2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5rating 4.52
4.5
(615 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

OK
Omar K.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/12/2018
Awesomeness
She is my baby. When I went to dealership I was drawn to car immediately. I walked the entire lot which is pretty big and my heart and mind just kept going back to this one. It's style and graphics are sexy. And now it's even better to drive it.

Pros
Very stable and safe

Cons
There was issue with rod blowing out. Engine was replaced immediately

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Godfrey B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2018
Great dealer support, poor Hyundai corporate support
The vehicle rides well, especially with all weather tires. I have the turbo model. Models without turbo boost seem to be under powered.
The windshield washer pump failed at about 20,000. miles. The vehicle was out of warranty by only a few months. The replacement cost just under $300.00 installed.
I claimed that the pump should have not failed at such a low mileage, Hyundai corporate would not consider my claim. Or any partial reimbursement..

Pros
Runs well with the turbo. Distinctive styling. Many features come standard. Rides well with all weather tires mounted.

Cons
Came equipped with "Summer Tires" which made for a very stiff ride & lasted only 20,000. miles. In town gas mileage is not exceptional.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Edmond B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2018
Enjoy the vehicle throughly!
An excellent vehicle! First time with Hyundai motors, and right it is worthy automobile in various manner! So far nothing has been flawed and the mileage is superb in local and long distance travel! Thank you!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IR
Indra R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2018
Fun Veloster for retirees
Veloster has been very dependable with excellent service available for regular maintenance. This has been an easy and fun car to drive with minimal repairs. Dealer service usually identifies any future possible problems, so that they can be addressed with proactive options which is less expense and keeps car dependable. Service is key and always been excellent.

Pros
Easy to drive and maneuver.

Cons
Strips on side could prevent dings from other people’s doors and shopping carts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jeffrey B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2018
Love My Veloster
I purchased My Veloster in 2013,& I Absolutely Love it still today! I still glance back at it Every time I walk away from it ! My Husband tells me " That's How you Know ..you got the car you wanted" !

Pros
Comfortable, dependable,Classy !

Cons
Some mantinace can become a little pricey at times,especially like tires for example,but other than that I am Extremely Happy with my purchase !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EV
Elsa V.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2018
2013 Veloster
Love this vehicle its has comfortable leg space, it has a beautiful sporty look, my family and friends love it. The sunroof is to die for. I love the metallic blue color that it is. And its great on gas.

Pros
Gas saver,

Cons
Too low for heavy rain days

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2018
Love my Veloster
It's a stylish, fun to drive car. The car is "at home" whether in city traffic or on Highway 7 heading to Jasper, Arkansas. It's a great car and I'll probably buy another and will probably buy it from Crain.

Pros
Stylish. Economical. Fun to drive.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jasmine W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
fun ride!
I love this car! It's a sporty ride with gas economy and versatility! I get great gas mileage with good get up! The rear seats fold down so you can fit all of your necessities into the hatchback for versatility. I recommend this car to anyone looking for a fun car to drive. Sorry to the taller drivers, you may feel a little cramped in this car!

Pros
Very sleek design, impressive lines

Cons
The three door design is supposed to be the selling point of this vehicle, but it makes it difficult if you have rear passengers or if you need to load things into the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/06/2018
2013 Hyundai Veloster
great fuel economy performance very reliability great build quality it's got 212 horsepower. to me, it only has two-week points the ride is a little rough due to low profile tires and the brake pedal feel is soft I'd prefer firmer pedal feel.

Pros
great fuel economy performance very reliability great build quality it's got 212 horsepower GPS.

Cons
to me, it only has two-week points the ride is a little rough due to low profile tires and the brake pedal feel is soft I'd prefer firmer pedal feel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
Michael O.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2018
Hyundai Veloster Turbo
I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Veloster Turbo in 2016 and have been very happy with it. I always thought it was a cool looking car and in the last couple years I gave made it look even cooler. It's a fun car to drive and I gave not had any issues with it. I keep up on the regular maintenance and oil changes at the Ed Voyles Hyundai Service Department on Cobb Parkway. They always treat my car well and make sure everything is in working order.

Pros
Cool looking car, fun to drive and has all the bells & whistles.

Cons
Third door is nice and cool looking but to be able to use my car to make extra money (Uber/Lyft) they require 4 doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Riza V.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2018
2013 Vela
My Veloster - been in great condition, trustworthy in all weather, reasonable in pricing to care for, and engine has been fine. 1 drawback, the passenger air bag light activated recently for no reason

Pros
Appealing. Reliable. Low maintenance.

Cons
No warning light comes on for oil change. Passenger airbag turns on for no reason.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Vicki B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2018
Love my Veloster
My Veloster is absolutely the most fun car I've owned. It's a 6-speed manual & a 2013 model. I bought it new & only have 82500 miles on it after 6 yrs. It still gets 40-44 mpg on trips & 34 in town. HAPPY! I've had no maintenance problems and enjoy driving it.

Pros
Driveability, Quality, MPG, Warranty, Sporty Look, Original Purchase Price, Affordable Maintenance.

Cons
Stereo needs to be better. I'm not as happy with it and I have the premium stereo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Edmond B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/08/2018
Veloster
Excellent vehicle and beautiful in reference to quality,style and gasoline mileage! Hyundai so far has my recommendation for the vehicles and especially my Veloster! The gas mileage is fantastic and I am enjoying the car quite a bit in reference to the style and features! Love it immensely!

