2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5Overall Rating 4.59/5rating 4.59
4.6
(275 Reviews)
Latest review 5 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KL
Kerry L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/13/2019
Engine revs but does not run while driving
While driving, engine revs and does not move. This is a safety hazard and has nearly caused accidents. I have spoken to my dealership about this problem since I have bought the car. None of what they have done has fixed the problem. I will never buy another Hyundai after this experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 11/13/2019
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Please expect a call shortly from our headquarters. Thank you. ^cc

JM
Jade M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/12/2019
Fun but sensible
This car looks small and sporty, so I still feel cool, even as a soccer mom. But, it actually has a decent amount of space in the front and trunk space is more than would be expected when you lay the back seats down. It handles well, and is fun to drive. The only complaint I have is that the backseat only seats two, due to the built in cup holder. It would be perfect with three seats in the back.

Pros
Has three doors, so no it still looks sports, but no need to lay seats down for people to get in the back seat,
comfortable stylish interior, great control panel and sound system, handles well

Cons
Only seats four, kind of a noisy ride, rough ride on roads with potholes or uneven pavement, very low to the ground

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sheila C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2019
Veloster
Love my car..feels sporty but not to small .

Perfect. WOULD GET ANOTHER when ready for a trade in..nice style and interior is stylish...runs great..!.good on gas! Have not had any problems an Warrenty is awsome..

Cons
Non.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sandra M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2019
Hyundai veloster
I am loving my Hyundai Veloster 2017. Its zippy, fun to drive, extremely economical when it come to gas and suits our needs. We have done all kinds of adventuring long and short and have found it to be very comfortable. The trunk space is also above expectation for the sporty look.
Thank you Hyundai Mall of Georgia

Pros
Great dash with large gps, radio etc
Love the push button ignition
Sporty cockpit
Bucket seats
Adequate trunk capacity
Sunroof
Rear camera
Sufficient cup holders

Cons
Takes a bit to get used to the 3 doors, but still love it
Rear visual also takes a bit to get used to but not an issue

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shaun S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
Love it.
Great little puddle jumper with all the bells and whistles. Nice features, for a little money. Need some oomph. That's why I had them add cold air intake. Pipes are next. Yes I would recommend this car.

Pros
Great little puddle jumper.

Cons
Lacks on power. Thus the cold intake and pipes later.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
PAULA P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/23/2019
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Love this car!!!! Cute & Sporty. The interior is comfortable. The navigational system is spot on. The interior lights are perfect are night. I just wish the transmission didn't slip all the time.

Pros
Cute, sporty, comfortable, great gas mileage

Cons
Transmission slips. I would have put all 10's if I didn't have this problem since I got the car with less than 1000 miles on it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Marcia M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/12/2019
Fun for the Money
Wish visibility better,i paint issues scratches way too easily , very noisy ride, Needs more safety features . Blind spot warning would be great. Keep it sporty and affordable. Would not buy again unless better visibility and safety features installed.

Pros
Sporty

Cons
Poor visibility, paint sctatches way too easily

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VV
Vitalia V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2019
I Love it
The only thing that I find that that car needs is electric seats and the seat could be a little higher or have a electric seat lift and also the seat could be a lot more Cushing they are too hard especially when you go no a long trip like from Tucson to Ohio or Nwe Mexico there then that the car is great.

Pros
Overall the car is very pretty.

Cons
The only cons is that the seats are two Low and they could be more Cushing and a little higher from the seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tim P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/23/2019
Terrible Dual Clutch Transmission
Great car except for the transmission. Slipping,Jerking,confused shifting,and Hyundai service people tell me that i dont understand how a transmission is supposed to work. After 40 + years of driving and working on transmissions and engines and cars in general i think i do understand. I doubt i will keep this car as long as i thought,i dont see the transmission lasting and i can see this coming-when the transmission gives out under warranty Hyundai will tell me it is a wear item that caused the transmission to die and is not covered by warranty-i can see this coming.With all the problems Hyundai has had with this Transmission i wish they would correct mine. Time will tell

Pros
Love it

Cons
Terrible Transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gerald S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/06/2019
Good Car
Like the car. Good gas mileage great handling. The transmission sucks. It has that ecomatic transmission which shifts poorly and jerks you around. Need to be careful getting on the highway because car has a tendency to hesitate

Pros
Great gas mileage
Fun to drive

Cons
Transmission is terrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Virgil B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2019
I like it
It has been getting good mileage, rides comfortably, and has great road feel–unlike other manufactures who seem to think there should be no road feedback. I suppose if it was self-driving I would like a no movement sensation, but I doubt it. I don't miss the driver-side back door, but sometimes wish the rear window could open up (maybe pivot from the front, instead of rolling dow), but that in no way detracts from the overall experience. The stereo system is great, and I like the "analog" controls over digital touchscreen for things such as volume and channel switching control.

