2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1129 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NG
Nathan G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Extremely reliable!
My Veloster has been so very good to me !! It drives very smooth, and is a great car for traveling! I recommend to everyone to get not only a veloster but a vehicle from Hyundai, they’re cars are super efficient and reliable!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Christian D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/16/2019
So far not so good!
Certified Pre-owned Hyundai Veloster with 36,000 miles. So far a new transmission, that took way longer to fix than it should and the communication during the process was poor at best. More issues with the transmission after replacing, as well as other issues. Took it back to the dealership to have them look it over and make sure it was all good before my daughter drove it off to college. Less than a 1,000 miles into the trip, my daughter's Veloster had to be towed, because it broke down! What a lemon!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Steve K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2019
3rd Veloster in 6 years! Great car.
I work in insurance sales and use my car daily. I am 64 years old and bought my first Veloster in 2012. My second was a turbo in 2014, Now I own a 2016 turbo. I get compliments every day from customers on the styling of my car. Come out with the N model in the dual clutch auto and we may be looking st number 4!! I am a customer for sure. Need any testimonials, just let me know.

Pros
Styling and performance

Cons
Little stiff on ride and low profile tires contribute.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Gallando E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
Awesome
It's an very reliable vehicle, great on gas, fun to ride. Space pro since its an small size I would definitely recommend anyone to buy this car
You wouldn't regret I enjoyed every moment driving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
Great little car for the price with Hyundai reliability and excellent warranty.
I bought a Veloster turbo (my first Hyundai) based on seeing other friends with Hyundais having good experiences with theirs. The base Veloster is a bit slow for my taste but the turbo is excellent. Its unique design always stands out in the crowd of crossovers and SUVs. Very happy with the Veloster turbo and Hyundai.

Pros
Great looking, fun to drive, excellent sound and NAV system.

Cons
None if I can get my little problem solved of gasoline smell coming in through the a/c vents.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/29/2019
Excellent
The Veloster has been a pleasure to drive for a small car. It’s economical and has all the bells and whistles I need. Being a turbo, I find it has all the pickup and speed I need to pull out into fast moving highway traffic, which is impressive for a small car. It may be small but I also have plenty of room to fit all my “stuff” wherever I go

Pros
My car is always fun to drive
It has been dependable and enjoyable to own

Cons
I can’t really think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Mr V
My sweet little veloster has been a joy.Wierd that ac went out at 3 years but your service department was outstanding & on we go Thanks to Ty& all that completed the service with perfection!I think this car was a buy for the $ & to my surprise it has been an amazing experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Volester 6 speed turbo
This car is awesome. It is probably one of my favorites of the cars I have ever owned. It is very stylish inside and out. This car is so much fun to drive. I really like having a stick shift plus it has a lot of get up and go.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sheree B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
Love my car!!!
Bought my car new and I’m very happy with it !!! has great gas mileage... car has a lot of get up and go and it looks good ...I highly recommend it !!! the only problem I can see with it is it does lose some power when you run the eco and air conditioner at the same time

Pros
Great little car...fun to drive...has get up and go...great gas mileage

Cons
When eco and air conditioning are being used together car isn’t very powerful...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Joel C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
Turbo lag.
Turbo lag hesitation is mildly annoying. Acceleration should be more immediate. Low end torque is appreciated. Seat comfort is good with good lateral support. Lack of spare tire is disturbing, at least a small spare tire should be supplied with each Veloster. Either that or equip car with run flat tires or self sealing tires.

Pros
Torque

Cons
Turbo lag

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
Sandra W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
2016 Hyundai Veloster
I love driving this car. It is sporty, drives well, and is a great sports car for the money. The exterior lines are awesome. I am always having someone tell me they love my car. I've even had people contact me wanting to buy it.

Pros
Excellent take off and the turbo moves you on down the road. Hugs to the road and takes a curve like a dream!

