2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(273 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TB
Thomas B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/31/2019
2nd Veloster owner
I recently purchased the new 2019 Veloster N. This was my second Veloster, my first being a 2013 non-turbo loaded. I was impressed with the 2013, second year of the model back then, for it's space. The car is tiny to park and maneuver. BUT it is spacious inside for the driver and now for the back seat riders as well. They have improved most if not all of the main flaws from the previous generation. The back hatch is a lot safer now to close with passengers inside. The rear headroom has been increased because of that design change. I am 6 foot tall and have plenty of room in the driver seat. I have sat in the back as well with comfort. Head room was at the limit for me, but still manageable for the size. In regards to the handling/drive of the car, it is day and night compared to the older generation. It handles and sticks to the road exceptionally well. Fuel mileage is still great for a compact sports car. Exterior design from the base level and up is far better with a more sleek look. My only reason for not giving it a 5 star is I have noticed that the front door materials do not match up exactly. And I am picky with my details once I notice it. It still flows with the overall interior look, however knowing it does not match side to side drives me crazy. The interior could be a little better quality for what Hyundai is making in their entire lineup. However, I do understand being a budget fun vehicle, it is not built for total high quality. Being the N, the exhaust does sound amazing. It has great crackles and pops for being a stock car from Hyundai. Being their first main "performance" line-up, this exceeds all expectations I had. I could always ask for more power but the handling and response for it is funomenal. I drove it 6k miles from Chicago to California and back and I was blown away with the comfort, mileage, and smile that could not get off my face while driving. My only downside is that the N has a little too cheap of an interior where it vibrates/rattles under heavier acceleration from the exhaust. Under a normal Veloster trim, it would not do it. I have driven each trim and the N's exhaust is a little too much for the interior quality. Each trim level handles great, spacious, good mpg, and great design. Most people ask why buy a Veloster. I tell them why not? It is unique and stylish. Great small, spacious car with good gas mileage.

Pros
fun to drive
great performance
great design
great exhaust
interior layout driver focused/friendly
sound system
spacious

Cons
interior quality for N model is too cheap for the exhaust/performance. Other trims is fine.
driver side/passenger side front door materials do not match up exactly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARC J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
2019 Veloster N
I’ve given a review of this car on the previous part of this survey so I’m just doing this to fill your 200 character requirements. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabbbbbbbbbbbbbcccccccccccddddddddddeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Brian S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
Cool, simple and fun
This is essentially what the original Golf GTI was to everyone in the 80s. Small, practical and a blast to drive around the winding roads. R spec or ultimate trims are the only ones worth looking at.

Pros
Bang for the buck
Driving it puts a smile on your face
Unique body style and asymmetrical design
Decent gas mileage

Cons
Excessive road noise
Terrible center consul layout
Too much rev hang in upper register
No LSD or all wheel drive available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MIKE H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/20/2019
great practical sport car
it is a fun fuel efficient vehicle with considerable room and sporty handling has great headlights and sound system. i am averaging 36 mpg commuting back and forth to work. Only drawbacks are excessive road noise and somewhat vague on center steering

Pros
fun to drive, roomy, great gas mileage, great sound system, nice interior

Cons
vague steering, excessive road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MICHAEL L.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/21/2019
Fun ride - great gas mileage - overall great experience
Fun - and i believe this was the reason for its creation. The quirkiness of a 3 door is perfect.. My only concerns especially for the R-Spec is the hand brake and lack of a blind spot monitor.. This vehicle is synonymous for its driver side blind spot - the added bubble mirror helps but with todays tech and high demand for the BSM - this should have been a standard feature.. like the LKA and emergency braking on all its models.. its hinges on the border of dangerous when changing lanes. The hand brake - With a manual transmission - the hand brake is vital - this hand brake is poorly designed and at times rough to engage - so much so that i thought i had pulled sufficiently enough that exiting the car it began to roll back.. this is a no no and if i had encountered this during the test drive i would have moved onto another car.. enthusiasts would challenge me on this but i'll take the safety and ease of a push-button e-brake over wondering if i pulled it hard enough.. no brainer there. The face of the Veloster is a great look - however the hood needs a bit more beef - to compliment the rear.. overall this vehicle gets a B. Minor changes makes this an A.

