2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1155 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FS
Frank S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2019
Just a good little car
Just a good solid little car. I’ve put over 50,000 miles on it and it’s been good every step of the way. Good gas mileage and fun to drive. I suppose I need to say it’s a little tough getting in and out when I’m tired because I’m a big man but once behind wheel, I’m very comfortable
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KIMBERLY C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
Veloster
Very good experience with this car. Love the style and it is great to drive. Stereo sound is great. It is very comfortable. I get a lot of comments and compliments about the color. Overall a great choice.

Cons
Does not come with a spare tire. Is not as fuel efficient as stated.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Nice Ride
My 2019 Veloster Turbo is quite the little machine, much improved over my 2016 naturally aspirated Veloster . I love the looks, the ride ,and, the acceleration ! I am looking forward to some "twisty " roads !!

Pros
I love the new safety features , I love the styling , I love the acceleration , great ride with the new independent rear suspension

Cons
Hatch opening is smaller than on first gen Veloster , no manual transmission on "turbo" model without having to get the "Ultimate " trim level

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Richard D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2019
New car
2016 Veloster need to go get an oil change lift out the new ones and they're absolutely gorgeous my husband is very happy with his new car Hyundai ithe only place we go to buy are cars we never have any problems there the service department is great to they're all friendly

Pros
Car is great my husband is very happy with what he wanted...

Cons
No cons love the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Meliani B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
05/02/2019
2016 Veloster review
Too much electronic problems. I have the vehicle for less than two years and had several electronic problems. The transmission is sluggish. Air bag alert keeps coming on and off intermittently. Had dealers repaired this problem twice already.

Pros
Looks great, interior looks good

Cons
Too much electronic problems

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joseph P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/30/2019
2016 veloster turbo
So 4 heater controls replaced and a weird idle two different dealerships serviced the car 1st one scratched the dash around the media center.they offered new winter maps and 4 free oil changes .so less then a year later heater control fails again new dealership more scratches. then again and one more time after now gouged up lower dash due to inexperience mechanic they tried to get some one to fix it and the company just melted it .i bought the car new and now not happy .but all other service they did they excelled at .

Pros
Leather power everything except seats.

Cons
Thin paint thin clear weird eng exhaust noise thru speakers .bad electrical issues that shouldn't have to be a issue . always fighting to get it fixed under warranty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
Joseph P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
04/26/2019
Sub standard vehicle
Won't recommend this car to anyone. Even though I had a 2013 and wasn't completely happy Fred Beans made me an offer I couldn't but should have refused. The dual clutch transmission in the 2016 us horrible. Way to much lag time and hesitation when starting from stop and in first and second gears. Car is only 3 yrs old and has been in for a few repairs already. I do have 80 k miles but are mostly highway. If you do buy this make sure you get extended warranty.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VP
Virginia P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
My veloster
I’m an older lady. Never had a sports car as station wagons were more the norm when you’re raising a big family. When the salesman introduced me to her, I was excited. Didn’t know what my grown children/ grandchildren would say. They have all driven her & like the fact this is what I wanted. She is 3 yrs old & I still get comments about her. You see, I love my veloster!

Pros
Sporty

Cons
Sit a little low.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marla S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/24/2019
My little roadster
Pros- Love my car. Tight steering. Seats hug my body. Flashy style. Easy to park since it's small. Nice stereo. Heated seats help me cope with winter. Lots of zip thanks to the turbo. People are always stopping to look and to ask me what kind of car I have.
Cons- Low profile tires lose air in winter, rough ride on Michigan roads.

Pros
Fast. Sharp looking. Heated seats. Good gas mileage.

Cons
Low profile tires lose air in winter. Rougher ride than other cars.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
James A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2019
2016 Veloster
Love my Veloster. I chose the automatic. Love the handling. Had to get use to dual clutch. Turns on a dime. Very smooth and quiet ride. Make sure you watch your speedometer though! You will be travelling faster than you think!

Pros
Smooth ride on highways. Makes a long distance drive relaxing! Handles speed and turns like a race car.

Cons
Very low profile so doesn't handle pot holes well!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Carl C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/22/2019
2016 Hyundai Volester
The car is a great car, but I wished I would have gotten a automatic instead of the 6 speed. For a few reasons. My shoulder is giving me some problems, because of my age, and for another reason, the car would do a lot better on gas. I had a 2012 Volester and it got 43 MPG. This one is lucky to get 30.

