2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(649 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

EC
Evan C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2015
Strong Car
Overall I have put almost 100K on my car in 3 years. I've driven my Veloster through the mountains, desert, long distance trips, etc, etc and I haven't had a problem. I commute to Oxnard and Los Angeles on a daily bases and this has been the perfect car. Great on gas, comfortable, fits plenty of equipment when the seats are folded, and a nice sporty look. I recommend the Turbo as you'll have a lot more fun with it and sometimes you'll need that extra hoarse power on the freeway!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2015
Great car.
This is my second Hyundai. First was a 2005 Tiburon, wished the Genesis Coupe had been either AWD or FWR instead of RWD. Really liked that styling. Since that wasn't an option decided on a Veloster when the Tubros were announced, liked the looks much more than the regular Veloster. Got the first pearl white Veloster Turbo in the area when it came out in 2013. It has been a great car and goes great.

Pros
Great amount of power, just enough to get into trouble with but not so much that it isn't managible. Automatic with the paddle shifters is great for daily commuting. Able to have the fun of a stick in sport mode when I want to but don't have to deal with manually shifting in stop & go traffic.

Cons
None for this model year, nice that newer ones have additional safety features that weren't available in 2013.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
DOROTHY T.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/07/2015
My Veloster
I enjoy my car, and I am glad that the Veloster was my choice.
The only thing I wish was different is the tires. Ride not smooth, feel every bump.

Pros
Love the Car

Cons
Low Riding Tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dana M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/02/2015
Fun, quirky and functional!
Bought this to use as a commuter car and drive it even more often than that because it just "works" for everything. I have packed it to the gills for beach vacations and had more than enough room for coolers, chairs, toys and luggage. I tote my three dogs (2 large and one medium) to their appointments with no one being squished in. The gas mileage is awesome - I average 33MPG in heavy traffic most days and can glide into 34.5 MPG on the weekends when speed can be maintained. Love the styling - it's just funky enough and not boring. The features are great for long trips. Parking is a breeze since it's so small and it maneuvers so well. Love the sunroof and color options. If I wish for anything it's to have heated seats and less road noise. It's the first car that I've owned where I don't have the urge to buy something else two years later. There's just nothing in the market that checks off all my wants and requirements like this little monster does!

Pros
Stylish, economical, great MPG, zippy! And it comes in Orange!

Cons
Road noise!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lori M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2015
AWESOME
We just love this car!!!!!!!

Pros
On of the well made small car I've ever driven and owned

Cons
Has that big blind spot between the passenger side back door and the hatchback

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
PEGGY J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/24/2015
cheap tin can
Underpowered, noisy car. Do not feel safe in it...can't wait to get rid off it...but "upside down" on loan to equity right now.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Noisy and cheap...lots of road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
CHRISTOPHER R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2015
Head turner!
Comfortable, sporty, classy and dependable all in one. Not only do we love this car, but Hyundai has given us every reason to come back for our next vehicle! 1st class auto maker and product.

Pros
Quality, price, dependable and great service.

Cons
Do not have one yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HY
HEATHER Y.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2015
Love this car
I absolutely love my Hyundai Veloster. This car is absolutely amazing - and drives like a dream. Small yet comfortable and really roomy.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PAULA B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/17/2015
I have no idea
I have no idea

Pros
Like it a great deal.

Cons
Sound system,m delay on gear pick up. seats stain

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DAVID D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/15/2015
2013 Veloster Turbo
Leased the Veloster Turbo for three years. I like it so much that I bought out the lease.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JEROME G.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2015
great car
I luv this car. .like the way it handles and feel driving it. ..never thought I would have a Hyundai. I would stay in the Hyundai family for a longtime.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JIMMY W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/01/2015
It looks good and still runs good!
After +50,000 miles no big problems. I love making the monthly payments.

Pros
The relyability, the exterior style. Easy to drive. The only Hyundai I would pay for. The Turbo. Good tech package. Good balance of fuel economy and power.