Pros
Most

Cons
Hand brake - lack of BSM (Blind spot monitor)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JOHN S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/25/2019
Wonderful Car
This car is a complete blast to drive. A true drivers car that can be driven every day without breaking your back. I wanted a car that could give me that same experience that my "fun" car could ( lotus elise) does. The N is very similar to the Lotus, but significantly more comfortable for everyday driving. I love that if you wanted to you could get in and drive it like it needs/wants to be driven without constant modern annoyances, blind spot detection and various unnecessary tech, which is not needed for people who drive and pay attention. I am hoping that by time I am in the market for a new one, the horsepower gets bumped up to about 325, if so I probably would not think twice about picking up another one.

Pros
Not a con but a side story: What caused me to buy this car (and honestly I never even thought of buying a Hyundai, my wife has had three). I always saw Hyundai as just a non-descript car, a car people use to get from A to B, not a drivers car. The first time I saw the N was racing the day before the Rolex 24 at Daytona I instantly fell in love with the car. We walked over to the Hyundai tent and I saw the N parked there and I looked over at my wife and said if I ever buy a Hyundai that's the one, three months later I had one.

Cons
Its not a con, but I just wanted to go back to your previous survey I did a few weeks ago. You asked about 5 questions or so about what we wanted to see in "influencers" allegedly being book smart, and things like that. People who are, and should be driving an N do not care what these "influencers" have to say the test drive will speak for itself.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CORTLAND C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/26/2019
The N Review!
The Veloster N has definitely left it’s mark on the road and turns heads when it’s in “N Mode” but when it’s time to just be a low key casual driver....you couldn’t choose a better car! Only thing is that I put 6800 miles on my Veloster and had to have the engine replaced. Great thing and only reason why I have the car still is because Hyundai covered it completely. Not a single penny came out of my pocket! They even paid for my rental.

Pros
It’s the hottest hatch out there. Not many around but they have definitely left their mark!

Cons
I don’t think vehicle will LAST. Some cars last a long time but I’m scared that this vehicle will have some MAJOR issues in the future the more it’s driven!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JESUS G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/28/2019
fun and fast to drive.
really fun car to drive. Great gas mileage, very responsive, and stylish. Love the rims and Tires, just wish the car didn't grind as I reversed. Love hyundai bumper to bumper warranty, best in class. Affordable as well.

Pros
great gas mileage. and fun to drive.

Cons
steering very unstable. and brakes grind when in reverse.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Michael S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
Great Utility and Price!
When I saw the 2019 Veloster at Sema I knew I had to have one. I currently drive the 2.0 Premium and absolutely love the car. Now, this may be nickel and diming, but the only thing I wish the base 2.0 had was a little more horsepower and Torque, or as a trade-off a little bit better milafe.. But the overall interior and exterior features are fantastic and I love the sunroof! Proud to own a Hyundai.

Pros
-Great Modern Style
-Great Soundsystem
-Love the Sunroof

Cons
-Could use better milage or Horsepower/Torque

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Benjamin P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/05/2019
Should have got the N
The steering and Turbo lag are the are my complaints. The steering on the R-Spec is tighter and feels better than the 2.0 no turbo, but I still with the R-Spec (in sport mode) was a little tighter. 1.6 turbo is fairly “peppy” but it’s not the 2.0 turbo that the N has. Overall, I greatly enjoy the Vehicle. I get an average MPG of 32.8 with %95 of my driving done in sport mode at an average daily travel of 90 miles and an average highway speed of 80 MPH. The R-Spec is a fun car and my kids love to go on rides in it. Solid 8.5 of 10. 👍🏽

Pros
Fun. Looks good great size (if you are not a giant).

Cons
Not the N. Doesn’t have a 2.0.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ADAM F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2019
Great vehicle with minor issues
Love my 2019 Veloster. Drives great, looks great, fun to drive, turns heads, great on gas, handles great, shifts great. Minor issues with the Heads-up Display and sunglass holder, other than that it's the perfect car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JN
Justin N.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/16/2019
2019 Veloster
Hi my name is Justin. I recently bought a new 2019 Hyundai Veloster premium in bright red. I absolutely love this car. It drives amazing and handles above expectations. If you want a car that looks sporty, but not overly expensive, this is the car. I love this car I only wish I would have gotten the next package up.

