2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75
4.8
(287 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MB
M B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/15/2019
Disappointed with the quality of the 2019
I'm disappointed with the quality of the 2019 Veloster. First of all, they changed the body style too much. Not as unique as the 2016. Then the bad censors & door latch problems started. I never had any of those problems with my 2016. They did however, address the interior air-flow issues, and redesigned the dashboard. Those changes I love! It also does not lose power with the AC on like the 2016 did. This model gets up & goes when you need it!

Pros
Great gas mileage, picks up & goes when you need it. More power than the 2016.

Cons
Hard to get in & out of, especially on the passenger side.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SUSAN K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2019
my turbo
really fun Hyundai needs to not cut corners on passenger seats.I love the compliments and high gas millage on a turbo that uses regular gasoline.the navigation has a avoid highway feature I love so we can stop at all the fun places along the way.

Pros
10 yr warrenty turbo runs on regular gasoline

Cons
hard to get in and out.passenger seat is horrid I ride on a pillow when my husband drives

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KATHLEEN C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/13/2019
Kate's 2019 Veloster Raptor
Great car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bravo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Love this car and the way it drives!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DIANE G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
11/08/2019
Likes/Dislikes
Looks are nice. I really wanted a hybrid--a sporty hybrid, which I could not find. I do not like all the "techiness". It is distracting and why do I have to spend a whole day trying to figure it all out!!!!!!!! Why can't you put a cd player in the car???

Pros
Looks are nice

Cons
I hate all the stupid technology

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
TED G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2019
Love my 2019 Base 2.0 Auto Veloster!!
This car is a delight to drive! It makes my daily driving (over 100 miles a day, over 40,000 miles a year) a whole lot of fun. It’s very sporty when I want it to be, and it’s a long haul grand tourer when it needs to be. And then there is the VALUE on top of that. With the average new car price at >$36,000, I got this brand new for exactly HALF that price. Unbelievable car even not counting the value. And the styling plus utility make this THE CAR for me! And as far as quality and reliability, IT IS BULLET PROOF!

Pros
Everything!!!

Cons
Nothing!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Laura M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/06/2019
Love my car
My car is just what I wanted. Having fun with it. The car is great on gas I have gotten up to 40 miles per gallon. Only one thing that could use some improvements is the pocket where you put phone would like to have a little door to close it.

Pros
It's a fun car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAVID C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
R Spec
Awesome car fun to drive, very fast light weight great on gas. Great looking car definitely a bang for your buck. I have been very pleased and impressed I would recommend this car to everyone I know and don’t know.

Cons
Blind spot

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Robert R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/02/2019
Perfect sporty car for performance and economy
This car is not for everyone but if your looking for an affordable and unique looking vehicle this may be for you. Lots of performance and tech improvements in the 2019 Turbo models that make this car a blast to drive

Pros
Priced well
Head turning design
Well equipped
Decent backseat room for size of car
Quick and nimble performance
32 mph highway

Cons
Small sized if you’re a large human
Hard interior surfaces look plastic-y

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
ROBERTO P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/01/2019
Excellent Value
Soon after purchasing a 2019 Hyundai Accent Premium and driving it for a week, I made the mistake of vising the dealer for a few questions I had with the purchase papers and then...I noticed the new Veloster available at the show room. My sales consultant asked If I wished to test drive one and I said YES!. Soon after the test drive and completely impressed with the car, I signed the papers for the Veloster.

Pros
Design and style. Well appointed entertainment features. Vehicle overall performance including very good and as advertised fuel economy. Very good and flexible cargo area. Excellent Hyundai overall vehicle warranty.

Cons
Driver's seat lacks lumbar support and door exit handle. Passenger seat lacks height adjustments and lumbar support. Rear passenger door lacks exit handle.
Cabin interior noise could be improved if the chassis was better insulated to minimize road noise. Better tires offered with the vehicle could also help minimize the road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KK
Karolis K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/30/2019
Good car with the possibility of being great
When I first saw the new Veloster it really caught my eye. The look was great, performance seemed reasonable, and it was a vehicle that could possible take me back to the joy I had with my first hatchback, a MKIV VW Golf.

The first issue you'll come across when buying a Hyundai is that you're buying a Hyundai which means you're going to go to a dealer that has employees ready to try and rip you off as much as possible. The first thing you'll be greeted with a sheet of paper that will have financing terms equal to the amount of a car with a value 3x as much as the veloster.It's only when you scoff at the price will it start coming down. Even then the dealers will be clueless and try to scam you at every possible avenue. For example when I picked up my car I saw in that they applied a $299 charge for tint, I don't have tint on my car. It took an hour to remove this charge from my car. Don't think that Genesis is any better. My wife just bought a g70, the terms they first gave her was $790 a month with $2500 down. I know her credit, I know the car value, I know the incentives so it's pretty damn insulting to be presented with terms that are equal to the cost of a BMW M3. In the end she got the car at $437 with $0 down, think about that, they would've let her walk away almost paying double for the same car.

I like my car. It's not without it's rattles and faults but it's the first year of a new generation of car so it will have it's problem. What I can't get over is the awful, terrible dealer experience. This isn't isolated to a single dealer, I've had the unfortunate experience of going to 4 Hyundai dealers, all of which are terrible. I'm actually looking to replace my Veloster and as much as the 3.3 G70 would be perfect I refuse to spend money on another Hyundai.

