2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5rating 4.52
4.5
(615 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


CP
CRYSTAL P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/17/2015
Tired are horrible
Car is not worth buying.

Pros
Looks sharp!

Cons
You will have to buy tires before 10,000-12,000 miles. They bubble and wear. The speakers blew and there was a recall, but don't get notified until you take it to the dealer. It has no pickup or power. The gas mileage is no where near what they claim it is.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/30/2015
Never again
I won't be buying another Hyundai again. Engine issues (power stuttering), performance issues (poor road grip, loud shocks), The radio has a reset button (What? Why does it need that I wonder? Maybe because I have to constantly reset it due to bluetooth connection issues, radio station changing itself.) Driver's seat slowly lowers itself over time; I constantly have to keep raising it. Windows rattle when not in the fully raised position. Steering wheel has a tight spot when attempting to correct the constant drifting at highway speeds. This list goes on, but these are the most annoying.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JAMES K.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/04/2015
Poorly made
It's very uncomfortable. Poorly made, noisy. Just did not like it. The Sonata is a much better vehicle. Maybe if I had not had a Sonata first it would not seem to so bad.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
TANYA C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2016
Slow acceleration
The vehicle looks really nice. The performance is very disappointing.

Cons
Slow acceleration. Very disappointing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
Wayne L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/13/2016
speakers suck $
My only issue is my speakers rattle and sound like their blown. This happened right from the start. The dealership said the factory used bad "glue" and took some of the speakers out and re-glued them. Helped a little now their all rattling again. Now that I'm out of the 50,000 mile warranty the dealership and Hyundai won't replace them. Even though thousands of customers are having the same issue. Pretty sad considering the sound system was almost a $2000.00 upgrade.

Cons
Should be recalled for a safety issue due to all the blind spots..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Robert L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/22/2016
Slow and weak.
Drives terribly and has no pick up power at all. Worst car I've ever driven.

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Chris G.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/11/2018
Not happy with my Veloster
Have had several issues with my Veloster. Some quite costly and shouldn't have had issues with given mileage on car. I will be very happy once car is paid off and I can trade in. Probably the last Hyundai I'll ever buy.

Pros
Good on gas

Cons
A/C broke 3 times.. still under warranty thank God.
Driverside window motor broke.. not warranty - $200
Catalytic Converter went out - not warranty - $1300
Hatch Latch broke.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
Pedro P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/28/2018
Only problems.
Too much money to keep up to date this car, always something bad whit it. ok is bad , ok it is a bad car. never is ok ,always in the shop for anything, door, a/c ,latch ,oil , I just did the oil change , but not is low that what say tha adviser including air filter from the cabin ,I just changed 2000 miles ago. He had a list ,like the belt and more. The service is Excellent . Clean shop. very good all aspects.

Cons
all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/29/2018
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

PP
Pedro P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/26/2019
My Hyundai Veloster, only My Hyundai Veloster BAD CAR.
I have spend more money fixing things on this car than in a year of payment all together. I had no idea the day I get this car from the dealer in the problem that I was getting into, always something ,a/c, radio, lock, window, battery, air bags, just to mention some of the problem that I have, Plus the regular maintenance. but this is my review for my Hyundai Veloster.

Pros
none

Cons
all

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JQ
Jose Q.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/28/2019
Not a very good engine or transmission
I bought this car in august 2018 and 2 weeks later i had to replace the engine and then 4 months later i had to replace 2 cylinder noids. After it got fixed i could still fill the problem and when i put the car in gear sometimes it doesnt want to go in.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Mark K.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/09/2019
To many problems
It’s always been one thing after another. First 12 hours of owning it, it needed a new starter. Only drove it from dealership to dmv, then home, and then to work. It’s had TWO emissions problems, bad transmission, and then paint flacked off of it. I’m so over the car. Touch screen radio won’t work during the summer. Only good thing about my car is the gas mileage.

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Space
Always seems to have something wrong with it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Angela F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/24/2019
DON'T GET A MANUAL
This car has been great don't get me wrong but at 76K miles I am already in need of a new clutch which in my mind after having a Honda Civic and driving it well over 160K still did not need a new clutch after selling that vehicle. We don't drive it crazy, its not our first manual car so for it to go out so early is in my mind poor craftsmanship on the vehicle. If you get this car I recommend getting an automatic to avoid the early replacement.

Gas mileage is great and the ride is good on the highway/city. Not bad for having a toddler either we just keep the car seat on the side with the 3rd door.

Pros
Gas Mileage, stylish, compact.

