2016
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65
4.7
(1138 Reviews)
Latest review 11 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SK
Stuart K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/31/2018
Veloster
I hate being so brutal but I do not like my veloster. It's the most uncomfortable car I have ever had.... I dont like the paddles behind the steering wheel... And the voice command is in a bad spot..always hitting it! Ugh....

Pros
The back up camera.. good on gas..

Cons
Very uncomfortable!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lanell B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/31/2018
Great Car
it is an OK car, not too crazy about having only 3 doors, I would rather have a full back seat instead of the console right in the middle, I have never used the paddles that on the steering wheel (DO NOT LIKE THEM). I wish I would have upgraded to a newer elantra - loved that car!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Matthew F.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/30/2018
Two Issues.
I only have two issues about this car. The most annoying thing about the Veloster, is that the engine is too small for this car, considering its relatively small size. Occasionally, when trying to move from a dead stop, the transmission will slip, causing the car to stop in the middle of the intersection while the engine races. I have to let off of the gas to let the engine reengage. The benefit of this is of course the gas mileage, which is just great!!! The inside is comfortable enough, and I like the feel while driving.
The second annoyance is the bumping your head when entering the car. Even with the large wheels, I still feel like i'm crawling in. Still, considering all of the other features, I still like the car.

Pros
Roomy in the front. Great gas mileage. Great audio!!! Cruise control.

Cons
Poor pickup. Tough to get into and out of. Occasional transmission slips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UP
Un P.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/26/2018
Love it
I'm honestly a bit disappointed I didn't go for the Turbo model (got it in yellow), but still completely glad i chose this as my first new car. 2 years and still happy. Would still highly recommend this to anyone.

Pros
Just about everything. hard to not like

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2018
This car is fast around corners.
I had intended to buy an Elantra but didn't because I fell in love with this Veloster Turbo. It had 97 cubic inches and 201 horsepower. This car has great mileage ( 32mpg) and is fast! I've had it up to 120 and it was still pulling. Unless a full size vehicle has over 450 HP it won't out run this little rocket. It goes from 0 to 60 in 6 seconds. The drive train is smooth and you can't feel it running. The 4 wheel disc brakes will stop on a dime. I don't know if a person has ever had a car pull out in front of you but it happened to me and I stopped with road to spare. The ride is a little stiff, but it goes around corners really good. You don't get in or out of this car, you put it on and you take it off. This is NOT a boring car!

Pros
Gas mileage is good. Very fast. Blue tooth. Voice command for AV system. Head turner. Key less ignition. Insurance is cheap. All the info you would ever want on the dash. So many features. Heated seats, Hands free cell phone. Satellite radio. Pandora. Backup camera. Much more to list.

Cons
Rides rough. Can't see out of the small rear windows. 375 page owner's manual.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joshua S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/23/2018
Awesome in every way, except..
#1. LOVE this car. I needed a commuter 'cool' car that got good gas mileage. It's a 2016 turbo that gets on average between city and SLOW (traffic) highway, about 32 mpg. I took it from Rock Hill SC to Cumberland MD and never got tired. Very comfortable sport seats. All tech stuff is up-to-date and great.
Now, the one flaw. Let me preface by saying I am not a diagnostic guy. But there is something wrong with the stop-and-go shifting. Like on the highway at rush hour and the car will either not accelerate (with the touch of the gas pedal), or tool up the turbo and shoot forward, needing to apply the brake, while the turbo is still tacking. the transition from 1st to 2nd gear jerks the car like a teenager with their first stick sift (this is the one that kills me). I have heard other stories from Veloster owners.

Other than that I love it!

Pros
Awesome. See comments

Cons
Tranny. Too expensive for the performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Charles S.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
10/23/2018
Duel clutch syster
Terrible that you’re selling a transmission that doesn’t work. I was actually told at the dealership that I blew the clutch. I have been driving manual transmissions for 20 years and have never blown a clutch, but now that I have an automatic, I was able
To blow it. Interesting...

Pros
Fun car to drive. I wish I would have gotten a Manuel.

Cons
Duel clutch system is kaput! Selling technology that doesn’t work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Keith K.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
10/22/2018
If I could give it half a star I would
My 2016 Hyundai Veloster has had a new stereo, shift actuator, transmission and now TCM put in it just since April. I bought the car brand new and have had various issues with the transmission and original stereo. Thank god I have recorded them on my phone. It took Hyundai almost the entire month of April to fix the stereo and my car has been back three times to get the transmission to work, and I still don't know if the problem has been fixed. I am afraid to take the car outside of the city of Dayton for fear I won't be able to drive it back home and will be stuck and unable to get a tow truck at night or on Sunday.

Pros
At least it hasn't rusted out, and the seats are still comfortable.

Cons
The quality and reliability of this vehicle in a word is SHIT. Never have I had a car this bad. You could give Chrysler from the 70s a run for their money with this car. I would never recommend a Hyundai to anyone. In fact, I tell people I meet who are looking for a car to not buy a Hyundai as the Hyundai Corporate doesn't care about customers and their customer service reps only repeat these three phrases "Sorry to hear that." "I don't know" "We can't do that", when you can but won't. Try doing the right/ethical thing not just the legal thing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/22/2018
Experience the Veloster, it is an amazing sports car.
This is my first imported car I have ever owned. I am glad I chose the Hyundai Veloster. It is very stylish both outside and inside. Besides, the color of this car is close to Tangerine, it definitely gets attention everywhere and when talking to people about it. I have to point out that the car only has 3 doors. THAT'S RIGHT.

