2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(649 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

BR
Brian R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/31/2020
BEST CAR I HAVE OWNED
fast, fast, fast, fast, fast, fast, compact but very roomy, large rear hatch, I can haul anything I want, fold down eats are awesome, longest I have ever owned a car or truck.
best car and service department/ service warranty ever.

great job

Pros
FAST

Cons
SPARK PLUGS/ENGINE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
Barbara M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/22/2020
2013 Hyundai
I have enjoyed driving the car over the last 7 yrs. It handles well in most weather conditions. The is constructed well and holds up on day to day driving. Get excellent gas mileage both in and out of town.

Pros
I have put over 110K miles on my car with little breakdown issues. Love driving the car and get over 32 mpg on average. I have it serviced when required at Ron Tonkin Hyundai and have had excellent results. The car is well made I have not changed the brake pads yet or muffler.

Cons
You don't get the best of miles on the tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kenneth B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/22/2020
Love My Ride!
I fell in love with my 2013 Veloster the moment I saw her in the lot. I loved her look and attitude! I'm not much on reviewing performance measures but find that she (Stella Luna Lovegood) is all that I could possibly want in a driving vehicle. Along with the excellent service I receive at Classic, her reliability, and the overall feel when I drive her, I couldn't be more pleased.

Pros
See above!

Cons
None!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Judy R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/15/2020
Still enjoying my Veloster
I have enjoyed owning my 2013 Veloster and still do! It has done well on long trips and on every day back and forth trips from my home. It has more space in it than outward appearances and surprisingly spacious room for passengers and cargo!

Pros
I enjoy the size because it is easy to turn around in tight spaces and parking is good . I like the sun roof and how it works when you want to use it . I like how the seat and trunk all fold down and expose more carrying space and it is fuel efficient.

Cons
The only concerns are no back up camera in this model year and blind spot in back window passenger side and tires seem not to last as long but that is all ...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Marvin T.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2020
marvin t
the car is sporty, excellent in performance, great features inside and out. Looks like a more expensive priced vehicle. A great car for city driving, parking, and has great curb appeal. A great value priced vehicle.

Pros
great value

Cons
need a fourth door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LINDA D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/06/2020
Hyundai Veloster
Chic and SEXY. The performance is top rated and I was very excited to drive it. I will continue to go to Integerity because they see the problem before it occurred.This car is everything I hoped it would do.

Pros
High Performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Marvin T.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/21/2020
marvin thomas
I like the sport car design. Perfect size for a short commute to work. the only disadvantage its hard to tell how close you are to a parking chuk, can rub the undercarriage. You have to be under 5 foot tall to get in back seat. A fourth door would be nice.

Pros
easy to get into

Cons
don't sit in the back seat if taller then five feet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Roxanne M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/18/2020
Veloster! A fun ride!
A great car, speed when you need it, travels comfortably and efficiently! No high gas cost here! I always have fun when we go for a ride! The only draw back is I can only take 3 friends. One word - Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Maria D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/07/2020
Veloster 2013
Good car. Visibility is a concern and mine loses time. I correct the time once a week. I love the sunroof and sound is great!
Lacks power when getting on the freeway, its not a turbo. Rear camera is a plus!

Pros
Smooth ride

Cons
Visibility
Clock loses time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 05/08/2020
Thank you. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch soon. ^cc

BM
Barbara M.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2020
My Veloster
The car has been very dependable since I brought the car in 2012. Get great gas mileage and manufacture has taken care of the few issues that have arisen. Fun to drive around town. At the time got more features for the money.

Pros
Great gas mileage and dependable

Cons
Hard on tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Francisco L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
Excellent vehicle!
Have had this vehicle for over 6 years and still runs like new. Couple of mods and it runs excellent and with more power. Excellent gas mileage. The only thing that has been replaced was the battery, still under warranty. No other issues.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Excellent power. Best warranty out there.

Cons
Did not have rearview camera available when purchased.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZC
Zakary C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
FUN TO DRIVE & RELIABLE
I love my Veloster Turbo DCT with all my heart. It's fun to drive, great on gas, and is practical enough for daily use. Rear seats fold down and provide lots of room for hauling stuff. The throttle response in Sport mode is improved immensely compared to Eco and Normal. This car was built so well for its class.

