2013
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5Overall Rating 4.52/5rating 4.52
4.5
(618 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PS
Paul S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/20/2019
Build quality
Steering wheel started peeling at 15k miles, inside door handles started peeling at 25k miles. I changed the oil religiously and my turbo went out at 49k miles! Put us in a very bad spot, luckily I am a mechanic and replaced the turbo manifold assembly myself! Expected a bit more out of this car!

Pros
Styling, handling, features.

Cons
Poor material quality, poor comfort, poor engine testing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CR
Charlotte R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
A great vehicle!
Veloster! It has great gas mileage, drives very smooth and looks great!! I love the interior. It’s Roomer then it appears! The third door is pretty cool and convenient! And the interior lights are out of this world!

Pros
Great gas mileage great sleek design and I love the interior!

Cons
I have no con I love this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GU
Guillermo U.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/25/2019
I love my Veloster
I love my Veloster even more now that a problem has been corrected, the throttle response is better and so is the economy that now surpasses 25 MPG to above 35 to 37.5. The car seems even peppier than before too, too bad I didn't get this when the car was new, but hey; it does now and I love. I always thought of my car as being zippier and now that it really is, wow..

Pros
Zippy car, great looks, easy to drive

Cons
Not anymore

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Desa S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/12/2019
Love my veloster
I love most every thing about my car. It has been dependable, great gas mileage, fun to drive, affordable. I do not like that it has so many blind spots. I have nearly been run over numerous times. It needs lane assist in all models.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
Too many blindspots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Alicia S.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/12/2019
DO NOT BUY!!!
WARNING! DO NOT BUY A HYUNDAI**

I hate this PATHETIC excuse of of what a manufacturer claims as a "dependable, America's, best warranty"

I recently tried to file a claim for the first time in my many years of being a Hyundai owner. I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Veloster just a couple yrs ago with only 30k miles on it. My engine blew - connecting rod completely shot out the engine, then parts that flew off busted my gas tank too - everything beyond repair and need to be completely replaced. $5000 in damages that I have to pay, no thanks to this company. They said "mechanical failure" and this was MY fault! What the hell? What am I suppose to do - have my engine rebuilt every month to make sure it's still intact?? The damages are almost more than the car is worth! I have stayed on top of all my maintenance since day 1 when I purchased the car. Just last year, the catalytic converter went out - however (thankfully) was under warranty.

I was travelling on vacay for the 4th - 3hrs from home, clear road, beautiful weather for a holiday and road trip, then all of a sudden I hear and feel a huge "bam" from the front and can literally feel under the car something solid ricochet all the way to the back, then I see smoke behind me, car obviously stalls, then I smell gas. If there had been one spark, I would've been dead! Thankfully a good samaritan came to the rescue telling "get out now!" Thus I did while 911 had been informed and on their way.


Hyundai told me that this is a common issue with their cars too, though theres no recall and I'm 9000 miles above the powertrain warranty. Never had I had so many issues with a car than I've had with this one. When looking upon the list of recalls, there are SOOO many makes that have the EXACT same issue! And again, this car had about 70k miles

Every call and "follow-up" keeps saying it's my fault! I have kept on top of maintenance (proof of every one).

Believe me - I will blast this in every forum out there. I am beyond belief of their policies when it comes to this situation. The car should have been considered totalled, or atleast covered somewhat by the "makers".....they need to stop hiding behind the curtains and admit they're mistake - and take light of this in order to produce better cars in so this doesn't happen to other victims.

Please do your research of other victims, lawsuits submitted (yet conveniently put off for yrs). Even the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recognizes this issue. Below is a glimpse into it....

https://www.thecarconnection.com/news/1122403_2013-hyundai-veloster-recalled-over-engine-stall-fire-risk



HYUNDAI is absolutely WORTHLESS and INCOMPETENT!

Pros
None

Cons
Everything

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WL
Wayne L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/11/2019
Never again
The car has too many minor problems. Engine problems from bad turbos (2 of them) to ignition coils. 3rd door won’t open. Gas mileage is subpar. Suspension stinks. Avoid at all costs because it’s not worth it

Pros
Stylish car

Cons
Looks only go so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Steven D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/03/2019
Great vehicle to drive
My daughter bought the car . She move to west Virginia ( she is in the Navy) so to help her I took over the payments after driving the veloster ( I called the little raptor ) the car has everything I need looks and feel fun to drive

Cons
I don't care the value of the car as long I m happy with it that all it matter

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GF
Grant F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/01/2019
Bad car.
This veloster has constantly given me problems. I brought it in for recall and it's worse than when I brought it in. I have a lemon car. Hate to say it but it is. I ve called the dealership2 times and have left message and havent received a call back. And it's not driveable

Pros
The look

Cons
The car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Jeff D.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/28/2019
I want to like it....
Fun to drive. Handles well. Love the turbo kick. And great styling. It's very low to the ground so you have to be careful about the pot holes. Not happy with reliability. Always some sort of issue popping up. I will avoid Hyudai in the future.

Pros
Great styling and spirited performance with turbo

Cons
Reliability... 2 thumbs down. Rather cheap interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Francisco L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
13 Veloster Turbo
So far no major flaws. Only had the battery replaced under warranty. Pretty good gas mileage. This model does not come with back up camera but the newer models do. No oil leaks so far. Excellent music system.

Pros
Doesn't pull to the right or left when fast accelated.

