2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1155 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HS
Henry S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/04/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
This vehicle is top of the line in my opinion. Great gas mileage, rides great, especially when loaded and on a road trip, noy much back seat space but very good for two people traveling alone. and the sound system is awesome.

Pros
I just love the vehicle

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
Noel N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/03/2019
I fall in love every time I use it.
Fun. Torquey. Easy to drive. Feels like you’re driving an expensive car. The leather seats bolstering hug you while you drive and grabbing on to the thick leather wrapped steering wheel just feels amazing. It puts a smile on my face every time I get in my car. Almost like a immediate connection. It’s so comfortable for long drives. I have the fully loaded 2016 Veloster Turbo with moon roof, parking sensors, Navigation with upgraded Hyundai BlueLink with Apple CarPlay & Android Auto. Heated Seats feel even better cause the leather helps get your whole butt and mid back get warm quick when it’s stupid cold outside in Florida mornings. The dimensions audio system is plenty loud, crisp and clear. The dual clutch 7 speed automatic transmission although sometimes acts a little weird when down shifting and reversing, its super fun and shifts like a dream when you’re in the correct RPMs. Has some turbo lag but when it kicks in around 3,000-3,200 it catches speed very fast. The car just feels amazing when you’re behind the wheel. I do not regret getting this 2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo. I F*** love it!

Pros
Leather Bolstered Heated Seats. Leather wrapped steering wheel. Navigation w/ Apple CarPlay & Android Auto. Dimensions audio system. Moon roof. Parking sensors ( it helps a lot). Back up camera. Turbo. 7 speed dial clutch automatic transmission.

Cons
The 7 speed dual clutch automatic transmission sometimes acts a little weird. No heated steering wheel. Manual adjusting seats not electronic. No automatic folding mirrors when you lock the car. No wireless Apple CarPlay or Android Auto/ Needs the charging cable of iPhone or Android to plug into the USB port. No remote start. At this point I’m nit picking cause the 2016 Veloster Turbo (fully loaded) is actually really good for the value. Like I said, I still love it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
Lacy L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2019
Good cheap car
Good car for the money. Small and great in gas. Very reliable! If you are looking for saving some money their would be best for you. If you are looking for a family car this is not the one for you at all. Great overall value though.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LE
Lori E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/31/2019
Awesome Car
I love this car. It is by far the best car i have ever owned. Interior is very comfortable, gas mileage is great, and the ride is very smooth. When i see another Veloster on the road i think it is small but when i am in mine it does not feel like a small car. The outside look of the car is very striking and i get a lot of compliments on it as well. I have finally gotten the sharp looking car i have always wanted. I drove it to Florida and the gas mileage was exceptional and it was a dream to drive. Again best car i have ever owned.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Diana G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/29/2019
Great car
They car is great But if u live were u get lots of snow it’s not good in. Snow at all and the fan for the heat is not quite very loud on high other than tht I love the car ........................

Pros
Great car for traveling ....

Cons
Bad In snow !!!!! No traction Even on little bit of snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
BRIAN W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2019
Derek's review
The Veloster is a sporty and fast car. It has given me zero problems, tires do wear out faster but overall this car is a 10 plus. I love my Veloster. We also have a new Santa Fe in our house. this car drives like a more expensive sports car.

Pros
everything else is top notch

Cons
seats and Tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Terri R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/23/2019
Car Owner
My car is a piece of crap it has 30,000 miles on it an has already had transmission, clutch and axle replace. Not to mention that it do not perform like a sport car for 25,000 dollars... Please do not buy this car it garbage. THE TRUTH!

Pros
NONE

Cons
A PIECE OF JUNK

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Daniel A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/21/2019
Very disappointed
Problems began almost immediately: air conditioner, replaced 3 turbos, fuel injectors, fuel pump and transmission...WOW. Fortunately all repairs under warranty but a major waste of time and so much frustration

Pros
Fun to drive, when it's working, good looking and comfortable

Cons
Unreliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kathleen R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/20/2019
Veloster Raptor!!
I absolutely love my Veloster! I refer to it as "Raptor" because of its handling capabilities, plus it is quick and powerful! A great performing vehicle, so much fun to drive, plus spacious enough to support the errands that I run!!

Pros
All of the above!

Cons
The only Con is the ability to get to the back seat from the driver's side; the levers are a bit stiff and hard to maneuver, but thank goodness I don't have to get to the back too often. And possibly it would become easier after more use. I work around it and find the third door or hatch gives me easier access.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HV
Heidi V.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2019
2016 veloster
Love my veloster lots of get up and go, very sporty and love the 3 doors it is diferent just like me. I love how it handles love how stylish it looks my granddaughters love the back seat and it is very roomy

Pros
Everything ... no one thing I can say I dont like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Denise C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/16/2019
I love my car.
Before I bought the Veloster in March 2017, I had admired it from afar and asked a couple of people I met what they thought of theirs. They ALL got googly-eyed and said, "I love my car." I thought that was odd but now I understand. It is not the fastest in terms of pickup and acceleration, but it runs well, has given me not one minute of worry in almost 2 years (until rodents chewed on the main wiring harness). The seating capacity is limited and maybe a little unusual, with that oddball third door, but it's perfect for me and my 3 dogs. It looks spiffy and has all the bells and whistles I want, including a panoramic sun roof. that may sound shallow, but previous vehicles that I researched diligently failed prematurely, and this one is sailing right along.

Pros
Stylish, pretty, very reliable so far, enough interior space and storage for me, my dogs and anything I carry, great gas mileage, nice features. The third door is kind of weird but I've gotten fond of it. It did take me a while to find it; it's kind of well-hidden. Or maybe I'm just a little dull-witted. I love the hatchback and the rear window defroster and wipers. The panoramic sun roof is great.
This car is odd in a good and pleasing way. It's different, and I think it mainly appeals to people who like something a little off the grid.

