2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5Overall Rating 4.62/5rating 4.62
4.6
(252 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MJ
Mary J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/19/2019
My Veloster Turbo
Still love my little car, a year later. Great handeling, excellent fuel, and a downright fun car to drive. Bill Hood gets 2 thumbs up from me. This is my second new vehicle from Bill Hood. Thanks again, Jerry

Pros
Great mileage, I like the turbo, Hugs the curves. Gets you in and out of the traffic. I like my vehicles to be clean and polished SO it doesn’t take long on the veloster because it sits low.

Cons
The only con that I can think of would be the passenger seat sits really low. I would like the same height adjustment as the driver seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Karen S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/18/2019
Really like my car!
I am really happy with my car. I feel comfortable and safe and I get more compliments on it! I have put mostly freeway miles going to and from California. Great on gas. I can make it 6 and a half hours on one tank. It handles well on corners and straight away. It comes with so much. Android Auto is really handy. I love the sun and moon roof. Extra huge! The seats are super comfortable and I have a bad back so that is important! I like the back up camera even tho I still look back. I am old school! I really like how much this little car can hold. It is unbelievable! And it holds my three dogs! I like the fact that the body is a bit stronger because if the three door. No back door behind the driver! Really cool. Freaks people out when they notice that it has one on one side and not the other. The hatchback is awesome! Love the car so far. Only had one bad battery. The warranty place towed it to the dealer and I had it the next day. Free! Overall.....Cool car! My payments are a bit much but I like having a new car so I don't get other's problems.

Pros
I really like it. It holds a LOT! Fun, Cute, Great on Gas! Handles well.

Cons
Sometimes you can feel the road when it is a bit rough. Not a totally smooth ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Madilyn K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/18/2019
Fun and sporty, yet economical.
My Veloster is so fun to drive. I have taken it on long distance trips and it is comfortable and economical. The glass on top helps to make you feel like the inside is spacious. There are plenty of places and cupholders to keep items organized.

Pros
Fun, sporty and economical.

Cons
When I place my items in the cubby behind the shifter, it can fall out on the sides, dropping to your feet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
Wendy C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/16/2019
Zippy and fun
I love my Veloster. I was skeptical of moving from a minivan to a small car, but needed something that was more economical for my long daily commute. I fell in love with this car on my test drive and am so glad that I decided to down size. The gas mileage is great, it has decent get up and go (in sports mode) and by purchasing the Value Edition, I got all the bells and whistles. It really is a great value! The only complaint I have about this car are the blind spots.

Pros
Very stylish, fun to drive, and loaded with every option you could want.

Cons
The non-turbo version lacks the amount of get up and go that I would like. It has some wicked blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Patrick D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/16/2019
Good city car
Great city hatchback that has a fun style.Small size, good sized hatchback, like the sun roof, great warranty.
Good power for normal driving, should have gotten the turbo. Looking at trading up to the N.

Pros
Small size, good sized hatchback, like the sun roof, great warranty

Cons
Good power for normal driving, should have gotten the turbo. Looking at trading up to the N.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
ANDREW M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Velositer
This car is very very well designed and well put together. Very satisfied with the handling and overall preformance of the car. Well worth the money payed. This car is just overall fun to drive and has great sound.

Pros
Handling is incredible, internal systems are great, and is perfect for the amount spent on the car.

Cons
Major blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SHEILA F.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Perfect Design
I loved the design of the vehicle prior to shopping for my new car. When I found it necessary to shop for my next vehicle, I went in search of a smaller car. The Veloster was the new vehicle I was searching for.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Aaron H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/11/2019
New transmission at 6,600 miles
This car is a lemon and the dealership wants to do nothing about it. They sent me onto the road in a faulty vehicle that could stop running at anytime and put my life at risk! These cars are mechanically unsound and Hyundai should purchase this car back from me and give me everything that I paid for it 8 months ago!

Pros
Nothing I only rated 2’s because you can’t rate a zero.

Cons
This car is a Lemon and the transmissions do not last in them!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
Tommy E.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2019
Good choice.
My recent purchase of the Hyundai Veloster was very rewarding for me. It looks and handles great. The extras are nice such as the rear view screen for backing up safely or the navigation system for convenience but primarily I like the way the car looks and handles. It is just pure fun to drive.

Pros
Handling, looks, performance and reliability.

Cons
I'm a big person and it takes me a couple of seconds longer to get the seat belt fastened.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Jason B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
01/09/2019
Great car but have run into more issues than I would like to explain.
Car runs great and most issues I have faced are based on this being my first car from a dealership but am happy I was approved for the car in the first place. As I said most issues I have found with the car come with just the type of car it is. Not to say it's horrible but car sets a little to low for the crappy roads in this state. Also was not the happiest with a handful of things going out rather soon exspcially with this being a brand new car when I obtained it.

