2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5Overall Rating 4.63/5rating 4.63
4.6
(251 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DD
Debra D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2018
Velosters are fun!
I love my little red Veloster. It has really cool hubcaps with red accents. The sun roof almost opens the whole length of the car and the third door on the passenger side is genius. The gas mileage is great. Sometimes I average 34 mpg! I also love that it is small and easy to maneuver and easy to wash!
It’s a really cute fun and reliable car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GE
Greg E.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/27/2018
Overall very happy
This is my second one. Couple of issues, paint on hood chips easy, cover on top of radio needs to cover glare on screen better. I do feel black rims would look better on the vehicle. Blue link should not cost as much as you charge
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
Donald G.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/25/2018
I love this car
This car just fits me. I like being in it. driving position is very good. like the feel of the steering wheel. There is a very large amount of space considering the size of the car. value added pkg. has a lot of features making for a good value.

Pros
Style

Cons
Front pillars block view at times. 18" tires seem a bit much

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sacha S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/21/2018
Not a bad car.
I am a longtime Mitsubishi driver (2007 Eclipse and 2011 Outlander Sport) after a deer destroyed the Outlander I needed a new vehicle ASAP. The Veloster looked great, and I know people who have owned a few with no issues.
The price was right so I bought the Veloster... a few months in I can say I'm a little disappointed in the overall power, but everything else is great.

Pros
Great looks.
Great gas mileage.
Great reliability.
Good comfort for the size.

Cons
Power... I feel like it should be measured in gerbil power, not hose power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Steven S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/21/2018
What a car
Probably not the perfect car for everyone, but for me, it is the perfect car, from ride to features, to just plain driving fun. I could go on but, at 65, I've bought a lot of cars and this has been the best car I've ever owned. I have always owned BMW's and Saab's, but I would not trade my Veloster for any other car I've driven and the service experience was just as professional and enjoyable as buying the car, driving the car and enjoying the car. Thank you for making such a well built and enjoyable car.

Pros
Everything

Cons
I wish, when driving in manual mode, that the gear you are in appeared on the screen. In the dash the gear display is often obscured by the steering wheel and with 7 forward gears I like to see what gear I'm in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
Mark W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/20/2018
Veloster 2017
I am extremely happy with my Veloster. Since I am 6' tall & 68 yrs old, I hated selling my 2007 Miata convertible, but knee & back issues were taking their toll getting in and out. My mechanic was a head mechanic for Hyundai for over 10 yrs before opening his own shop & thoroughly recommended Hyundai, which has become the affordable Honda. Like my old Honda & my wife's Honda, they will last for many miles as long as you maintain your scheduled services. I didn't want a box car that looks like everyone else's, so when I heard about the Veloster I felt I found my larger size Miata. I can comfortably get in/out & have a modern look with features I never had before, plus the warranties are the best in the industry.

Pros
Able to use the Sports mode for faster pick up and drive ability.

Cons
The view for backing up at an angle is hopeless as you cant see anything from the rear sides, but the rear camera is very helpful as long as you go very slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DELMERA A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/20/2018
EXCELLENT
THE VEHICLE IS GREAT BUT SURVEYS ARE TOO LONG TOO TOO LONG. MAKE YOUR SURVEYS SIMPLE YES OR NO BUT DO NOT MAKE THEM WRITE SOMETHING JUST TO FILL THE 200 WORDS. I NOT BACK AT SCHOOL. THIS IS CRAZY. BIG TIME CRAZY

Pros
GREAT

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LV
Luis V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2018
I really love my Hyundai Veloster 2017
At first I was not sure about my decision. But a couple of months later I can say was a great decision to choose my car. It’s cute, and sexy! I like it. I enjoy to drive it! I saw reviews on internet, i was reading about this car, but when I saw it in the dealership, I got impressed. Nice design, nice features, very sporty and this car is reliable.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHERYL C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/13/2018
Sporty and Fun!
Love the look of the Veloster, it is a vehicle that does get 2nd looks and questions. I would like to see it offered with 6 cylinders, w/o turbo. I'm not looking to wow anyone, just have a bit of get up and go. I can it my putput mobile. I'm accustomed to large vehicles with 6 cylinders. If you never had that before you most likely will not miss it.

Pros
Looks.

Cons
No get up and go and drives a bit rough.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
ESSAM A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
DO IT!
The car is literally great! highly recommend to anyone. It runs smoothly and still runs perfectly even if a lot of mileage is put into the car. It's spacious and all the extra technical features run quickly and efficiently.

Pros
Everything else is literally perfect!

Cons
Sometimes the car randomly stops even when pressing the gas. Randomly happens and when it does it's terrifying. The sport car seats are uncomfortable and sitting for a long period of time messes with my back.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Darlene H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2018
Thumb up!!! Giving back my feed back!!!
I like the car i purchased. Great for me. I Thank my Heavenly Father and Mother for all that was involved of my purchase. The beautiful car i purchased gives me a lot to look forward to when retired. I invite all womens to have or try one very soon!!! Have a fantastic day in a Hyundai car, you will enjoy it.