Cons
It hesitates just a little on acceleration, not enough to be concerned, just in a kind of idiosyncratic way. It has never seemed dangerous or prevented me from getting where I needed to be fast enough. The GPS is sometimes unreliable and the touch screen is touchy, sorry for the pun. And I miss a CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Robert C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/14/2019
Great car hampered by the Safety related issues I have suffereed with the 7sp DCT.
This is my second VT. The first was with a 2013 manual and it did everything to my satisfaction. Great car! I then purchased my current 2016 VT with DCT and have suffered numerous scares by numerous intermittent performance failures of thee DCT. Examples include: While in Drive and foot off of gas, engine starts racing in neutraL ; While in Drive and at a slow speed, transmission fails to downshift when going up a steep hill ; While in drive and starting off from a start, transmission locks in 1st gear ; While in drive and starting off from a very slow speed, car takes off then stalls ; When in Reverse and giving it gas from a rooling start, it either jumps back or stalls out. Except for the DCT, it is an excellent car!

Pros
Great value, looks, driveability, performance, and economy

Cons
7sp DCT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Justin M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/14/2019
It’s still a Hyundai
Good value for the money but you get what you pay for, the car comes with cheap economy tires, I recommend upgrading to better tires and proper winter tires for any cold regions. There are a lot of little things inside the car that are annoying like the rattles on the doors when listening to music, and the dashboard rattling while driving sometimes.

Pros
Fun to drive
Sleek style inside and out
Surprisingly spacious

Cons
Noisy interior rattling
Annoying to drive in snow
Expensive repairs
Slow Bluetooth connectivity
Slow MyHyundai app

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Regina A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
2016
This was the type of car I had been wanting and decided to purchase. Like the smooth ride. The elite white color turned out to be a nice color overall. Enjoy the length of time between gassing up. .

Pros
Small turning radius, cornering ability, light weight punchy vehicles

Cons
Back sit design could be better. The cup holder in back sit does not allow for a 3rd person to sit comfortably.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FE
Frederick E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2019
Hyundai Veloster Turbo
Good gas millage. Pleasure to drive. Great pickup and very easy handleing. Car is perfect in every way. Will ramble on so to make up 200 words so the survey will be complete. Very happy with the car and the service from Red Hogeland Dealership in Winter Haven on Cypress Gardens Boulevard. Hope this is 200 caracters now.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lloyd P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/26/2018
Love my Veloster
Serviced at 22,000 miles. Love this car! Great Service I have come to expect from the dealership. Great gas mileage for someone who has a heavy foot. Carries 3 passengers well, and has lots of storage space.

Pros
Great gas mileage, sportiness. Comfortable to drive out on the highway!

Cons
Dual Clutch.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Charles M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2018
2016 Veloster
Just purchased this vehicle and at this point I am totally satisfied. Enjoy the pep in acceleration and the many bells and whistles on this car. Just drove it to KC from Iowa and it performed well. The turbo really makes a difference. The interior is very comfortable. Fun to drive!

Pros
The increased acceleration and the road-hugging ride and the look . . . look is great. Care scoots! Interior design and features are top-shelf.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marcel S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/19/2018
2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo (sans Tech package and sunroof)
My thoughts on this car after 2 years and 25k miles: still loving it. There are a few design flaws, like rear visibility (rear window is poorly positioned so the mirror shows you the spoiler and little else.) The factory tyres didn't last anywhere near as long as I expected, considering their grip levels (about 22k) but I have high hopes for my chosen replacements after reading some of the tyre reviews. Wish there was just a little more engine/exhaust noise - sound insulation is probably just a little too good for my taste. Touch screen is too bright at night, even at its lowest setting. And finally, the centre exhaust means lots of steam on cold mornings directly below the middle of the rear window, fogging it up with condensation instantly until the exhaust finally warms up. Rear seat is so small as to be virtually unusable except for small children or emergencies (not a problem for me, though.) But these are small niggles. Overall, it's a lot of fun to row through the gears. Fast enough to play with, not so fast that it's hard to control. No problems with driving in snow. Comfortable - I've done 12 hours at a stretch with no back issues or unusual amounts of tiredness. Handles well - firmer suspension that some would prefer, but that's how I like it. Overall, very happy with it - and expecting to keep it for many years to come.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JAMES P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/11/2018
2016 Veloster
I do not like the slip differential transmission. Car will almost stop when idling up to a stop. He will also hesitate when you accelerate from a stop position. Once you are moving the cars performs well. Handles great.

Cons
Bad transmission design.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Timothy B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2018
‘16 Rally Edition
The Rally Edition is all about 2 things: the suspension, and the paint job. I still get heads to turn on the highway with the matte blue paint job. Everyone always asks, “Is that a wrap?” No, that is the standard paint job, standard Ray’s wheels, and it’s a 6 speed manual with Turbo. When you take it around the curves on the highway, you will know the suspension is worth it when you sink into the turn with ease. You won’t feel like you’re about to fly out of the turn with the centrifugal force. The top speed I got to was 141 on a good autum day, cruising around a curve. Sitting in at just over 200 hp, it isn’t as beefy as the new 2019 N model, but it sure does look great.

Pros
Great acceleration. Third door is to save money on car insurance, which is a plus. One of a kind paint job. Racing seats.

Cons
No 5 point harness for the seats. The rear view takes getting used to, and the glass on the roof doesn’t do much (they got rid of it in the newer models).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 1155 in total