Cons
No back seat only a 2 seater. The car has the traffic app but you have to select buttons to see what is on the route you want to travel. Other than this small issue, excellent car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JZ
Joanna Z.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/10/2019
Awesome When the Turbo Works
The turbo on my 2016 Veloster, which was purchased brand-new, sometimes doesn't engage at all, or it stops working just as I am attempting to pass someone. Then, when the engine is restarted, it will re-set itself and the turbo will work again. Service technicians have been unable to diagnose the problem, however, they suspect that it may have something to do with a sensor.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
Holly M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2019
I love this car!
I fell in love at first sight, and head over heels at first drive! It handles amazingly, it is sporty as heck with paddle shift for manual if that's your pleasure, and phenomenal gas mileage! It comes with so much standard I felt like it was a loaded car! You'll love it, a hot hatch at a great price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dominic C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/02/2019
Lemon
My Veloster has brought me to rock bottom. After being talked into voluntarily repossessing my 2008 Hyundai Accent to get the new Veloster by the sales person was the worse thing I ever did. Breathing in gas for months. Taking it to dealers to tell me nothing was wrong with it. I was rear ended in it and attacked by the driver. I hit a rabbit. Front and back bumper is what kept you from buying it back because you wouldn’t just repair the car out of the funds you were returning back to me instead of repurchasing it. So thanks for the check to keep the car but still making payments and just picked it up from the dealer for the 13th time since I’ve had it. Third engine. Didn’t have my car for two and half months. People constantly ask me what’s going on with my car. I’m embarrassed. No one can understand why you wouldn’t buy back the lemon from me with the minor cosmetic damage or why you are spending so much to keep fixing this car when it seems like it would’ve been cheaper to buy it back or to give me a new car. After being turned away from two other Hyundai dealers because they could never properly communicate with me or fix the car I found a Hyundai dealer in Henderson that helps with rental and doesn’t tell me nothing is wrong with the car. My Veloster has given me nightmares. After being harassed by the manager at abc Hyundai I checked into the hospital because my blood pressure was so high. I just wanted my car fixed and they were nothing but mean to me. I am disgusted by Hyundai.

Pros
I might be able to drive to where I need to go

Cons
I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get to work
I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get to doctors appointments
People tell me I’m stupid for buying this car like I should’ve been able to predict you were going to sell me lemon
People always ask me personal questions to try to get me out of the car like how much do I owe or why don’t I buy a new car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHAEL B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/30/2019
Hyundai Veloster is Great Value
This vehicle is a great value and has great performance. I have had minor issues which I figure is a thing with any new vehicle. The car is very stylish, very comfortable, performs well under normal or inclement conditions, and has great storage space, especially when folding down the rear seats. I previously had a Hyundai Tiburon GT V6 which to any who know it, was a very stylish and sporty vehicle as well as fun to drive. While the Veloster might not be as sporty looking as a Tiburon or Genesis, it's still a fantastic vehicle at a very reasonable price. My only issues is that this year wasn't designed for Apple CarPlay, though I was able to update the system to support it, it runs somewhat slow and requires your phone to be connected via USB instead of simply connected via Bluetooth, and that I wish the fuel economy was a little better, but it's a sacrifice I'm willing to accept as everything else is great. This is the 3rd Hyundai vehicle I have owned and will continue to recommend Hyundai and most likely this will not be my last Hyundai. Hyundai offers fantastic warranties on their vehicles which offers great peace of mind to a buyer. Purchasing this car was the best dealership experience I've ever had, and I've had many. I will continue to visit the dealership I purchased from for service and will continue to recommend them highly. AAA+

Pros
Great performance
Comfortable interior
Great storage space
Great value

Cons
Apple CarPlay could work better, but this vehicles entertainment system was not designed for it, though it can be upgraded to support it but it runs kind of slow.
Fuel economy I would think could be better given the motor and size of the vehicle
Reverse camera sometimes has long delay coming on when vehicle is put in reverse
Had an issue driving cross-state where "Battery Discharge Warning" would display regularly on touchscreen. Contacted dealer but was unable to figure out what the cause was. After turning the vehicle off and back on this warning did not display again. I believe it may have been related to having a media device connected via USB.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Shirley R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
Veloster excitement
Great vehicle that's stylish, reliable and easy on the wallet. We would recommend this vehicle to all of our friends and family. We really enjoy having this vehicle. Bob Mayberry Hyundai does a great job for us!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kim L.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/28/2019
My Veloster
I love the interior of my 2016 Veloster. It has a sporty feel. One of my favorite features is the panoramic sunroof. The car is very responsive and nimble. I plan to get another one for my next car. I will have to get another used one though. I don't like the interior on the 2019. The dash is not attractive. It doesn't have that sporty feel that the Veloster should have. I don't want a sedan and that is what the 2019 model feels like.

Pros
I love the interior styling on my 2016. It's got a very sporty feel.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EF
Elnora F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/27/2019
Stalling won’t buy another
Fix the car it stalling to much to let this go If you know what’s causing this recall them your service department thinks the motor is to big for the engine and the 2019 were changed that the motor & engine are now now stronger to handle the power of the car

Pros
Great looking in and out

Cons
Stalling when taking off and going slow in traffic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Maria D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2019
Happy
Is our second car from Hyundai and we like as much as the first one if you ever need a car go to Universal Hyundai they will treat you like family lots of cars to choose good services good place to go

Pros
Love it ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
a
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Pros
a

Cons
a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1129 in total