2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(1152 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SB
Susan B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2018
Veloster
The Hyundai Veloster is a great car to own. Great gas mileage and very rooming. I love the style of the car. This is my second veloster. I get so many comments on my car. I would recommend this to my friends and my family.

Pros
I love my Veloster. It's a great car.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2018
My car
I love my Veloster. It’s loaded with extras I had never imagined I would enjoy It makes me feel years younger and it is far more versatile than I thought it could be This is my second Veloster. There may well be a third in my future

Pros
It’s easy to handle. Fun to drive I feel good about it being the car of my choice

Cons
??? Can’t really think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gloria D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2018
I LOVE MY CAR
Like it all around. No buts, my bells are good. I recommend this car, irs fun to drive and you CD an get everthing you need in it. Maybe not a tree. Lol
Ortherwise, it's a good buy and for alot of "I like your car" told many times.

Pros
Gas saver, good looks, confortable.

Cons
Huge Blind spot on rear view side mirrors.
Need better quality sound system maybe an option for upgrade.
A lil sluggish at the beging.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Renee R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/24/2018
Love this car !!!
I love this car I only wish that mine had the jack and spare tire and garage opener no other complaints great on gas fun car ...it handles very well very comfortable and has such a sporty look to it it is my favorite car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cheryl S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/19/2018
GREAT LITTLE CAR,
THE QUALITY IS OUTSTANDING. THIS CAR HAS A PROBLEM RIVERSIDE CAN'T FIX, DRIVEABILITY IS HORRIBLE. WE WILL BE BRINGINC IT TO MORENO VALLEY FOR THEM TO CHECK OUT SOON. HOPEFULLY THEY CAN FIX IT. SEEMS LIKE IT IS RUNNING OUT OF GAS OR A MISFIRE. COMPUTER GOES INTO OPEN LOOP UNDER EXCELLERATION.

Pros
COULD BE A GREAT CAR TO DRIVE, IF IT ONLY RAN LIKE IT DID NEW

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kelli B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2018
Love my Veloster!
Great gas mileage, zippy, roomy for a compact and with a sporty style! I got the high end package on the nonturbo version. I didn't like the front end of the turbo or I would have gotten that. They've improved that on the newer models, though.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/16/2018
2016 veloster
really like my car. i have owned many hyundais and they have all treated me pretty well. They have been dependable, durable and most have been fun to drive. A recent experience and a realization of how you can be used in the car business, will bring an end to my relationship with both edmond hyundai and hyundai in general. Too bad, it was a good run for close to 20 years!

Pros
lots of pluses not many minuses

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sharon M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
Veloster Turbo
Very small reliable car. I love how well this car handle... especially how it hugs the road. It has a lot of get up and go! Very fun to drive.. My Veloster was used but almost new. I have enjoyed my little car. I would highly recommend this vehicle.

Pros
Love everything about this car

Cons
Nothing to complain about.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sherry W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2018
2016 Veloster
Love this style and features. I get a lot of complements on the color. I was concerned that I had to replace all four tires before 11,500 miles. They should be better than that. Also the car is very low to the ground but otherwise I love it and and when I need to go bigger will go with a Hyundai vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2018
One satisfied Customer
I love my Hyundai Veloster Turbo - it has the extra boost I need, its great on gas and it looks good too! People are always asking me about my car, what is it. When I tell people its a Hyundai Veloster, they give me a puzzled look. I have let them look inside the car, pop and raise the hood, back hatch and even show them the third door. Trust me I don't mind showing off my Veloster.

Pros
One of the best cars I've ever bought

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
James D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
I like every part of my Veloster
I've had my Veloster since it was new.. It is a 2016 model. It handles as though the yrs haven't passed. It's always exciting to drive. I like this car so much I'm going to purchase it when my lease is up in a few months. Get one of your own because you can't have mine..

Pros
I like most all of the features from inside out.

