2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1155 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DE
Dennis E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2018
Veloster Turbo
I absolutely love my Veloster Turbo. I upgraded from the regular Veloster to the turbo, I even got the same color. It has exactly the amount of speed I was looking for in a vehicle. The styling is great. People are always telling me that my car is really cool. One of my favorite features is the back up camera. And another is the driver's side mirror in a mirror. I can see everything on that side. I only wish there was some type of blindspot indicator warning sytem on the passenger side. Overall its a great car.

Pros
Back up camera has audible warning system and wide lens Angle viewing
Acceleration
Handling
Styling
Easy to use computer system
Large screen size is good for back up camera
Navigation system

Cons
No blindspot indicator warning sytem on the passenger side
Sirus XM trial should be included for at least 1 yr instead of 3 months.
Navigation system should give more details and in advance of traffic delays instead of once upon the delay with a only a line color change.
Sometime it takes a little while for the computer to come up.
Not having heated seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Joel R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2018
Fun car, runs great
I'd wanted a Veloster for several years, but had to save money for a good down payment to be able to buy any new car. This 6 speed manual transmission has some get up and go, even though it's not a turbo. Hyundai's participation in the BoostUp program made this vehicle even a better bargain.
The warranty was a big plus for me. I had one part go out, and Hyundai towed my car and the repair cost me nothing.
I've had a lot of fun driving my sporty car with great gas mileage. I routinely get about 34 or 35 miles to the gallon, mostly highway driving. My upgraded sound system is incredible, and I'm surprised at how much I can get in the hatchback compartment.

Pros
Great value for the money; better quality than most cars in this class.
Fun to drive; manual transmission gives power with super gas milage.
Warranty is fantastic.

Cons
I had to wait about 5 days for a loaner vehicle when mine broke down.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Debra R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/10/2018
Hyndui turbo veloster
I am beyond pleased with my veloster the only thing I have a problem with is the trunk goes up very high , I’m short in stature so not their fault. It drives great in the snow as well I’ve only ever had low tire pressure light come on and it’s due to me driving over something we have a lot of construction going on. Mine is a 2016 I’m probably going to get the newer one when my lease is up . I owned a hyndui before this purchase which had all the bells and whistles, 3 of us in the family own Hyundai and love them and all purchased from this dealership . Well made cars and customer service is great

Pros
Looks sporty which I love . Great on gas and love the options

Cons
Hatch goes too high up for a short statured person

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Timothy C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/31/2018
2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo Rally edition
Great looking car and a lot of fun to drive. I’ve had some minor issues with the exception of my rear main seal going out at 10k. I’m not particularly fond of Hyundai dealers seeing how they don’t seem to like enthusiasts who enjoy personalizing their vehicles. I hope this changes with the upcoming N models.

Pros
Sporty leather seating. Quirky styling and unique 3-door layout. Manual transmission is very nice and has a great feel to it. Engine makes good power given it’s size.

Cons
Reliability. Paint issues. Depreciation value.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 09/04/2018
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

KP
Ki P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
Little engine that can
It will take you where you want to go. Feel the road beneath you. Good looking car with great mileage. What else can you ask for it? Well if you want more powers, mileage will suffer if you want more mileage , you will get mellow response. Just be happy and enjoy the ride. It will take you there.

Pros
Affordable solid car

Cons
Not for heavy tall fella it is your fault not the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Scott M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/31/2018
Veloster surprised me
I bought it for the utility of small car commuting. I had a checklist and it met 16 of the 20 items on my list. After I had it for a couple weeks, I started to love it more and more. In fact, I bought a second one 2 years later. The 3 door design seemed gimmicky at first, until I had passengers and they couldn't get out into traffic. The 3rd door also kept the car from being rated as a coup, so my insurance was cheaper. Love the hatch back and folding rear seats, makes the car so much more versatile.

Pros
Tons of features for the price

Cons
Master cylinder had to be replaced at 7500 miles?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DAVID M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2018
Satisfied
Love my veloster and enjoy driving it daily. Could use more horse power, for faster ride!!!! I found this survey to be too long to answer, repetitive questions, but I guess it will help make better car in future.

Pros
Love car.

Cons
Survey is too long to answer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Ashley H.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/29/2018
Veloster 2016
The car is cute but I would not buy another because of the way that car jerks when you are driving sometimes. If it wasn’t for that I would recommend the vehicle. Had it checked out by the dealer but they say the car is ok

Pros
Very cute
Nice interior

Cons
DCT makes driving jerky especially in stop and go driving. Makes you think something is wrong. Sometimes unpleasant driving which is not what you want from a cute sporty car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
Efrain L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
AWESOME !!!
It looks like a SPORTS CAR , but definitely NOT. Its SUPER FUEL EFFICIENT and it handles VERY WELL through the curves. It is COMFORTABLE while driving and it picks up FAST when you have to (if you know what I mean LOL!!!).

Pros
COMFTY

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CE
Chris E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/23/2018
VELO
I couldn’t be more in love with a car than I am with the Veloster. Definitely the most fun I’ve had in a car ! I’ve owned many different vehicles & the Veloster has been my top favorite! If I was rich I’d buy the new one !

Pros
Almost everything to the car!
Stereo
Bucket seats!
Sun roof!
Navigation!

Cons
Wish It was a little faster!
Isn’t rear wheel drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Susan M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
Veloster
When I saw the very first Veloster that was manufactured I knew that this was going to be a car I was going to buy. I fell in love with the design and style. In fact, this is my second Veloster and I will buy another one.

