2014
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(302 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DH
David H.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2020
Extremely fun to drive just needs more power
I've had it for 2yrs and do not plan on selling anytime soon I just wish it had Veloster N power so I wouldn't get picked on for being slow BUT the fun of driving it makes up for the low power output of the gdi 1.6l 201hp engine.

Pros
Extremely fun to drive.

Cons
Not enough POWER.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Marian P.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2020
love my Veloster
Even though the Veloster is a small car it can carry a big load, it's very comfortable ( even for an 80 yr. old lady), drives & handles well & gets great gas mileage. I love my Velostar & don't misrepresent the incorrect spelling because it is a "star".

Cons
Wish the back door opener was on the driver's side
would like a little flexibility for seat comfort

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carol H.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/06/2020
2014 Velostet Turbo
I love everything about my car except that I had to purchase separate wheels to mount my snow tires on and someplace to store them off season because I do not have a garage. That being said, the car is a joy to drive and loves zipping through the curves. And goes like a little tank in the snow with its four snow tires...well worth the extra effort. The gear box is tight and the info system is easy to use and access. I love the overall design especially the tail lights! I hope to have this car forever.

Pros
Fit and finish, engine, handling are excellent. Rear hitch was easy to get and have installed for my bicycle rack.

Cons
Wheels do not take snow tires and I had to purchase the wheels aftermarket. Because of the large sunroof I cannot install a roof rack.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Tsan L.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/18/2020
Fun,Dependable and Sporty!
I love my Veloster! It’s a sporty fun car! I love the 3 door design and how much space I have in my hatchback. I’ve never had to have anything done to my car but the required maintenance and it still performs well after having it 6 years! If you like a practical but sleek looking ride that’s good on gas this is the car for you!

Pros
Good on gas,sleek sporty look,no maintenance issues,very powerful and fast

Cons
Tight back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lynn D.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/11/2020
Veloster Turbo
Great car has miles performance...style color design inside and outside wheels design dash board great overall to sharp body style easy to drive just gorgeous sharp as high just looooovvvvveeee it love

Pros
Great build

Cons
Low profile tires always having to replace tires hitting pot holes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AJ
Amy J.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/15/2020
Love Hate Relationship
I love my veloster. It is great on gas. Looks stylish. Drives well. AC blows cold which is a plus and the heat gets hot. I have had a few issues though. The lights dont hold up well. I have had to change the headlights, blinkers, and rear lights too often. By the way headlights bulbs have to be changed by a professional. There was also an electrical issue with the backdoor. The trunk button on the car is not well made. Feels like it's going to break any time. Be careful of bumps in the road as the car sits very low.
I have a love hate relationship with my car.

Pros
Excellent on gas.
Stylish

Cons
Headlights have to be changed by professional. Some issues with door locks for the back door. Trunk button on car is not well made.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marcy S.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/02/2020
My vehicle works great!
He was very nice and very helpful and hoping that he will be just like the other adviser that I had for a long time..... Allen Byrd is who I had. If he is, then I will stay with him. He Seemed to be thorough.... After my car was better. It was my stick shift and works like new again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mary W.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/25/2020
Love my car!!!
My Veloster is my pride and joy. I love the way it handles and it’s sports car feel. It’s fuel economy is another major plus. In almost six years, I’ve driven it over 85,000 miles. Hardly a week goes by that someone doesn’t stop me to ask if it’s as much fun to drive as it looks like it would be. My answer is always an enthusiastic “Yes”!!! Well, almost always. I was waiting several years ago for a New Mexico State Trooper to finish the paperwork for a ticket when he said his mother-in-law had just bought a Veloster and was loving it. When he asked me how I liked mine I had to say I had loved it up until the moment he stopped me.
The only major draw backs are the driver blind spots created around the windshield and the backup camera not not indicating the trajectory of the car when backing. By only indicating a straight line it isn’t as helpful as it could have been. Also the light color cloth seats are easily stained and don’t hold up well under normal use.

Pros
Steering, mileage, design and 6 speed shift

Cons
Blind spots, poor fabric use as seat covers, backup camera design and easily chipped paint on hood.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
Lynn D.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/02/2020
Veloster Turbo
Love my veloster ...low maintenance..very stylish..color.design.inside details..great performance. Nice ride.3 door...color still shines..alot if details...alloy wheels design..seats are very comfortable.

Cons
Low profile tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Randy B.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/07/2019
love this car!
I traded off my BMW Z 3.. The Veloster is a over all better car. Love my Veloster and have recommended the car to friends. The cabin is a loud but with the 3 doors, hatch back and panoramic sunroof it is to be expected.

Pros
Style, performance, I have the turbo. love it!

