2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(297 Reviews)
Latest review 6 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MH
MIKE H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
great practical sport car
it is a fun fuel efficient vehicle with considerable room and sporty handling has great headlights and sound system. i am averaging 36 mpg commuting back and forth to work. Only drawbacks are excessive road noise and somewhat vague on center steering

Pros
fun to drive, roomy, great gas mileage, great sound system, nice interior

Cons
vague steering, excessive road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Fun ride - great gas mileage - overall great experience
Fun - and i believe this was the reason for its creation. The quirkiness of a 3 door is perfect.. My only concerns especially for the R-Spec is the hand brake and lack of a blind spot monitor.. This vehicle is synonymous for its driver side blind spot - the added bubble mirror helps but with todays tech and high demand for the BSM - this should have been a standard feature.. like the LKA and emergency braking on all its models.. its hinges on the border of dangerous when changing lanes. The hand brake - With a manual transmission - the hand brake is vital - this hand brake is poorly designed and at times rough to engage - so much so that i thought i had pulled sufficiently enough that exiting the car it began to roll back.. this is a no no and if i had encountered this during the test drive i would have moved onto another car.. enthusiasts would challenge me on this but i'll take the safety and ease of a push-button e-brake over wondering if i pulled it hard enough.. no brainer there. The face of the Veloster is a great look - however the hood needs a bit more beef - to compliment the rear.. overall this vehicle gets a B. Minor changes makes this an A.

Pros
Most

Cons
Hand brake - lack of BSM (Blind spot monitor)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOHN S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
Wonderful Car
This car is a complete blast to drive. A true drivers car that can be driven every day without breaking your back. I wanted a car that could give me that same experience that my "fun" car could ( lotus elise) does. The N is very similar to the Lotus, but significantly more comfortable for everyday driving. I love that if you wanted to you could get in and drive it like it needs/wants to be driven without constant modern annoyances, blind spot detection and various unnecessary tech, which is not needed for people who drive and pay attention. I am hoping that by time I am in the market for a new one, the horsepower gets bumped up to about 325, if so I probably would not think twice about picking up another one.

Pros
Not a con but a side story: What caused me to buy this car (and honestly I never even thought of buying a Hyundai, my wife has had three). I always saw Hyundai as just a non-descript car, a car people use to get from A to B, not a drivers car. The first time I saw the N was racing the day before the Rolex 24 at Daytona I instantly fell in love with the car. We walked over to the Hyundai tent and I saw the N parked there and I looked over at my wife and said if I ever buy a Hyundai that's the one, three months later I had one.

Cons
Its not a con, but I just wanted to go back to your previous survey I did a few weeks ago. You asked about 5 questions or so about what we wanted to see in "influencers" allegedly being book smart, and things like that. People who are, and should be driving an N do not care what these "influencers" have to say the test drive will speak for itself.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CORTLAND C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2019
The N Review!
The Veloster N has definitely left it’s mark on the road and turns heads when it’s in “N Mode” but when it’s time to just be a low key casual driver....you couldn’t choose a better car! Only thing is that I put 6800 miles on my Veloster and had to have the engine replaced. Great thing and only reason why I have the car still is because Hyundai covered it completely. Not a single penny came out of my pocket! They even paid for my rental.

Pros
It’s the hottest hatch out there. Not many around but they have definitely left their mark!

Cons
I don’t think vehicle will LAST. Some cars last a long time but I’m scared that this vehicle will have some MAJOR issues in the future the more it’s driven!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JESUS G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/28/2019
fun and fast to drive.
really fun car to drive. Great gas mileage, very responsive, and stylish. Love the rims and Tires, just wish the car didn't grind as I reversed. Love hyundai bumper to bumper warranty, best in class. Affordable as well.

Pros
great gas mileage. and fun to drive.

Cons
steering very unstable. and brakes grind when in reverse.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
Great Utility and Price!
When I saw the 2019 Veloster at Sema I knew I had to have one. I currently drive the 2.0 Premium and absolutely love the car. Now, this may be nickel and diming, but the only thing I wish the base 2.0 had was a little more horsepower and Torque, or as a trade-off a little bit better milafe.. But the overall interior and exterior features are fantastic and I love the sunroof! Proud to own a Hyundai.

Pros
-Great Modern Style
-Great Soundsystem
-Love the Sunroof

Cons
-Could use better milage or Horsepower/Torque

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Benjamin P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
Should have got the N
The steering and Turbo lag are the are my complaints. The steering on the R-Spec is tighter and feels better than the 2.0 no turbo, but I still with the R-Spec (in sport mode) was a little tighter. 1.6 turbo is fairly “peppy” but it’s not the 2.0 turbo that the N has. Overall, I greatly enjoy the Vehicle. I get an average MPG of 32.8 with %95 of my driving done in sport mode at an average daily travel of 90 miles and an average highway speed of 80 MPH. The R-Spec is a fun car and my kids love to go on rides in it. Solid 8.5 of 10. 👍🏽

Pros
Fun. Looks good great size (if you are not a giant).

Cons
Not the N. Doesn’t have a 2.0.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ADAM F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2019
Great vehicle with minor issues
Love my 2019 Veloster. Drives great, looks great, fun to drive, turns heads, great on gas, handles great, shifts great. Minor issues with the Heads-up Display and sunglass holder, other than that it's the perfect car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Justin N.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
2019 Veloster
Hi my name is Justin. I recently bought a new 2019 Hyundai Veloster premium in bright red. I absolutely love this car. It drives amazing and handles above expectations. If you want a car that looks sporty, but not overly expensive, this is the car. I love this car I only wish I would have gotten the next package up.

