2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5Overall Rating 4.74/5rating 4.74
4.7
(228 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


RC
Robin C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/21/2019
2019 Veloster
Blue link doesn’t work!!! Blue link doesn’t work!!!
Blue link doesn’t work!!!! Blue link doesn’t work!!!!
Blue link doesn’t work!!!!!! Blue link doesn’t work!!blue link doesn’t doesn’t work!!!! Blue link doesn’t work!!

Cons
Bluelink doesn’t work

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jason J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/21/2019
Complete crap.
Been in the shop getting fixed more than I get to drive it, touchscreen went out, drivers mirror, and heads up display sometimes don’t work. Hydroponics in the drivers seat went bad, and now it’s in for the 2nd time for clutch issues, the car won’t go if turning left due to those issues. ive almost been broadsided twice. So dangerous. This will be my last Hyundai.

Cons
To many to list.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Shalee S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/18/2019
Buy brand new this car
Not happy for the car we bought it.. after 3 month show in dashboard check engine,then has a recall right away.. very upset with car i buy.if have a chance i will return this car and get my trade toyota im very dis appoint ,i though if i buy new car i will be happy not go back and forth to the dealer its just wasting my time...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DV
DENNIS V.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/24/2019
Just wasnt a fun experience
The buying experience was terrible. I have had my car gor for 3 months now and it has a rattle no one can fix. Maybe its just this car. Every other Hyundai I bought was great. Overall I will probably not buy another veloster again.

Pros
Good gas economy. Good power for the price

Cons
Doesnt hold value. Has a rattle. Takes awhile to cool down on a hot day.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Brandon K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/20/2019
Loyalty should stand for something.
It's a beautiful and fun car. I just hoped that Hyundai takes care of my vehicle defect by understanding that this amount of work on a car should just be exchanged out without a $3500 price tag. Just please make it right so I can drive my new car.

Pros
Beautiful

Cons
Defective

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
M B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/12/2018
Lost that unique look
Some features have been greatly improved...the dashboard has been redesigned, and air flow controls offer a much wider range & direction of air flow over the 2016. Also, the car doesn't lose power when you have the A/C on, like the 2016. In fact, the 2019 is quick on acceleration, even with the A/C on full! Gone is the secondary console storage area (for coins, E-Z Pass, etc.), but the deep storage unit remains. Also gone are the mesh storage nets on the back of the front seats. Gonna miss those. The body has been completely redesigned, and to me, no longer reads "Veloster". The thing that made this car unique was the body design, especially the sloped wide rear end. It was like nothing else on the road. That's now gone, and the 2019 has lost it's uniqueness. Nice car overall, but just any other car now.

Pros
2019 is more powerful than the 2016. Better interior air controls and air flow. Same great gas mileage. Very comfortable to drive, park, hugs the road. The Veloster is also good in the snow! I had a 4WD Jeep that got stuck, but my 2016 Veloster pulled right out in the same conditions! Hoping the 2019 does the same.

Cons
Brake pads showed very visible rust within 30 days. Brakes still have a tendency to slip when wet. or hitting a bump (same problem with the 2016). Lots of wind & road noise with the drivers side window open, even a little (same problem with the 2016). Hard to get out of, with the drivers door being so long & heavy, especially on any slope. Found it very difficult to pair with apps, but easy to pair with my phone (?). Still trying. Body redesign was a mistake on the 2019. Now looks like any other new car. Lost that uniqueness.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Michael T.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/10/2019
New Lease
You probably won’t find more tech and performance for the money. That being said, there is always room for improvement. Lane assist takes some getting used to, it’s a love hate relationship. It feels like someone else is always holding on to the wheel, fortunately you can deactivate it. I’m a tall driver, 6’5”, visabillity out the rear window is poor. The cruise control varies by as much as 5mph (enough to get a ticket), I can understand this going uphill, but why the increase in speed going downhill? Dealer said this was “normal”. The fabric came loose on the driver seat during the first 500 miles. I mentioned it at my first service appointment, but I guess I have to press the issue if I actually want things fixed. Seats are uncomfortable on long drives (over 5 hours) could use more padding and lumbar support. Seat belt adjustment troublesome for tall drivers. Lastly, why do we insist on making a tablet the focal point on the dash? It can be rather distracting and it would be nice if you could retract it sometimes.5

Cons
They aren’t very good about addressing manufacturer defects. This will be a factor when considering my next vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
Peter K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/15/2019
Disappointed
I thought this vehicle would be similar to my old Ford Focus SVT. It is not. It handles poorly, has horrible power, and rearward visibility is downright dangerous. the seat must be all the way down to see out the rear at all so that makes it hard to get in and out of.
But now I'm stuck with it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EM
Earle M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/28/2019
Love the vehicle preformance and exterior ... Inside ... Not so much
Love 100 % of the look and tge way this car drives ... I plan on gutting the interior. I Hate The light blue seat belts ... The rear seat headrest are no longer removeable ... And some of the materials feel really "Cheap"

Pros
Wheels, engine ... Exhause ... Look ... Performace.

