2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5rating 4.54
4.5
(607 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GB
Godfrey B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
So far, So good
My Veloster keeps on doing it's thing. Gas mileage is not quite as high as advertised, but that seems to be common.
Every once in awhile, I get a "hard shift" from Park to Drive. Doesn't happen often. If frequency increases, I will comment to Service.
All in all, I am very satisfied with this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
Helen B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
MY LAST CAR
I have had my Veloster for seven years and it still looks as beautiful as it did on the lot! JUST TRY AND GET IT AWAY FROM ME! Yeah, I know the tires are hard and it makes the ride a little rough and it is a little too low to the ground. The side mirrors are distracting when you try to turn and there is no keyhole on the passenger side but I can accept those things because IT JUST LOOKS SO D--- GOOD! I am nearly 81 and this will probably be my last car but I'd be proud to drive it thru those pearly gates!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sophie R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Love it!
I love the size and the gas mileage. I love the look of a sporty car. The only bad thing is when you hit a bump or pot hole I feel like my Veloster is going to break or I'm going to get a flat tire. Over all I love the Veloster.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sandra J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
2013 Veloster
I have had my Veloster since 2013 brand new. It is not a Turbo so the gas mileage is good and being a hatchback it has more room for hauling things than people may think. It has been a good little car.

Pros
Fun car
Good cargo space with seats down
Sporty looking
Drives good and is great when having to make sharp turns

Cons
Blindspots
The back seating is kind of cramped
I would prefer a 4 door instead of the 3
Better acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JZ
Jerry Z.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2019
fun vehicle but some things did not work correctly and the warranty is not what you think
I really enjoy driving this vehicle, fun to drive, got the turbo power when you need it, handles well and it still looks good after all these years. Did have problems with the heater/ac control knob. Had to have it replaced seven times, six under warranty and one out of warranty which, after a call to Hyundia, they took care of. Now at 93,000 miles car needs new fuel injectors which I thought would be covered under the 10 year, 100,000 mile drive train warranty. Was told by dealer that these are only covered for 5 years, 60,000 miles. Wow, aren't these parts part of the engine which is part of the drive train. Told to replace it would cost me $750. To me this is not fair to the consumer. They should be included with the 10 year warranty. Was planning to trade it in this year for a new Veloster Turbo or N, but the cost to fix may put that out of reach. Other than that, the car is good looking and items that lacked in this year (rubber in the hood that turns grey and bad chrome on the rear exhaust that was cheap and not able to keep clean) have been improved on the newer models. Fun car but watch the warranty.

Pros
Fun to drive, good looking inside and out, features and performance

Cons
Ride quality, 10 year warranty, ac/heater control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Philip B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
Great little car.
Bought it @ 89K. I now have 120K on my 2013 Veloster base with style pack. I've had no issues at all other than replacing brakes and tires. Stick to maintenance schedule to the letter. I still average 42mpg on highway.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Arturo F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/13/2019
Fun car to drive
The veloster is a fun car to dive. But has many , many blind spots. If you decide to get this car do yourself the favor and get one with a rear view camera. So many close calls on this vehicle while backing out or while merging lanes even after looking a couple of times before moving vehicle. Not a lot of HP so if you want more zip get a turbo , you'll need it. Also the radio or Head unit as they call it goes out on this vehicle. I contact the Manufacturer and they told me that they do have issues with touch screen after a couple of years. Hyundai will charge you over $2500 parts and labor to change out. You can buy a salvaged one for about $450 with built in amp or less then $200 for the version that needs the external amp. make sure you check your model before buying. Had issues with the Radio changing stations on its own which was frustrating at times.
When everything works as it should it is one of the best entertainment systems in cars.

Pros
Fun to drive , great gas mileage , easy to park in tight spots. gets about 35 MPG on road trips.

Cons
Hard to see out the back, lots of blind spots, radio will go out and give you issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Julio C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/08/2019
Meh
I really like the exterior design of the car, but otherwise not much stands out about it. It's a great car to go from point A to B, but if you're looking to get a lot of enjoyment out of your driving I'd look for something else. I bought the car used, and the transmission and clutch bearing went out a year later. I've heard that that can be an issue with Hyundai's, but I can only speak from my experience with the car.

Pros
Handling, comfortable seats, decent trunk space for such a small car, decent mileage, two cup holders in the back seat plus additional cup holders in back door

Cons
Stereo works intermittently, A/C dial gets out of alignment, visibility through back window is low,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Francisco L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2019
13 Veloster Turbo
So far, I have had no problems with vehicle plus I get very good mpg. No issues with paint so far, no leaks, just the regular maintenance, oil change and air filter. Not bad for a 3 door vehicle. Love it.

Pros
Have not had any issues. Excellent power and great mpg.

Cons
No rear camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Raymond H.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/26/2019
Great Car!
I have had more compliments on my Hyundai Veloster Turbo than any car I have ever owned. I have owned Mercedes, Corvettes, Z-Cars. The design just catches the eyes of everyone.Performace is awesome!