Pros
It's a nice car.

Cons
I'm not too crazy about the tires and wheels. They are too rough riding on those rubber band tires. There needs to be more rubber between the road and the rims.
That's my opinion. They suck.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
John K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2019
A useful Sports Car !
This is what I would call a useful Sports Car, as it is has the feel that this is what you are driving, but it also has the space for four people and a hatchback for easy loading and fold-down rear seats for storage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Jayne H.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2019
I love the car. I lease it and when my lease is up, I will be leasing another.
I have no other comment other than, your missing out if you want to have that sexy sporty sports car look at an affordable price. Hyundai has done in my opinion an excellent job with design and performance. The car I lease is 201 h.p. turbo.

Pros
can't get better then 10's in all categories. I only wish they wouldn't classify it as a hatchback. Its really a sexy sports vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Chandrakanta M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo 2 years ownership review
Me and my wife, both like the design, styling , the 3 door concept which very practical (my son and sometimes my occasional friends don't find it difficult to settle down on the back seats) . Certainly we liked the color (vitamin C - Orange) and the tech pack's feature in this car. It's certainly doesn't run a as smooth as a Subaru (my 2nd car) however it's not meant to be run that way. I have been using the car for almost 2 years now and i admit that I still love it. It runs stiff, you can feel that from the steering wheel and when you have cracks on the roads. I have observed it takes while when you try to accelerate it from a stand still, but once the revs are around 3000, it just goes on, and one more observation is the gear shifts in auto mode, it's too quick so you don't really enjoy. It has very practical cargo space for a weekend out and we loved the car as is without any modifications.

Pros
Design, Style, 3rd door for accessing the 2nd row, practical trunk space and the Turbo Engine

Cons
Ride quality, stiff steering wheel and over all noise in the cabin

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LW
Lionel W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/11/2019
I love her
My car is amazing frfr she has great speed just for me love the color and rims are amazing and stock beat is nice and the seats are ok my lil girls love driving fast my youngest loves that fact she has her own door

Pros
The bizz

Cons
Turbo lag

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHARLES M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/09/2019
Veloster Turbo manual transmission
Great vehicle for my son's first car. Excellent gas milage and features. Fun to drive when I drive it. I think the stereo is great, he wishes it had more bass and was a little louder. Manual transmission shifts good. Engine feels a little flat at high rpms.

Pros
Excellent features, great stereo, rides great and handles very well. Fuel milage is excellent! Storage space and interior room is a lot bigger than it looks from the exterior.

Cons
Wish it had a little more power. Traction and stability control hold back performance too much(more responsive and engine pulls to redline better with them turned off). Rear hatch area could look a little sportier but would probably have to lose some storage space and rear seat headroom.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
Lucinda K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/05/2019
Veloster turbo
The car is very responsive, handling is superior, pick up is awesome for a small car great gas mileage, comfortable interior, full leather, slap stick, paddle shift option, or just regular automatic, many options on this model, including proximity start, blue Link (similar to OnStar) but alot more features

Pros
Zippy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KV
Kevin V.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/05/2019
It's almost there.
Let me preference by saying that I have the RSpec, so it does without some features that the standard turbo has such as heated seats, sunroof, and navigation. Of those features, heated seats and a sunroof are the only things I find myself missing, but I forewent them for the sake of a lower payment. The touch screen works well, and the stereo is adequate for all but the most bass intensive music. This is my first car with a back up cam, and I am so glad these are becoming mandated equipment. Backing up through the tiny rear window would be a little stressful I think. The camera projects a distance overlay to help with parking, but it does not project trajectory which would have been a nice feature, but for the price point, its nice just to have a back up cam.