Cons
Needs a little more horsepower and less turbo lag. No back up camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Angela F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/24/2019
DON'T GET A MANUAL
This car has been great don't get me wrong but at 76K miles I am already in need of a new clutch which in my mind after having a Honda Civic and driving it well over 160K still did not need a new clutch after selling that vehicle. We don't drive it crazy, its not our first manual car so for it to go out so early is in my mind poor craftsmanship on the vehicle. If you get this car I recommend getting an automatic to avoid the early replacement.

Gas mileage is great and the ride is good on the highway/city. Not bad for having a toddler either we just keep the car seat on the side with the 3rd door.

Pros
Gas Mileage, stylish, compact.

Cons
Clutch going bad too early (76K)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Godfrey B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2019
So far, So good
My Veloster keeps on doing it's thing. Gas mileage is not quite as high as advertised, but that seems to be common.
Every once in awhile, I get a "hard shift" from Park to Drive. Doesn't happen often. If frequency increases, I will comment to Service.
All in all, I am very satisfied with this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
Helen B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
MY LAST CAR
I have had my Veloster for seven years and it still looks as beautiful as it did on the lot! JUST TRY AND GET IT AWAY FROM ME! Yeah, I know the tires are hard and it makes the ride a little rough and it is a little too low to the ground. The side mirrors are distracting when you try to turn and there is no keyhole on the passenger side but I can accept those things because IT JUST LOOKS SO D--- GOOD! I am nearly 81 and this will probably be my last car but I'd be proud to drive it thru those pearly gates!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Sophie R.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Love it!
I love the size and the gas mileage. I love the look of a sporty car. The only bad thing is when you hit a bump or pot hole I feel like my Veloster is going to break or I'm going to get a flat tire. Over all I love the Veloster.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
Sandra J.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2019
2013 Veloster
I have had my Veloster since 2013 brand new. It is not a Turbo so the gas mileage is good and being a hatchback it has more room for hauling things than people may think. It has been a good little car.

Pros
Fun car
Good cargo space with seats down
Sporty looking
Drives good and is great when having to make sharp turns

Cons
Blindspots
The back seating is kind of cramped
I would prefer a 4 door instead of the 3
Better acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JZ
Jerry Z.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/24/2019
fun vehicle but some things did not work correctly and the warranty is not what you think
I really enjoy driving this vehicle, fun to drive, got the turbo power when you need it, handles well and it still looks good after all these years. Did have problems with the heater/ac control knob. Had to have it replaced seven times, six under warranty and one out of warranty which, after a call to Hyundia, they took care of. Now at 93,000 miles car needs new fuel injectors which I thought would be covered under the 10 year, 100,000 mile drive train warranty. Was told by dealer that these are only covered for 5 years, 60,000 miles. Wow, aren't these parts part of the engine which is part of the drive train. Told to replace it would cost me $750. To me this is not fair to the consumer. They should be included with the 10 year warranty. Was planning to trade it in this year for a new Veloster Turbo or N, but the cost to fix may put that out of reach. Other than that, the car is good looking and items that lacked in this year (rubber in the hood that turns grey and bad chrome on the rear exhaust that was cheap and not able to keep clean) have been improved on the newer models. Fun car but watch the warranty.

Pros
Fun to drive, good looking inside and out, features and performance

Cons
Ride quality, 10 year warranty, ac/heater control

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Philip B.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
Great little car.
Bought it @ 89K. I now have 120K on my 2013 Veloster base with style pack. I've had no issues at all other than replacing brakes and tires. Stick to maintenance schedule to the letter. I still average 42mpg on highway.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Arturo F.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/13/2019
Fun car to drive
The veloster is a fun car to dive. But has many , many blind spots. If you decide to get this car do yourself the favor and get one with a rear view camera. So many close calls on this vehicle while backing out or while merging lanes even after looking a couple of times before moving vehicle. Not a lot of HP so if you want more zip get a turbo , you'll need it. Also the radio or Head unit as they call it goes out on this vehicle. I contact the Manufacturer and they told me that they do have issues with touch screen after a couple of years. Hyundai will charge you over $2500 parts and labor to change out. You can buy a salvaged one for about $450 with built in amp or less then $200 for the version that needs the external amp. make sure you check your model before buying. Had issues with the Radio changing stations on its own which was frustrating at times.
When everything works as it should it is one of the best entertainment systems in cars.

Pros
Fun to drive , great gas mileage , easy to park in tight spots. gets about 35 MPG on road trips.

Cons
Hard to see out the back, lots of blind spots, radio will go out and give you issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Julio C.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/08/2019
Meh
I really like the exterior design of the car, but otherwise not much stands out about it. It's a great car to go from point A to B, but if you're looking to get a lot of enjoyment out of your driving I'd look for something else. I bought the car used, and the transmission and clutch bearing went out a year later. I've heard that that can be an issue with Hyundai's, but I can only speak from my experience with the car.

Pros
Handling, comfortable seats, decent trunk space for such a small car, decent mileage, two cup holders in the back seat plus additional cup holders in back door

Cons
Stereo works intermittently, A/C dial gets out of alignment, visibility through back window is low,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FL
Francisco L.
2013 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2019
13 Veloster Turbo
So far, I have had no problems with vehicle plus I get very good mpg. No issues with paint so far, no leaks, just the regular maintenance, oil change and air filter. Not bad for a 3 door vehicle. Love it.

Pros
Have not had any issues. Excellent power and great mpg.

Cons
No rear camera.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 618 in total