2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(256 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KH
Kim H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/17/2019
Love it.
The car is a perfect size and it is so fun to drive! Love the fuel economy , and quickness and the sound of the car. The car is easy to park and visibility is good. The car has great safety features.

Pros
Size, fuel economy, and price, lots of features.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Stephanie H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2019
My luxury car!
I love this car! Fully loaded and almost like driving a robot!! Can start itself and darn near drive itself! Hyundai out did itself with this one! I love the idea of filling up my tank for only $25 too!!

Pros
The smart drive alerts and features, large sun roof, heated seats, convenient let down seats for space, and most of all (and most fun) the blue link feature!!!!!

Cons
N/A!!!!!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VR
Vicentico R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/16/2019
Land rocket
This is what a real affordable sports car rides and handles like. Big brother approved and he sure knows about both sport and performance cars. Can't wait to move up to the N model. Good luck ford and gm, the ride is over.

Pros
wicked fast

Cons
could go faster

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Jennifer L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2019
So in-love
I absolutely adore this car. It's fun, and it looks good. Makes people break necks for sure. It's very comfy and surprisingly roomy. I love everything about it. One of my favorite cars I've ever owned. I'm 21 years old and I'm very lucky to own something this nice and can say I did it all by myself.

Cons
No seat coolers and that leather gets hot!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GD
George D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Great vehicle.
I purchased my Hyundai Veloster not knowing it is the best vehicle I have ever owned. My family and I really like how it drive's and it is great on fuel. Hyundai will be the only vehicle I ever own from this point on.

Pros
Great vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
Alethea H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Veloster Turbo
I love my veloster, I had a standard and traded for automatic as my drive was quite a bit of city driving. Stop and go
I purchased snow tires and had no problem driving 35 miles to and from work.
I definitely would recommend.
Be sure to have sales person explain all options though !!

Pros
Proformance.. ease of drive.. stylish

Cons
Not sure I found any !!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AT
Avery T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
I love this car
This has been one of the best car experience I have every had. The car handles curves like a motorcycle, plenty of get up and go , and sporty like a sports car. I bought mine brand new and I haven't stopped. Smiling since I bought it. All around a great car for the dollar.

Pros
Everything

Cons
There isn't any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Thomas B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/31/2019
2nd Veloster owner
I recently purchased the new 2019 Veloster N. This was my second Veloster, my first being a 2013 non-turbo loaded. I was impressed with the 2013, second year of the model back then, for it's space. The car is tiny to park and maneuver. BUT it is spacious inside for the driver and now for the back seat riders as well. They have improved most if not all of the main flaws from the previous generation. The back hatch is a lot safer now to close with passengers inside. The rear headroom has been increased because of that design change. I am 6 foot tall and have plenty of room in the driver seat. I have sat in the back as well with comfort. Head room was at the limit for me, but still manageable for the size. In regards to the handling/drive of the car, it is day and night compared to the older generation. It handles and sticks to the road exceptionally well. Fuel mileage is still great for a compact sports car. Exterior design from the base level and up is far better with a more sleek look. My only reason for not giving it a 5 star is I have noticed that the front door materials do not match up exactly. And I am picky with my details once I notice it. It still flows with the overall interior look, however knowing it does not match side to side drives me crazy. The interior could be a little better quality for what Hyundai is making in their entire lineup. However, I do understand being a budget fun vehicle, it is not built for total high quality. Being the N, the exhaust does sound amazing. It has great crackles and pops for being a stock car from Hyundai. Being their first main "performance" line-up, this exceeds all expectations I had. I could always ask for more power but the handling and response for it is funomenal. I drove it 6k miles from Chicago to California and back and I was blown away with the comfort, mileage, and smile that could not get off my face while driving. My only downside is that the N has a little too cheap of an interior where it vibrates/rattles under heavier acceleration from the exhaust. Under a normal Veloster trim, it would not do it. I have driven each trim and the N's exhaust is a little too much for the interior quality. Each trim level handles great, spacious, good mpg, and great design. Most people ask why buy a Veloster. I tell them why not? It is unique and stylish. Great small, spacious car with good gas mileage.