Pros
Handling and performance

Cons
3 doors instead of 2, takes away from the body slightly

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
JABARIE J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2019
well worth wait
my opinion maybe critical n i wont list all aspects here but let me share... I've been on the veloster vibe since 1st gen. i test drove n almost bought it but heard concerns of the rear suspension n the upcoming turbo release. i missed that turbo time with a used sti. had an amazing moment with a scion xa (that car base n handling, exceptional). i presently experience the N and would recommend it. the minor things i am displeased with compare little to the other exceptional features. it is an amazing vehicle stock. i am curious what the extra 25hp feels like. the purchase process, not as good as preferred but the vehicle is wonderful.

Pros
sound, power, features, appearance

Cons
-all hyundai bluelink features doesn't work with model.
-muffle (rear window down type) wind sound when windows down

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Erika G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/01/2019
Hyundai Finance is terrible in communication and the rear hatch door has no auto open feature!
Hyundai Finance is terrible in communication and the rear hatch door has no auto open feature! Spent over a year trying to get Hyundai to send me a correct letter releasing my plates for that I could get a custome license plate. The rear hatch door has no auto open feature. So i can't just pop open the trunk which is hihgly inconvenient. We are in 2019 and my 2003 toyota has this feature. Kind of ridiculous.

Pros
Fun to Drive.

Cons
Hyundai Finance is terrible in communication and the rear hatch door has no auto open feature! Spent over a year trying to get Hyundai to send me a correct letter releasing my plates for that I could get a custome license plate. The rear hatch door has no auto open feature. So i can't just pop open the trunk which is hihgly inconvenient. We are in 2019 and my 2003 toyota has this feature. Kind of ridiculous.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JULIE K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
Overall performance of the 2019 Veloster
Overall the 2019 Veloster 2.0 premium is a great all around car and provides a very responsive driving experience and allows the driver to be fully connected to the road yet maintain comfort. However, after long, prolonged and mechanically taxing drives through canyons and autocross events the vehicle is beginning to suffer from slight mechanical problems that do not affect driveability.

Pros
Handles great, responsive and snappy turning as well as torque vectoring on an lsd leads to a great driving experience

Cons
Horsepower is choked from such a restricted intake and exhaust system. Aftermarket support will most likely be searched for.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
Demian K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2019
car
I took a chance on a brand i have no experience with and feel good about it. I did take the car for its first car wash and the rear wiper blade broke off so i am not sure about build quality. Some parts feel cheaply made and i am worried about things breaking. This car is very fun to drive and does not have a lot of extra tech. that i will never use. Wish it had more power!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
CHASE F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/13/2019
Veloster N
Very fun and reliable car. Been following the car since announcement. Only upsetting thing is I came from an R-Spec which had all red interior. The N is only available in black. Overall though I am very satisfied with the car.

Pros
Performance

Cons
Interior is lacking from previous models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DAVID K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/27/2019
Great value. Lots of power and fun to drive
A great value for the money. Better ratings than others in its class. Super preppy and fun to drive. This was my first black car but was the only one I liked of the options offered. I wish they still had the yellow from previous years. Downside lots of road noise and the seats are a bit hard

Pros
Great power and easy shifting

Cons
Lots of road noise center console could have more storage space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WD
WILLIAM D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2019
Fun cheap car
Interesting car, definitely should consider if you are into hatchbacks. The Rspec is the best value for the money, gives you everything you want for cheaper. Cheap on gas and insurance. Just be aware that it has 3 doors and not 4.

Pros
-Rspec is a great value
-Manual Transmission
-Turbo
-Good gas mileage

Cons
-No LSD
-Engine note leaves a lot to be desire
-GDI maintenance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
David A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/03/2019
2019 Veloster Turbo
The second generation Veloster Turbos are a big step up from the previous version in regard to ride comfort, technology, and stereo system. Would be nice if the DCT in manual mode would not shift up for you when you get close to red line. This slows the car down because sometimes the tires will spin at takeoff and then the car shifts immediately to 2nd gear even though you are barely moving. Hyundai needs to make remote start without Blue Link an option. The Blue Link is down at least once every couple of weeks which means no remote start. Can be a little aggravating since most of the time when it does not work is when it is raining or other bad weather, which is when you need the remote start the most. Other than that, the car is excellent.

Pros
Great styling, excellent steering, lane assist, excellent technology, excellent new and improved stereo system (sounds better than the Bose in my 2017 Corvette) and smoother ride with the near multi-link rear suspension.

Cons
No key fob remote start, only Blue Link remote start which is slow and unreliable. At least once every couple of weeks remote start does not work through the app.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 241 - 260 of 273 in total