Pros
A safe vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MN
Mark N.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2018
our 3rd Veloster
we are waiting for our fourth Veloster the 2019 ultimate ! four weeks until delivery hooyah ..... the Veloster ultimate is a completely redesigned car and we are waiting to restart the excitement all over again ......

Pros
fast and agile for the city . nice body lines and attractive ..

Cons
a little stiff on the road ....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ER
Eric R.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/14/2018
Hello I don't know what this actually means so need to clarify a little bit more thank you
I do not want to write 200 words so here it is I have enjoyed my vehicle and hopefully I will be able to maintain it for at least five years and buy a new one at that particular time. Thank you for your service to me and my family.

Pros
Thus far is a great machine

Cons
The only thing I don't like is I can hear my valves cooking sometimes even though I change oil on time every

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Lee B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2018
Awesomeness in the form of a beautiful car
I got my veloster in July it's now October and not one single problem, I drive close to 1000 miles a week. The car is comfortable and smooth. It has plenty of power for playing and excellent economy for the long drives. An overall great drive. I fell in love the second i sat in the seat. And that hasn't changed.

Pros
All of it

Cons
No spare tire...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
Deborah A.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/09/2018
Veloster- Sporty, comfortable and full of pep!
The Veloster provides a unique combination of
sporty good looks, a comfortable “cockpit” and
unexpected power/“zip” from its Turbo engine!
We were completely surprised by our Veloster’s
ability to easily power up the very steep hill that
leads to our home! It’s fun to drive and an added “plus” - its 4-cylinder Turbo engine gets good
mileage!

Pros
All of the above (see Review)

Cons
While it’s not an issue for us, the Veloster only has three doors, which may be an issue for some folks.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Paula D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/05/2018
I love my Hyundai Volester!! It runs great and the ride is so smooth that you dont realize that the speed has reached over 80mph and the car handles the same as it does at 40mph!! It's sporty looking, but not so sporty that you need to be a twenty something to drive it!! I love everything about this car, if you need to pick up your speed quickly, it gets up and goes and the twin turbos kicmck in and you're gone, but smoothly without any jerking or throwing you back in your seat...but it goes and goes fast without whiplash!!! As I said I love my Hyundai Volester!!
I really love my Hyundai Volester!! It's fast and fun to drive but it's smooth riding and driving at 40mph and just the same at 80 to 90mph!!! I love how it handles. The steering wheel doesnt shake at a high speed, I've had it to 90mph and it didn't shimmery at all!! I've owed 2 Hyundais in the last 15+ years and they have been very reliably. I am almost positive that my next new car purchase will be a Hyundai!!

Pros
Everything!!!

Cons
If the steering wheel can be adjusted I can't find it. And if you don't remember to position the seat all the way back to the lowest position it can be difficult getting back in

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Richard B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2018
2016 Veloster Turbo
The Veloster Turbo is a fun car with great handling. Earlier I drove Toyota MR-2s but they are not available now. The warranty is a big plus for five years or 60K miles. I have a request in to test drive the new Veloster N that is coming out later this year.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jacqueline M.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/02/2018
Good
I really love my car but I feel the turbo lag is much too prominent. You can feel the lag from first gear. Once you hit 3rd it holds out super long and has a hard time deciding whether it will shift up or down. I realize that third gear is the longest gear but its very obvious. I have worked on cars since I was a child. I feel the cars shifting and lag could be improved on tremendously.

Pros
Fun to drive, has many featires, and is reliable

Cons
Turbo lag, shift issues, and transmission delay

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sheri C.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2018
Veloster
I have had my Veloster since August 2016. I have had no problems whatsoever. It is fun to drive, the gas mileage is awesome. I fill up every 2-3 weeks and I use to fill up every week. This car has been such a joy and i love the 3 doors. It is so convenient for grocery shopping with the lift back. I highly recommend the Veloster. Sheri C.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Corene B.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/28/2018
Binx
I love my car. Binx is fun, fast and functional. If I need to haul something for work, the truck space is good.I do not recommend black if you live in florida. Window tinting and thick sun shade a must.

Pros
comfort and gas mileage

Cons
the center armrest could be longer.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JASON D.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2018
My Veloster (Raptor)
Great car would recommend to anyone. This car looks good, runs great and is a pleasure to drive. for cruising around town to commuting to work you will love this car. audio system is excellent. extremely comfortable interior with easy access to all controls. Sun roof is great on those days when weather is just right.

Pros
Performance and Styling

Cons
small fuel tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charlotte G.
2016 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2018
Fun ride
I love my 2016 Veloster I’m not familiar with ECO cars so sometimes it hesitates like a stick shift or act as a hybrid as if it’s going to cut off when I stop I don’t have it to compare but it’s a beautiful style and very fun to drive

Pros
Fun to drive lots of room for size love radio system love gadgets on steering wheel like 3 rd door body style is nice

Cons
Hesitation when in first gear

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 121 - 140 of 1138 in total