2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(310 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HN
Hunter N.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/10/2021
Rad Ride
It’s a unique car, easy to spot others on the road, and life is all about standing out (unless you’re square).

This is a great car for customization and comfort. The 3 doors are a neat feature, and I love the vehicle’s angular contours.

Pros
Comfortable and stylish.

Cons
This is a 2017 vehicle, so no wireless CarPlay or wireless charging. I would like a vehicle with those features at some point.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Johnnie A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/19/2021
Fantastic
I'm a proud owner of my Veloster, Good looks,gas efficient, runs smooth, great color. Perfect size. The features and reliability are great. The exterior of the car is amazing epically the tire rims. The PRICE well worth it 👌
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Anthony D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/25/2020
LOVE THIS CAR
HANDELING, STEREO, AWESOME, NOT HAPPY WITH THE FACT THAT I WAS SOLD TIRE AND RIM PROTECTION ON THE BASIS IT COVERED POT HOLE DAMAGE AND NOW WILL NOT COVER MY DENTED RIM, I SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD, AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE, IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED, THAT'S WHY I BOUGHT IT, TIRES ARE SO LOW PROFILE YOU SUCKED ME IN FOR $600.00 FOR SOMETHING I CAN NOT USE.

Pros
STEREO

Cons
RIM INSURANCE, ACCELERATION,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TRACY H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/24/2020
Tracy’s Hyundai
So far I really like it. Only concern is no spare tire and small back seat. Good gas mileage and I enjoy the sound system with back up camera Comfortably is good. And ride is enjoyable. Just wish my monthly amount was less

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CRAIG T.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2020
Review
Love the car. Only problem is the view backing out of a parking spot. Fun car to drive. It gets great gas mileage both in town and how at. Acceleration is fine even with the non turbo engine. Should come with a spare tire and not with just a can of air.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PE
PAUL E.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/17/2020
Good
Good car for the price.you get what you pay for. It’s reliable and good fuel mileage. No resale value and not much power. No spare tire and the dealership gave me a bad battery. Rides rough but I didn’t buy a Mercedes...you get what you pay for.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Weak power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ST
Scott T.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/21/2020
The DCT is poorly designed
There were performance issues with the DCT from the day I purchased the car. After several diagnosis, I was always informed that "this is just how this transmission operates". Maybe to, but it wrecked my ability to enjoy what would have been a fun little car.

Pros
Well-appointed. Feature rich. Comfortable. Good engine response

Cons
The uneven performance of the DCT wrecked the driving experience.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Robert K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2020
My favorite car.
I got my first Veloster in 2012. I am now on number 4. I have driven all 4 from coast to coast. It handles great and it is the first car I have ever owned that I don’t get tired after driving all day. One of my trips was 10,700 miles and after driving the entire trip, I wanted to do it again. So I did in my 2nd and 3rd Veloster.

Pros
Comfortable, fun, stylish.

Cons
A little noisy. But just turn up the radio.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sonya S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/05/2020
I love my car
I love my car it’s great it’s great for one person great for a couple I am without words with it I just let my little blue car. I took a road trip in mine drive 17states in 7days and he was going best trip I ever had in my veloster

Pros
Fast and fun to drive and looks badass

Cons
There is a blind spot from the drivers side looking to the passenger side and it’s doesn’t come with a spire tire when your side wall of your tire blows out the kit does not help

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/14/2020
LOVE IT
I love everything about the car, could be a bit more peppy when taking off without being in sport mode.
The back is best for shorter people, as they tend to hit there head. Still by far my favorite car iv owned so far.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BERNARD D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/04/2020
It’s a cute car
Although it’s a cute, stylish, unique little car (my main pick), and also is very good with gas.
I wouldn’t buy it again because it is slow and feels unsafe, especially whenever I need to use the brake.

Pros
It’s cute!

Cons
It’s slow and a bit unsafe.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Charles J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
06/17/2020
Transmission
Vehicle slips out of gear almost t-boned last time hesitates on exceleration problem needs to be corrected.This has happened 5 times in 25 months,no sense taking it back to dealer,since they won’t be able replicate the problem,because it doesn’t occur often enough.

Pros
Economical,handles nicely.

Cons
Transmission terrible,poor exceleration.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rebecca B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/16/2020
Perfect City Car
This car is perfect for NYC. The size and gas mileage is ideal for the city. The pick-up is decent for the engine size and it is comfortable to drive on road trips. The back seat is ok on size for your average person however the front seats are perfectly comfortable. Trunk space is as expected with a smaller hatch back. I do not like that it comes with a tire patch set rather than a spare tire and the turn radius could be better.

Pros
Good for the city
Looks

Cons
Turn radius
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MAUREEN B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/09/2020
Veloster
The Hyundai Veloster is great. The unique styling lives up to its handling on the road. Excellent vehicle. The dual clutch and paddle shifters add to the fun of driving. It handles well in all traffic conditions and the rain! Hyundai brand lives up to its reputation.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carolyn H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Hyundai Velositor
We love our 2017 Hyundai Velositor. As I have always stated this car is a lifesaver for our family. We bought it at the right time that we needed another vehicle and we got just that. It continues to save us so much money in gas. It is compact and just what our family needs.

Pros
Great on gas and mileage

Cons
A little to small for the family now

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mario M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/18/2020
Poor transmission performance
Had a few episodes were the performance of the vehicle was beautiful but other times were not what you expected for a turbo vehicle. Reported the problems to my "preferred dealer and they couldn't fix the problem even call coustumer affairs and they didn't help either

Pros
Good driving fast, excellent features

Cons
Not good on gas, dual clutch transmission SUCKS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 04/22/2020
Allow us to have a further look at your vehicle concerns. A team member from our corporate office will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KP
Kendall P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/18/2020
Love the car, hate the transmission
Hopefully Hyundai will recall the transmissions in these cars before someone get hurt. I’ve pulled out in traffic a number of times and have almost got hit because the transmission slips and doesn’t go into gear.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
ROMAN J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2020
Great Vehicle, Awesome sporty look
My son has been driving the 2017 Hyundai Veloster since we bought it new. He is a big guy and loves the vehicle. We have not had any issues with the vehicle in 2 years and we love Hyundai's basic warranty that comes with all Hyundai's. We will continue buying Hyundai vehicles for years to come. Love it.

Pros
Great inexpensive vehicle for a younger driver. Reliable and cool looking.

Cons
No spare tire. Just a tire repair kit which is odd.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carolyn H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/07/2020
We Love our Velositor
We love our Hyundai Velositor. This is our second one and we just love it. We love the gas mileage. It is very stylish and it drives so well. We have driven it to a lot of different places and it doesn’t ever let us down.

Pros
Great gas mileage

Cons
A little cramped in the back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TF
Thomas F.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/07/2020
Too bad about Tranny
Would b much better if transmission was safe and consistent the interior works well I am over 6’4” and quite comfortable. Controls are intuitive easy to reach and use. Build quality is good and did have to have some minor repairs to body from speed bump issues at parking garages front bumper scrapes easily and tore twice.

Pros
When the gears shift it works great

Cons
Unsafe transmission shifts fail or don’t engage and engine redlines while standing still happens most from a stop at low speed such as entering traffic crossing intersection very dangerous issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 310 in total