2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(269 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


PR
PATRICK R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
Wanted To Give Five Stars
Great looking vehicle, nice 4 cylinder engine with dual clutch system that provides Sport Shift and manual paddle shifting. Excellent sound system with subwoofer with separate amplifier. The only reason I didn't give the 5 stars is because it broke down on me and had to have a $2000 warranty repair. Both catalytic converters were replaced and the exhaust system and muffler. Not sure why this happened but it was a major inconvenience.

Pros
Nice looking, decent gas mileage, great warranty, proximity key sensor

Cons
No separate control of subwoofer volume

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BRIAN B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/17/2019
A good overall vehicle
The car has a surprising amount of room for it's size. I am 6'4" and I actually have leg room and my legs also aren't hitting the steering wheel. The seats are also surprisingly comfortable. The rear seats fold down and there is a rubber mat that folds out to cover them which is nice when you need extra space. The car does lack in acceleration considering that it is advertised as being more sporty. I do wish the seat had an adjustable Lumbar support.

Pros
Great mileage. Long trips average 43+ mpg
Comfortable seating
Back seat has enough room for people to actually sit there, plus the third door makes it much easier to get in

Cons
Lacks acceleration. You really have to get on the pedal to accelerate
Climate control system still changes to defrost even when not in auto.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sherril B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/23/2019
Clock
The clock in my Velostar quit working about a week ago. I was told when I went in for an oil change that Hyundai was aware of the problem. I really hope they rectify this soon. It is very aggravating not to have a working clock in my car.

Cons
Wish the clock would work and was hoping for better gas mileage in the city.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
Gerald S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/06/2019
Good Car
Like the car. Good gas mileage great handling. The transmission sucks. It has that ecomatic transmission which shifts poorly and jerks you around. Need to be careful getting on the highway because car has a tendency to hesitate

Pros
Great gas mileage
Fun to drive

Cons
Transmission is terrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TP
Tim P.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/23/2019
Terrible Dual Clutch Transmission
Great car except for the transmission. Slipping,Jerking,confused shifting,and Hyundai service people tell me that i dont understand how a transmission is supposed to work. After 40 + years of driving and working on transmissions and engines and cars in general i think i do understand. I doubt i will keep this car as long as i thought,i dont see the transmission lasting and i can see this coming-when the transmission gives out under warranty Hyundai will tell me it is a wear item that caused the transmission to die and is not covered by warranty-i can see this coming.With all the problems Hyundai has had with this Transmission i wish they would correct mine. Time will tell

Pros
Love it

Cons
Terrible Transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
SOFIA V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/03/2017
IT IS GOOD, BUT NOT THAT I WAS EXPECTED ABOUT
IT IS OK, BUT NEXT TIME I WLL NOT BUY THAT KIND OF CAR

Pros
IT IS NICE

Cons
IT IS UNCOMFORTABLE, AND UNRELIABLE, BECAUSE ONE OF THE GUYS AT THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE WHEELS COULD BE BROKEN. IT WAS TO SELL AN INSURANCE, BUT HE MADE ME FEEL THAT I MADE A MISTAKE, BUT I WAS ALREADY PAID, AND HAVE TO PAY MORE FOR THE SAME THING.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TAMINA H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/16/2017
New Veloster
It's s Decent Vehicle

Pros
It's sporty and comfortable

Cons
Road noise is to loud and it needs a CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Josephine S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/13/2018
Not what I expected
I thought when I test drove this car it would be a great investment and a fun car to drive. Visibility is not great. The blind spot when changing lanes makes me feel insecure. Frequent oil changes takes getting used to. Service was less than professional with my second oil change. I would not buy another Veloster. Sorry!

Pros
It is somewhat fuel efficient. Warranty, takes regular fuel, service staff 1st contact are good

Cons
Blind spots, pick up, comfort, frequency of oil changes, some staff are rude and/or condescending

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
Robert W.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/20/2018
Sporty but not enough power
I purchased this car because of the way it looked. It is very sporty and very well-made. The downside is the 1.6 L engine does not have a lot of power. If I would have known that the non-turbo model was so under powered I probably would not have purchased it. I do a lot of freeway driving and it’s just not practical on the southern California freeways.