Pros
Faithfulness and Truthfulness

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
Raja K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2018
Nice little vehicle
In love with this car. We have a fiat and this car. I love the 3 door setup. Sporty but can transport people when needed. Trunk is spacious and lots of window to let in light. I especially Love the backup camera! First hyundai and I would buy again
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
ALBERT B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/01/2018
Well made
It has been a year since I purchased my 2017 Veloster. Everything is running well with no problems. I enjoy the handling, good mileage, and my grandsons like it as too. They say it is Papa's race car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
David B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2018
Best car ever
This was my first car that I had then I want to a Jeep and totally missed the veloster so went back to it and love it even more. It’s great in gas mileage and can carry a lot more than you think. It’s a reliable car

Pros
Great in gas mileage

Cons
None I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/25/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I love the car it drives good but it doesn't have any power I love the blue tooth and remote start and sun roof plus the style of the car but what really attracted me to the car was the start 3rd door.

Pros
Styling

Cons
No Power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARGOT J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2018
Veloster
This is my fourth Hyundai vehicle. Have always received excellent customer service! Thank you!!!
The only item I would make an adjustment to is the seatbelt for driver. It doesn't stay where I like it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
Leticia R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2018
Good car
Hey really like the fact that my car is the value addition yet it has all the bells and whistle‘s I need! Would like a little more power but other than that everything is good ..Maybe a little more room in the back

Pros
Comes standard with navigation and backup camera cute design great warranty

Cons
Not enough power would like a little more

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Debra W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2018
2017 modile
I've now has my car a year, nothing but great reviews. She picks up great and enjoy her low riding and most important the way she hugs the road. I feel great and will protected in the car. I would recommend this style you a lot of people. I've gotten great reports from my car to.

Pros
I love the style pack

Cons
No cons as of yet, I'm in the 15,000. Miles and no complaints.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Ralph L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/19/2018
The Dual Clutch transmission ruins a really good car.
The car is comfortable, nimble, fun, and attractive. There is so much to enjoy about this car that I'm upset that I dislike it so much. I do all city driving and get all of 17 mpg, no I'm not driving like a maniac, that's 100 percent on the DCT. Acceleration is anemic at best, auto shifting is smooth but comes at terrible times. When it downshifts into first from second, it rev matches so slowly that I think it's waiting for me to change my mind that the throttle position and speed of the car is really a first gear want. My wife has a 2012 Elantra where horsepower, torque, and weight are similar enough to be close in performance but it's nowhere near. I have talked to her about trading cars, legitimately, and she wants no part of driving the Veloster every day (because of the transmission.) Nearly every car I have ever owned, I'm 43, has had lower horsepower than the Veloster so, I'm plenty familiar with the performance I should expect. Now, for those of you that are still skeptical of my credentials as someone to tell you to stay away from any Hyundai DCT, I've driven a manual since I was 19, I deliver pizza and have for 25 years, and have been an avid car guy my whole life. What the DCT does is fully engage the clutches at idle and it has to build up steam from there, no other transmission does this. In a manual transmission you usually slip the clutch until fully engaged at say 1000-1200 rpm for a normal takeoff and a performance take off would have the engine speed higher. A regular automatic transmission would have the torque converter to serve that same function, resulting in the engine using more of the available torque to get going. The DCT could actually do this, it is in fact using clutches to do its job and the computer could be programmed to provide a slight slippage to put it in a better position to putting down the torque it does have. They don't do this because it would cause those items to more of a maintenance item, like a regular clutch is, and removing the whole setup and digging into it would cost thousands of dollars, so they do it the safe way. What this means is that a DCT transmission is so bad that it provides all the terrible traits of both the automatic and manual transmissions, while not really having an upside because speed of shifts isn't even particularly good on these economy cars because the standard public doesn't like that fast and hard shifting. I was positive they would get rid of them in the newer models, because it's so terrible of a transmission that it's not worth even trying to fix, but they have doubled down and put them in even MORE of their lineup. I wasn't aware of all of these downsides when I purchased this car, the test drive doesn't provide a way to see how the car will work in traffic or in an emergency situation where you have to accelerate quicker than you expected (remember that stupid downshift issue, that WILL get you in trouble.)

Buy a Hyundai, stay FAR away from any vehicle with this God awful transmission.

Pros
Wonderfully bolstered seats, auto climate control works well, it's very comfortable for someone used to sporty cars, it's a beautiful car, and for the price it's a really nice interior.

Cons
The only real downside is that transmission, ANY other type of transmission would make this car a 4 out of 5. Seriously, power and torque levels are fine, the transmission is the real problem when it comes to it's performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC from Hyundai Motor America responded on 08/20/2018
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

JW
Jonathan W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2018
Love it
I did not think I would like a car this size or style. But it has grown on me in the 4 months I have had. It's ease of drive and options are very good. It is great on gas and drives really well and has really nice comfortable seats for long drives.

Pros
Great on gas and seats well. Awesome speaker positions and nav screen. Third door comes in handy and good trunk space for a car it's size.

Cons
Sits low and a little hard to get in and out. Blind spot on the right is bad and could use a side mirror like on the left with the blind spot mirror.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 81 - 100 of 251 in total