Cons
Cabin is a little loud..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mary W.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/26/2019
2014 Veloster
I fell in love with the overall design and sleek look of the Veloster before I ever got to my test drive. There were only a few in the area at the time I bought mine, so it stood out. After five years of above average driving, I especially enjoy the sporty nature and handling ability combined with the excellent MPG. My Veloster is gonna be with me for a long time in the future.

Pros
Love the smaller size and easy maneuvering ability is a real winner. I fell in love with the overall design of the car at first sight. I frequently get asked about my car and how I like driving it.
Large rear trunk space. Holds much more than expected.

Cons
Blind spots due to large windshield support beams.
Inability to open the sunroof without triggering the open top feature. I've had my car for years and I still have trouble getting just the sunroof feature at times. Annoying!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mark M.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2019
Veloster turbo
Neat little car, fun to drive, great mileage, turbo charger, Direct Gas Injection over 200 hp 4 cylinder and about 35 + miles a gallon highway drove from Hickory North Carolina to Caldwell Ohio and stopped in Charleston West Virginia on the way back for fuel..all that on 12 gallons of fuel..turbo and car designed to run on 87 octane so no need for premium. Manual actually cautions against running premium

Pros
Power, small car but roomy up front not so much in back, back seat folds down and hatchback is like small SUV cargo area. Wide low profile tires, very wide handle awesome but has drawbacks , great sound system , electric assist power steering

Cons
3 doors, low profile tires cause tires noise and tires pop if you hit potholes has happened to me twice

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Benjamin A.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2019
More fun for your money
I love this car it is sporty and practical. It has style and grace and the turbo really gets you moving. I would highly recommend this was my second Veloster and my 5th Hyundai. You cant beat the quality.

Pros
Has features you would pay extra for with other manufacturers

Cons
None well built

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NH
Nancy H.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2019
WONDERFUL PLACE
LOVE our Veloster, this is actually our second one and there will probably be a 3rd in our future. The Veloster Turbo is so fun to drive and looks like a nice little hotrod, which I must say it is? Definitely love this car.

Pros
Love everything about the Veloster

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tyler H.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/24/2019
Why such a timid engine?
I love my Veloster.... I really do. But, I really, truly, honestly wish that Hyundai had given it more snot!
From my experience, Drive Mode is worthless here in Florida unless you finally get onto I75 and just coast. Otherwise, it’s Sport Mode to make it through the crazy FL streets.
And who the heck thought that three doors was a good idea!? And the third is on the passenger!??? What are we running, a cab service?
Getting a truck next time.

Pros
Great on gas and very roomy for passengers or cargo.

Cons
Three doors and a no-go engine!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
Rock P.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/05/2019
14 veloster
Fun to drive. Few engine problems. Great fuel efficiency. Stylish exterior & interior. Handles well. Great purchase price. Sporty with turbo. Panoramic sunroof. Heated seats. Navigation. Fog lights. Leather seats.

Pros
Fun and fuel efficient vehicle.

Cons
Engine problems.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Janet W.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/02/2019
Volester review
Like the cars style and looks. BUT I have been stranded 3 times because of faulty chips and my radio and it's components went out and I had no radio heat adjustments etc. I had less than 3000 miles the first time it wouldn't start and less than 32,000 when the radio area went out. I would not buy another one after the issues I have had with this one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Shikeeb A.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/02/2019
Amazing
It’s a fun car to have with amazing sets and sport look inside and outside. I would definitely recommend this if it was low with gas consumption and got enough professional service centers . One of the main reason I don’t like this car anymore is cause of it’s unprofessional service centers

Pros
Cute and fun

Cons
Consume lots of gas

Mine is 16 mile per gallon .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KJ
Kathleen J.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/17/2019
Veloster review
Fun to drive good looking and reliable. When I first got the car my neighbors stopped by to get a look. My other car was 18 years old so they were really impressed & surprised. I told them it was my midlife crisis car!

Pros
Size affordability

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vince A.
2014 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/31/2019
My Veloster In Too Small, But It Runs Great Lots of Power’
Great Car Major Power Very Strong Car Just To Small & Uncomfortable For Me at 6’1 200lbs! Price was perfect at time of Purchase! It rides well for everyone that rides with me They day They Love it! Thank u!

Pros
Holds up Really Well Tiff Lil Car With Lots of Power! in Fact it will get u a speeding ticket if u don’t keep an eye on the speedometer, It’s Super Quick Period. Very easy to clean up as well!

Cons
I’m 6’1 & a Lil over 200lbs Thought I would get use to it after 2 1/2 yrs I was totally wrong, It’s Extremely uncomfortable for Me! It feels as though I’m getting up & Down from the ground! Great Car Just Two Small For me! Great Hyundai Warrantee 100,000 miles!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 302 in total