2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5rating 4.52
4.5
(615 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NA
Naeelah A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/08/2018
Veloater
Love the style and the features. The hands free phone feature and access to other features on the steering wheel is convenient. But the ride Is not comfortable. You feel every bump of the road. It’s feels like the car is falling apart when you hit a bump or hole in the road.

Pros
Love the style

Cons
Absorbs all the bumps if the road Bug negative.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2018
Best car ever
I’ve had my Hyundai Veloster for 4 years now and I have to say, it is my favorite car I’ve ever owned. It’s my first time owning a Hyundai and I couldn’t have picked a better model. Very comfortable, sporty and great design. Since day one, I’ve received compliments on it wherever I go. I am looking forward to the much anticipated 2019 model whenever it hits the market!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LZ
Lori Z.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2018
Cute, classy and sporty
Great looking car inside and out. Gets amazing gas mileage almost 40 mpg highway and I do a lot of long distance driving. I never get bored of the look and drives nice and smooth on most good highway roads . I do wish it had a few other options like automatic headlights and auto off directionals and better seating with more support. Also love the look of the low profile wheels but they get chewed up quick on these New England roads, wish they had meatier tires on the larger rim. Also they should all come with a spare tire because the tires usually get sidewall damage because of the low profile. I've had 2 tires replaced in less than a year and a 3rd one is getting ready for replacement due to a damaged sidewall. Potholes do a number on this cars wheels tires and rims. The gas mileage and look of the car make it worth it though .. fun little car! Oh and I love the panoramic moon roof!

Pros
Gas mileage and overall look of the vehicle are great.

Cons
The pick up from a stop is slow,find myself always throwing it into sport mode to get moving. The wheels and tires get damaged easily, there should be more standard included features like auto headlights, auto off directionals and a standard spare tire and rim. The seating should have better support, driver's seat should be electric for ease of movement while driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Derek A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/21/2018
Sporty but weak
I've had a veloster turbo sense 2013 but was very disappointed with the engine after owning it for a few years. A 1.6l comes under the hood with an optional turbo addition. Anything under a 2.0 is garbage to put in a car. The veloster is awesome looking with great handling but is extreamly underpowered for it to be a turbo addition. There are alot ot unhealthy shortcuts under the hood I've learned about and found thats why it's a 10 year 100k warranty. To get this car moving you really have to floor it and drive it hard to survive the highway or traffic. This puts alot ot stress on this underpowered engine and it fails. Mine failed at 66k. The veloster is a fuel efficient car but needs more power to make it better. The 3 door design is kinda annoying at first but is different. It's a very sporty hatchback but as stated before.... a 1.6 is useless and should never be used. I look forward to see the N veloster and what it can do

Pros
Great gas, great looks and handling with good style. Interior is really nice with space for alot ot things. Tight steering with smooth shifting. The veloster N is the one to go with.

Cons
1.6l turbo is very underpowered. It's a 1 hit car which means if you hit 1 thing it will destroy the body. Engine has a lot of shortcuts that question its reliability. Even with a turbo the turbo is kinda a joke it's to small and for the price range between the non turbo and turbo I was expecting more power... a 1.6l engine is useless in any car. Not made with quality.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Eugene F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2018
2013 Turbo
I got my 13' Turbo after having driven my 2012 Veloster for 25k miles. The Turbo was exactly what this car needs. Its sporty, has a unique profile, and is very well equipped at every trim level. Even 5 years later, the cars styling look looks modern and clean. Looking forward to the 2019 model year and the upcoming "N" model.

Pros
Sporty. Agile. Unique style.

Cons
Needs more power. Needs a dedicated factory backed line of performance and ons.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
Sarah G.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2018
Love My Velodter
I’ve owned my 2013 Veloster Turbo for 2 years so far and I love her more now than when I bought her. The car is unique visually, comfortable, has tons of features. For such a small car, there is plenty of storage space. I’ve needed to take her in for service twice, both times were easy and painless thanks to the awesome warranty.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing. Seriously.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Troy P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/13/2018
Blown motor
Motor blew at 72000..warranty didnt cover the cost....dealership did give a fair deal on replacement but I dont believe I would purchase this vehicle again...the turbo blew and went threw the engine blowing out the block.