Pros
I like this car

Cons
Like all new cars, the outside air vents default open position is ofttimes not appreciated, I live in farm country and have to keep the vents closed to not 'enjoy' the lovely smells. Also, if you get stuck in traffic behind/beside another vehicle, such as one that is burning oil, or a diesel that needs turned …
For me it is unintuitive to turn on the AC to keep the windows from fogging up in cold, or wet weather, and I have not mastered the settings for getting good results. On the plus side of this comment, I have driven other brands that less forgiving in compromise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/31/2019
Clock and window seals
The clock stopped working and no one could tell me how to reset it on the phone. I am taking it in today. The exterior window seals on both driver and passenger sides have melted! I know it is summer, but my husband's 2018 Cruze sits right next to mine daily with no problems at all. Hyundai does not want to cover these under warranty even though my 2017 model has less than 17,000 miles on it. I like driving the car, but am unimpressed with Hyundai customer service.

Pros
fun to drive

Cons
window seals and clock are defective

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Brian K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2019
fun and fast "helmet", " space-ship" car, i hope to trade-it-in for a '2020 n next year!
fun AND FUNKY......................................................................................................................................................................................................SIMPLY

Pros
funky

Cons
made for short people

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Deborah P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
POWERFUL LITTLE CAR
I BROUGHT THIS CAR STRAIGHT OUT OF THE SHOWROOM, THE CAR CAME FULLY LOADED, EVERYTHING THAT I WAS LOOKING FOR IN A CAR. THE CAR HAS POWER, IT'S SPORTY AND JUST PERFECT FOR ME. THIS CAR CAN ACCOMODATE 3 PASSENGERS OR A CAR SEAT AND ONE ADDITIONAL PERSON IN THE BACK, IT'S A SMALL CAR WITH JUST ENOUGH TRUNK SPACE.

Pros
EVERYTHING YOU NEED IN A CAR

Cons
NOT ENOUGH LEG ROOM IN THE BACK OF THE CAR

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sherril B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/23/2019
Clock
The clock in my Velostar quit working about a week ago. I was told when I went in for an oil change that Hyundai was aware of the problem. I really hope they rectify this soon. It is very aggravating not to have a working clock in my car.

Cons
Wish the clock would work and was hoping for better gas mileage in the city.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BRIAN B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/17/2019
A good overall vehicle
The car has a surprising amount of room for it's size. I am 6'4" and I actually have leg room and my legs also aren't hitting the steering wheel. The seats are also surprisingly comfortable. The rear seats fold down and there is a rubber mat that folds out to cover them which is nice when you need extra space. The car does lack in acceleration considering that it is advertised as being more sporty. I do wish the seat had an adjustable Lumbar support.

Pros
Great mileage. Long trips average 43+ mpg
Comfortable seating
Back seat has enough room for people to actually sit there, plus the third door makes it much easier to get in

Cons
Lacks acceleration. You really have to get on the pedal to accelerate
Climate control system still changes to defrost even when not in auto.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MW
MARY W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/14/2019
,,,,,,
...................................................

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
PATRICK R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
Wanted To Give Five Stars
Great looking vehicle, nice 4 cylinder engine with dual clutch system that provides Sport Shift and manual paddle shifting. Excellent sound system with subwoofer with separate amplifier. The only reason I didn't give the 5 stars is because it broke down on me and had to have a $2000 warranty repair. Both catalytic converters were replaced and the exhaust system and muffler. Not sure why this happened but it was a major inconvenience.

Pros
Nice looking, decent gas mileage, great warranty, proximity key sensor

Cons
No separate control of subwoofer volume

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WP
WILLIAM P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2019
My Veloster
This is simply a great vehicle. My wife loves the appearance and in city handling. I would highly recommend this vehicle for its overall value and quality. The sound system is awesome and blue tooth compatibility works great. Fuel economy is also a positive. And simply fun to drive.

Pros
overall quality

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/05/2019
2017 Veloster
Good on gas. Would prefer a turbo for acceleration especially from 1st to 2nd gear. Love the body design. Wouldn't hurt to provide more room inside for future models. Better suspension for a smoother ride over bumps. Automatic back hatch would be better than the manual lift (must have key in hand). Hatch button on key would be better.

Pros
Good mileage.

Cons
Could use turbo for acceleration 1st to 2nd gear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 275 in total