Cons
Clutch going bad too early (76K)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Grant F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/01/2019
Bad car.
This veloster has constantly given me problems. I brought it in for recall and it's worse than when I brought it in. I have a lemon car. Hate to say it but it is. I ve called the dealership2 times and have left message and havent received a call back. And it's not driveable

Pros
The look

Cons
The car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
Wayne L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/11/2019
Never again
The car has too many minor problems. Engine problems from bad turbos (2 of them) to ignition coils. 3rd door won’t open. Gas mileage is subpar. Suspension stinks. Avoid at all costs because it’s not worth it

Pros
Stylish car

Cons
Looks only go so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alicia S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/12/2019
DO NOT BUY!!!
WARNING! DO NOT BUY A HYUNDAI**

I hate this PATHETIC excuse of of what a manufacturer claims as a "dependable, America's, best warranty"

I recently tried to file a claim for the first time in my many years of being a Hyundai owner. I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Veloster just a couple yrs ago with only 30k miles on it. My engine blew - connecting rod completely shot out the engine, then parts that flew off busted my gas tank too - everything beyond repair and need to be completely replaced. $5000 in damages that I have to pay, no thanks to this company. They said "mechanical failure" and this was MY fault! What the hell? What am I suppose to do - have my engine rebuilt every month to make sure it's still intact?? The damages are almost more than the car is worth! I have stayed on top of all my maintenance since day 1 when I purchased the car. Just last year, the catalytic converter went out - however (thankfully) was under warranty.

I was travelling on vacay for the 4th - 3hrs from home, clear road, beautiful weather for a holiday and road trip, then all of a sudden I hear and feel a huge "bam" from the front and can literally feel under the car something solid ricochet all the way to the back, then I see smoke behind me, car obviously stalls, then I smell gas. If there had been one spark, I would've been dead! Thankfully a good samaritan came to the rescue telling "get out now!" Thus I did while 911 had been informed and on their way.


Hyundai told me that this is a common issue with their cars too, though theres no recall and I'm 9000 miles above the powertrain warranty. Never had I had so many issues with a car than I've had with this one. When looking upon the list of recalls, there are SOOO many makes that have the EXACT same issue! And again, this car had about 70k miles

Every call and "follow-up" keeps saying it's my fault! I have kept on top of maintenance (proof of every one).

Believe me - I will blast this in every forum out there. I am beyond belief of their policies when it comes to this situation. The car should have been considered totalled, or atleast covered somewhat by the "makers".....they need to stop hiding behind the curtains and admit they're mistake - and take light of this in order to produce better cars in so this doesn't happen to other victims.

Please do your research of other victims, lawsuits submitted (yet conveniently put off for yrs). Even the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recognizes this issue. Below is a glimpse into it....

https://www.thecarconnection.com/news/1122403_2013-hyundai-veloster-recalled-over-engine-stall-fire-risk



HYUNDAI is absolutely WORTHLESS and INCOMPETENT!

Pros
None

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Cindy L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/23/2015
2013 Veloster----just OK
Yes it has a incredible stiff ride, thought at first I could over look that. After almost 2 yrs I'm looking to get rid of the car. 6 speed manual is a dog on steep hills. It's way too easy to miss a gear and the damn this dogs out on you when you need it most. No spare tire but a can of fix a flat and a small air compressor. I just Hyundai tires, there is nothing cheaper on the market than those.

Cons
Tires are crap
Seat belt doesn't sit right on a shorter person
6 speed manual sucks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
LISA C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/28/2015
2013 Veloster Turbo
I purchased 2013 at the end of 2013, so the car was available a long time, and after I got it, I realized why. Ever since I purchased this car I've had problems with it's automatic shifting. I had it in the dealership several times for this but it was a design flaw and nothing could be done about it. We almost had a head on collision because of this issue, and I made my last appt on May 12, 2015. A recall had just been posted on May 5, 2015. It took Hyundai 1.6 years after my purchase to finally post a recall on something in the fuel system.
My shifting issues are minimal now, nothing at all like they were before but I've already developed a permanent distaste for this car and will try to sell it in the near future.
It's cute, though!

Pros
cute design

Cons
horrible transmission design

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MICHAEL W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/08/2015
Severe safety issue
Clutch pedal sticks in down position ultimately jumping into gear and throwing the car forward. Slave cylinder was replaced and problem still occurred. Car returned again

Pros
Car is sporty looking and fun to drive, gas milage is not as good as stated.

Cons
Safety issues with clutch pedal and transmission. Performance is lackluster as "non- performance" parts are used for transmission, clutch assembly and gear/ gear ratios. Throws are long.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
PEGGY J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/24/2015
cheap tin can
Underpowered, noisy car. Do not feel safe in it...can't wait to get rid off it...but "upside down" on loan to equity right now.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Noisy and cheap...lots of road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Charles S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
12/31/2016
Great car with a lot of problems
This is a very stylish, sporty car that I love driving, I have over 80K mostly highway miles. Avg. about 30 mpg. I am very tall and this car is so roomy...It is comfortable to drive and has great performance when you need that burst of speed to pass on the highway. The only compliant that I have is with how much time I have had this car in the shop, not that the dealership hasn't taken care of me, but this at as been in the shop more than any other vehicle I have owned. I don't know if it's just been a fluke or not that we have had so many issues with this car.

Pros
very comfortable ride. great leg room, I'm 6'8 and have plenty of room. pretty good mileage. good sound system. has speed when you need it, and handles great at higher speeds.

Cons
let see...headlights suck, don't light more than 50 feet. drive in deer country and can be very scary. A/C went out before 20K miles, engine blew up at 60K miles, (I will say they did replace engine at no cost to me), throttle control module out at 82K....
Back up camera should be standard ( I think it is now), very poor visibility backing out of parking lots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 615 in total