2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(107 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JJ
Jason J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/21/2019
Complete crap.
Been in the shop getting fixed more than I get to drive it, touchscreen went out, drivers mirror, and heads up display sometimes don’t work. Hydroponics in the drivers seat went bad, and now it’s in for the 2nd time for clutch issues, the car won’t go if turning left due to those issues. ive almost been broadsided twice. So dangerous. This will be my last Hyundai.

Cons
To many to list.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/21/2019
Fun to Drive
This car is fun to drive and gets great gas mileage, but could use a few extras. It would be nice if the display was accessible and the passenger seat adjustable. The dual shifting makes no sense. Money used to create it could best be spent on adding amenities to an already nice car, making it even nicer without increasing the price.

Pros
Fun to drive. Fast little car.

Cons
Interior need improvement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jair G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Veloster N is great practicality and fun in a small package!
I got the Veloster N because it offered the performance I was looking for in a practical form factor. The vehicle is small, but has very good room in the interior for passengers, etc. The car is very nimble and easy to drive; it is fun. I do wish the doors and dash were a nicer/softer material, but that is not a deal-breaker. The Infiniti sound system is great with Android Auto and Apple Carplay. I also wish the gas tank was larger, and that Hyundai would offer a AWD version of this vehicle.

Pros
size
sound system
price
performance

Cons
interior panel materials
smaller gas tank
FWD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
David T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/17/2019
the most fun i've had in a car yet
this is the fourth Hyundai i have purchased and they seem to only get better. 10 2012 Accent 2) 2013 Elantra GT 3) 2015 Veloster R-SPEC 4) 2019 Veloster N . I had been a ford fan but that changed with my first Hyundai . Well built , As dependable as they get and you get more car for your money than most brands.

Pros
Fast Fun to drive Performance is top notch I get looks and comments about the car . And i mention how much fun it is to drive the Veloster . more car for the money than any other out there

Cons
the only thing i keep hereing is about the interior , well i am comfortable and like it sooooo....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PETER K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/15/2019
Disappointed
I thought this vehicle would be similar to my old Ford Focus SVT. It is not. It handles poorly, has horrible power, and rearward visibility is downright dangerous. the seat must be all the way down to see out the rear at all so that makes it hard to get in and out of.
But now I'm stuck with it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NORMAN M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
R Speck
Love this car. It looks great. Fun car to drive. Wish it steered better on highway. If you have big feet there is a wiring harness that catches your foot moving from the clutch peddle to the side. Wish it had fog lights

Pros
Fun car

Cons
Does not track well going straight on highway

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christopher B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Thrilling ride for not a lot of money
Great Performance car for under 30k. Wish there was interior options. The Veloster N has an amazing exhaust that snaps, crackel, pops! Adding to the fun. Performance package with the e-lsd helps you hit the corners with confidence. Im definitely sold on this N.

Pros
Fast, fun, affordable

Cons
Doesn't offer interior options

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jane C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
Veloster is one fun car
I would recommend this vehicle to anyone that wants to have some fun in their drive! Comfortable, handles great, gets you where you want to go in style. I have had multiple compliments on the car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Matthew B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2019
2019 Veloster N review
Eco & Normal drive modes = Elantra ride quality...pretty comfy. Sport mode kicks it up a big notch, while 'N' mode makes you feel the need for a helmet and 5-pt restraints. The Most fun compact ever.

Pros
Tunable throttle, steering, suspension, exhaust and more...all from touchscreen.
19" wheels with P-Zero's.
Performance Blue color

Cons
Interior materials
Lacks some features that are standard on a Base Veloster.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZN
Zachary N.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
The Veloster N is a great car, but one that is going to appeal most to those who prioritize the driving experience over other attributes
My car is the Veloster N...the Veloster N is a 250 horsepower (N) or 275 horsepower (N with the Performance Package) turbocharged I4 available only in a six-speed manual transmission (with a rumored wet DCT model in testing). It is nothing like the normal Veloster (which I've previously owned). The Veloster N looks quite a bit different, and drives so differently it is an entirely different animal. Subsequently, this review applies exclusively to the Veloster N.

The Veloster N is a true niche car. It is made for those who value the experience of driver engagement, and it is oriented towards those who may wish to participate in motorsports. It is a whole lot of car for not a lot of money, and it is insanely fun to drive. Civil as the daily driver yet competent on the track, it's reasonably quick in a straight line, and quite fast when curves are involved.