Pros
Car is very smooth for the most part and has taken me as far as I could have hoped for and is still going strong.

Cons
A handful of things have gone out in the car and not even O'Brien have been able to help figuring out these issues.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IR
Isabel R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/04/2019
I love my Veloster!
Thank you to my employee Donna who is a two time Hyundai owner for recommending Hyundai. I was a little hesitant to buy from Hyundai being a BMW owner but I needed something small and economical. My Veloster is all that and more... sporty and beautiful! Thank you Hyundai! The service department is the best. Kudos to the Ser dept management.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terri B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/03/2019
Great car!!
Great little car. Never have to put gas in it and I have a lot of complements on the body style. Super fun to drive . Whatever you do it has a great reaction time to it. I also love the glass roof. Make the car feel open. Everyone that has rode with me love my car!!!!

Pros
Almost makes gas!!!!!

Cons
Backseat is only for small child or grocery. Would not grow with a family.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Richard M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/01/2019
Best Hot Hatchback on the Market
This car is one of my all time favorite cars. I like it better than my VW GTI that I had for 5 years. This car is a blast to drive with the 7 speed dual clutch
transmission, paddle shifters and turbo engine. It is also a very practical hatchback with plenty of room. Love the touch of the 3rd door for entry into
the rear seats. It is a better car than many other cars that cost twice as much. Warranty is also the best in the automotive world. I like the interior
design of the center of the dash and console better on this car than on the new 2019 models. I like the touch screen intergrated in the dash. I love the grab handles.

Pros
Tremendous paddle shift dual clutch transmission
Peppy turbo engine
Interior layout and room
Tremendous value for the money

Cons
Although handling is good for a front wheel drive, all wheel drive would be even better. I have not discovered any negative features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
George W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/01/2019
7000 miles review
This is a great little coup... fun to drive. Using manual transmission ,it has great pick up. The only thing I think could improve would be the front seats. Not comfortable on long drives.

Pros
Sharp car! Fun to drive.

Cons
Uncomfortable front seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/31/2018
Great Sporty Economical Car
The Veloster is a great economy car. Miss my CD player not an option in these cars. Would have preferred the turbo. Would like an automatic hatch opener feature. Like the unique body style. No heated or AC seats. Would prefer vinyl seats over cloth.

Pros
Good on gas.

Cons
No CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tina M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/24/2018
Veloster
I love my car. If you have a family of three or more kids, it's probably not your car. Although some have three seats in the back, mine only has 2 bucket seats, not a bench style seat. It is pretty compact, but as for drivability, it is very comfortable. Easy to drive around town, back roads, or highway.

Pros
Third door makes back seat accessible for smaller children.
Dual clutch
Back up camera!
Up to date technology
Large trunk area.

Cons
Large blind spots in the rear.
If low profile tires, you feel every bump.
Small back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TD
Teresa D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/23/2018
Tom Disisto
Great vehicle, wish had alittle more power. Also wish had sun roof. Dual air conditioning, larger tires, get rid of second door on passenger side. More color selection. Give me new n spec turbo on trial basis.

Pros
Style, comfort

Cons
No sun roof. No dual heat and air conditioning. A bit under powered.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Darlene H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/21/2018
Beautiful Great CarBeau. Fine as the wine. Just enough for me. I enjoy the ride. It fits my needs. Thanks for asking.
Good retirement car. A wonderful car for cruzing the places someone enjoy visiting. I will like a truck to carry my motorcycle for vacations. My friend think its the right car for me. I will do my best to enjoy it fo a long haul. (Love Bug.)

Pros
No comment

Cons
Bo comment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Virgil B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/19/2018
Great car
I had looked at the Veloster models over the years, and really liked the look. Finally bit the bullet about a year ago, and have not regretted the purchase. Since I need to use another 156 of characters to be able to submit this survey, I typed this sentence.

Pros
What's not to like like, except maybe an electric option?

Cons
The metal is bit thin and can crease easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Phillip M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/18/2018
Love the 2017 Veloster
Lives up to everything Consumer Reports said about it. That check rating did it for me!
I have been following this vehicle since 2012 and I am glad that I waited, it has improved in every way. I cannot wait to drive it every day.

Pros
Handles exceptionally well on the freeway, great acceleration on demand.
Comfortable for all passengers.
Very practical for cargo with rear seats down.
Dual clutch really works!

Cons
Left turn visibility is a little funny - be careful!
No place to put loose coins!
Not really a negative, but dual clutch takes a little getting used to, occasionally not as smooth as "normal" automatic transmission.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 41 - 60 of 252 in total