Pros
Good looking and performing. Dependable!

Cons
Wish it had 4 doors.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
John D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2019
Nice ,stylish.
Very comfortable vehicle to drive,gets lots of looks, plus great gas mileage,as it is used as my company vehicle.I would definitely recommend buying this type of vehicle,and great overall performance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VF
Virginia F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/16/2019
My little buddy
I just love this little car. This is my second one, I upgraded to the turbo and it really has a kick. I changed the tires and wheels, and when I pull up every head turns. The sound system was also upgraded .

Pros
Well built

Cons
Wish the sunroof was larger

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Michael G.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2019
My 2013 Veloster Review
I absolutely love the car from the first day I purchased it.... super sporty looking, great gas mileage, & I get many compliments, you’d never think it’s 6 yrs old , great car to customize, and cruise on Sundays

Pros
Cool car to customize if your into that kind of hobby like myself.....

Cons
Don’t care for the new 2019 body style, if I could keep my model & replace everything underneath brand new I’d do it in a heartbeat, unfortunately if I purchase a new car it won’t be the new Veloster, but I would remain in the Hyundai family

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HA
Henry A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/05/2019
I love my veloster when I was younger I had several sports cars including a TR three and several others none handled better or as well as this vehicle and the gas mileage is impeccable
For the cost of this vehicle the handling is superb the speed is way above average and I cannot believe the gas mileage I am getting 30 to 37Miles per gallon the features that I received for their cost is also unbelievable

Pros
Handling, gas mileage, appearance, speed for the Cost,It is a great vehicle for the price

Cons
Visibility at the front right column dividing the windshield from the windows.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Dirk B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/02/2019
2013 Veloster
I love my Veloster and it’s always a big hit with friends and people that see it or ride in it. The car is very underpowered considering it’s sporty looks. By installing a cold air intake it did help a little with the lag in performance but it could use another 100 Horsepower minimum to live up to its looks and handling.

Pros
Great looks and styling. Lots of front legroom even for a big guy like me. Handles great and a blast to drive on back country roads or in the city.

Cons
Very underpowered especially for how it looks. The Kumho tires that came on the car are cheap and loud even with very low miles. Whimpy sounding horn.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Chris S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/10/2019
Authentic are awesome inside and out, but for a 6 year old car with only 44,000 miles, things are starting to break, but for a 6 year old car with only 44,000 miles, things are starting to break
Authentics are awesome inside and out, but for a 6 year old car with only 44,000 miles, things are starting to break that should not be breaking. Plus, it keeps pulling in one direction. I have had the alignment checked numerous times by different facilities, and not one can figure out why. I am now being to think it may be a shock/strut, but again, with onl 44,000 they should not have gone bad already. I had a Ford Probe for 7 years and never had to replace my struts, and it had much better handling than the Veloster. I love the look of the 2013 Veloster, the 2019's, not so much.

Pros
Authentic are awesome inside and out.

Cons
Drives rough, and for a sporty car it doesn't hug the road whatsoever. I have noticed that Hyundai has a lot of used low mileage cars for sale. Frankly, I am being to think it may be to avoid covering the full warranty. I bought my car with I think 4k miles, strange amount of miles for a newish car. First owner must have brought it back almost immediately. I wouldn't have thought much of it until I overheard another customer at the dealership say she too had bought the car with only a few thousand miles on it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Leila S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2019
Dependable
I have never had a problem with my car since we bought it. Hyundai makes really excellent cars. Warranty is the best compared to other manufacturers. SterlingMcCall Hyundai dealership is one of the most professional that I have dealt with.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
Edward S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2019
Love it!
IT IS A GREAT BUY FOR THE MONEY. fast and responsive when you want it to be, but also has the ability to be very fuel economical. Plenty of interior room for what I need even though it doesn't look as if it would be large enough. One negative is that it's often difficult to see the front of the car... that makes it too easy to run over low curbs in parking lots, etc. Also, I wish there was a convertible model... this is Florida after all.

Pros
Fast, affordable, economical, low cost maintenance USUALLY

Cons
Difficult to see the front of the car from driver's seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dewey C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
Veloster after 125,000 miles
I have owned this car since it was new; it runs well and reliably. I have replaced tires, engine oil, fluids, filters, and brake pads as needed, All of the car's functions operate as they did when the car was new. The dealer maintains the car very well. I had one problem with a door handle and it was repaired under warranty. This car represents a good combination of performance, reliability, and economy at an affordable price.

Pros
Great exterior styling, comfortable interior, good fuel economy, well built, and reliable.

Cons
Additional horsepower would be good and better isolation from road bumps would be good too.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Ronney D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/11/2019
Great car
I love my Veloster, I only wish that i can find a dealership I can trust with my car. I'm thinking of buying the 2019, I love driving the car, i think i'd purchase the automatic opposed to the manual drive

Pros
n/a

Cons
n/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 607 in total