2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(289 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AV
Adrian V.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/05/2018
Great Buy
Good car for commuting. Sporty design. Fuel efficient. Apple and Google CarPlay. Exceeded expectations in the snow with traction control. Interior is spacious for a small car with hands free, lane assist, two USB ports, bluetooth, rear cupholders.

Pros
Small
Fuel efficient
Traction control, good in snow
Great Features (lane assist, Apple CarPlay, Google, TPMS)
Backup Camera
Sporty Design
Hatchback loading
Adequate rear seating for adults
Interior lighting

Cons
lack of lumbar support
loose steering

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAMES S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/21/2018
Fun to drive Good economy and reliable. Would be a five if I wasn’t over 6 feet tall
Great car fun to drive great fuel economy. Only issues are interior space for cargo and seating for tall people yuyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAMES S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2018
2019 Veloster Ultimate
This is a great car for the money. Solid performance especially in sport mode or S-shift mode @ 28mpg and 31mpg in economy. I’m sure I could get more on a long trip. Great styling and I love the suttle red accents in various locations. The 3rd door makes access to the rear seats very easy.

Pros
Fast and fun, the new turbo is a great add

Cons
Wind noise with 2 or more windows open.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DAVID A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/17/2018
2019 Veloster Turbo
The new 2019 Veloster Turbo is a great improvement over the previous model. The handling, the stereo, and ride comfort are much improved. One thing you have to do if you buy or lease this car is ask them to replace the terrible Nexem tires before you take delivery. Those tires should be on America's Most Wanted as a danger to society. I leased mine and had them install Continental Extreme Contact DWS06 tires before I took possession. Hyundai has a bad habit of using the worst tire manufacturers for their stock tires. Nexem, Kuhmo, and Hankook. All of those tire brands should be band for use on motor vehicles. Don't take my work, read consumer reviews and go to Tire Rack to see their reviews. Okay tires if you never have to drive in the rain or snow. Otherwise you are taking your life into your own hands. I had a set of Kuhmos on my first Veloster and replaced them within the first six months. Almost felt like driving a different car. Also, not big fan of Blue Link for remote start (no key fob option for remote start). Had problems with my 2016 being spotting to work, and now on my 2019 it has not worked from day one. I am 2 weeks now without my car at the dealership as the "Engineers" are trying to figure out the problem. Fortunately my dealership put me in a 2019 Sonata as a loaner and I am racking up the miles on their car instead of against my lease. Again, great car with the right tires and if they had real remote start instead of an unreliable Blue Link system.

Pros
Great road feel, stereo, and styling. Really fun to drive!!

Cons
Blue Link has never worked since day one, at the dealership now. They need to have key fob remote start option.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
ALAN R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2018
Great choice
This is a high specification, fun car to drive. It is great value for money, well built with far more luggage space than you would expect for this type of car. It was a bonus to receive such an excellent dealer experience compared to other new cars we have purchased in USA

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
Jackie K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2018
Love this vehicle!
The Hyundai Veloster is such a FUN car to own and drive! It's also a very attractive car - it's unique! I have received so many compliments on this vehicle everywhere I have gone. It's great on gas and it's super sporty too!

Pros
Sleek design

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SARAH R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2018
2019 Veloster Premium edition
This is my first new car. I’ve owned numerous brands before. This takes the cake. It’s as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside. It’s practical, sporty, sexy, and efficient all in one package.

I feel like I’m able to drive a nice sports car, without having to pay top tier money. It’s not as fast as other sports cars, but oddly I’m fine with that. I’m very comfortable in the car. Some people might not like the hard plastic surface of the interior, but it works nice for me. I don’t have to worry about my dogs paws accidentally messing with leather.

I’m very happy and satisfied with this car!

Pros
Comfy seats
Sleek exterior
Quick pick up
Nice speaker system
Good backseat space
Trunk space

Cons
Bumpy ride occasionally
Small back window

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
Cory V.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2018
Seats need more comfort
Happy with the Veloster. Other than seat comfort could be a lot better. Also the tires are junk. I already have a knot in the sidewall. For no reason. One tire had to be replaced because of a pothole. Nexxen website says they have road hazard. But would only pay for half the tire. I had to pay the rest. Tire had 1000 miles on it. According to there website it should have been covered. The tires are junk. And Hyundai needs to get Nexxen to stand behind there tires. Or go with another tire company. I have had way cheaper tires last a lot longer and backup what they sell. Real disappointed in the quality of tire Hyundai uses. And how they did not go to bat for me when I bought a brand new car. You should be able to depend on your tires for more than 1000 miles. When they are new.

Pros
Good gas mileage. And fast and sporty

Cons
Seats not that comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Janice M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/10/2018
slvr1fx
I had a ride in my nieces Veloster and fell in love with it about a couple weeks later I traded my tuscon in on the Veloster couldn't wait to get behind the wheel I decided to moveout to Arizona but I didn't want to drive alone so me and my niece drove out at the end of September and then I flew her back home to Myrtle Beach so I am now an Arisonian and a proud owner of a beautiful Veloster this will be my last car so I will enjoy it as long as I can thank you again for your service
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Alma L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2018
It fits my needs
I am please with my car. I looked around and honestly I was looking for the Elantra GT Buy because of the space but because I was always thinking of my two step kids but my husband made a good pout 90% of the time is me in the car. So when I saw this one it was perfect! I love it!

Pros
Even is a sport car is very spacious

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DEBORAH C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2018
Fabulous Car!
This is my third Veloster. I have owned a 2014, 2016, and now a 2019! The 2019 is the best one so far. I absolutely love the Veloster Turbo. It’s handling, look, third door, and gas mileage are all truly wonderful! Thank you Hyundai!

