2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1164 Reviews)
Latest review 12 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JF
Jack F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/18/2020
Veloster is a cool car
This car has great styling. Now is it not powerful with under 150 HP but it handles quick and that makes it feel fast. Inside it is sharp and comfortable. We love this car. we got 50 miles to the gallon on a long flat drive. We looked at other cars like the Nissan Juke, this is a much better car and better warranty.

Pros
great handling
great styling
good organization of instrument panel

Cons
Low horsepower

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
Jean Paul V.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Veloster Turbo
I must admit that this Veloster Turbo is perfect for me. It has a very efficient Turbo engine, it has a CD player that I need in my work, and it looks absolutely beautiful. One of the best cars I ownedPlease continue to produce that car and keep that stylish look.

Pros
Wonderful car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
Thomas A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/07/2020
This car is fun and sexy! just like it's owner? LOL
so far I have enjoyed my Aston Martin Vanquished! being a double 00 Q really knocked it out of the park with this one!!! I zip in and out of traffic pretending to be James Bond. I really like this car.

Pros
sexy

Cons
overall performance is a little sluggish at times. I just had the service update for 40,000 miles? and it seemed to make the car a tad more responsive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Terri G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2020
Love the Veloster
We bought our Veloster used but love this car!
It’s classy and we love the bright yellow color with the black interior! Really stands out and is very sporty!! Great to have the third door for people riding in the back! Runs well with great gas mileage! Thanks Hyundai for creating a much better car and color that meets our needs! Love the veloster!

Pros
Design, classy, sassy, runs well!

Cons
No heated seats in our car..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anna M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/14/2020
Veloster enthusiasm
We really like and enjoy driving our Veloster. The fuel economy, handling and interior quality are great. We had a rough start with Lithia Hyundai of Reno at the sales and delivery level. We still carry some bitterness as a result of the purchase process. I am not going to document the reason for our displeasure here again, we have gone into detail before both at the dealership and factory level and never received any callbacks or expression of concern, this leaves us with the feeling that no one cares. We would probably consider another Hyundai but would be exttemely cautious. In looking at the category levels for rating there are 2 that stand out as issues and they are rated accordingly. "BUILD QUALITY" ,hard to judge it appears that the dealer may have harmed or abused the exterior finish. We never did get a fix for the exterior issues. "VALUE FOR THE MONEY" we test drove a 2017 Veloster with Turbo and knew that this is what we wanted the only reason for not puchasing that day was the color my wife desired the Red model. The dealership found a red model available and drew up the paperwork including a trade in. When the vehicle arrived we were appalled at the condition of the car it was filthy dirty inside and out and had scratches and wheel damage that we were told would be taken care of and we could return it for detailing. What happened next is unbelievable; we went in to finalize the paperwork and in the end we found out we were being delivered a 2016 model instead of a 2017. What a sham!

Pros
Great vehicle!

Cons
Terrible Dealership and factory treatment.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Pete B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/07/2020
Great sports car
My 2016 Veloster Turbo I bought brand new from All Star Hyundai. I originally had a used 2013 Veloster Turbo but for only $42 more a month I got a brand new one with only 5 miles on the speedometer. Very quick and now after 3 years am getting 30+ miles to a gallon. The 100,000 / 10 year warranty is also a plus. The service department and staff are friendly and helpful. Great job!

Pros
Good gas mileage, very sporty design, 2016 has the best body style for this car, handles very good on turns, no hesitation on the turbo take offs. all leather interior

Cons
Small storage trunk, very bumpy 18 inch low profile tires,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Raphael R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/05/2020
2016 veloster turbo
Alright. Build quality is poor. Transmission is poor. Miss drive by wire throttle. Tire sidewall to small for real world driving. Like interior styling. No independent rear is poor quality. Space is unexpected big with rear seats down. Over all wish I woulda went with Honda/Toyota. Hyundai looks good on paper comparison, but cuts corners on to many things.

Pros
-Like the interior.
-Full of Features for the price
-looks good on paper

Cons
-no independent rear.
-1.6 liter engine should be a 2.0
-dct transmission is jerky, stutters, slips.
-wheel/tire combo doesn’t have enough tire meat pothole and you’ll get a flat.
-dimension audio system should not be considered premium

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lloyd P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
2016 Veloster Turbo
I love my Veloster Turbo. My car is equipped with the dual clutch transmission which took some getting used to, but I love the car. I have an artificial left knee, but originally wanted a stick, but at the end of the year when I purchased the car the dealership did not have any. The transmission has come into its own especially in rush hour bumper to bumper traffic. Not having to shift is great. I love the paddle shifters! I ride a Honda 1300 motorcycle, so having a responsive car is a necessity. The Veloster does just that. when not driving my car, and enjoy the responsiveness. The car does quite well taking myself and two teenage grandsons and myself to school in the morning. I am impressed with the amount of cargo space, not quite the amount of room that I had in my '07 Ford Ranger, but more comfortable, and an absolute blast to drive!

Pros
Handles very well, on highways.
Great Gas mileage in town and highways.
Lots of room, 3rd door helps!
Great styling, Pacific Blue. Disappointed it is no longer offered.

