2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(637 Reviews)
Latest review 7 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

GA
Gary A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/02/2020
Easy on the eyes and easy to maintain
This car gets a lot of compliments from people who see it. I have the manual which is fun to drive, even though the car doesn’t have a lot of torc. It’s relatively inexpensive car for all of the bells and whistles that it comes with, and it’s also great on gas. It’s also very reliable, and does not cost much to maintain.

Pros
Reliable, stylish, easy on the eyes, easy to maintain, lots of features. Comes with nice rims, tint, navigation, rear back up camera, sun roof, blue tooth and more. Relatively Inexpensive.

Cons
Not very much torc. Back seating leg room could be better. The car could seat 5, but only seats 4 due to built in cup holders in the middle of the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2020
GREAT car. but wish I could see more of them advertised and on the road !
Love the car's fantastic styling, its acceleration, its practical 4-doors design; I have SLEPT in it 69 times in the USA National Parks. STILL get compliments from people walking by, after 113,000 miles. Again, wish Hyundai included it in the advertising, so more would sell !

Pros
Looks fantastic, drives great, rave reviews

Cons
Wish the ride were a little softer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robabeh R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/21/2020
Veloster Turbo 2013
I really liked my Veloster, i drive to work and back that’s why it has low mileage on it. Recently the airbag light came on and i had to take it to dealership, they said i have to replace a part and it cost me about $500.00. I don’t think a good quality car will have such an incident on 60,000 mileage.

Pros
Low gas usage, looks very cute, it’s very fast

Cons
The airbag light came on at 60,000 miles
I don’t know why?
needs to be fixed and i had to pay for it, no more warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christine B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/14/2020
Love my Veloster remix!
Very reliable car. Sporty, sexy and fun to drive. Marathon blue color is so pretty. Love this car. When I take my car in for maintenance the people there are so nice. This is a reliable car and it was so affordable.

Pros
Great gas mileage for trips and I work 20 miles away from where I work, soI take the highway. Awesome gas mileage. I feel fortunately to own this car.

Cons
Long road trips can be difficult the buckets seats hurt your back after a while. Lower back starts hurting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Ferenc S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/23/2020
Veloster Turbo - cheap interior, rattles and shakes
The '13 Veloster Turbo just had its final recall done with the ECU tuning, since many '13 models ended up on the junkyard prematurely (30k-90k) due to detonation prone engine with weak internals. The tuning recall ( of 2019) further reduces the already under performing turbo to avoid engine failure, I believe the numbers are probably down to 170 real-horsepower (unlike the fake 201HP Hyundai claimed, it was always really no more than 185-190) . There is really nothing special about 170hp in 2019-2020, it's actually average now. On normal operating conditions (your engine is performing without falling apart) it has a good low rpm torque but the car kinda falls on its face on higher rpms. Probably due to Hyundai de-tuning the ECU to save themselves from people bringing them back with a blown engine.
Onward from 2014 Hyundai corrected the engine failure issue by using stronger engine materials, so just be aware, avoid the 2013 model unless you want you engine fly apart.

Pros
Fun styling,
Nice headlights
Heated seats
You can still have fun in the car. Play pretend it's a different car.

Cons
Rides like the axles welded to the chassis with zero dampening from the struts. You will learn even the tiniest pot hole on your local roads, which weren't' apparent in your ______ (insert literally any car) .
Reliability issues with the turbo and cheaply made engine with cheap parts
Car stereo is abysmal at best. The lowest brightness setting still can blind the driver.
Terrible rear view visibility is basically nothing, with a horrifyingly bad blind spot I haven't seen before and I owned 12 cars already.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
Judy V.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
Great car
Love the car, third door great help for people and stuff. Sporty looking. I always say I may be getting older, I don’t have to grow up. I am in my 70’s and my car is sporty looking and bright red. Also gets great gas mileage,whats not to love.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Margaret W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
LOVE MY CAR!
I love my Veloster. So much fun to drive. Handles great. Love the sun/moon roof. Very sporty, great gas mileage. The ONLY thing I would change is I would go for the turbo. Has that extra punch. But probably best that I don't have it...ha ha ha.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Juan S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/18/2020
Great Service
I came in for an oil change and when I got home I noticed that my car had leak small amount of oil. I drove my car for a week and notice that my Veloster continues to leave me a small pool of oil. I called Kyler Murphy and he asked me to come by and they would checked it for me. Sure enough the attended to my care service with a friendly smile. Thank you Kyler Murphy and Hyundai dealership.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Monte P.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
2013 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
My Hyundai Veloster turbo has been a great car over the years with little to no problems, fun to drive, good on gas and gets up and goes. Definitely would recommend this car. The Hyundai Veloster turbo has a great price point and a great quality car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
Danny J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/28/2019
2013 veloster
I purchased this car for my son who needed a reliable car to get him around. the car is full of bells and whistles. plus the great gas milage helps cut cost. Its a fun little car with a great sport feel. the body style fits todays young teens and is very appealing.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VF
Van F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/28/2019
Best vehicle around
Bought this car for my son to use for college and work almost five years ago. I have had only the recommended maintenance done on it, and one ounce of problems. The best investment for your money. This is what you want in a car. Great gas mileage and low maintenance.

