2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5rating 4.52
4.5
(626 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JY
Jennifer Y.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/11/2019
Love this car
Very economical to drive, great gas mileage. Love everything about it. Only issue is poor rear visibility for changing lanes on busy highways, something I thankfully do rarely. Extremely fun to drive and very comfortable, all the controls seem intuitively placed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Daryllyn B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Veloster!
This is my first Hyundai and I was skeptical at first, but I have been extremely happy with my Veloster! Great car ,,, Love everything about it! The back up camera has become my best friend … not only can I see what's coming , but it beeps to let me know I'm getting close.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marjorie C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2019
Veloster Turbo 2013. Love it! 32,000 miles now 😮
I love my 2013 Veloster Turbo. 32,000 miles now. Great car. No problems. Just go for my scheduled oil changes and maintenance. Love Hyundai Of Everett Service department. They are the best!! Drive from Bellevue to go there!

Pros
Love ❤️

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Dave K.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2019
Love the Little Thing
I need a car to commute in, and the Veloster is easy to drive, easy to park, easy to connect with my phone and music, easy to load groceries in the back, and gets great gas mileage. I have even driven it on long distance trips, (2400 miles) and was comfortable doing it.

Pros
Easy to park and maneuver in tight traffic or tight spaces.

Cons
Only cons are because of the size of the vehicle, vision issues, sitting so low to the ground. Also has a couple of blind spots due to the size of the side mirrors, and seeing out of the rear window Is difficult.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Margaret W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2019
LOVE MY CAR!
What a fun car to drive! I bought this used and have been more than happy with it. Very stylish and fun to drive! I was able to purchase an extended warranty and happy I am covered head to toe. This car makes me smile!

Pros
Sporty, fun

Cons
High octane fuel is needed to keep from having piston rattle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kimberly L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2019
YOU WILL LOVE THIS LITTLE CAR!
I bought this car 4 years ago not knowing anything about it or it’s history or knowing what to expect. But this little car has blown my mind! I am 47 years old and I have yet a gay go by that I don’t want to drive it. I have traveled across the country in it, I have driven on extremely curvy back roads, I’ve sat in traffic with it. This car is the most fun car I have driven since teenager. Indoor cargo space is a lot bigger than it looks I love the third door in the back, especially with kids. Sound system is amazing with the SiriusXM! My specific model is a 2013 six speed manual turbo so I feel like I’m constantly in control. The car is also owner friendly for small maintenance if you can use a screwdriver and ratchet. I was able to change my lightbulbs myself, although I had to remove the front bumper because the bulbs were so tight, I was still able to save $125 by doing it myself! (Yes I’m a girl too) send me a couple things on this car that other me a little, first gear to second gear is very short I feel like I’m always going too high on the RPMs or change gears and there’s not a lot of power between the two, and for some reason my clock keep slowing down losing time...I’m sure that’s my car specifically but I have yet to figure out how it does that ha ha, but the screen is very user-friendly, has a great GPS, great gas mileage, great handling. Overall a super fun car!!💙

Pros
Comfortable, stylish, sunroof, handles the curves like a beast, great sounds, third door, bigger inside than it looks, great gas mileage! It’s a keeper!

Cons
First to second gear ratio is laggy and needs more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Helen R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
very spacious compact vehicle
My Veloster has been a blessing... I spent $200 on gas when I moved from California to Florida with a loaded car! The two back seats go down, you have a lot a space to even load a 5 drawer dresser! Sporty 4 cylinder with a manual transmission which takes off pretty fast.

Cons
the third door is too compact of an opening; I think a fourth door would be great. Also, hatch door does not have key access, which should be another option to open it, especially when handle breaks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
James R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/22/2019
2013 Veloster
It has been a great car and I have 80K miles and it has averaged 37 mpg during that time of mixed city and interstate driving (i keep paper records).

So far there have been no maintenance surprises, but to be far the first 75K miles on any new cars requires very little maintenance.

I like 2 door cars but love the Veloster 3 doors layout to let back seat passengers in. Back seat head room is limited, but fine for short trips and it is what I expected.

The hatchback and fold down seats offer a lot of room for hauling stuff.

I like the performance of the turbo version and I have considered buying one, but I hate to give up the gas mileage for performance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/20/2019
Build quality
Steering wheel started peeling at 15k miles, inside door handles started peeling at 25k miles. I changed the oil religiously and my turbo went out at 49k miles! Put us in a very bad spot, luckily I am a mechanic and replaced the turbo manifold assembly myself! Expected a bit more out of this car!

Pros
Styling, handling, features.

Cons
Poor material quality, poor comfort, poor engine testing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Charlotte R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
A great vehicle!
Veloster! It has great gas mileage, drives very smooth and looks great!! I love the interior. It’s Roomer then it appears! The third door is pretty cool and convenient! And the interior lights are out of this world!

Pros
Great gas mileage great sleek design and I love the interior!

Cons
I have no con I love this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GU
Guillermo U.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2019
I love my Veloster
I love my Veloster even more now that a problem has been corrected, the throttle response is better and so is the economy that now surpasses 25 MPG to above 35 to 37.5. The car seems even peppier than before too, too bad I didn't get this when the car was new, but hey; it does now and I love. I always thought of my car as being zippier and now that it really is, wow..