If you want to talk performance, this is where the Veloster's price point holds it back the most. Having come from a car that had both an independent rear suspension, and a limited slip differential, I find myself missing both every time I take a tight turn at speed, or accelerate out of one. The aftermarket provides some remedies for these problems, but I am glad to see the Gen2 Velosters fix both these short comings properly. The 1.6L GDI Turbo engine is a marvel for what it is. 201 hp and 197 lbft is a lot for such a little car with so little displacement. Is it enough? Hell no, but is it ever? What you do get from such a small engine is 33mpg as long as you don't let the boost rise too much, and the real icing on that cake is that you get it on 87 octane pump gas. Premium is unnecessary which is amazing considering most turbocharged cars require at least 91 out of the box. All these figures compare favorably imo to the only other vehicle operating in the same space as the Veloster Turbo, the Ford Fiesta ST. The Fiesta ST gives up a little bit of power to the VT at only 197 hp keeping it technically out of the 200 club. Whats more is that the Fiesta requires 93 octane to get all of its ponies while the VT is happy sipping 87. Another symptom of the Veloster's price point is the lack of a boost gauge, an unforgivable sin imo for any performance minded vehicle with forced induction. Again this seems to be a matter of price point since neither the Fiesta ST nor the 500 Abarth have one either. The performance of the Veloster Turbo/RSpec is competitive for its segment, but I can't help but feel another 20 hp in addition to a LSD would really help the car earn a reputation as a legitimate hot hatch. I have no complaints about the slick 6 speed. My RSpec came with a crisp short throw B&M shifter, a feature that has since become standard on all manual turbo models. Is the automatic any good? No idea, but in my opinion your doing it wrong if you're getting your sporty car fitted with a slush box. As it stands, the Velsoter is widely seen as more style than substance, a criticism I don't entirely disagree with.

Speaking of style, there is no arguing that the Veloster is a beautiful car. It has more style than cars costing twice as much. Its loud exterior may put off some people, but for anyone who wants a sporty looking car at an economy price, you really can't do better. The large open mouthed grill, the muscular bulging rear fenders, and the over-sized center mounted exhaust outlets are particular favorites of mine. I wish the outlets were actual tailpipes, but that again is a problem the aftermarket can solve. RSpec's like my own also come with a loud cherry red and black upholstery that adds a cherry (no pun intended) on top of the loud styling. Bonus points if you get your Veloster in black like I did. The contrast is preferable to the white and blues colors which comprise the only 2 alternative colors for the RSpec.

All in all the Veloster Turbo / RSpec is a neat little car that splits the difference between hot hatch and sports coupe. It manages to look several thousand dollars more expensive than it is with unique and aggressive styling, and also manages to hide its cheap price point from anyone not looking for it. I wish it had four doors instead of 3, but if that is a deal breaker for you, there is always the aforementioned Fiesta ST. you'll give up some power, a back up cam, and a boat load of styling... but you'll get that 4th door. A car like this would have been a 16 year old me's dream, and even at 30 I am grateful for how much I get for comparatively so little. I see this car as a great daily driver for a young professional who has little to no kids, or as fun little 3rd car to complement the minivan and the crossover already parked in the driveway.

Pros
200+ horsepower
turbo torque curve
runs safely on 87 octane
handy back up cam
exotic aggressive styling

Cons
looks like a 40k car, but performs like a 25k car
sunroof, heated seats, and nav are expensive package only options
you can find the cheapness if you go looking for it.
only 3 doors
smaller trunk than a lot of other hatch backs.
rear seats do not fold flat
lack of limited slip differential and independent rear suspension hold it back when the road gets curvy.
resells like a lead balloon

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cris S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/04/2019
Love my Veloster!
I love the way if handles, the way it looks, the quick responsiveness when I step on the accelerator, and the nice leather interior. I frequently get many compliments from people when they see my car on how nice and sporty it looks. It is very fun to drive! I have had a few friends and family members drive it and they are always super impressed and wished they had one themselves.

Pros
Beautiful inside and out. Fast, tight steering, and just an overall fun car to drive.

Cons
Low to the ground so a little hard to get in and out off. My wife recently had a double knee replacement so it has been hard to her to get and out of but she loves driving the car anyway. I wish it had four door rather than only 3 but this was not a deal breaker when we purchased the car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Ryan S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/04/2019
Transmission
I don't like the transmission that they put in my car they call it a double clutch transmission I would call it a confused transmission. It doesn't shift very well upon acceleration. Also, the seats are not very comfortable for a larger people.

Pros
It's a very fun car to drive

Cons
The transmission seems to get confused sometimes and doesn't shift properly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 61 - 80 of 1155 in total