Pros
I just love everything about my beautiful blue Veloster. It is a joy to drive.

Cons
Wish it had all the bells and whistles that the new 2019 Veloster has

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NS
Nicole S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/21/2018
Veloster
Too many issues early on with this car . Brakes and hesitating...dealership service questionable. Needs more performance and safety functions . Still to be determined how this car will function and operate in a year or so
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/21/2018
Let's reopen the case you had with us and review your concerns. Please expect a call shortly. Thank you. ^cc

JM
John M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2018
Great Car
Joy to drive and great performance. The voice command isn't that good. It wont take you to your exact music choice on your Ipod. The mode button to switch from the radio, satellite radio and Ipod gets stuck. No spare tire comes with the vehicle, you have to buy your own. However, great vehicle to drive.

Pros
Quality vehicle, great performance

Cons
The voice command to operate the Ipod, etc.... needs to be improved as the system doesn't understand the exact command.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Deborah P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/15/2018
Horrible
Beautiful and sporty styling. Great gas mileage, ie approximately 400 miles per tank. Very rough ride on city streets. Interior room is good for front seat passengers but quite cramped for backseat passengers. Good manufacturers warranty.

Pros
Attractive, sporty styling. Bold colors. Great gas mileage. Good warranty.

Cons
Rough ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/15/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JW
Jimmy W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2018
The Veloster made me a Hyundai fan
Two time Veloster owner. Bad luck with the 2013 model (engine failure at ~50,000 miles). At 22,000 miles my 2016 is still like new. Fuel economy could be better. The Turbo is a must have. The ride is harsh on bad roads. MSRP $3,000 too high. An AWD and or EV Veloster would be a dream come true.

Pros
Looks cool! Great form. Size!

Cons
Harsh ride. More function should follow form.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Laura M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2018
My 2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
I love this car!!! I traded in my 2013 Elantra GT for the Veloster. It's quick (although not as powerful as I expected from a turbo) and I love having a manual transmission. A few things I miss are the power seats and sunroof in my old car but it's just so much fun to drive I don't mind. I'm looking forward to my next Veloster in a couple of years!

Pros
Fantastic styling-I feel like it's my own little sports car, love the third door (I never realized it had one till the test drive), super gas mileage-better than my 2013 Elantra, love the manual transmission and I'm looking forward to my next, newer Veloster in the future. I LOVE this car!

Cons
Not very powerful for being a turbo (I think my Elantra GT was actually quicker), miss having the sunroof and the power seating controls.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RZ
Ronda Z.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2018
My love for Veloster
I love my color ! white looks sporty and classy! Rides nice , the car just fits me ! Just love love love it !
Service / and sale reps R very polite and helpful! My experience with Stew Hansen has been overwhelming , they remember me by my first name ( from a purschs in 2016 a very family atmosphere!

Pros
All around I love my 2019 Veloster ☝️

Cons
Don’t have non Yet !!! Knock on wood

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kimberly R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/10/2018
Love my Rally Edition Veloster
When I bought my Veloster, I was looking for a fun, economical car that was not a "mom car." I drive over 50 miles a day in my work commute, so I need a car that won't suck up too much gas. I also visit my children in North Carolina often, so I wanted a car that was comfortable for long drives. Finally, I really wanted a turbo with a six speed because it's fun! The only issue I have ever had in the three years I have owned this car was flat tires. And the nails I drove over had absolutely nothing to do with the car! It was time for new tires anyway since I was over 50,000 miles.
My little car makes the trip to work fun every morning. It has serious "giddy up and go" power and excellent handling. I have to set my cruise control to avoid creeping too far above the speed limit. I love shifting up through the gears, and the pedals are all chrome. It makes me feel like I am driving a race car.
The back-up camera makes life easier. Because of the design, it is hard to see behind you when you back up. Without that camera, I would be praying for a safe exit from parking spaces.
For the money, you can't go wrong.

Pros
Small, efficient, easy to drive.
Lots of fun
back-up camera
great sound system
leather seats that are easy to clean when you have a messy, little dog

Cons
blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kenneth B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2018
This thing is actually kinda fun
My wife and I both drive Mercedes, so our bar is set pretty high. When we needed a dingy for our RV, we wanted small and a turbo for high altitude use. That left us with only a couple of options, so we went with the Veloster Turbo. I wasn't expecting much for the price, but now I actually find it a fun car and since one of our Mercedes is an AMG GTs, that should tell you something about how fun it is. No, it isn't nearly as fast, but it is nearly as fun. I only have about 1,500 miles on it, but so far I am really liking it and I think I got a solid deal for the price. My only beef is the visibility when backing up, but it does have a camera. The back seat is bigger than you would think and the 3rd door gives good access. Except for the rear vision, it is an engineering triumph for the money. The only other issue isn't really Hyundai's fault, it is just a little car. This is only an issue for any RVer looking to make it a toad. The brake pedal lever was too small to be able to put an air cyl on for Air Force One brakes, so I had to go with RVi3. They work just fine, but AF1 system would have sped up the hookup to the RV. Other than that, it is a great toad because it is so small and light, yet roomy inside. The turbo should keep the power on while climbing mountains, too.

Pros
Bargain for the price I paid
Fun to drive
good room inside

Cons
rear visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dario M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2018
Excellent Daily Vehicle
I have been very satisfied with my 2016 Veloster Turbo. It is a fun car for communing far and short distance, great on gas. It is small enough to fit just about anywhere, yet roomy enough to fit four people comfortably.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 161 - 180 of 1155 in total