2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1153 Reviews)
Latest review 8 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RC
Railer C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2019
2016 Veloster Turbo
So I am nearing the 3 year mark with my VT. I just had the oil and filter done for my 23k mileage. This has been a fun sporty car. I get asked a lot about the car and where I bought it, especially after I have detailed the car.
I use a certain wax on it and it makes the color just pop to life.
The vehicle has held up well and even the tires are still good. If you want a car that has plenty of style this is it.

Pros
Fun to drive. Gets very good mileage.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Don C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/26/2019
Fun car, unless you're really tall.
It's my car and I love it. My girlfriend, not so much. She's 6'2" and the driver's seat doesn't go back far enough for her to comfortably fit. The passenger seat is fine for her. If you and yours are in the taller 25% of the population, you might want to get a test fit before you take a test drive.

Apart from that, I've found the car very fun to drive. Sport mode makes it accelerate like a motorcycle (I have the non-turbo model). It runs flat and smooth at speed. The paddle shifters I don't use much.

Pros
Fun. Reliable. Handles well. Good looking. Easy to convert the back area for hauling things.

Cons
1. Driver seat could accommodate longer legged drivers
2. Back seat best for short people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Daniel P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/21/2019
Fun Car
I bought this car, a 2016 Turbo Voloster for my wife. I've asked her many times if she had any complaints at all. Only one. She's five foot five. She doesn't like the passenger seat. It sits too low with no verticle adjustment. That's her only complaint. That is also my only complaint. What I do like about the Voloster are several things. First is that it is fun to drive! Especially on the freeways. It's geared for higher speeds and on the interstate it shines. It's the best use I know of for a 1.6 liter engine. I would prefer a 2.0 liter, but the turbo'd 1.6 liter gets great mpg on regular gas and does quite well. All in all, the dual clutch is nice, the ride is very nice, the power is good, the Interior is very nice. I test drove a non turbo'd model. It was so gutless I was saddened that Hyundai would even put it on the market.

Pros
Interior, fun to drive, styling

Cons
Passenger seat, tight back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jeremy L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Worse car I have bought
25k miles and has seen the shop more then all of my previous cars before. Hyundai has not answered my emails or calls now for.the last 2 weeks. As a whole company I'm am severely disappointed in the service I have received. I have over 1000 in expenses due to dealership flaws and manufacturers defects. Do your research and make sure this is exactly what you want and need as a car before you jump into one.

Pros
Compact but spacious with the hatch

Cons
3 doors and has been in the shop for over 5 months since I owned it 3 for waranty work on the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ME
Michael E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/19/2019
Love my Veloster but not it's transmission!
I really enjoy driving my 2016 Veloster. Purchased it brand new with all the bells and whistles. It's the turbo model with the dual clutch system. It drives and handles like a champ. The only issue I'm having is the transmission stalls all the time between 2nd and 3rd gear. Hyundai technicians have told me on 4 occasions that they've been having problems with this transmission from the factory. I'm at a loss here because I have a great warranty but nothing can be done about the transmission. Time to consult an attorney!

Pros
Looks,design, features, and engine.

Cons
Transmission!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BJ
Barbara J.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/17/2019
LOVE IT!!
Absolutely love my car!! I like that I can switch it from automatic to standard shift being in that the majority of my cars in my lifetime had been a stick shift. I get a lot of compliments and the fact that the car only has three drawers is really a conversation piece .
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Andrew D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/14/2019
Very crashworthy, however 35k on a new motor is not acceptable
Car had new motor installed at 35k and not warranteed. The manufactures tires lasted only 18k. Replacement inexpensive ones lasted 40k. No other serious issues except lights and turn signals replaced annually. Decent gas mileage.

Pros
quick, fun to drive, controls are good, easy to understand gauges, no GPS for a 2016. Stands up well under auto accidents (i've had many)

Cons
Tire wear poor. Alignment never good, motor blew at 35k no warrantee.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Lauren R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/14/2019
Fun to drive!
I needed a car and was in a pinch...there was a veloster available. I didn't have a specific vehicle in mind, but I realized that it was what I was looking for once I got behind the wheel. Fun car to drive!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kelly F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/13/2019
Enjoying my Veloster but...
I like most everything about my Veloster except the dual clutch surges and when I depress the accelerator it may or may not take off right away. I'm told that this is one of the not so good features of the dual clutch. Will think twice before purchasing another vehicle with a dual clutch. For the most part, my Veloster is great to drive. More passing power than any one would ever need. Very comfortable ride.

Pros
Reliable and fun to drive

Cons
Dual Clutch surges

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Ismael S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Fun to drive
This car is amazing, runs good and very fun to drive. I like the style, Miles per galon, color and has all the features that everyone needs. I truly recommend this car. I bought it non turbo but next one will be turbo.

Pros
Price and style

Cons
Not to much space inside

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Mark G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/03/2019
I like my veloster
If i don't get the same lease deal ill look around other wise I might go 6 years of leasing another of the same VELOSTER and if that's the way i feel then Im sure i'm feeling the value v/s a little less up front super exceleration i might get with an electric or hybrid that will brake the bank monthly now and then cost thousands at 100k .Miles like my last hybrid i threw away at 120k when it was worth 5k and 3k to fix.

