2017
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(266 Reviews)
Latest review 4 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


AS
Ann S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/04/2019
Just average
I like noting about this car except the look of the car, should have done more research before I bought the car. there is no acceleration, the gas miles are not great. I actually spend more money in gas in this car than I did my 2013 Sonata.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Maria D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/05/2019
Sport looking sedan
Clean looking sedan. Runs ok in automatic. Jerks a bit if you try to go fast. But just switch over to paddle shift and it will run great. I like all the smart electronic panel. Nice loud radio. Over all it's ok. For a single person. For a family of 4 not so much. The back is super small. The 3 door feature horrible. It's not made for tall people, or someone on the hefty side.

I have also noticed that the seatbelts in the back get caught on it's guide. Not letting the seatbelt retract properly. I will call customer service and complain because that's a safety issue.

Pros
Sporty looking sedan

Cons
3 door feature. Rear seat belts get caught on it's guide.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Cynthia S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/31/2019
Clock and window seals
The clock stopped working and no one could tell me how to reset it on the phone. I am taking it in today. The exterior window seals on both driver and passenger sides have melted! I know it is summer, but my husband's 2018 Cruze sits right next to mine daily with no problems at all. Hyundai does not want to cover these under warranty even though my 2017 model has less than 17,000 miles on it. I like driving the car, but am unimpressed with Hyundai customer service.

Pros
fun to drive

Cons
window seals and clock are defective

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sheri D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/27/2017
Veloster
I love my compact red sporty car. I compromised between price and getting the most features for comfort and safety. The one problem is that I have to buy a spare tire as it is not included.

Pros
Style, value, fun to drive. Good warranty and experience with service department.

Cons
The ride is less smooth than a sedan. I rated down on quality and reliability due to a/c broken on delivery and it took 5 days to get fixed. I hope I have no more problems and if that's the case, I will increase my ratings at a later date.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Marvin A.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/23/2017
Hyundai Veloster
i really recommend
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Matt C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/02/2018
New Veloster turbo
My new Veloster Turbo is a lot of car for the money. A fun amount of power. Good fuel economy. Above average electronics.

The back door only on the passenger side is unique. Seats are very comfortable. Sunroof is huge.

The automatic is not smooth enough from a stop. Paddle shifters are very cool.

Pros
Styling and value

Cons
Clunky transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ANN H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/15/2018
Very good
Fun to drive, pretty good in various weather conditions, blind spots on right and left rear of the car. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Blanca K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/16/2018
I love it no matter what.
I was driving my old car, thinking I would buy a Jeep Renegade next, when a Hyundai Veloster pulled in front of me and I had to know what car was that! I drove as close as I could read its model. I fell in love with its design; It looks sportish and light. I checked it out online and I thought it was more than I was looking for, and the best value for its price. Very low in gas, hybrid transmission, and it has more room inside than one would think, it actually feels very spacious and it has a third door that makes it so easy for the people in the rear seats. I had compared it with the Honda CR, but the CR is actually for 2 people, because the back sits must have been designed for people with no legs. I now fit in every parking spot, and I love the wide angle rear camera. It will not be the fastest without knowing how to drive it in Sports mode, by using the paddles on the wheel, but after I had an accident, I lost that thrill. It has security bags everywhere, and the dashboard is so fancy and the sun roof is such a cool bonus. Plus the maintenance deal Hyundai offers has no match. I love to recommend this car.

Pros
Economical, spacious, practical, fast, fun to drive,

Cons
The driver's seat was too hard to pull back and forth and hit me on the head once. The seat belt feature also needs a little improvement because the seat belt always hits the bottom of the car when I unbuckle, because it does not pull back automatically.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sally M.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/23/2018
Sleek cool car
Very sporty, tight suspension car. Can handle corners like a BMW, Audi, or Porsche. Fun to drive. Only 3500 at this point. The Panoramic view with Sunroof options are great. Good Gas milege. Only been long trip once about 200 miles on hwy got 37 to 41 m.p.g. Rating of 4 only because car weight being light. No good in snow over 3 inches. Otherwise had a wealthy Jaguar owner in 70's give thumbs up and says " Very nice looking car ".
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AO
ANTONIO O.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/18/2018
Great car with innovative design and good performance
The Veloster to me is one of the best styled cars in the road, hands down any price range. It looks like a million bucks and performs well. The handling is sturdy and the interior is like a dream, pretty luxurious actually. The sound system complements the ride exceptionally. The only quirk is that the drivetrain is not quite torquey as it seems it should be. The car is by no means slow, 135 hp is ok. But the car even looks like it should zip around a little quicker and the rpms rev high during acceleration. I test drove the Elantra gt and with 165 hp the ride was perfect. I love my Veloster but with a little more zip the ride would be truly exhilarating. Btw I don’t like sports cars or roller coasters. I test drove a Ford Fiesta st with 195 hp and manual transmission. The car scared the crap out of me. I like a happy medium with regard to speed. Still the innovative styling of the Veloster is hard to match, there is nothing else lime it on the road in its price range.