Pros
Everything!

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VA
Vernessa A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/24/2018
Love this car
Great value for the money and fun to drive daily or for work. Great on gas and turns heads. I bought this after a terrible accident totalled my prior car and was looking for a lower payment and great gas mileage. Im done leasing and this wound up being a great solution

Pros
Quick and responsive drive
Fun to Drive

Cons
Size is small but you get used to it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
RICHARD L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/20/2018
Veloster
Very satisfied with the Veloster. Styling and features of the R-Spec model are great. Performance in sport mode or when turbo kicks in is amazing. Setting of the custom engine sound is very well done. All the controls for climate and audio are easy to use.

Cons
Media tone controls cannot be set for sufficient highs. My treble is set to +10 and still no highs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BERND L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/17/2018
Fun Little Car with lots of Extras and Horsepowers
The exterior looks absolutely amazing. The Ultimate Edition has nice red accents and rims to fall in love with. The interior is also matches the look and feel of the car. Yes, it's small and you can't expect huge comfort on it (especially not on the back row) but for a small car, the trunk is very roomy (2 big tennis bags are no problem to accommodate). The power what the engine provides is absolutely breath taking. 200+ hp which can press you into the seat still make me smile. Also the way it just sticks on the ground on curvy roads makes me feel safe and connected to the street.
Since I got the Ultimate edition, all the extras like moon roof, blind spot detection, lane keeping assistant, heads-up display are the icing of the cake.
In my opinion, you get way more for the price you pay. Very happy with that choice!

Pros
1.6l Turbo
SPORT Mode
Manual transmission
Blind Spot Detection
Moon roof
Heads Up Display
Style (interior and exterior)

Cons
Height of the car. For 6'3 person right at the edge

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carol S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2018
My review is excellent.
I love the small, yet sportiness of the car. I am 52 years old, and I just traded in a 2006 Chevrolet Impala. The Impala had 285,000 plus miles on it. I had inherited the car back in 2015 from my dad, since my Nissan Sentra had died. I realized I did not want another Impala, since I am 5 feet tall, and I really wanted something that fits my personality, which is jazzy, cute, trendy, yet stylish. It is a really fun car, I feel like "brand new," each time I ride in it. I enjoy the normal, sport and smart drives, that I can alternate with. My 5 year old Grandson was with me when I was approved for the car. I had just gone to test drive the Veloster, since I had seen it a week prior on the highway, and was like, hmm, I like that car, God. When driving of the parking lot, my Grandson said, "Grandma, you have a fast car!" I chuckled, but did not realize how fast the car really can be. I am very satisfied.

Pros
Everything is Excellent!

Cons
The problem is the defroster, is real slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
ROSALIE S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2018
my 2019 hyundai veloster
my experience at this dealership was extra fine. The salesman was very kind soft spoken and knowledgeable. The staff at the dealership were very helpful. All in all my experience there was extremely enjoyable and I would definitely bring the car in to service there and would consider buying another car from them in the future. The salesman I had and the management do a very good job.

Pros
styling

Cons
manual front seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARK G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2018
Excellent Quality Products from Excellent People who know their vehicles.
Quality service. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Pros
Design and drive

Cons
n/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
Christian O.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2018
Perfect sporty car for me and my family loves it !!
The price for the 2019 Veloster was right for the value of the car and most importantly the safety features, such as driver assist. The car has comfortable seating and there fits perfectly in my garage.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
M B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/12/2018
Lost that unique look
Some features have been greatly improved...the dashboard has been redesigned, and air flow controls offer a much wider range & direction of air flow over the 2016. Also, the car doesn't lose power when you have the A/C on, like the 2016. In fact, the 2019 is quick on acceleration, even with the A/C on full! Gone is the secondary console storage area (for coins, E-Z Pass, etc.), but the deep storage unit remains. Also gone are the mesh storage nets on the back of the front seats. Gonna miss those. The body has been completely redesigned, and to me, no longer reads "Veloster". The thing that made this car unique was the body design, especially the sloped wide rear end. It was like nothing else on the road. That's now gone, and the 2019 has lost it's uniqueness. Nice car overall, but just any other car now.

Pros
2019 is more powerful than the 2016. Better interior air controls and air flow. Same great gas mileage. Very comfortable to drive, park, hugs the road. The Veloster is also good in the snow! I had a 4WD Jeep that got stuck, but my 2016 Veloster pulled right out in the same conditions! Hoping the 2019 does the same.

Cons
Brake pads showed very visible rust within 30 days. Brakes still have a tendency to slip when wet. or hitting a bump (same problem with the 2016). Lots of wind & road noise with the drivers side window open, even a little (same problem with the 2016). Hard to get out of, with the drivers door being so long & heavy, especially on any slope. Found it very difficult to pair with apps, but easy to pair with my phone (?). Still trying. Body redesign was a mistake on the 2019. Now looks like any other new car. Lost that uniqueness.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PL
POLK L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/08/2018
2019 Ultimate Turbo Veloster
The design of this car will turn heads. It’s a very unique yet handsome car. The two-tone color on the Ultimate Turbo trim is particularly sexy. The back is redesigned and the lights and diffuser look very attractive. Overall this is a very fun car to drive. If you are looking for a car that looks unique and not like anything else on the market, this is your car.

Pros
Qi Wireless Charging mat, wired Apple CarPlay , extra wide moonroof.

Cons
No wireless Apple CarPlay

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 261 - 280 of 289 in total