Pros
Handles well

Cons
Motor didnt last

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Tim C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/12/2018
Hyundai Veloster turbo
Hyundai had helped me with everything that was wrong with my car. Nothing against Hyundai their customer service is impeccable, but my car has had the engine replaced 3 times in a 1 1/2 year span which in that time I had to use rental cars which was an annoyance.

Pros
Fun to drive when in working condition and sleek and sporty design

Cons
Just that the car has had so many engine problems. I’ve never felt comfortable with the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
John F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
I LOVE ❤️ this car. The size is wonderful. The gas mileage is fabulous. I love the fact the seats fold down and I can transport things in the space. I always need a sun roof.
The car is wonderful. I love it. Love the gas mileage. Love the fold down seats. Steering is not as tight as I would like it for parking and backing up. Tv screen location has TO MUCH GLARE TO SEE IT.

Pros
Go gas
Comfort -size

Cons
Location of tv screen-to much glare
Steering is not smooth or tight enough esp. in parallel parking and backing up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Dwight J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/08/2018
Review
I love all the features that the car has. it just needs a little more power and it would be perfect. Other than that a great car and a great look with a great drive. I really like the 3 door design and the sunroof

Pros
Great features and great style and amazing drive

Cons
Lacks power for they type of cars it is competing with

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Tom B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2018
Very Good Car
This 2012 Veloster is fun to drive. I am retired and single with only one vehicle so reliably is important.
Many of my friends make positive comments about my car. They think it is cool looking and different from a normal sedan.
The hatch back is just the right size, I shop at the big discount food places and I load it full.
When I drive it in performance mood it will get up and go.

Pros
Fits my retired lifestyle, Easy to maintain.

Cons
Wish it had a smoother ride over bumps in the road. Must be the low profile tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Deborah B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/04/2018
2013 Veloster - postives outweigh the negatives
What I love? Keyless entry, push button start, Nav system, great gas mileage, great looks!

What don't I love? Open sunroof is crazy noisy; can't hear radio or have a conversation w/ passengers in the car. Road noise is really bad when using Bluetooth, almost impossible for other party to hear you. Hyundai playing around w/ inaccurate mileage ratings law suit so it's difficult to report your #'s to get your $. Manual shift is difficult to operate if driver is short (5"0), way too close and uncomfortable. Headrests are not made for 5 ft tall person, hit in wrong area and are very uncomfortable.

Pros
Keyless entry, push button start, Nav system, great gas mileage, great looks!

Cons
Open sunroof is crazy noisy; can't hear radio or have a conversation w/ passengers in the car. Road noise is really bad when using Bluetooth, almost impossible for other party to hear you. Hyundai playing around w/ inaccurate mileage ratings law suit so it's difficult to report your #'s to get your $. Manual shift is difficult to operate if driver is short (5"0), way too close and uncomfortable. Headrests are not made for 5 ft tall person, hit in wrong area and are very uncomfortable. A bit of a hard/stiff ride (changed tires for a softer ride but still stiff).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VL
Vincent L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/31/2018
Get the Turbo
Fun to drive. Great on fuel. Has all the bells and whistles that I need and some that I'm trying to understand. Comfortable on long hauls and it fits four. Not bad for a sports car. Love the third door.

Pros
Fun to Drive
Styling

Cons
Better Sound System.. Needs better speakers.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Tyrone C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2018
Satisfied
I was first introduced to the Veloster through Enterprise Car Rental. When the Rep delivered the vehicle, my initial response was” I don’t want that ugly car, please bring me another!”
The Rep went on to assure the satisfaction of driving the veloster and that upon return my view would be totally different. He was so right.

This vehicle zipped me around town, accelerated with easy on the freeway and against the best of competitor cars. The veloster handle Cincinnati’s hills and turns with luxury, my family was impressed. And when it was time to return and fill the tank, $13 dollars for the whole weekend.

Months later my car gave out, I was in market to purchase something and I canvassed everybody, place and thing. My heart is bias, it took a while to find a veloster I wanted, but a Ford dealership had two, very young but used. I pounced!

