2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(649 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/07/2018
Love my Veloster
It's a stylish, fun to drive car. The car is "at home" whether in city traffic or on Highway 7 heading to Jasper, Arkansas. It's a great car and I'll probably buy another and will probably buy it from Crain.

Pros
Stylish. Economical. Fun to drive.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jasmine W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/06/2018
fun ride!
I love this car! It's a sporty ride with gas economy and versatility! I get great gas mileage with good get up! The rear seats fold down so you can fit all of your necessities into the hatchback for versatility. I recommend this car to anyone looking for a fun car to drive. Sorry to the taller drivers, you may feel a little cramped in this car!

Pros
Very sleek design, impressive lines

Cons
The three door design is supposed to be the selling point of this vehicle, but it makes it difficult if you have rear passengers or if you need to load things into the back seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/06/2018
2013 Hyundai Veloster
great fuel economy performance very reliability great build quality it's got 212 horsepower. to me, it only has two-week points the ride is a little rough due to low profile tires and the brake pedal feel is soft I'd prefer firmer pedal feel.

Pros
great fuel economy performance very reliability great build quality it's got 212 horsepower GPS.

Cons
to me, it only has two-week points the ride is a little rough due to low profile tires and the brake pedal feel is soft I'd prefer firmer pedal feel.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
Michael O.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/31/2018
Hyundai Veloster Turbo
I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Veloster Turbo in 2016 and have been very happy with it. I always thought it was a cool looking car and in the last couple years I gave made it look even cooler. It's a fun car to drive and I gave not had any issues with it. I keep up on the regular maintenance and oil changes at the Ed Voyles Hyundai Service Department on Cobb Parkway. They always treat my car well and make sure everything is in working order.

Pros
Cool looking car, fun to drive and has all the bells & whistles.

Cons
Third door is nice and cool looking but to be able to use my car to make extra money (Uber/Lyft) they require 4 doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
Riza V.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2018
2013 Vela
My Veloster - been in great condition, trustworthy in all weather, reasonable in pricing to care for, and engine has been fine. 1 drawback, the passenger air bag light activated recently for no reason

Pros
Appealing. Reliable. Low maintenance.

Cons
No warning light comes on for oil change. Passenger airbag turns on for no reason.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Vicki B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/12/2018
Love my Veloster
My Veloster is absolutely the most fun car I've owned. It's a 6-speed manual & a 2013 model. I bought it new & only have 82500 miles on it after 6 yrs. It still gets 40-44 mpg on trips & 34 in town. HAPPY! I've had no maintenance problems and enjoy driving it.

Pros
Driveability, Quality, MPG, Warranty, Sporty Look, Original Purchase Price, Affordable Maintenance.

Cons
Stereo needs to be better. I'm not as happy with it and I have the premium stereo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Edmond B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/08/2018
Veloster
Excellent vehicle and beautiful in reference to quality,style and gasoline mileage! Hyundai so far has my recommendation for the vehicles and especially my Veloster! The gas mileage is fantastic and I am enjoying the car quite a bit in reference to the style and features! Love it immensely!

Pros
Excellent vehicle!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carlos G.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/04/2018
Good partner to drive
Super nice,sporty and comfortable ,good look and economic but powerful...
Nice good speedy confortable safety....good style,good materials,durable,impressive ...
Technology GDI is a excellent plus for the engine with the turbo....

Pros
All is good ...

Cons
Nothing....can not have enough money to buy it new brand....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Andrew B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2018
Everything I ever wanted in a car + more
I remember catching a live stream of the Velosters reveal by accident. I was shocked by how much I liked the car, especially when they mentioend "driver focused with great handling in city driving" and the standard technology (amazing by 2011 economy car standards). 3 years later I was searching for a car. After several weeks being frustrated by Honda, who wanted 23k for a plain civic with alloy wheels and did nothing to accommodate me, and being generally displeased with the used offerings I remembered the Veloster. Much to my surprised the 2013 models were on an amazing sale due to the next years models coming in soon. I got 18 inch alloy wheels, a beautiful sun roof, loud sound system and a car that drives exactly the way I want a car to while getitng great MPG for significantly less than anything with those options. Im 6'4'' so fitting in an economy car is difficult but the Veloster provides me with room and then some! I couldnt even fit into a Ford Focus hatchback comfortably. 4 years into ownership the cars been rock solid and still excites me every time I drive it. The Veloster is an economy car in price but is easily ahead of any car in its price to value. With Hyundais warranty I dont have to worry about a thing for another year, and then for 5 years after that on the power train, cant go wrong. The Veloster got a ton of flak when it came out for being a funky looking car but in 2018 ALL economy cars are funky looking! Hyundai was way ahead of the curve and I feel vindicated in my purchase (especially since I got Vitamin C Pearl paint), I loved my first year of ownership because there were not many in my area and people were generally mystified by it, most were shocked it was a Hyundai! If I could do it all again Id buy exactly the same car, the turbos were nice but I dont need the speed.

Pros
-Driving feel
-Sound system
-MPG
-Handling
-Service
-Safety
-Technology
-Interior Durability
-Value

Cons
-Technology (some minor limitations in software, mostly due to age, not fault of Hyundai)
-Stiff Ride- By product of having great handling so I cant complain. Hugs the turns
-Makes other cars feel soft and squishy in comparison
-Worried any car I buy after this will not live up to my expectations after driving this vehicle
-Not for everyone

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jaime A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/24/2018
Fun to drive but so uncomfortable and car brings many issues.
You can feel every little bump on the road. The car has many issues. This car is not reliable at all have taken it in and out of service eith only 30k miles on it. Its been months and this car still has many flaws. I regret getting this car.