Pros
reliable inexpensive fare on gas 20 -25 prefect acceleration if i need it and only fare when i just horse around

Cons
pick up and bumps

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Dawn D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2019
2016 Veloster R Spec
I bought this vehicle new in 2016. I have loved driving this car. It is a sporty model, with 6 speed, Turbo. It does a good job with quick acceleration and is fun to drive. I have made several long distance trips in the car and my only complaint is it is not designed for long trips.

Pros
Looks good, runs good, lot's accelerated when needed.

Cons
Even though there is a back seat, it is small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Stefanie S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2019
I love it. It has so much power and it gets me where I need to go which is the important thing
I love this car I would recommend it to everyone I know and I already have Arias this car runs great it’s still under warranty so any problems it automatically gets fixed. Got a very nice interior and the X ternal flaring is perfect as though

Pros
Small and compact hey can you give me an amount to places that most of the cars can’t and it’s a lot of fun to drive

Cons
Nominee come on there’s no navigation but other than that it’s a good all-around car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PN
Pam N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2019
Review of my Veloster
I love my car. Only problem for me is I like to sit higher in the seat. I have a hard time seeing the curb to my right side. Its a little hard getting in and out but I am an older person, other than this I love this car.

Pros
I love it

Cons
Sometimes I feel like its going to stall when I start out, but I am not a heavy foot on the gas pedal. Sort of like driving a stick and not applying enough gas and less clutch.
I would like to sit higher, but other than these 2 complaints I love my car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DEBORAH M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/26/2019
Awesome car
This car is so fast and so smooth to ride. I absolutely love it! They interior is very spacious and there is a ton of trunk space. Ilove the touch screen radio and the heated seats. The car warms up very fast so perfect for winter time. I'm in love with this car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kelly S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/20/2019
Fun car but issues are presenting themselves already and I haven't owned it that long.
Put the car in reverse the other day and it would not move. Put it in park then back in reverse and it went forward. Turned off car and restarted and have not had any issues sense. Then I had an issue turning at a light. Car would not go forward for a few seconds after entering the intersection. No issues with that sense. The car idles pretty heavy and sometimes lurches forward when first starting to drive. Also it is very low to the ground and the road noise is a little heavy. I will probably be taking it in for service if the issues continue. When running properly it is a fun car to drive, but I am not sure I would buy another one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joe S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/08/2019
Veloster
I love my Veloster
It is one of the funnest cars in my price range
( Affordable) it handles the road like an expensive sports car , yet is great for any conditions that I have put it through, I have had many compliments on its appearance and how well it drives
Thank you Hyundai

Pros
Economic
Fast
Fun

Cons
I would have liked electric seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YM
Yolanda M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/06/2019
Love My Veloster Turbo ❤❤💪
Really in Love With my Veloster my kids Love it To! Girls Like and Drive veloster 💪My kids are big but personal I didn't Recomend if you have babies a lil uncomfortable for a car sit. (already try)🤔.Thanks Universal Hyunday
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
Henry S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/04/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
This vehicle is top of the line in my opinion. Great gas mileage, rides great, especially when loaded and on a road trip, noy much back seat space but very good for two people traveling alone. and the sound system is awesome.

Pros
I just love the vehicle

Cons
NA

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NN
Noel N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/03/2019
I fall in love every time I use it.
Fun. Torquey. Easy to drive. Feels like you’re driving an expensive car. The leather seats bolstering hug you while you drive and grabbing on to the thick leather wrapped steering wheel just feels amazing. It puts a smile on my face every time I get in my car. Almost like a immediate connection. It’s so comfortable for long drives. I have the fully loaded 2016 Veloster Turbo with moon roof, parking sensors, Navigation with upgraded Hyundai BlueLink with Apple CarPlay & Android Auto. Heated Seats feel even better cause the leather helps get your whole butt and mid back get warm quick when it’s stupid cold outside in Florida mornings. The dimensions audio system is plenty loud, crisp and clear. The dual clutch 7 speed automatic transmission although sometimes acts a little weird when down shifting and reversing, its super fun and shifts like a dream when you’re in the correct RPMs. Has some turbo lag but when it kicks in around 3,000-3,200 it catches speed very fast. The car just feels amazing when you’re behind the wheel. I do not regret getting this 2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo. I F*** love it!

Pros
Leather Bolstered Heated Seats. Leather wrapped steering wheel. Navigation w/ Apple CarPlay & Android Auto. Dimensions audio system. Moon roof. Parking sensors ( it helps a lot). Back up camera. Turbo. 7 speed dial clutch automatic transmission.

Cons
The 7 speed dual clutch automatic transmission sometimes acts a little weird. No heated steering wheel. Manual adjusting seats not electronic. No automatic folding mirrors when you lock the car. No wireless Apple CarPlay or Android Auto/ Needs the charging cable of iPhone or Android to plug into the USB port. No remote start. At this point I’m nit picking cause the 2016 Veloster Turbo (fully loaded) is actually really good for the value. Like I said, I still love it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 1153 in total