I could not afford my choice, burgoundy- full moon roof- rear parking camera, just nice. But this Turbo Remix Veloster I purchased has brought me the most fame. Everywhere I go, everybody loooooves this car.

From the color Ghost Gray to the styling (2013), the surround audio sounds and blue interior lights. For me, it’s the steering stability during accelerated driving, traction control, dual clutch and fuel economics. And to think I didn’t even want this car, iniatially!

Thank You
Tyrone Cason

Pros
Complete and thoroughly built performance vehicle for the money.

Cons
Visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
Sherri L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/26/2018
2013 Veloster
I love the way it looks. My Veloster drives great. I love the sun roof. The color is beautiful.i only wish someone could tell me why there is a banging on the passenger rear end. I've had Dagwood tell me it was the bushings and Garber said the bushings we're good. Garber said it could of been the tire out of line so the aligned it. I thought it was fixed but it still makes that noise and of course there is no warranty. That is just my luck.

Pros
Drives great cheaper on gas sporty looking.

Cons
There a banging on the passenger rear side and know one can tell me what it is

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Michelle C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/20/2018
Velostar
Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I love this car. Its like a mini sports car but just a little sedan. Fantastic gas mileage 400 miles a tank that's 75% city and only an 11 gallon tank. It drives really smoothly and very comfortable.

Pros
Gas mileage
Drives smoothly
Cute

Cons
GPS updates are a little pricey and take 4-6 hours to complete.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Shannon D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/17/2018
Great car
I've had this car 6 years and it's still running great. Only routine maintenance so far. Except the speakers. The Dimension speaker are terrible.3 of Mine we're diagnosed blown just out of basic warranty, about 3 weeks after but it happened before that... Aside from that I can't wait to get another Hyundai... Once they bring back the Genesis coupe.. good thing mine should hold up until then!

Pros
Mpg!!! Avg 37 -40 on freeway
Reliability
Great every day driver

Cons
Lack of power, but I did get the non turbo...
Dimension sound system

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kristine F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2018
Love the baby car
My veloster is awesome.. great gas mileage reliable.. sleek sporty look and I can park it in the tightest spots without looking like a "shoe". I'm a second new Hyundai owner and will return for more.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Ruthie M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/07/2018
Not what I expected or promised
I love the way the car looks and that it's a 6 speed manual but they really didn't think things through. Here are some examples: the passenger release lever was broken when i bought the car and took weeks to get it ordered and fixed, there's only 1 battery for this car, is over $100 and only lasted 3 years (I bought the car new). Being that the key fob is related to the battery I wasn't able to get into the hatch back when the battery died. It also doesn't have a release in the car for the hatch back.
The car doesn't come with a spare tire and the tire kit they provide has a limited expiration date. In addition, the kit is good for a flat tire due to a leak or a nail but if you have a blow out it doesn't help at all. So, I bought a spare tire. When I bought the car they told me that the car doesn't come with one because it will add weight to the car and the gas miles will lower. (Come on! Really?)
The manufacture tires that it comes with are crap. I had to replace them a year and a half after I bought the car. Unfortunately, I bought the same brand and had to replace them within 2 years too. So, the third time I bought top of the line and they're doing pretty well (spent an arm and a leg but it's been worth it).
3 speakers blew out in 3 years, one of which was within the first year of buying the car. So, this car has nickle and dimed me for the 3 of the 5 years that I've had it. I'm hoping it lasts as long as my Honda Civic. I had my Civic for 10 years and sold it with 250,000 miles on it. It's still running! This will be my last Hyundai.

Pros
How it looks, manual 6 speed. Service people at the dealership are great!

Cons
Have to buy all of the specs that you want, even a moon roof.
Poor quality tires, battery, speakers and tire fix.
Items that need replaced are expensive.
Doesn't come with a spare tire and the tire kit suck..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Adam J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/04/2018
Nice car Fun to drive
Handles good. Stock setup is very fun effective and well balanced . Driving is fun. Sporty lil package fun for the powers given. Once i changed width of tires it cut the price from $200 to $60 per tire.

Pros
Great performance well balanced performance

Cons
Cleaning valves sp often ridiculous
upgrade suspension to handle lil better
blind spots on sides

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 615 in total