Pros
Handling and performance

Cons
3 doors instead of 2, takes away from the body slightly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JABARIE J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2019
well worth wait
my opinion maybe critical n i wont list all aspects here but let me share... I've been on the veloster vibe since 1st gen. i test drove n almost bought it but heard concerns of the rear suspension n the upcoming turbo release. i missed that turbo time with a used sti. had an amazing moment with a scion xa (that car base n handling, exceptional). i presently experience the N and would recommend it. the minor things i am displeased with compare little to the other exceptional features. it is an amazing vehicle stock. i am curious what the extra 25hp feels like. the purchase process, not as good as preferred but the vehicle is wonderful.

Pros
sound, power, features, appearance

Cons
-all hyundai bluelink features doesn't work with model.
-muffle (rear window down type) wind sound when windows down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Erika G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/01/2019
Hyundai Finance is terrible in communication and the rear hatch door has no auto open feature!
Hyundai Finance is terrible in communication and the rear hatch door has no auto open feature! Spent over a year trying to get Hyundai to send me a correct letter releasing my plates for that I could get a custome license plate. The rear hatch door has no auto open feature. So i can't just pop open the trunk which is hihgly inconvenient. We are in 2019 and my 2003 toyota has this feature. Kind of ridiculous.

Pros
Fun to Drive.

Cons
Hyundai Finance is terrible in communication and the rear hatch door has no auto open feature! Spent over a year trying to get Hyundai to send me a correct letter releasing my plates for that I could get a custome license plate. The rear hatch door has no auto open feature. So i can't just pop open the trunk which is hihgly inconvenient. We are in 2019 and my 2003 toyota has this feature. Kind of ridiculous.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JULIE K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
Overall performance of the 2019 Veloster
Overall the 2019 Veloster 2.0 premium is a great all around car and provides a very responsive driving experience and allows the driver to be fully connected to the road yet maintain comfort. However, after long, prolonged and mechanically taxing drives through canyons and autocross events the vehicle is beginning to suffer from slight mechanical problems that do not affect driveability.

Pros
Handles great, responsive and snappy turning as well as torque vectoring on an lsd leads to a great driving experience

Cons
Horsepower is choked from such a restricted intake and exhaust system. Aftermarket support will most likely be searched for.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Demian K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
car
I took a chance on a brand i have no experience with and feel good about it. I did take the car for its first car wash and the rear wiper blade broke off so i am not sure about build quality. Some parts feel cheaply made and i am worried about things breaking. This car is very fun to drive and does not have a lot of extra tech. that i will never use. Wish it had more power!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CHASE F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/13/2019
Veloster N
Very fun and reliable car. Been following the car since announcement. Only upsetting thing is I came from an R-Spec which had all red interior. The N is only available in black. Overall though I am very satisfied with the car.

Pros
Performance

Cons
Interior is lacking from previous models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DAVID K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2019
Great value. Lots of power and fun to drive
A great value for the money. Better ratings than others in its class. Super preppy and fun to drive. This was my first black car but was the only one I liked of the options offered. I wish they still had the yellow from previous years. Downside lots of road noise and the seats are a bit hard

Pros
Great power and easy shifting

Cons
Lots of road noise center console could have more storage space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
WILLIAM D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2019
Fun cheap car
Interesting car, definitely should consider if you are into hatchbacks. The Rspec is the best value for the money, gives you everything you want for cheaper. Cheap on gas and insurance. Just be aware that it has 3 doors and not 4.

Pros
-Rspec is a great value
-Manual Transmission
-Turbo
-Good gas mileage

Cons
-No LSD
-Engine note leaves a lot to be desire
-GDI maintenance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
David A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2019
2019 Veloster Turbo
The second generation Veloster Turbos are a big step up from the previous version in regard to ride comfort, technology, and stereo system. Would be nice if the DCT in manual mode would not shift up for you when you get close to red line. This slows the car down because sometimes the tires will spin at takeoff and then the car shifts immediately to 2nd gear even though you are barely moving. Hyundai needs to make remote start without Blue Link an option. The Blue Link is down at least once every couple of weeks which means no remote start. Can be a little aggravating since most of the time when it does not work is when it is raining or other bad weather, which is when you need the remote start the most. Other than that, the car is excellent.

Pros
Great styling, excellent steering, lane assist, excellent technology, excellent new and improved stereo system (sounds better than the Bose in my 2017 Corvette) and smoother ride with the near multi-link rear suspension.

Cons
No key fob remote start, only Blue Link remote start which is slow and unreliable. At least once every couple of weeks remote start does not work through the app.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
Lola J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/10/2019
Love this car
Disappointed they didn’t have a color I liked. Coming from a BMW , I am spoiled by the service I had. If I could trade it in for a Red one and not loose money, I would do in a minute. It’s looks to normal to me.

Pros
It drives as well as all the BMW’s I’ve had.

Cons
In the color that was available, it looks like a normal economy car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jake M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/24/2019
Good car but noisy
The vehicle is fun to drive, and gets very good fuel economy.
My girlfriend and I went on a road trip and the road noise was atrocious. Could not hold conversation due to how loud the noise was in the vehicle.

Pros
Good mileage, looks great, comes with a ton of features even on the base

Cons
Tons of road noise when driving at any speed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BA
Benjamen A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/10/2019
Veloster R spec
The New 2019 Veloster is completely redesigned, could contended with the GTI if it improved ride quality on all models. Good car for the money, could recommend better quality paint as mine started to show rust pins after a few months

Pros
Good value.

Cons
Some engineering bugs

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 261 - 280 of 297 in total