did when the car was new. The dealer maintains the car very well. I had one problem with a door handle and it was repaired under warranty. This car represents a good combination of performance, reliability, and economy at an affordable price.

Pros
Great exterior styling, comfortable interior, good fuel economy, well built, and reliable.

Cons
Additional horsepower would be good and better isolation from road bumps would be good too.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronney D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/11/2019
Great car
I love my Veloster, I only wish that i can find a dealership I can trust with my car. I'm thinking of buying the 2019, I love driving the car, i think i'd purchase the automatic opposed to the manual drive

Pros
n/a

Cons
n/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mark K.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/09/2019
To many problems
It’s always been one thing after another. First 12 hours of owning it, it needed a new starter. Only drove it from dealership to dmv, then home, and then to work. It’s had TWO emissions problems, bad transmission, and then paint flacked off of it. I’m so over the car. Touch screen radio won’t work during the summer. Only good thing about my car is the gas mileage.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Space
Always seems to have something wrong with it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/07/2019
2013 Veloster turbo
The Veloster Turbo is , in my opinion, the best bang for your buck. Rides nice, sporty, and sneaky fast. The only problem I have had is with the Dimension speakers. I wish they were better. Maintenance is also pretty easy to do yourself.

Pros
Comfortable, roomy, fun to drive.

Cons
Shitty speakers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JQ
Jose Q.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/28/2019
Not a very good engine or transmission
I bought this car in august 2018 and 2 weeks later i had to replace the engine and then 4 months later i had to replace 2 cylinder noids. After it got fixed i could still fill the problem and when i put the car in gear sometimes it doesnt want to go in.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Pedro P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/26/2019
My Hyundai Veloster, only My Hyundai Veloster BAD CAR.
I have spend more money fixing things on this car than in a year of payment all together. I had no idea the day I get this car from the dealer in the problem that I was getting into, always something ,a/c, radio, lock, window, battery, air bags, just to mention some of the problem that I have, Plus the regular maintenance. but this is my review for my Hyundai Veloster.

Pros
none

Cons
all

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Renee B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/23/2019
I Love Luigi!
this is the very first car that I purchased NEW> I was over 50 and driven all kinds of used/junkers/lemons.\
this car has taken me all over the USA on Solo road trips.Last trip was THROUGH IA, MO, AR, LA, MS, AL, GA, SC, NC, VA, WVA, OH, IN, and IL.
It is highly reliable. I was comfortable in the seat.
I Enjoy that it has Blue link GPS and xm radio.

Pros
the back seats lay flat and there is a lot of cargo space.

Cons
the back seat when upright is not for adults. it is only suited for small children or dogs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lynn B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/20/2019
Love my Veloster❤❤❤
It took me ONE year of looking at cars to decide what I wanted. Half way through, I saw this cool, unique car in a driveway going to my daughters house. By the time I'd passed by 3 times I just parked and got out and looked it over.Thats when I discovered The Veloster! It was a Hyundai which was excellent since my husband had bought a new Elantra from the Hyundai dealership. Has never ever had any problems, love the warranty and after 6 years I knew it was an excellent brand.So began the study of the Veloster. YouTube was very helpful in showing me everything about them. Then came the hunt for the perfect ONE...I found it...Metallic Red with every feature they can have. I am a lifeling Veloster lover...❤❤❤

Pros
You get a sports car with all the amenities without the huge price tag.

Cons
There are blind spots. Turning left have to watch between the corner of the windshield before you do what you need to do. Seeing the road by the right front bottom of the car is difficult. Like seeing the cement dividers in the road that Washington has a ton of those. You do learn how to drive it though...and don't NOT believe them when they say the Turbo is the best. It's not for speed but actually its for optional use and function...so youre hapoy at every angle and situation.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/17/2019
Love my veloster but not perfect
Car replaced my 2001 PT Cruiser, both are almost identical in length & width, leg room, hatch space but the Veloster gives me an average of 32MPG while my old PT Cruiser only gave me 21MPG. I hate the 18 inch rims, had 2 pot hole tire replacements in 18 months on those very low profile 40 series tires. I switched to a set of used 16 inch rims with 60 series tires. Much smoother ride and no more pinched sidewalls from medium potholes.. Too easy to hit the wrong button on the radio and lose all my preset stations. Scanning and resetting the presets should not be something that occurs just because you hit 1 wrong button. Overall I love the car, just hit 42000 miles after 5 1/2 years and I expect to keep it, no thoughts at all to trade at this time.

Pros
gas mileage, reliable, fun to drive, after 5+ years and 42000 miles it still looks almost new inside &out.

Cons
would rather have 16 inch rims with higher profile tires. too easy to accidentally hit scan on the radio and lose all my preset stations.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sharon J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/15/2019
Veloster
In all it is a sharp little car. Easy to maneuver. Great on gas mileage. Opens up great on highway. Little bit rough riding. Needs high quality tires as others ware out too quickly. Made for persons who have no trouble getting in by bending low. Not recommended for elderly parents. Seatbelts need to be more adjustable for different size and height of persons. Seatbelts ware and shred fabric on the side of seats. Headrests are far too forward and at an awkward angle. Need more filling or temperpidic foam in seats...especially driver side.

Pros
I love it. I think l will get another one when it’s time.

Cons
Comfort is a bit wanting even after l got the best tires l could. Also the seat belts in the front rub on the fabric and after five years of keeping up with engine and body maintenance...the value has been lowered because the fabric is shredded.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Linda H.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
fun and efficient
I love my 2013 Veloster, 6spdMT. It's fun to drive and great on gas. My only suggestion is to add another back door on the driver's side to make the back seat more accessible and the front door smaller so it's easier to open in tight parking spaces.

Pros
great on gas, roomier than it looks, fun to drive

Cons
needs another back door, not good in mud/snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mario M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/03/2019
Like it
Handles great at high speeds! But the fan control is garbage I had to replace it 3 times!
The radio failed 5 times! The seats are very comfortable. Roomy cabin soun system is good. Do not like the fact that you have to subscribe to a program with an extra monthly payment to access some features that should be standard!

Pros
Great transmission and engine great suspension and steering

Cons
Fan control burned up 3 times radio failed 4 times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Andrea L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/02/2019
Economical and Sporty
The veloster is a great car even for a small family. The third door is handy for passengers. It has excellent mileage and is great in the snow (with snow tires). The only drawback is that it isn't a 4 door, which would be really helpful.

Pros
Small
Sporty
Easy to drive
Great gas mileage

Cons
It only has three doors not including the hatch.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Michael K.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/13/2018
Love this manual version.
Cool look and feel. Some blind spots though. I would never get automatic because of slow acceleration. Feels like sports car because it is low to the road. Back seats were a lot more comfortable than Mazda or Honda. Trunk pretty spacious and split rear seat provides flexibility.

Pros
Manual transmission is peppy. Controls and dash are easy to learn.

Cons
Blind spots. Maintenance can be expensive but rare.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 615 in total