Cons
For me I find there is a blind spot where the driver side window meets the left of the windshield corner where the mirror is located. I'm 5 foot 8 inches and I use a cushion.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
David T.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/06/2018
Fun care
I have owned 3 of them and they have been great, there are a few things though, it is not the smoothest ride, sits down low on the ground and you feel the road. Its ok if thats what you are looking for. I do have issues with the whole not having a spare tire thing. I know, some new cars are going to this but its a pain in the butt if you get a flat and have to be towed. Good stereo, very comfortable for me 5'5"

Pros
lots of room
great design
backup camera
great sun roof

Cons
blind spots
maybe add a 4th door
lighting in back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/05/2018
well liked
We liked this vehicle so much we have traded for a new 2019 Hyundai Velosta Turbo, The performance and all other features are the best that it could be The 2016 held its trade value like you would want one to

Pros
everything about the car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GQ
George Q.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/02/2018
Not worth the price of admission
Nice out of the gate with style and options(24,000 sticker so it should have something ), but quickly became flawed. Broken door handle, broken hatch switch(electrical). Underpowered to say the least. If you drive in snow, (1,400) for tires and rims are a necessity. Highest cost for insurance i have paid in my life and abysmal value after only 2 years of ownership. For the money Toyota or Honda are better choices.

Pros
Distinctive look, nice wheels. Holds corners pretty well.

Cons
Underpowered, costly to insure, abysmal depreciation, Poor quality of door handles and rear hatch opening.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Stuart K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/31/2018
Veloster
I hate being so brutal but I do not like my veloster. It's the most uncomfortable car I have ever had.... I dont like the paddles behind the steering wheel... And the voice command is in a bad spot..always hitting it! Ugh....

Pros
The back up camera.. good on gas..

Cons
Very uncomfortable!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lanell B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/31/2018
Great Car
it is an OK car, not too crazy about having only 3 doors, I would rather have a full back seat instead of the console right in the middle, I have never used the paddles that on the steering wheel (DO NOT LIKE THEM). I wish I would have upgraded to a newer elantra - loved that car!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Matthew F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/30/2018
Two Issues.
I only have two issues about this car. The most annoying thing about the Veloster, is that the engine is too small for this car, considering its relatively small size. Occasionally, when trying to move from a dead stop, the transmission will slip, causing the car to stop in the middle of the intersection while the engine races. I have to let off of the gas to let the engine reengage. The benefit of this is of course the gas mileage, which is just great!!! The inside is comfortable enough, and I like the feel while driving.
The second annoyance is the bumping your head when entering the car. Even with the large wheels, I still feel like i'm crawling in. Still, considering all of the other features, I still like the car.

Pros
Roomy in the front. Great gas mileage. Great audio!!! Cruise control.

Cons
Poor pickup. Tough to get into and out of. Occasional transmission slips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UP
Un P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2018
Love it
I'm honestly a bit disappointed I didn't go for the Turbo model (got it in yellow), but still completely glad i chose this as my first new car. 2 years and still happy. Would still highly recommend this to anyone.

Pros
Just about everything. hard to not like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2018
This car is fast around corners.
I had intended to buy an Elantra but didn't because I fell in love with this Veloster Turbo. It had 97 cubic inches and 201 horsepower. This car has great mileage ( 32mpg) and is fast! I've had it up to 120 and it was still pulling. Unless a full size vehicle has over 450 HP it won't out run this little rocket. It goes from 0 to 60 in 6 seconds. The drive train is smooth and you can't feel it running. The 4 wheel disc brakes will stop on a dime. I don't know if a person has ever had a car pull out in front of you but it happened to me and I stopped with road to spare. The ride is a little stiff, but it goes around corners really good. You don't get in or out of this car, you put it on and you take it off. This is NOT a boring car!

Pros
Gas mileage is good. Very fast. Blue tooth. Voice command for AV system. Head turner. Key less ignition. Insurance is cheap. All the info you would ever want on the dash. So many features. Heated seats, Hands free cell phone. Satellite radio. Pandora. Backup camera. Much more to list.

Cons
Rides rough. Can't see out of the small rear windows. 375 page owner's manual.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joshua S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/23/2018
Awesome in every way, except..
#1. LOVE this car. I needed a commuter 'cool' car that got good gas mileage. It's a 2016 turbo that gets on average between city and SLOW (traffic) highway, about 32 mpg. I took it from Rock Hill SC to Cumberland MD and never got tired. Very comfortable sport seats. All tech stuff is up-to-date and great.
Now, the one flaw. Let me preface by saying I am not a diagnostic guy. But there is something wrong with the stop-and-go shifting. Like on the highway at rush hour and the car will either not accelerate (with the touch of the gas pedal), or tool up the turbo and shoot forward, needing to apply the brake, while the turbo is still tacking. the transition from 1st to 2nd gear jerks the car like a teenager with their first stick sift (this is the one that kills me). I have heard other stories from Veloster owners.

Other than that I love it!

Pros
Awesome. See comments

Cons
Tranny. Too expensive for the performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 1152 in total