Cons
The inside looks cheap ... But after market upgrades will fix that

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MICHELLE R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/24/2018
Awesome Vehicle
This 2019 Veloster Turbo Ultimate is vehicle #6 purchased from Olympia Titus-Will. I like the vehicle safety factors, the vehicle's performance and stability, vehicle body style. I find the team at Titus-Will do all they can to make the vehicle affordable. Originally, I heard Hyundai made the Veloster for the young adults; apparently they did not realize the fun and speed of driving this vehicle. I am well into my 70's and appreciate how well this vehicle is made and performs.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
Cory V.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/11/2018
Seats need more comfort
Happy with the Veloster. Other than seat comfort could be a lot better. Also the tires are junk. I already have a knot in the sidewall. For no reason. One tire had to be replaced because of a pothole. Nexxen website says they have road hazard. But would only pay for half the tire. I had to pay the rest. Tire had 1000 miles on it. According to there website it should have been covered. The tires are junk. And Hyundai needs to get Nexxen to stand behind there tires. Or go with another tire company. I have had way cheaper tires last a lot longer and backup what they sell. Real disappointed in the quality of tire Hyundai uses. And how they did not go to bat for me when I bought a brand new car. You should be able to depend on your tires for more than 1000 miles. When they are new.

Pros
Good gas mileage. And fast and sporty

Cons
Seats not that comfortable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DA
DAVID A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/17/2018
2019 Veloster Turbo
The new 2019 Veloster Turbo is a great improvement over the previous model. The handling, the stereo, and ride comfort are much improved. One thing you have to do if you buy or lease this car is ask them to replace the terrible Nexem tires before you take delivery. Those tires should be on America's Most Wanted as a danger to society. I leased mine and had them install Continental Extreme Contact DWS06 tires before I took possession. Hyundai has a bad habit of using the worst tire manufacturers for their stock tires. Nexem, Kuhmo, and Hankook. All of those tire brands should be band for use on motor vehicles. Don't take my work, read consumer reviews and go to Tire Rack to see their reviews. Okay tires if you never have to drive in the rain or snow. Otherwise you are taking your life into your own hands. I had a set of Kuhmos on my first Veloster and replaced them within the first six months. Almost felt like driving a different car. Also, not big fan of Blue Link for remote start (no key fob option for remote start). Had problems with my 2016 being spotting to work, and now on my 2019 it has not worked from day one. I am 2 weeks now without my car at the dealership as the "Engineers" are trying to figure out the problem. Fortunately my dealership put me in a 2019 Sonata as a loaner and I am racking up the miles on their car instead of against my lease. Again, great car with the right tires and if they had real remote start instead of an unreliable Blue Link system.

Pros
Great road feel, stereo, and styling. Really fun to drive!!

Cons
Blue Link has never worked since day one, at the dealership now. They need to have key fob remote start option.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JAMES S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/21/2018
Fun to drive Good economy and reliable. Would be a five if I wasn’t over 6 feet tall
Great car fun to drive great fuel economy. Only issues are interior space for cargo and seating for tall people yuyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
John C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/15/2018
2019 Veloster Ultimate Review
Nice car, good features, has a few issues, but it's not a Mercedes, so you get what you pay for. Not the type of vehicle I should be driving at this point in my life, but it will be the last. Next vehicle will be an compact SUV, AWD, etc. This is a good vehicle for people ages 25-35.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GU
Gary U.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/28/2018
3 weeks old and car already broke down
I purchased a 2019 veloster turbo. 3 weeks into it it did not start in my driveway. I had appointments I had to cancel. It was the second batttey they installed. Jump started and drove to dealer. Had to replace a third battery. I have not been to happy in purchasing Hyundai’s
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EB
Emilee B.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/12/2019
Over all sweet car
Headlights are too bright. Hear shifter freezes my hand in the winter, I assume will burn me in the summer. HVAC vents never go all the way off. Sunglasses rattle in the holder. Other than that, the car performs well and I get compliments daily on it. Love that it's a unique 3 door!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Joseph J.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/30/2019
Nice car
The 2019 Veloster with the 1.6 7 speed dual clutch has plenty of power. I have 7500 miles on it and I have been getting any where from 30 mpg (1 week) to 42 mpg (babying it). I feel that the 2013 that I traded in handled better. This one has the multi point rear suspension in which the wheels may stay on the road better it seems to lean more because of it. The pedals, gas & brake are close together without much foot room. Since I am 6'5" I need more room. It seems that the car was set up for a smaller person. The heating & lighting is better than the last one.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Theodore G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/25/2019
veloster N
originally I was going to purchase the turbo r spec , but was suggested to seriously consider the N model....im glad I did as it exceeded my expectations in all areas, price, engine, handling, appearance etc., but most of all color....the perform blue is incredible and this car can be tuned right in the vehicle while driving and its a blast....

Pros
great value , handles fantastic, color , reliable

Cons
interior sparce,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Annette R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/27/2019
Best bang for the buck sports car
I got the r-spec and it is an amazing first car. Lots of features and fun for the price. Everything works as it should. I couldn't of asked for a better car for the price. I really enjoy it. The styling is also very good.

Pros
Fun to drive
Good MPG
Cheap price
Cool features

Cons
Interior creeks sometimes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Charles H.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/03/2019
Veloster N
I'm really enjoying my Hyundai Veloster N. It has a couple areas to improve in ( bouncy ride, tire noise, no front camber) but overall a very fun and enjoyable car! (I love the exhaust pops!). I'm very happy with my choice over the Civic Type R I was considering.

Pros
Fun to drive
Quick
Good looks

Cons
Noisy
Rough Ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 228 in total