Pros
Excellent vehicle!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carlos G.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2018
Good partner to drive
Super nice,sporty and comfortable ,good look and economic but powerful...
Nice good speedy confortable safety....good style,good materials,durable,impressive ...
Technology GDI is a excellent plus for the engine with the turbo....

Pros
All is good ...

Cons
Nothing....can not have enough money to buy it new brand....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Andrew B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2018
Everything I ever wanted in a car + more
I remember catching a live stream of the Velosters reveal by accident. I was shocked by how much I liked the car, especially when they mentioend "driver focused with great handling in city driving" and the standard technology (amazing by 2011 economy car standards). 3 years later I was searching for a car. After several weeks being frustrated by Honda, who wanted 23k for a plain civic with alloy wheels and did nothing to accommodate me, and being generally displeased with the used offerings I remembered the Veloster. Much to my surprised the 2013 models were on an amazing sale due to the next years models coming in soon. I got 18 inch alloy wheels, a beautiful sun roof, loud sound system and a car that drives exactly the way I want a car to while getitng great MPG for significantly less than anything with those options. Im 6'4'' so fitting in an economy car is difficult but the Veloster provides me with room and then some! I couldnt even fit into a Ford Focus hatchback comfortably. 4 years into ownership the cars been rock solid and still excites me every time I drive it. The Veloster is an economy car in price but is easily ahead of any car in its price to value. With Hyundais warranty I dont have to worry about a thing for another year, and then for 5 years after that on the power train, cant go wrong. The Veloster got a ton of flak when it came out for being a funky looking car but in 2018 ALL economy cars are funky looking! Hyundai was way ahead of the curve and I feel vindicated in my purchase (especially since I got Vitamin C Pearl paint), I loved my first year of ownership because there were not many in my area and people were generally mystified by it, most were shocked it was a Hyundai! If I could do it all again Id buy exactly the same car, the turbos were nice but I dont need the speed.

Pros
-Driving feel
-Sound system
-MPG
-Handling
-Service
-Safety
-Technology
-Interior Durability
-Value

Cons
-Technology (some minor limitations in software, mostly due to age, not fault of Hyundai)
-Stiff Ride- By product of having great handling so I cant complain. Hugs the turns
-Makes other cars feel soft and squishy in comparison
-Worried any car I buy after this will not live up to my expectations after driving this vehicle
-Not for everyone

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jaime A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/24/2018
Fun to drive but so uncomfortable and car brings many issues.
You can feel every little bump on the road. The car has many issues. This car is not reliable at all have taken it in and out of service eith only 30k miles on it. Its been months and this car still has many flaws. I regret getting this car.

Pros
Fun to drive and push to start feature is great!

Cons
Very unsmooth ride and not a reliable car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Godfrey B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/16/2018
Premature Failure
All in all, my Veloster has performed up to expectations. It did not come with a spare tire, but a pump kit that was supposed to repair any flat. It would be useless for a failure in the tire sidewall, which I have experienced in the past. I bought a emergency spare & wheel. Infrequently it shifts so hard from park to drive or reverse that I think the transmission will fall out, but this seems very infrequent. I'm living with it..

Pros
Turbo has good acceleration when needed. Handles well. Has sufficient room for hauling items. Styling is good. Sound system is very good. Navigation is easy t use.

Cons
Gas mileage is not particularly good, especially in the city. "Summer tires" came with the car with a premium price. The ride was harsh & had low mileage before replacement. Should have required change to "All Weather" before buying the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sandra J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2018
Nice Car
I still have my 2013 Veloster and it has been a good car with no major problems. I like the hatchback part of it. You can get quite a lot in there with the seats down which is what I was looking for. Mine has good gas mileage and it is not a Turbo. I average around 35 miles per gallon. The only thing I would prefer is that it had 4 doors instead of the 3.

Pros
For me the seats are very comfortable and good for my back. Good gas mileage. Hatchback has room in the back for hauling numerous things, etc. Exterior looks nice and sporty.

Cons
Would prefer 4 doors. When putting the foot on the gas to go, it does a short lag before it takes off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tom B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2018
Very Reliable
I have 83,000 on my car. It is just the right size for me, the car is reliable and fun to drive.
If it fits your lifestyle I would say buy one. The paint on this car is almost when the day I purchased it. And I live in the Florida sun.

Pros
Still in style with cars being made now. Easy to keep clean.

Cons
Visibility is bad , I have trouble trying to look around the outside mirrors.
I wish the coat hanger hook was on the passenger side so I could use it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rainer R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2018
Great choice for me
I have about 60K miles on my Veloster Turbo and am very happy with my decision to purchase it. The 5 spd drives great and is lots of fun. Great balance of sporty and practicality. Good handling and acceleration. . . and the rear seat is actually usable. Decent gas mileage despite exercising the turbo. Reliability so far has been excellent. I've seen some criticism of visibility but I have no issues with it. The backup camera helps. No regrets, be sure to get the turbo and sunroof.

Pros
Fun yet practical. Good reliability. Comfortable front seats.

Cons
Software could use an update. loses phone info occasionally, too many button presses for common tasks, Sometimes "hops" the rear end on bumps on turns.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 615 in total