Pros
Fun to drive and push to start feature is great!

Cons
Very unsmooth ride and not a reliable car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Godfrey B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
09/16/2018
Premature Failure
All in all, my Veloster has performed up to expectations. It did not come with a spare tire, but a pump kit that was supposed to repair any flat. It would be useless for a failure in the tire sidewall, which I have experienced in the past. I bought a emergency spare & wheel. Infrequently it shifts so hard from park to drive or reverse that I think the transmission will fall out, but this seems very infrequent. I'm living with it..

Pros
Turbo has good acceleration when needed. Handles well. Has sufficient room for hauling items. Styling is good. Sound system is very good. Navigation is easy t use.

Cons
Gas mileage is not particularly good, especially in the city. "Summer tires" came with the car with a premium price. The ride was harsh & had low mileage before replacement. Should have required change to "All Weather" before buying the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sandra J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/15/2018
Nice Car
I still have my 2013 Veloster and it has been a good car with no major problems. I like the hatchback part of it. You can get quite a lot in there with the seats down which is what I was looking for. Mine has good gas mileage and it is not a Turbo. I average around 35 miles per gallon. The only thing I would prefer is that it had 4 doors instead of the 3.

Pros
For me the seats are very comfortable and good for my back. Good gas mileage. Hatchback has room in the back for hauling numerous things, etc. Exterior looks nice and sporty.

Cons
Would prefer 4 doors. When putting the foot on the gas to go, it does a short lag before it takes off.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tom B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2018
Very Reliable
I have 83,000 on my car. It is just the right size for me, the car is reliable and fun to drive.
If it fits your lifestyle I would say buy one. The paint on this car is almost when the day I purchased it. And I live in the Florida sun.

Pros
Still in style with cars being made now. Easy to keep clean.

Cons
Visibility is bad , I have trouble trying to look around the outside mirrors.
I wish the coat hanger hook was on the passenger side so I could use it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rainer R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2018
Great choice for me
I have about 60K miles on my Veloster Turbo and am very happy with my decision to purchase it. The 5 spd drives great and is lots of fun. Great balance of sporty and practicality. Good handling and acceleration. . . and the rear seat is actually usable. Decent gas mileage despite exercising the turbo. Reliability so far has been excellent. I've seen some criticism of visibility but I have no issues with it. The backup camera helps. No regrets, be sure to get the turbo and sunroof.

Pros
Fun yet practical. Good reliability. Comfortable front seats.

Cons
Software could use an update. loses phone info occasionally, too many button presses for common tasks, Sometimes "hops" the rear end on bumps on turns.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dewey C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/07/2018
Affordable, comfortable transportation.
This is not a true sports car but a "sporty" car built around readily available automotive components. The car is very good looking, comfortable, and reliable. It handles well and is fun to drive. The suspension would benefit from additional isolation from the unitized body and the car would also benefit from a V-6 engine option for those whot would desire more acceleration. The car's performance is all below 90 mph that meets the needs of most owners. The mileage is good and I routinely get 34 mpg while driving at 75 mph. It is a lot of car for the money and I would likely buy another one when tis one is worn out but, at 115,000 miles, mine still runs like a new car.

Pros
Comfortable, reliable, good mileage, and fun to drive

Cons
Suspension needs better isolation from body. A V-6 engine option would appeal to those who want more acceleration.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sanjuan R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/04/2018
Good and bad
Very good gas mileage and aesthetically pleasing both inside and outside, but it comes with some big blindspots especially by the right side mirror (passenger side). Also takes a little long to speed up.

Pros
Looks good
Good gas mileage

Cons
Blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Pedro P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/28/2018
Only problems.
Too much money to keep up to date this car, always something bad whit it. ok is bad , ok it is a bad car. never is ok ,always in the shop for anything, door, a/c ,latch ,oil , I just did the oil change , but not is low that what say tha adviser including air filter from the cabin ,I just changed 2000 miles ago. He had a list ,like the belt and more. The service is Excellent . Clean shop. very good all aspects.

Cons
all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/29/2018
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

KW
Kevin W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2018
Worth it
My car has been crazy fun to drive. Looks awesome and family friendly. Also has the best warranty around. Looks great, it's some thing that is definitely different. My car has everything I need . Also trunk space for days

Pros
Fun to drive, handles corners like a beast. Great family car. Perfect for a baller on a budget

Cons
Having to explain to people it has three doors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Stonewall W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/24/2018
Veloster review
Great car for the value. Great gas mileage. Love the third door along with the hatchback. Car has a great sporty look for a small car without sacrificing miles per gallon. Just enough get up and go without attracting the ire of the police.

Pros
Great gas mileage with a sporty look

Cons
Hard to buy tires for

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Talisha S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/23/2018
Hyundai Veloster
I love my Veloster! I purchased it in 2013 and it still feels new to me. I told the salesman I wanted a coupe but still have room for my big dog. The Veloster was shown to me because of it's 3rd door, and it worked out perfectly!

Pros
Very good on gas! Spacious back seat! The mysterious 3rd door!

Cons
A couple of blind spots due to the design of the car. Just be very cautious when driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 649 in total