Pros
fun to drive
great performance
great design
great exhaust
interior layout driver focused/friendly
sound system
spacious

Cons
interior quality for N model is too cheap for the exhaust/performance. Other trims is fine.
driver side/passenger side front door materials do not match up exactly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
Esther H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/26/2019
I love my Veloster 2019
I am happy with my new Veloster turbo 2019, at the beginning I was expecting for something no good for me because it is a new model, but at this time everything is perfect, it is compact and fast, I always received complements.

Pros
It is compact, modern and fast,

Cons
It is has just 3 door .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jason J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/21/2019
Complete crap.
Been in the shop getting fixed more than I get to drive it, touchscreen went out, drivers mirror, and heads up display sometimes don’t work. Hydroponics in the drivers seat went bad, and now it’s in for the 2nd time for clutch issues, the car won’t go if turning left due to those issues. ive almost been broadsided twice. So dangerous. This will be my last Hyundai.

Cons
To many to list.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/21/2019
Fun to Drive
This car is fun to drive and gets great gas mileage, but could use a few extras. It would be nice if the display was accessible and the passenger seat adjustable. The dual shifting makes no sense. Money used to create it could best be spent on adding amenities to an already nice car, making it even nicer without increasing the price.

Pros
Fun to drive. Fast little car.

Cons
Interior need improvement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
Jair G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Veloster N is great practicality and fun in a small package!
I got the Veloster N because it offered the performance I was looking for in a practical form factor. The vehicle is small, but has very good room in the interior for passengers, etc. The car is very nimble and easy to drive; it is fun. I do wish the doors and dash were a nicer/softer material, but that is not a deal-breaker. The Infiniti sound system is great with Android Auto and Apple Carplay. I also wish the gas tank was larger, and that Hyundai would offer a AWD version of this vehicle.

Pros
size
sound system
price
performance

Cons
interior panel materials
smaller gas tank
FWD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
David T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/17/2019
the most fun i've had in a car yet
this is the fourth Hyundai i have purchased and they seem to only get better. 10 2012 Accent 2) 2013 Elantra GT 3) 2015 Veloster R-SPEC 4) 2019 Veloster N . I had been a ford fan but that changed with my first Hyundai . Well built , As dependable as they get and you get more car for your money than most brands.

Pros
Fast Fun to drive Performance is top notch I get looks and comments about the car . And i mention how much fun it is to drive the Veloster . more car for the money than any other out there

Cons
the only thing i keep hereing is about the interior , well i am comfortable and like it sooooo....

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
Peter K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/15/2019
Disappointed
I thought this vehicle would be similar to my old Ford Focus SVT. It is not. It handles poorly, has horrible power, and rearward visibility is downright dangerous. the seat must be all the way down to see out the rear at all so that makes it hard to get in and out of.
But now I'm stuck with it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
James M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
R Speck
Love this car. It looks great. Fun car to drive. Wish it steered better on highway. If you have big feet there is a wiring harness that catches your foot moving from the clutch peddle to the side. Wish it had fog lights

Pros
Fun car

Cons
Does not track well going straight on highway

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christopher B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Thrilling ride for not a lot of money
Great Performance car for under 30k. Wish there was interior options. The Veloster N has an amazing exhaust that snaps, crackel, pops! Adding to the fun. Performance package with the e-lsd helps you hit the corners with confidence. Im definitely sold on this N.

Pros
Fast, fun, affordable

Cons
Doesn't offer interior options

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
Jane C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
Veloster is one fun car
I would recommend this vehicle to anyone that wants to have some fun in their drive! Comfortable, handles great, gets you where you want to go in style. I have had multiple compliments on the car!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
Matthew B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2019
2019 Veloster N review
Eco & Normal drive modes = Elantra ride quality...pretty comfy. Sport mode kicks it up a big notch, while 'N' mode makes you feel the need for a helmet and 5-pt restraints. The Most fun compact ever.

Pros
Tunable throttle, steering, suspension, exhaust and more...all from touchscreen.
19" wheels with P-Zero's.
Performance Blue color

Cons
Interior materials
Lacks some features that are standard on a Base Veloster.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ZN
Zachary N.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
The Veloster N is a great car, but one that is going to appeal most to those who prioritize the driving experience over other attributes
My car is the Veloster N...the Veloster N is a 250 horsepower (N) or 275 horsepower (N with the Performance Package) turbocharged I4 available only in a six-speed manual transmission (with a rumored wet DCT model in testing). It is nothing like the normal Veloster (which I've previously owned). The Veloster N looks quite a bit different, and drives so differently it is an entirely different animal. Subsequently, this review applies exclusively to the Veloster N.

