2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(297 Reviews)
Latest review 22 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MB
MAUREEN B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/09/2020
Veloster
The Hyundai Veloster is great. The unique styling lives up to its handling on the road. Excellent vehicle. The dual clutch and paddle shifters add to the fun of driving. It handles well in all traffic conditions and the rain! Hyundai brand lives up to its reputation.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carolyn H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Hyundai Velositor
We love our 2017 Hyundai Velositor. As I have always stated this car is a lifesaver for our family. We bought it at the right time that we needed another vehicle and we got just that. It continues to save us so much money in gas. It is compact and just what our family needs.

Pros
Great on gas and mileage

Cons
A little to small for the family now

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mario M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/18/2020
Poor transmission performance
Had a few episodes were the performance of the vehicle was beautiful but other times were not what you expected for a turbo vehicle. Reported the problems to my "preferred dealer and they couldn't fix the problem even call coustumer affairs and they didn't help either

Pros
Good driving fast, excellent features

Cons
Not good on gas, dual clutch transmission SUCKS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 04/22/2020
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member from our corporate office will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KP
Kendall P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/18/2020
Love the car, hate the transmission
Hopefully Hyundai will recall the transmissions in these cars before someone get hurt. I’ve pulled out in traffic a number of times and have almost got hit because the transmission slips and doesn’t go into gear.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
ROMAN J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2020
Great Vehicle, Awesome sporty look
My son has been driving the 2017 Hyundai Veloster since we bought it new. He is a big guy and loves the vehicle. We have not had any issues with the vehicle in 2 years and we love Hyundai's basic warranty that comes with all Hyundai's. We will continue buying Hyundai vehicles for years to come. Love it.

Pros
Great inexpensive vehicle for a younger driver. Reliable and cool looking.

Cons
No spare tire. Just a tire repair kit which is odd.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carolyn H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
We Love our Velositor
We love our Hyundai Velositor. This is our second one and we just love it. We love the gas mileage. It is very stylish and it drives so well. We have driven it to a lot of different places and it doesn’t ever let us down.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
A little cramped in the back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Thomas F.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/07/2020
Too bad about Tranny
Would b much better if transmission was safe and consistent the interior works well I am over 6’4” and quite comfortable. Controls are intuitive easy to reach and use. Build quality is good and did have to have some minor repairs to body from speed bump issues at parking garages front bumper scrapes easily and tore twice.

Pros
When the gears shift it works great

Cons
Unsafe transmission shifts fail or don’t engage and engine redlines while standing still happens most from a stop at low speed such as entering traffic crossing intersection very dangerous issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CAROL P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2020
My Hyundai
Great car, everything is very easy to use and within arms reach. Cleaning is a snap with the low profile. Exact temperature control and the seating makes for a very comfortable ride for a long trip or just driving around for fun.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kendall P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/24/2020
Love this car
Love this car but hate the transmission in it, the only complaint about this car is the transmission, it hesitates all the time off the line, which is dangerous when going through an intersection. Should be recalled and replaced.

Pros
Style and looms

Cons
Transmission issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PAUL K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/23/2020
Good economy car with looks
Great economy car for my long commute. Looks good, usable storage space, and good gas mileage. Only complaint was the engine is very weak when it comes to acceleration. Although expected, still disappointing. It’s a economy engine, so is what it is.

Pros
Looks and gas mileage

Cons
Engine performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
IVAN S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/08/2020
Bad breaks from the beginning
The breaks are defective and the dealership couldn’t find the issue. I had this issue since the beginning, less than three months from the time I bought it. It was a brand new car. Sometimes it also doesn’t want to run fast.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Ann C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2020
Absolutely sold
My 2017 Veloster is my second one, except that the first was manual. I just loved my first one and only traded it so I could save my knees. It was the kind of car I would have driven for many more years. I've had several different "sporty" cars and no one has ever commented on them. Starting with the first day I drove my 2013, I have been stopped many times by people asking about it. I stopped counting around 50 instances. It's a beautiful and highly functional car.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ANTHONY C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2020
N/A
N/A .........................................................................
..................................................................................................................................
.

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
RUTH J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
Love my car❤️
I’ve been driving it for a year now.. it’s a great car.. good mileage and fits me perfect.. sweet sporty look and easy to drive. Thank you to Manny in Greenwood In for his help I couldn’t be happier❤️

Pros
I always feel good driving it..❤️

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
ROBERT H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/08/2020
Unhappy buyer
Engingine not write! Valve/lifter noice.have been to dealership a few times been blown off.they say cant be duplicated.i have even recorded it.i will never purchase a Hyundai again.i feel i been getting taking advantage of.

Cons
Enginge valve noise !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mordehai M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/06/2020
2017 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
The 2017 Hyundai Veloster Turbo is a cute car, with plenty of trunk space, and actually very comfortable to sit in the back seat. However, the car has NO power, does NOT accelerate well after turning a corner. The car acts like it wants to stall. The panoramic sun roof is very noisy when it is opened. The engine does NOT have a powerful sound, when revved. I traded a 2012 Hyndai Genesis Coupe, for this Hyundai Veloster that I should have kept.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JERRY P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/24/2020
Veloster
The car is perfect, accept the acceleration, it jerks a lot. At times when I need the car to go and get out of the way, it will jerk, and take forever to accelerate. Also the head rest doesn't stay down when you lock it down.

Pros
All around good car

Cons
Engine performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RITA B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2020
Love My Sporty Little Veloster!
Driving this car gives me great joy! I have not tried to drive my Veloster in snow or ice because I live in a warm climate so I don't know how it maneuvers in bad conditions. But if you are in slick rainy conditions and try to drive to fast and break it lets you know you're gonna skid!

Pros
Easy to maneuver and sporty!

Cons
People like to ding it up in the parking lot for some reason.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
ROBERT G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/09/2020
Great, but...
Dealership experience at purchase left a lot to be desired. An option on the sticker was omitted. When I asked about it, I was accused of lying. When the window sticker was reviewed, it was a dealer added option that was not installed prior to purchase. I never received an apology. I purchased Auto Butler. When I returned to the dealer to ask why I was not notified of my first six month appointment, I was accused of lying about purchasing the plan. The dealership checked, and they had neglected to register my plan with Auto Butler.

My sales experience after purchase was below par. That is unless being called a liar by a car dealership is considered a positive.

Pros
Overall, I am happy with the purchase.

Cons
Lack of power memory seats and negative dealer interactions are my major complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
DEBORAH N.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
My Hyundai Veloster
I love my sporty car. It rides great and maintained has been minimal. It is a great car to considered because of the assets. The 3rd door is unique and was one of my main reasons for purchasing the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 297 in total