Pros
Quick shifting DCT
Great on gas
Superb steering response
Sporty suspension
Unique exterior and interior design language
Practical - Good trunk space

Cons
Ride quality suffers to allow for better handling, but not unbearable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GA
Gary A.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/02/2020
Easy on the eyes and easy to maintain
This car gets a lot of compliments from people who see it. I have the manual which is fun to drive, even though the car doesn’t have a lot of torc. It’s relatively inexpensive car for all of the bells and whistles that it comes with, and it’s also great on gas. It’s also very reliable, and does not cost much to maintain.

Pros
Reliable, stylish, easy on the eyes, easy to maintain, lots of features. Comes with nice rims, tint, navigation, rear back up camera, sun roof, blue tooth and more. Relatively Inexpensive.

Cons
Not very much torc. Back seating leg room could be better. The car could seat 5, but only seats 4 due to built in cup holders in the middle of the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2020
GREAT car. but wish I could see more of them advertised and on the road !
Love the car's fantastic styling, its acceleration, its practical 4-doors design; I have SLEPT in it 69 times in the USA National Parks. STILL get compliments from people walking by, after 113,000 miles. Again, wish Hyundai included it in the advertising, so more would sell !

Pros
Looks fantastic, drives great, rave reviews

Cons
Wish the ride were a little softer

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robabeh R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/21/2020
Veloster Turbo 2013
I really liked my Veloster, i drive to work and back that’s why it has low mileage on it. Recently the airbag light came on and i had to take it to dealership, they said i have to replace a part and it cost me about $500.00. I don’t think a good quality car will have such an incident on 60,000 mileage.

Pros
Low gas usage, looks very cute, it’s very fast

Cons
The airbag light came on at 60,000 miles
I don’t know why?
needs to be fixed and i had to pay for it, no more warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christine B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/14/2020
Love my Veloster remix!
Very reliable car. Sporty, sexy and fun to drive. Marathon blue color is so pretty. Love this car. When I take my car in for maintenance the people there are so nice. This is a reliable car and it was so affordable.

Pros
Great gas mileage for trips and I work 20 miles away from where I work, soI take the highway. Awesome gas mileage. I feel fortunately to own this car.

Cons
Long road trips can be difficult the buckets seats hurt your back after a while. Lower back starts hurting.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
Ferenc S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/23/2020
Veloster Turbo - cheap interior, rattles and shakes
The '13 Veloster Turbo just had its final recall done with the ECU tuning, since many '13 models ended up on the junkyard prematurely (30k-90k) due to detonation prone engine with weak internals. The tuning recall ( of 2019) further reduces the already under performing turbo to avoid engine failure, I believe the numbers are probably down to 170 real-horsepower (unlike the fake 201HP Hyundai claimed, it was always really no more than 185-190) . There is really nothing special about 170hp in 2019-2020, it's actually average now. On normal operating conditions (your engine is performing without falling apart) it has a good low rpm torque but the car kinda falls on its face on higher rpms. Probably due to Hyundai de-tuning the ECU to save themselves from people bringing them back with a blown engine.
Onward from 2014 Hyundai corrected the engine failure issue by using stronger engine materials, so just be aware, avoid the 2013 model unless you want you engine fly apart.

Pros
Fun styling,
Nice headlights
Heated seats
You can still have fun in the car. Play pretend it's a different car.

Cons
Rides like the axles welded to the chassis with zero dampening from the struts. You will learn even the tiniest pot hole on your local roads, which weren't' apparent in your ______ (insert literally any car) .
Reliability issues with the turbo and cheaply made engine with cheap parts
Car stereo is abysmal at best. The lowest brightness setting still can blind the driver.
Terrible rear view visibility is basically nothing, with a horrifyingly bad blind spot I haven't seen before and I owned 12 cars already.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
Judy V.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2020
Great car
Love the car, third door great help for people and stuff. Sporty looking. I always say I may be getting older, I don’t have to grow up. I am in my 70’s and my car is sporty looking and bright red. Also gets great gas mileage,whats not to love.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Margaret W.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
LOVE MY CAR!
I love my Veloster. So much fun to drive. Handles great. Love the sun/moon roof. Very sporty, great gas mileage. The ONLY thing I would change is I would go for the turbo. Has that extra punch. But probably best that I don't have it...ha ha ha.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Juan S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/18/2020
Great Service
I came in for an oil change and when I got home I noticed that my car had leak small amount of oil. I drove my car for a week and notice that my Veloster continues to leave me a small pool of oil. I called Kyler Murphy and he asked me to come by and they would checked it for me. Sure enough the attended to my care service with a friendly smile. Thank you Kyler Murphy and Hyundai dealership.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 649 in total