The Veloster N is a true niche car. It is made for those who value the experience of driver engagement, and it is oriented towards those who may wish to participate in motorsports. It is a whole lot of car for not a lot of money, and it is insanely fun to drive. Civil as the daily driver yet competent on the track, it's reasonably quick in a straight line, and quite fast when curves are involved.

First, it is important to note the things that the Veloster N does NOT have, because it differs from many other cars. There is no option for: leather seats, heated seats/mirrors/steering wheel, automatic down passenger windows, auto-dimming rear-view mirror, garage door memory, power seats, or any driver assistance technologies whatsoever except a backup camera. The interior itself is functional-but-plain...and there is a whole lot of plastic. While other Veloster trims like the Veloster Ultimate offer many of these above options, the Veloster N offers none of this, and the only option available is the Performance Package, which exclusively adds performance augmentations. If having any of these luxuries are deal-breakers for you, or if you must have a super fancy interior, this is not your car.

So why do I love this car so much? Well, you do get a 250 or 275 brake horsepower turbocharged Theta II engine that sounds so good that people struggle to believe that you are driving a four-banger. You get a six speed manual transmission that is executed flawlessly - the clutch is light but linear, the gear throws are short and solid, and the transmission is great for shifting whether you are in stop and go traffic or dodging cones. You get a performance-oriented suspension, brakes (despite using a floating caliper, the brakes are just outstanding), true (i.e., summer) performance tires, and infotainment system (with built-in track functions.) You can adjust the steering weight/sharpness, ride stiffness, engine throttle response, exhaust output, rev matching settings (which you can disable outright), traction control sensitivity, and limited slip differential settings (on performance package models). You get basic cloth seats, but ones with strong bolstering and an adjustable driver side lumbar support - so they are extremely comfortable and supportive. Oh, and you can adjust just about every setting in this car, down to whether the lane-change turn signal feature blinks three times, five times, or is disabled. You get an infotainment system and a dash cluster with center LCD that is responsive, intuitive, and truly integrates the cars functions - and a very good sound system for a factory unit. You get some cool-looking external changes (most of which are actually functional, such as intakes designed to redirect air to cool the front brakes.) You're also getting an outstanding steering wheel design (exclusive to the N), push-button start and key-less entry, a customized key fob with the 'N' logo on it, and standard LED (low-beam) headlights... The 'flagship' color of the N, Performance Blue (a really light shade of blue) looks amazing in person (pictures don't nearly do it justice) and it is a shade of blue that is unique from just about all other cars. All of this adds up to a really fun driving experience for a very low price.

The N drops many amenities/luxuries and replaces them with performance features that someone who is looking for a driver's car is going to absolutely love...and doing this maintains an extremely competitive price. It is an immensely rewarding car to drive, and thanks to all of the adjustable settings, it can function as a refined street car for daily usage, and double as a track toy for the weekend warrior. Subsequently, this car is going to appeal to a very specific buyer. But for that specific buyer, this car delivers in all the ways that count. No one (myself included) thought that Hyundai could design a hot hatch this well on their first go-round...but they did. If you are shopping for cars in this segment, you should really test drive one to experience first-hand just how well the N like has taken on (and outdone) the competition.

Pros
Just about everything of the design

Cons
Requires a minimum of 91 octane fuel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JT
John T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/07/2019
Great car and fun to drive
I can not say there is not any room for improvement. There is: the side mirrors directional pad do not light-up at night with the interior lights on. There is something that is disappointing: the front bucket seats do not say "Veloster" on it as it did in the 2012 model. This only shows up in the other trims. I do not have a need for all the bells and whistles just a fun driving car. I have told others that this car is for driving and not for sitting around looking pretty!

Pros
Has two modes for driving regular and sport, there is fun to be had for both.
Gear shifting is tight, I guess for eco but if this is not important drive the way you want to. I do!

Cons
Blind spots: passenger side back post: if you are entering into a lane at 30 degrees you can not see coming traffic.
Mirror directional pad does not light-up tunnels and at night nor does the right or left switching indicators.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 141 - 160 of 256 in total