Pros
Very good looking car on the exterior and has excellent sound system.

Cons
The non-turbo has poor acceleration performance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sabyasachi S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/24/2018
Veloster turbo
nice little car with regards to exterior styling and features and handling. But feels cheap inside with too much plastic all around and poor body quality.
I would not buy this car again or recommend it to someone.

Pros
Nice style and the turbo moves fast

Cons
poor mpg, shoddy build quality (feels cheap with a lot of plastic part inside)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/09/2018
Unique Sporty Body Style
The Veloster is compact and good in gas mileage. The body style is unique and sporty looking. The paint quality is acceptable but could be better. The turbo will provide a little more zip especially between first and second gear.

Pros
Good gas mileage. Handles well with parking and maneuvering. Great A/C.

Cons
A taller person might want more room. Needs turbo.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/25/2018
2017 Hyundai Veloster
I love the car it drives good but it doesn't have any power I love the blue tooth and remote start and sun roof plus the style of the car but what really attracted me to the car was the start 3rd door.

Pros
Styling

Cons
No Power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
Mark J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/30/2018
Veloster
Not a fan of the double clutch transmission. Need to replace. It is not very performance geared. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......m....,..........................,..............................

Pros
Great gas mileage, all the convenience items and all the electronic gadgets it has

Cons
The double clutch and the lack of power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Austin V.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/22/2018
nice car....but
car runs fine ...moon roof does not allow driver easy entry to car.
tight space in back and front........
not as good on gas as they say.
Nice car all in all but its a little tight for me and back surgery doesn't help
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Barbara D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
12/10/2018
Nice small car
I really like my Hyundai Veloster. It's great on fuel and very comfortable to drive.
What I'm not happy with is the extremely small window in the back; when looking in the rear view mirror, you don't look through the upper rear window, you only get to see out the small lower window. I find it restricts my view out the back quite a bit. If I had a cop behind me with lights on, I wouldn't be able to see that since the spoiler/ window separation hides that area behind the car. I always have to look at the side mirror to see more than two car-lengths behind my vehicle.
Also, what I'm not fond of is the center console where the stereo and air controls are. It should be directed towards the driver, and the stereo system should include a CD deck. I really wasn't happy about that when I made the discovery after having bought the car.
Other than that I'm happy with my Veloster.

Pros
Good on fuel consumption.

Cons
View out the back through mirror is too small.
Controls for stereo and air distribution should face towards the driver.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
Gwendolyn H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/01/2019
Hyundai Veloster
I enjoy my car as far as the handling of it, my biggest complaint if you're not on a smooth Road it is very rough riding, would be nice if you had an option on having low profile tires are regular, I just don't think the looks of the low profile tires are worth compromising the ride I think that would make a big difference
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jon L.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/24/2019
Different
I would definitely change the way the car accelerates and shifts. It's also a very tiny 2 person car. It has 2 seats in the back, but really only 5 year olds would fit comfortably. The trunk is spacious, and I love my sunroof.

Pros
Great Looking Car.
Good on gas

Cons
Bad Acceleration Issues.
Not enough back seat space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Rigoberto R.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/05/2019
Buy the turbo..
I would recommend you by the turbo. At the dead stop, car takes a bit to catch. Leather seats might have been a better upgrade.
No CD player for us old folks. Paint caught many minor scratches after a few washes..

Pros
Better of the compact cars..

Cons
Slower on the pick up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Charles J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/20/2019
17 veloster
Economical good mileage,automatic transmission sluggish,noise level high,can’t hear radio on expressway.Comfortable ride for size of vehicle.All in all happy with car,would have loved to had a turbo,but none available,due to it being 2017,no 2018 were made,but that’s the way it goes.

Pros
Economical.

Cons
Automatic transmission sluggish,high noise level.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WJ
Wayne J.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/26/2019
2017 Hyundai Veloster Valve Edition
I think it definitely needs a lot more horse power (intake system upgrade) and a arm rest in the back seat also a back dome light that you can turn on and off. A much better stereo system maybe a Bose or Infinity would be nice.

Pros
I love the over all styling interior and exterior.

Cons
Needs more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 241 - 260 of 269 in total