Pros
Great MPG
Fun to Drive

Cons
Lots of Build quality issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DAVID P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
"Wolf in Sheep's Clothing"
"Wolf in Sheep's Clothing" is what my Ferrari-owning friend said, after a close examination and drive in the Veloster N. I have never owned a Hyundai before, so I didn't have expectations that would rival much better known makes, but that's what I got! Huge value, so many smiles, so fun to drive.
When my wife says 'Ooops, I forgot something - can you run back to the market, please?', I say 'YES! What do you need? See you in 30 minutes! Or maybe an hour!'

Pros
WITH Performance Package, this is the best performance car under $40K.
Such a great sounding exhaust!
Tech is excellent - integration, sound, BT, Android Auto, etc.

Cons
Smallish gas tank, so stopping every 300 or so. Less, if you drive like a madman. And this car will tempt you to drive like a madman. Always.
[Strangely, it seems to make everyone else drive like a madman, too! They all want to race or just get crazy!]

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ASHLEY W.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2019
Excellent car
This car is so fun to drive! The upgraded engine is so much better than the previous model. The standard safety features are great and the Android Auto is a very nice feature to have. I highly recommend this car. However, it is not a family car. You can't fit adults or older children in the back seat comfortably.

Pros
Upgraded engine, Android Auto, safety features, uniqueness, Sport mode

Cons
Small back seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JACKIE K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/25/2019
I LOVE MY VELOSTER!
THIS VEHICLE IS SO MUCH FUN TO DRIVE AND IS SUPER ATTRACTIVE VISUALLY. IT IS DEFINITELY A REAL HEAD TURNER. IT ALSO HAS AN AMAZING SOUND SYSTEM. THE ONLY DRAWBACK IS THAT IT DID NOT HAVE A CD PLAYER IN IT.

Pros
STEREO SYSTEM

Cons
NO CD PLAYER
SEAT WEARS TOO QUICKLY FROM GETTING IN AND OUT OF VEHICLE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MICHAEL B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/23/2019
Great
Amazing vehicle. Can hear wind and high speeds. Spoiler blocks some visibility of rear windshield. Everything is great. Could use more room in trunk. Drives great, handles great, manuevers great.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Back spoiler covers some visibility.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
Cesar L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/22/2019
1st Hyundai VT!
So far I don't regret going with the VT. Fun to drive not too loud, not too silent. Enough room for my needs. Enough HP/Torque for my needs. It's neither fast nor slow. It's just what I needed. Granted there's 2 foreign noises that I never heard before driving other cars. A lot of forums about the VT and the Hyundai Tech's told me/read says that those are normal noises for it being my 1st Dual-Clutch gearbox makes sense? Who knows? It's still not a deal breaker for choosing the VT😁

Pros
Fun to drive, enough room for my needs, standard tech stuff and affordability.

Cons
2 wired noises. 1st Everytime I apply gas I get this electric sounding hum (Hyundai Tech's said it's the turbo) 2nd at idle there is a spinning ticking sound (Hyundai Tech's said coz it's a dual-clutch gearbox.) Again these noises are not a deal breaker for me I just never had it on the other cars that I own/driven before (Mimi Cooper base, VW Beatle non turbo automatic, Honda ZRZ, BMW Z3 coupe automatic and Juke Nismo automatic.) And I still miss them all 😭

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DAVID M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
Veloster Yes
My Hyundai Veloster Turbo has been a great little vehicle as it is a pleasure to drive both in town and on road trips Additionally, it looks really good and is a really good value in comparison to other cars in this class.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
A little interior road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
Douglas B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/16/2019
I love my Veloster Turbo!
I bought my Turbo Ultimate in March of 2019, and have had nothing but fun with it ever since. Looks great, feels great, gets great fuel economy, and for its size is surprisingly practical. 10/10 would recommend to everyone.

Pros
Styling
Performance
Technology
Value

Cons
Size
No limited slip differential
no A/C seats in North American version

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

YM
Yeong M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
2019 Hyundai Veloster Ultimate White
Car is nicely aggressively designed, my taste and for a daily driving car, it's perfect with fuel economy.
Sport mode makes it fun with aggressive sound and handling, but mostly convenient features while driving is a plus.

Pros
Nice design, fun car to drive everyday

Cons
Recall did not solve my problem with brand new car, still having problem after 3rd attempt to fix from Hyundai Dealer.
My car could possibly be one of unlucky one, which i am waiting from Hyundai to help further from higher authority.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
Cameron C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2019
Love it
Car is great I would love more customization for different things but no complaints. Give me a sunscreen for the front window and fog lights on the front and maybe a sub that I can add into the car for improved sound.

Pros
The car as a whole

Cons
Because it is so new need more customization.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WENDY B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2019
Great lil turbo
If you’re looking for a great economical car with a little spunk then the veloster is the car. Sporty on the outside and roomy on the inside. The car has smooth handling and a tight suspension. Three different options to choose for driving pleasure whether in normal, sport, or smart you will enjoy the benefits of good gas mileage and a solid ride.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 287 in total