First, it is important to note the things that the Veloster N does NOT have, because it differs from many other cars. There is no option for: leather seats, heated seats/mirrors/steering wheel, automatic down passenger windows, auto-dimming rear-view mirror, garage door memory, power seats, or any driver assistance technologies whatsoever except a backup camera. The interior itself is functional-but-plain...and there is a whole lot of plastic. While other Veloster trims like the Veloster Ultimate offer many of these above options, the Veloster N offers none of this, and the only option available is the Performance Package, which exclusively adds performance augmentations. If having any of these luxuries are deal-breakers for you, or if you must have a super fancy interior, this is not your car.

So why do I love this car so much? Well, you do get a 250 or 275 brake horsepower turbocharged Theta II engine that sounds so good that people struggle to believe that you are driving a four-banger. You get a six speed manual transmission that is executed flawlessly - the clutch is light but linear, the gear throws are short and solid, and the transmission is great for shifting whether you are in stop and go traffic or dodging cones. You get a performance-oriented suspension, brakes (despite using a floating caliper, the brakes are just outstanding), true (i.e., summer) performance tires, and infotainment system (with built-in track functions.) You can adjust the steering weight/sharpness, ride stiffness, engine throttle response, exhaust output, rev matching settings (which you can disable outright), traction control sensitivity, and limited slip differential settings (on performance package models). You get basic cloth seats, but ones with strong bolstering and an adjustable driver side lumbar support - so they are extremely comfortable and supportive. Oh, and you can adjust just about every setting in this car, down to whether the lane-change turn signal feature blinks three times, five times, or is disabled. You get an infotainment system and a dash cluster with center LCD that is responsive, intuitive, and truly integrates the cars functions - and a very good sound system for a factory unit. You get some cool-looking external changes (most of which are actually functional, such as intakes designed to redirect air to cool the front brakes.) You're also getting an outstanding steering wheel design (exclusive to the N), push-button start and key-less entry, a customized key fob with the 'N' logo on it, and standard LED (low-beam) headlights... The 'flagship' color of the N, Performance Blue (a really light shade of blue) looks amazing in person (pictures don't nearly do it justice) and it is a shade of blue that is unique from just about all other cars. All of this adds up to a really fun driving experience for a very low price.

The N drops many amenities/luxuries and replaces them with performance features that someone who is looking for a driver's car is going to absolutely love...and doing this maintains an extremely competitive price. It is an immensely rewarding car to drive, and thanks to all of the adjustable settings, it can function as a refined street car for daily usage, and double as a track toy for the weekend warrior. Subsequently, this car is going to appeal to a very specific buyer. But for that specific buyer, this car delivers in all the ways that count. No one (myself included) thought that Hyundai could design a hot hatch this well on their first go-round...but they did. If you are shopping for cars in this segment, you should really test drive one to experience first-hand just how well the N like has taken on (and outdone) the competition.

Pros
Just about everything of the design

Cons
Requires a minimum of 91 octane fuel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2019
Great car and fun to drive
I can not say there is not any room for improvement. There is: the side mirrors directional pad do not light-up at night with the interior lights on. There is something that is disappointing: the front bucket seats do not say "Veloster" on it as it did in the 2012 model. This only shows up in the other trims. I do not have a need for all the bells and whistles just a fun driving car. I have told others that this car is for driving and not for sitting around looking pretty!

Pros
Has two modes for driving regular and sport, there is fun to be had for both.
Gear shifting is tight, I guess for eco but if this is not important drive the way you want to. I do!

Cons
Blind spots: passenger side back post: if you are entering into a lane at 30 degrees you can not see coming traffic.
Mirror directional pad does not light-up tunnels and at night nor does the right or left switching indicators.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FA
Frederick A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2019
What a Great Choice!
I faced a bit of a dilemma when searching for a new car: I had a 2016 Mazda Miata sports car and an older Volvo station wagon, the Miata for fun city driving, the station wagon which I used for trips out of town and when I needed more storage space. When I lost the Volvo due to an accident not long before the Miata reached the end of a three-year lease, I was uncertain what sort of car might simultaneously serve the dual purposes of these two cars combined. After test driving a few crossovers and hatchbacks, which seemed to be the best possible compromise, I still didn't feel satisfied by any of them. Then, one day I saw a Veloster in my gym's parking lot and it was love at first sight. I don't recall even noticing one on the road before so I did some reading of reviews, went for a test drive and have been enjoying a love affair with this car ever since! It makes my Miata feel like a toy by comparison. Simply put, it has the spaciousness I sought and yet it drives like a sports car. I got the Miata to have a fun car but it can't hold a candle to a Veloster turbo! I love stretching out while driving, by reclining the driver's seat and pulling out the steering wheel as far as it will go. Sometimes when driving on an open road, I get the sensation that if I pulled a bit harder it would take off and fly!