Pros
Good gas mileage, great styling, lots of get up and go.

Cons
Ride is too stiff, poor back window view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
Jennifer Y.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/11/2019
Love this car
Very economical to drive, great gas mileage. Love everything about it. Only issue is poor rear visibility for changing lanes on busy highways, something I thankfully do rarely. Extremely fun to drive and very comfortable, all the controls seem intuitively placed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Daryllyn B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2019
Veloster!
This is my first Hyundai and I was skeptical at first, but I have been extremely happy with my Veloster! Great car ,,, Love everything about it! The back up camera has become my best friend … not only can I see what's coming , but it beeps to let me know I'm getting close.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Marjorie C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2019
Veloster Turbo 2013. Love it! 32,000 miles now ?
I love my 2013 Veloster Turbo. 32,000 miles now. Great car. No problems. Just go for my scheduled oil changes and maintenance. Love Hyundai Of Everett Service department. They are the best!! Drive from Bellevue to go there!

Pros
Love ❤️

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Dave K.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/05/2019
Love the Little Thing
I need a car to commute in, and the Veloster is easy to drive, easy to park, easy to connect with my phone and music, easy to load groceries in the back, and gets great gas mileage. I have even driven it on long distance trips, (2400 miles) and was comfortable doing it.

Pros
Easy to park and maneuver in tight traffic or tight spaces.

Cons
Only cons are because of the size of the vehicle, vision issues, sitting so low to the ground. Also has a couple of blind spots due to the size of the side mirrors, and seeing out of the rear window Is difficult.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Margaret W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/26/2019
LOVE MY CAR!
What a fun car to drive! I bought this used and have been more than happy with it. Very stylish and fun to drive! I was able to purchase an extended warranty and happy I am covered head to toe. This car makes me smile!

Pros
Sporty, fun

Cons
High octane fuel is needed to keep from having piston rattle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kimberly L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/30/2019
YOU WILL LOVE THIS LITTLE CAR!
I bought this car 4 years ago not knowing anything about it or it’s history or knowing what to expect. But this little car has blown my mind! I am 47 years old and I have yet a gay go by that I don’t want to drive it. I have traveled across the country in it, I have driven on extremely curvy back roads, I’ve sat in traffic with it. This car is the most fun car I have driven since teenager. Indoor cargo space is a lot bigger than it looks I love the third door in the back, especially with kids. Sound system is amazing with the SiriusXM! My specific model is a 2013 six speed manual turbo so I feel like I’m constantly in control. The car is also owner friendly for small maintenance if you can use a screwdriver and ratchet. I was able to change my lightbulbs myself, although I had to remove the front bumper because the bulbs were so tight, I was still able to save $125 by doing it myself! (Yes I’m a girl too) send me a couple things on this car that other me a little, first gear to second gear is very short I feel like I’m always going too high on the RPMs or change gears and there’s not a lot of power between the two, and for some reason my clock keep slowing down losing time...I’m sure that’s my car specifically but I have yet to figure out how it does that ha ha, but the screen is very user-friendly, has a great GPS, great gas mileage, great handling. Overall a super fun car!!?

Pros
Comfortable, stylish, sunroof, handles the curves like a beast, great sounds, third door, bigger inside than it looks, great gas mileage! It’s a keeper!

Cons
First to second gear ratio is laggy and needs more power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
Helen R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2019
very spacious compact vehicle
My Veloster has been a blessing... I spent $200 on gas when I moved from California to Florida with a loaded car! The two back seats go down, you have a lot a space to even load a 5 drawer dresser! Sporty 4 cylinder with a manual transmission which takes off pretty fast.

Cons
the third door is too compact of an opening; I think a fourth door would be great. Also, hatch door does not have key access, which should be another option to open it, especially when handle breaks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
James R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/22/2019
2013 Veloster
It has been a great car and I have 80K miles and it has averaged 37 mpg during that time of mixed city and interstate driving (i keep paper records).

So far there have been no maintenance surprises, but to be far the first 75K miles on any new cars requires very little maintenance.

I like 2 door cars but love the Veloster 3 doors layout to let back seat passengers in. Back seat head room is limited, but fine for short trips and it is what I expected.

The hatchback and fold down seats offer a lot of room for hauling stuff.

I like the performance of the turbo version and I have considered buying one, but I hate to give up the gas mileage for performance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
Paul S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/20/2019
Build quality
Steering wheel started peeling at 15k miles, inside door handles started peeling at 25k miles. I changed the oil religiously and my turbo went out at 49k miles! Put us in a very bad spot, luckily I am a mechanic and replaced the turbo manifold assembly myself! Expected a bit more out of this car!

Pros
Styling, handling, features.

Cons
Poor material quality, poor comfort, poor engine testing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 637 in total