Cons
Stiff suspension, with low profile tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Everett B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2019
ERB
Great overall performance. Very good acceleration, while getting excellent fuel economy. Great panoramic roof, comfortable seats. Love the dual clutch transmission and paddle shifters. The 3rd door is great for the grandkids.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/22/2019
What a great sports car.
My Veloster is very sporty looking. It has a great design and is what I call Tangerine/Orange in color Hyundai calls it Vitamin C.. When I show people this car it surprises them when I ask if they saw anything different in the car besides the great design and color? They always say no but when I show them there is only one door on the drivers side, they are really surprised. Way to go Hyundai, you have your act together.

Pros
If someone wants a car that is different from all the others, check out the Veloster.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
Pete B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2019
Great sports car
I had a 2013 Veloster and drove into the All Star dealership in Antioch, CA in 2016. I really liked the vehicle and had not once broke a skid while taking any turns at twisty roads, ever. The only time I heard a peel out was at 45 MPH up hill and needed to pass someone. I heard the turbo kick in and peeled rubber for a couple feet while passing a slow vehicle. Look at the great write up on the 2020 Hyundai N Veloster, MSN sports cars on Sunday 11/17/2019. I agree with it whole heartedly since I own and drive one. the best buy for a true turbo charged sports car under $30K. I have had mine up to 125 on I 40 across the states and not even floored when I first purchased it. It just floated quietly

Pros
Price, style and looks, handle, response, gas at 33 mpg,

Cons
low profile looks great but you feel every bump for the trade off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Brenda P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/14/2019
I have a 2016 Hyundai Veloster and I wouldn't trade it for the world!!
I own a black metallic with a back splash(the only one in this area that I have seen) I truly love my Veloster and wouldn't trade it for anything. Just a fun ride I have a fully loaded package and I enjoy every day in my baby! Great gas mileage as well !!!

Pros
Love everything about my Veloster, my is the only one in the area that I have seen, it's metallic black with the silver splash (stripes) Very unique and I wouldn't give it up for anything!!

Cons
(Just wish it was paid off) no other issues at all.Very happy Veloster owner

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Brian B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/11/2019
veloster turbo
I like everything about the car as far as the way it runs, rides, comfort. Only issue is the way it handles in the snow. Spins out frequently from a stop, slides a bit on turns, and stopping can be difficult, nerve racking

Pros
comfort, style, mileage

Cons
handling in the snow

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Craig G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2019
Fun, Peppy, eye catching!
So much fun to drive, fits like a favorite pair of shoes. Butter smooth shifting, sure footed suspension and peppy acceleration make drives in the mountain twistys an absolute blast.
It gets an amazing 30 mpg even when you’re pushing it hard but 40 mpg and even higher numbers are attainable if your driving to save fuel.
The sound system plays all my favorite songs accurately and I’ve never felt any need to upgrade anything.
Comfortable and roomy interior, my mountain bike fits in the back with the front wheel off, and I fit a 65” tv in the back once. Still love the look of the matte blue paint with carbon fiber accents rolling on a set of Rays matte black Gram Lites! Fitted with Continental Extreme Contact tires that are a far superior to the stock Kumho tires. The Continentals really unleashed it’s cornering prowess to the level of confidence inspiring. I love my Rally edition Veloster and am completely satisfied!!!

Pros
Great styling at a very fair price!
Fun, roomy, fuel efficient.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Joan J.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
veloster
I love my car. My husband nicknamed it my "pocket rocket". It is sporty and quick. It rides a little rougher than a luxury car, but that is some of the fun and to be expected. It takes the corners like a champ.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PHYLLIS S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
Sporty car
I’ve been driving the Veloster for 3 years and enjoy the ride. Took a few road trips from Florida to NY and love the gas mileage. Haven’t had any issues and keep up with my maintenance through the Hyundai dealership. Would recommend this car to all age groups who like a sporty, fun to drive car without a high expense.

Pros
Mpg, look and feel

Cons
3 doors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Elizabeth W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2019
My pretty blue Veloster
I was looking for a sporty car and I found one! My Veloster is fun to drive and super comfortable. Sometimes I get in to go somewhere and I take the long way cause it's so fun to drive. Windows down and music blasting.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Teri W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2019
My Ride.....
I absolutely love my car. Great for fun and for day to day activities. I'm getting 25 to 30 mpg in town. Which to me is great in itself. I haven't gone on a road trip looking forward to seeing my mpg then. The turbo on this car is sweet. Get ready and go...

Pros
Has what I was looking for in a sports car. Which is speed and mpg..

Cons
Hard for my mother 74yrs and grandma 94yrs to get in and out no hand rail for them at door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
Jean T.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
I love this car. Great gas mileage. Lots of fun to drive. Perfect around town or on the highway. Mine happens to be a bright orange turbo, 6 speed. Spunky little car without breaking the bank. Highly recommend the Veloster.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Teri W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
10/21/2019
The Hyundai Veloster SUCKS
This car Sucks. Bad transmission and bad motor. I would Never recommend this car to anyone Ever! I cant even get a decent trade in at the Hyundai dealership. They know its bad also. I hope to get rid of it

Pros
None. Mine is a Lemon.

Cons
The duel clutch sucks and the motor performance and reliability is Bad!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1164 in total