Pros
Beautiful design and interior is very comfortable.

Cons
Could use a bit more torque.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kathleen S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/29/2018
Snappy and snazzy.
Wasn't too sure of it at first. Use to the crossovers. The loss of space is what I had to get use too. It's a good looking car and good pickup. Got me through the winter. That's were the snappy comes in.

Pros
Nice looking, reliable.

Cons
Inside is a little compact. Entrance to back.seat on driver side is a little inconvenient.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DESTINY S.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/29/2018
Great vehicle
the only bad experience is the interior scuffs very easily and looks bad. So far everything else has been great! .......................................................................................

Pros
Touch screen, back up camera, Bluetooth, bucket seats are comfortable, steering wheel controls and blue link!

Cons
The interior scuffs very easily. Nothing is around the areas of the car that scuffs but it looks like it has taken a beating & like it has been owned for awhile.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Mary D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/04/2018
2017 Veloster
Great car for the money. Would prefer a 2.0 next time. I think the speed from 1st to 2nd gear would be better. I love the Boston Red color with decal design on outside door panel. Comfortable ride for an economy car. Good gas mileage. The hatch does not automatically open with the key. The key must be in your hand and you must lift up the hatch manually. Would be better if it was automatic. Manufactured tinted windows would be a nice feature for the front and back. Heat and cool seats would be nice. Automatc seats would be nice but you'd have to have 2.0 or better. Leather of vinyl seats would be better than all cloth. Even a combo would be an improvement. I bought seat covers to protect the cloth seats. The layers of paint could be improved or some kind of paint seal.

Pros
Technology. Tall or large people might find the car confining. Its a sports style and people who like 4 door or more room in the front or back for more people or a big dog might not like it. Suits me because I'm retired and have a small dog. The blind spot might be an issue. There are mirrors but an lane changing alarm would be helpful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HK
HALEY K.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/09/2018
Love the body style
I love the body style and I have always loved the look of this car, I just wish it had more power but for a get around town car it's good. It's definitely fun to drive and I love all of the features like the big radio display, the sunroof, and the navigation system.

Pros
Great body style, sporty, entertainment upgrades without the major costs, decent on gas.

Cons
Low power and visibility.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
THEOPHILOS B.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/10/2018
Great Car
Nice little fun car. Great gas mileage and a sleek look that makes it fun to drive and play with. Although it is small, the car is very cozy but I do wish that it had a fourth door for the back. It is difficult getting in and out of the back.

Pros
Very Sporty

Cons
3 doors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carrie H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/01/2018
Love the fuel milage
My previous vehicle was a 4 wheel drive pickup truck that only got about 11 mpg. I did a little research and was pleased with the fuel mileage of the veloster.
My next concern was "Will I fit"? I am 6 feet 2 inches and weigh 220. Yes I fit in comfortably.
Over all it is a very fun car to drive that is saving me lots of money in gas.
So far i give it 4 stars!

Pros
Great fuel mileage
Fun to drive.
It is saving me money due to the 32 mpg.
The radio and other entertainment features are nice.

Cons
All thow it is fun to drive it is a little weak in power.
There are blind spots that is unique to this model , and can be dangerous if your not paying attention.
The air conditioning works ok but is weak and takes longer than expected to cool the vehicle on a hot day.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
Barbara D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/19/2018
Love it!
I love driving the manual shift. It's so like some of the sport cars I've had. Just a few things should be changed: suspension - I feel every little bump on the road. It's not very easy to get into 6th gear. It's difficult to see when u make a right turn as the door frame blocks the view. Hope u change these things with the next model year.

Pros
Love the shifts.

Cons
Mentioned previously.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CARLIE C.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2018
foo
barrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Pros
feel

Cons
seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Robert H.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/10/2018
2017 velostar
GOOD CAR..GREAT GAS MILEAGE AND SPORTY AS WELL AND THE PRICE IS NICE AS WELL. COMES WITH NAVIGATION WHICH IS A NICE FEATURE, I DONT LIKE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT IN UNFAMILIAR AREAS..WITH NAVIGATION SHOWS YOU ON A WELL LIT SCREEN THE BENDS OF THE ROAD.

Pros
FOR WHAT YOU SPEND..NICE SPORTY CAR THAT GETS GREAT GAS MILEAGE. I LIKE THE NAVIGATION IN THIS CAR AS I DONT LIKE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT BUT THIS SHOWS WHERE THE ROAD IS TURNING..THIS IS A GREAT FEATURE.

Cons
INSIDE SEAT COULD BE LIL MORE COMFORTABLE..BUT FOR THE PRICE YOU GET THIS CAR FOR..CANT HAVE EVERYTHING.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Julie D.
2017 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/18/2018
2017 Hyundai veloster
The veloster is stylish, has a smooth ride, a cool interior, and is great on gas; however it is hard to accelerate quickly, and when you do try to accelerate quickly there is a huge lag and your RPMs run extremely high.

Pros
Very stylish, good gas mileage, smooth ride

Cons
Hard to accelerate, takes too long to shift into higher gear,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 266 in total