Cons
*The audio speakers are no good! Buzzing sound from center cap dust covers.
*Low resolution 7" display.
*I want to play HD videos while driving lol!
*Probably not a car to own after warranty is over.
*Could have a better rear suspension.
*Ride gets crazy on bad roads.
*More power! 2.0L turbo? All wheel drive?
*Plugin hybrid or all electric with solar panels would be cool?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
JENNIFER W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2015
Eeeeee!!
Love my little red car! I get compliments all the time and it is awesome! Best value for the money I have had in years.

Pros
Sporty for a hatch back. Has a 3rd door so I can bring a guest if we have one...which is rare ? Waaaay more trunk space than you'd imagine. Amazing gas mileage.

Cons
It's hard to estimate where you are in relation to the curb, maybe that's me. The rear window is stylish but you really need to have your rear view mirror in the correct place to see out the window. The paint seems to chip easily.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BARBARA P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2015
not sure what you mean here
I totally enjoy my Veloster. I get compliments on it quite frequently.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Thomas D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/28/2015
Love my 2013 Veloster!
Great vehicle, MPG consistently between 30-35. Ample room and headspace for such a small car. 3 door design is innovating and gives backseat passengers more comfort entering and exiting. The full glass roof is amazing. Trunk space with the seats collapsed is more spacious than my previous Cadillac SRX SUV. The sound system is amazing for a stock product, great bass. However the Bluetooth is finicky, I recommend waiting until the Veloster loading screen is completed before putting your car in reverse or drive to avoid your Bluetooth not connecting. My only other complaint is the same with all electric start vehicles and that is when your key battery dies, your up the creek without a paddle. I recommend keeping some 2032s on hand just in case. Also the low profile tires look fantastic but if you live in an area with lots of potholes, it feels like the world ends each time you hit a sizeable one. If your a curb hunter such as myself, a large chunk taken out of your tire from a sidewalk when parallel parking eats about a third to halfway through the tire. Those are only reasons my review is 4 and not 5 stars.

Side note: plenty of aftermarket accessories to make your Veloster your own.

Pros
Lots of room. same features as luxury line car models. Great user interface and speaker system. Lots of trunk space. Large unique sunroof. Unique 3 door design. Slick lines. Great low stance look. Tons of aftermarket accessories.

Cons
Electric car battery issues. Low profile tires can be problematic. Tough handling in snow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2015
100
100
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
NORBERT B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2015
Roomy, sporty and very eye catching
40 MPG is exactly what I need with a 50 mile round trip to work. The 6 speed is a hoot to drive making use of every foot pound of every last power band. Good electronics and user friendly! I never thought I'd enjoy a sunroof so much. Only wish for power heated leather seats. Quiet cabin.

Pros
Looks hot! Very intuative electronics. Plenty of power for me. Crisp handling. Options galore! A real head turner.

Cons
No bolstered leather heated power seats available (yet)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KEITH S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/25/2015
Comments
Enjoy the car, looking for better performance on snow covered areas.

Cons
Bad on snow covered roads and drives

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VP
VALENCIA P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2015
Ms. Vee
Overall, I absolutely love my Vee. She is a gift to me that I bought for myself after the head-on car collision I had on October 6, 2009.

Pros
I unequivocally enjoy driving and owning Ms. Vee!! She's a pleasure to have....

Cons
Sometimes it is difficult to see; blindspots. I have to sit on a two inch thick pillow to see properly over the steering wheel. Lol... Need foot lights; one on each side to add to the ambience. I had to really get used to how Ms. Vee hugs the curves of the road. She doesn't just drive over the road.... She's very close to the ground....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
STEVEN C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2015
Fun
Great car,fun to drive, especially fast. Handles well. I have received many compliments from people pulling up next to me at stop lights. Excellent body style and I like the back doggy door on the passenger side. My dog karma really digs it.

Pros
Fun to drive

Cons
Getting in and out you tend to brush against the edge of the contoured seat. This seems like it will cause rubbed spots on the edge of the leather seats. And I am not a big person.lol

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 581 - 600 of 649 in total