2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(290 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CP
CAROL P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2020
My Hyundai
Great car, everything is very easy to use and within arms reach. Cleaning is a snap with the low profile. Exact temperature control and the seating makes for a very comfortable ride for a long trip or just driving around for fun.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kendall P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/24/2020
Love this car
Love this car but hate the transmission in it, the only complaint about this car is the transmission, it hesitates all the time off the line, which is dangerous when going through an intersection. Should be recalled and replaced.

Pros
Style and looms

Cons
Transmission issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PAUL K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/23/2020
Good economy car with looks
Great economy car for my long commute. Looks good, usable storage space, and good gas mileage. Only complaint was the engine is very weak when it comes to acceleration. Although expected, still disappointing. It’s a economy engine, so is what it is.

Pros
Looks and gas mileage

Cons
Engine performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
IVAN S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/08/2020
Bad breaks from the beginning
The breaks are defective and the dealership couldn’t find the issue. I had this issue since the beginning, less than three months from the time I bought it. It was a brand new car. Sometimes it also doesn’t want to run fast.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Ann C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2020
Absolutely sold
My 2017 Veloster is my second one, except that the first was manual. I just loved my first one and only traded it so I could save my knees. It was the kind of car I would have driven for many more years. I've had several different "sporty" cars and no one has ever commented on them. Starting with the first day I drove my 2013, I have been stopped many times by people asking about it. I stopped counting around 50 instances. It's a beautiful and highly functional car.

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ANTHONY C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2020
N/A
N/A .........................................................................
..................................................................................................................................
.

Pros
N/A

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
RUTH J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
Love my car❤️
I’ve been driving it for a year now.. it’s a great car.. good mileage and fits me perfect.. sweet sporty look and easy to drive. Thank you to Manny in Greenwood In for his help I couldn’t be happier❤️

Pros
I always feel good driving it..❤️

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
ROBERT H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/08/2020
Unhappy buyer
Engingine not write! Valve/lifter noice.have been to dealership a few times been blown off.they say cant be duplicated.i have even recorded it.i will never purchase a Hyundai again.i feel i been getting taking advantage of.

Cons
Enginge valve noise !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mordehai M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/06/2020
2017 Hyundai Veloster Turbo
The 2017 Hyundai Veloster Turbo is a cute car, with plenty of trunk space, and actually very comfortable to sit in the back seat. However, the car has NO power, does NOT accelerate well after turning a corner. The car acts like it wants to stall. The panoramic sun roof is very noisy when it is opened. The engine does NOT have a powerful sound, when revved. I traded a 2012 Hyndai Genesis Coupe, for this Hyundai Veloster that I should have kept.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JERRY P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/24/2020
Veloster
The car is perfect, accept the acceleration, it jerks a lot. At times when I need the car to go and get out of the way, it will jerk, and take forever to accelerate. Also the head rest doesn't stay down when you lock it down.

Pros
All around good car

Cons
Engine performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RITA B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/18/2020
Love My Sporty Little Veloster!
Driving this car gives me great joy! I have not tried to drive my Veloster in snow or ice because I live in a warm climate so I don't know how it maneuvers in bad conditions. But if you are in slick rainy conditions and try to drive to fast and break it lets you know you're gonna skid!

Pros
Easy to maneuver and sporty!

Cons
People like to ding it up in the parking lot for some reason.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
ROBERT G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/09/2020
Great, but...
Dealership experience at purchase left a lot to be desired. An option on the sticker was omitted. When I asked about it, I was accused of lying. When the window sticker was reviewed, it was a dealer added option that was not installed prior to purchase. I never received an apology. I purchased Auto Butler. When I returned to the dealer to ask why I was not notified of my first six month appointment, I was accused of lying about purchasing the plan. The dealership checked, and they had neglected to register my plan with Auto Butler.

My sales experience after purchase was below par. That is unless being called a liar by a car dealership is considered a positive.

Pros
Overall, I am happy with the purchase.

Cons
Lack of power memory seats and negative dealer interactions are my major complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
DEBORAH N.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
My Hyundai Veloster
I love my sporty car. It rides great and maintained has been minimal. It is a great car to considered because of the assets. The 3rd door is unique and was one of my main reasons for purchasing the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
CARLOS V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/13/2019
Make a Stronger engine
Car was great for the time it lasted. It had many engine problems including carbon build up. Spring valve blew , pistons blew only withing 10k miles. After going to the dealer the refused to honor the warranty.

Pros
Was Great Fun Care

Cons
Engine blew at 10k miles

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/16/2019
We’d like the opportunity to look into this. A representative will be in touch with you shortly to investigate further. ^cc

GB
Gabriel B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/28/2019
I love my Veloster.
I am surprise how fast it runs! The stereo sound is also surprising how well it performs. The sitting is comfortable. I love the color(Red). I like the way the car looks! I would like to get a Turbo or a faster engine.

Pros
I have a Value Edition which to me it is fully loaded. That is a plus!

Cons
I wish it had better suspension. There is also not enough room in the back for an adult, it is okay for small child.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kerry L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/13/2019
Engine revs but does not run while driving
While driving, engine revs and does not move. This is a safety hazard and has nearly caused accidents. I have spoken to my dealership about this problem since I have bought the car. None of what they have done has fixed the problem. I will never buy another Hyundai after this experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/13/2019
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Please expect a call shortly from our headquarters. Thank you. ^cc

JM
Jade M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/12/2019
Fun but sensible
This car looks small and sporty, so I still feel cool, even as a soccer mom. But, it actually has a decent amount of space in the front and trunk space is more than would be expected when you lay the back seats down. It handles well, and is fun to drive. The only complaint I have is that the backseat only seats two, due to the built in cup holder. It would be perfect with three seats in the back.

Pros
Has three doors, so no it still looks sports, but no need to lay seats down for people to get in the back seat,
comfortable stylish interior, great control panel and sound system, handles well

Cons
Only seats four, kind of a noisy ride, rough ride on roads with potholes or uneven pavement, very low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sheila C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2019
Veloster
Love my car..feels sporty but not to small .

Perfect. WOULD GET ANOTHER when ready for a trade in..nice style and interior is stylish...runs great..!.good on gas! Have not had any problems an Warrenty is awsome..

Cons
Non.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandra M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
Hyundai veloster
I am loving my Hyundai Veloster 2017. Its zippy, fun to drive, extremely economical when it come to gas and suits our needs. We have done all kinds of adventuring long and short and have found it to be very comfortable. The trunk space is also above expectation for the sporty look.
Thank you Hyundai Mall of Georgia

Pros
Great dash with large gps, radio etc
Love the push button ignition
Sporty cockpit
Bucket seats
Adequate trunk capacity
Sunroof
Rear camera
Sufficient cup holders

Cons
Takes a bit to get used to the 3 doors, but still love it
Rear visual also takes a bit to get used to but not an issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shaun S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/23/2019
Love it.
Great little puddle jumper with all the bells and whistles. Nice features, for a little money. Need some oomph. That's why I had them add cold air intake. Pipes are next. Yes I would recommend this car.

Pros
Great little puddle jumper.

Cons
Lacks on power. Thus the cold intake and pipes later.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 290 in total