What I don't get is why I still don't often see other Velosters on the road.

Pros
Comfy, enjoy the surround speaker system, good mileage on the highway, great price for its value.

Cons
No built-in remote garage door opener. The car needs wings to fly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jennifer L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/04/2019
Dumbfounded.
This car met my expectations and more! It's beautiful, it's fast, it's comfortable. Has an amazing sound system and I love the sunroof!! The Veloster is one hell of a car and I'd buy it again and again.

Pros
Great design. Comfy. Fun. Handles very well. It's fast. It's reliable. I love it.

Cons
I wish this generation had LED fog lights. Also wish the bright lights were LED instead of yellow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Patrick C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/04/2019
Just so much fun to drive!
Look on line at YouTube reviews. You'll see this car is just the best fun for the money! So much fun to drive and you can select various levels of performance on the fly. If you do buy, get the performance package. The limited slip differential and rev-match are well worth the extra money.

Pros
Great look, incredible performance for such a small and inexpensive car.

Cons
No creature comforts. If you want power seats or better cup holders, look somewhere else. This car is about enjoying the drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Timothy C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2019
I finally own my dream car... thank you Hyundai
I have followed the development of this brand and vehicle since 2013 when the MR concepts were getting headlines. I've watched hundreds of videos to see it like 24hr of the Ring and then when it was released on Forza Motorsport 7 it became my favorite car for beating my friends. Once the i30 N had a few reviews from reviewers I respect like Carfection, Top Gear etc.. I really started to get anxious for the release. Now I have my dream car and it is everything and more, I drive around with some heavily modded vehicles and they were impressed by the out the door performance. Owning one of the first of a performance brand has been a dream since I was a child and Hyundai didn't disappoint with this one. Kudos to the whole N Peformance Team & Hyundai Motorsports keep doing what you are doing!

Pros
Handling and brakes
adjustability of modes
infotainment
seats
warranty
low cost to maintain

Cons
paint chips easily
no option for leather or something more durable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dylan R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/01/2019
2019 Veloster Turbo
If your looking for a fun daily driver this is the car for you. I love the new redesigned exterior and interior. Plenty of performance and creature comforts for me to be happy. Definitely would recommend this to anyone looking to get into a Veloster Turbo or if your looking to upgrade from the last gen Velosters.

Pros
Great styling, fromance, and features for the money.

Cons
The DCT does take some getting used to at low speeds. If you hate a lot of hard plastic this interior will not be for you.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Riley B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2019
My 2019 2 liter Veloster
Love this car. I'm 72. When I was 18 I owned a 1965 Pontiac GTO with a 389 CID, 3-2barrel carb with mechanical linkage, 4 on the floor and 11/1 compression. YIKES! This Veloster is just as hot and handles SO MUCH BETTER, also, believe it or not, I'm getting about 30 mpg with mixed town and highway driving. My old GTO got 16 mpg.

Pros
Just a great car.

Cons
I had been warned about this: The suspension is pretty stiff. That makes it very easy to read the road through the seat of your pants, and CON, that makes it very easy to read the road through the seat of your pants. LOL. I live in Kansas City and the road conditions are atrocious! It's been a hard winter and the infrastructure is NOT a major concern for the city government!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CLARKE B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2019
Good Fun
It's a very nice stylish little car. I love the 3-door hatchback design and my 75 lb Anatolian Shepherd dog even fits in the back seat! It has decent economical performance and the electronic safety aids are well integrated. It's a surprisingly nice personal hatchback.

Pros
Design and safety features

Cons
Seats could be much more comfortable, bottoms are flat and hard.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
ANTHONY A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/20/2019
Review
When telling customers what they get for the duration of the lease be sure its actually what you said and not having customers getting upset about not getting what they were told . So I will be making a complaint.

Cons
XM radio was not supposed to end its subscription for 3 years but ended in 3 months.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
Ruben N.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2019
Awesome!
I was hesitant to get a car that was not a Honda or Toyota. However, after meeting Joshua Matsushige, I fell in love with the Veloster. The humming of the motor is unbelievable and the stereo and speakers is out of this world. Normally I would have to install new speaker, but the speakers that came with the car is great! The only thing I would change is the reverse camera noise. It sounds like a bird chirping. Also, I would find a way to install sensors in the front of the vehicle. Other than that, I really love my new car! :)
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 107 in total