Pros
Zippy car, great looks, easy to drive

Cons
Not anymore

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Desa S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Love my veloster
I love most every thing about my car. It has been dependable, great gas mileage, fun to drive, affordable. I do not like that it has so many blind spots. I have nearly been run over numerous times. It needs lane assist in all models.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Too many blindspots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alicia S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/12/2019
DO NOT BUY!!!
WARNING! DO NOT BUY A HYUNDAI**

I hate this PATHETIC excuse of of what a manufacturer claims as a "dependable, America's, best warranty"

I recently tried to file a claim for the first time in my many years of being a Hyundai owner. I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Veloster just a couple yrs ago with only 30k miles on it. My engine blew - connecting rod completely shot out the engine, then parts that flew off busted my gas tank too - everything beyond repair and need to be completely replaced. $5000 in damages that I have to pay, no thanks to this company. They said "mechanical failure" and this was MY fault! What the hell? What am I suppose to do - have my engine rebuilt every month to make sure it's still intact?? The damages are almost more than the car is worth! I have stayed on top of all my maintenance since day 1 when I purchased the car. Just last year, the catalytic converter went out - however (thankfully) was under warranty.

I was travelling on vacay for the 4th - 3hrs from home, clear road, beautiful weather for a holiday and road trip, then all of a sudden I hear and feel a huge "bam" from the front and can literally feel under the car something solid ricochet all the way to the back, then I see smoke behind me, car obviously stalls, then I smell gas. If there had been one spark, I would've been dead! Thankfully a good samaritan came to the rescue telling "get out now!" Thus I did while 911 had been informed and on their way.


Hyundai told me that this is a common issue with their cars too, though theres no recall and I'm 9000 miles above the powertrain warranty. Never had I had so many issues with a car than I've had with this one. When looking upon the list of recalls, there are SOOO many makes that have the EXACT same issue! And again, this car had about 70k miles

Every call and "follow-up" keeps saying it's my fault! I have kept on top of maintenance (proof of every one).

Believe me - I will blast this in every forum out there. I am beyond belief of their policies when it comes to this situation. The car should have been considered totalled, or atleast covered somewhat by the "makers".....they need to stop hiding behind the curtains and admit they're mistake - and take light of this in order to produce better cars in so this doesn't happen to other victims.

Please do your research of other victims, lawsuits submitted (yet conveniently put off for yrs). Even the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recognizes this issue. Below is a glimpse into it....

https://www.thecarconnection.com/news/1122403_2013-hyundai-veloster-recalled-over-engine-stall-fire-risk



HYUNDAI is absolutely WORTHLESS and INCOMPETENT!

Pros
None

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
Wayne L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/11/2019
Never again
The car has too many minor problems. Engine problems from bad turbos (2 of them) to ignition coils. 3rd door won’t open. Gas mileage is subpar. Suspension stinks. Avoid at all costs because it’s not worth it

Pros
Stylish car

Cons
Looks only go so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Steven D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Great vehicle to drive
My daughter bought the car . She move to west Virginia ( she is in the Navy) so to help her I took over the payments after driving the veloster ( I called the little raptor ) the car has everything I need looks and feel fun to drive

Cons
I don't care the value of the car as long I m happy with it that all it matter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Grant F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/01/2019
Bad car.
This veloster has constantly given me problems. I brought it in for recall and it's worse than when I brought it in. I have a lemon car. Hate to say it but it is. I ve called the dealership2 times and have left message and havent received a call back. And it's not driveable

Pros
The look

Cons
The car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jeff D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/28/2019
I want to like it....
Fun to drive. Handles well. Love the turbo kick. And great styling. It's very low to the ground so you have to be careful about the pot holes. Not happy with reliability. Always some sort of issue popping up. I will avoid Hyudai in the future.

Pros
Great styling and spirited performance with turbo

Cons
Reliability... 2 thumbs down. Rather cheap interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Francisco L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
13 Veloster Turbo
So far no major flaws. Only had the battery replaced under warranty. Pretty good gas mileage. This model does not come with back up camera but the newer models do. No oil leaks so far. Excellent music system.

Pros
Doesn't pull to the right or left when fast accelated.

Cons
Needs a little more horsepower and less turbo lag. No back up camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Angela F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/24/2019
DON'T GET A MANUAL
This car has been great don't get me wrong but at 76K miles I am already in need of a new clutch which in my mind after having a Honda Civic and driving it well over 160K still did not need a new clutch after selling that vehicle. We don't drive it crazy, its not our first manual car so for it to go out so early is in my mind poor craftsmanship on the vehicle. If you get this car I recommend getting an automatic to avoid the early replacement.

Gas mileage is great and the ride is good on the highway/city. Not bad for having a toddler either we just keep the car seat on the side with the 3rd door.

Pros
Gas Mileage, stylish, compact.

Cons
Clutch going bad too early (76K)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Godfrey B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
So far, So good
My Veloster keeps on doing it's thing. Gas mileage is not quite as high as advertised, but that seems to be common.
Every once in awhile, I get a "hard shift" from Park to Drive. Doesn't happen often. If frequency increases, I will comment to Service.
All in all, I am very satisfied with this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 626 in total