2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1144 Reviews)
Latest review 9 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RC
Robert C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/14/2019
Great car hampered by the Safety related issues I have suffereed with the 7sp DCT.
This is my second VT. The first was with a 2013 manual and it did everything to my satisfaction. Great car! I then purchased my current 2016 VT with DCT and have suffered numerous scares by numerous intermittent performance failures of thee DCT. Examples include: While in Drive and foot off of gas, engine starts racing in neutraL ; While in Drive and at a slow speed, transmission fails to downshift when going up a steep hill ; While in drive and starting off from a start, transmission locks in 1st gear ; While in drive and starting off from a very slow speed, car takes off then stalls ; When in Reverse and giving it gas from a rooling start, it either jumps back or stalls out. Except for the DCT, it is an excellent car!

Pros
Great value, looks, driveability, performance, and economy

Cons
7sp DCT

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Justin M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/14/2019
It’s still a Hyundai
Good value for the money but you get what you pay for, the car comes with cheap economy tires, I recommend upgrading to better tires and proper winter tires for any cold regions. There are a lot of little things inside the car that are annoying like the rattles on the doors when listening to music, and the dashboard rattling while driving sometimes.

Pros
Fun to drive
Sleek style inside and out
Surprisingly spacious

Cons
Noisy interior rattling
Annoying to drive in snow
Expensive repairs
Slow Bluetooth connectivity
Slow MyHyundai app

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
Regina A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
2016
This was the type of car I had been wanting and decided to purchase. Like the smooth ride. The elite white color turned out to be a nice color overall. Enjoy the length of time between gassing up. .

Pros
Small turning radius, cornering ability, light weight punchy vehicles

Cons
Back sit design could be better. The cup holder in back sit does not allow for a 3rd person to sit comfortably.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FE
Frederick E.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2019
Hyundai Veloster Turbo
Good gas millage. Pleasure to drive. Great pickup and very easy handleing. Car is perfect in every way. Will ramble on so to make up 200 words so the survey will be complete. Very happy with the car and the service from Red Hogeland Dealership in Winter Haven on Cypress Gardens Boulevard. Hope this is 200 caracters now.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LP
Lloyd P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/26/2018
Love my Veloster
Serviced at 22,000 miles. Love this car! Great Service I have come to expect from the dealership. Great gas mileage for someone who has a heavy foot. Carries 3 passengers well, and has lots of storage space.

Pros
Great gas mileage, sportiness. Comfortable to drive out on the highway!

Cons
Dual Clutch.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
Charles M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/25/2018
2016 Veloster
Just purchased this vehicle and at this point I am totally satisfied. Enjoy the pep in acceleration and the many bells and whistles on this car. Just drove it to KC from Iowa and it performed well. The turbo really makes a difference. The interior is very comfortable. Fun to drive!

Pros
The increased acceleration and the road-hugging ride and the look . . . look is great. Care scoots! Interior design and features are top-shelf.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Marcel S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/19/2018
2016 Hyundai Veloster Turbo (sans Tech package and sunroof)
My thoughts on this car after 2 years and 25k miles: still loving it. There are a few design flaws, like rear visibility (rear window is poorly positioned so the mirror shows you the spoiler and little else.) The factory tyres didn't last anywhere near as long as I expected, considering their grip levels (about 22k) but I have high hopes for my chosen replacements after reading some of the tyre reviews. Wish there was just a little more engine/exhaust noise - sound insulation is probably just a little too good for my taste. Touch screen is too bright at night, even at its lowest setting. And finally, the centre exhaust means lots of steam on cold mornings directly below the middle of the rear window, fogging it up with condensation instantly until the exhaust finally warms up. Rear seat is so small as to be virtually unusable except for small children or emergencies (not a problem for me, though.) But these are small niggles. Overall, it's a lot of fun to row through the gears. Fast enough to play with, not so fast that it's hard to control. No problems with driving in snow. Comfortable - I've done 12 hours at a stretch with no back issues or unusual amounts of tiredness. Handles well - firmer suspension that some would prefer, but that's how I like it. Overall, very happy with it - and expecting to keep it for many years to come.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JAMES P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/11/2018
2016 Veloster
I do not like the slip differential transmission. Car will almost stop when idling up to a stop. He will also hesitate when you accelerate from a stop position. Once you are moving the cars performs well. Handles great.

Cons
Bad transmission design.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Timothy B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/11/2018
‘16 Rally Edition
The Rally Edition is all about 2 things: the suspension, and the paint job. I still get heads to turn on the highway with the matte blue paint job. Everyone always asks, “Is that a wrap?” No, that is the standard paint job, standard Ray’s wheels, and it’s a 6 speed manual with Turbo. When you take it around the curves on the highway, you will know the suspension is worth it when you sink into the turn with ease. You won’t feel like you’re about to fly out of the turn with the centrifugal force. The top speed I got to was 141 on a good autum day, cruising around a curve. Sitting in at just over 200 hp, it isn’t as beefy as the new 2019 N model, but it sure does look great.

Pros
Great acceleration. Third door is to save money on car insurance, which is a plus. One of a kind paint job. Racing seats.

Cons
No 5 point harness for the seats. The rear view takes getting used to, and the glass on the roof doesn’t do much (they got rid of it in the newer models).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RANDY S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2018
My Veloster experience!
This is the second Veloster I’ve owned, my wife has also had 2 Velosters. They are a great bang for the buck. Unique styling, decent performance and reliable. I would definitely recommend one for purchase or lease.

Pros
Great styling.
Good performance.
Great sound system.
Great choice of options.
Reliable.

Cons
Turbo GDI motor is a little noisy.
7 speed DCT lacks torque to hold vehicle in place on an incline.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Richard C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/30/2018
So far very happy with the V
Happy with the Veloster it should be a great car for my Daughter, three door is a neat design. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WK
Wayman K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/27/2018
Ok to drive and fuel economy is good
Reliability is good drive ability is good fuel economy is good, but when I wanted to trade it in for the next year model after only having the car for 7 months it had dropped in value by 60 per cent, I thought this was very unusual for a car to drop that much so fast the car had only been driven approximately 2700 miles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Susan B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2018
Veloster
The Hyundai Veloster is a great car to own. Great gas mileage and very rooming. I love the style of the car. This is my second veloster. I get so many comments on my car. I would recommend this to my friends and my family.

Pros
I love my Veloster. It's a great car.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/26/2018
My car
I love my Veloster. It’s loaded with extras I had never imagined I would enjoy It makes me feel years younger and it is far more versatile than I thought it could be This is my second Veloster. There may well be a third in my future

Pros
It’s easy to handle. Fun to drive I feel good about it being the car of my choice

Cons
??? Can’t really think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
Gloria D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2018
I LOVE MY CAR
Like it all around. No buts, my bells are good. I recommend this car, irs fun to drive and you CD an get everthing you need in it. Maybe not a tree. Lol
Ortherwise, it's a good buy and for alot of "I like your car" told many times.

Pros
Gas saver, good looks, confortable.

Cons
Huge Blind spot on rear view side mirrors.
Need better quality sound system maybe an option for upgrade.
A lil sluggish at the beging.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Renee R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/24/2018
Love this car !!!
I love this car I only wish that mine had the jack and spare tire and garage opener no other complaints great on gas fun car ...it handles very well very comfortable and has such a sporty look to it it is my favorite car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cheryl S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/19/2018
GREAT LITTLE CAR,
THE QUALITY IS OUTSTANDING. THIS CAR HAS A PROBLEM RIVERSIDE CAN'T FIX, DRIVEABILITY IS HORRIBLE. WE WILL BE BRINGINC IT TO MORENO VALLEY FOR THEM TO CHECK OUT SOON. HOPEFULLY THEY CAN FIX IT. SEEMS LIKE IT IS RUNNING OUT OF GAS OR A MISFIRE. COMPUTER GOES INTO OPEN LOOP UNDER EXCELLERATION.

Pros
COULD BE A GREAT CAR TO DRIVE, IF IT ONLY RAN LIKE IT DID NEW

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Kelli B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2018
Love my Veloster!
Great gas mileage, zippy, roomy for a compact and with a sporty style! I got the high end package on the nonturbo version. I didn't like the front end of the turbo or I would have gotten that. They've improved that on the newer models, though.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Michael W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/16/2018
2016 veloster
really like my car. i have owned many hyundais and they have all treated me pretty well. They have been dependable, durable and most have been fun to drive. A recent experience and a realization of how you can be used in the car business, will bring an end to my relationship with both edmond hyundai and hyundai in general. Too bad, it was a good run for close to 20 years!

Pros
lots of pluses not many minuses

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sharon M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
Veloster Turbo
Very small reliable car. I love how well this car handle... especially how it hugs the road. It has a lot of get up and go! Very fun to drive.. My Veloster was used but almost new. I have enjoyed my little car. I would highly recommend this vehicle.

Pros
Love everything about this car

Cons
Nothing to complain about.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 101 - 120 of 1144 in total