2012
Kia
Soul

Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5Overall Rating 4.36/5rating 4.36
4.4
(28 Reviews)
Latest review over 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


JH
JAMES H.
2012 Kia Soul
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
05/07/2015
The Kia is fun to drive and has lots of room but does feel tipsy sometimes on hard turns.

Pros
Easy to drive, plenty of leg room, lots of views, comfortable seats, easy steering, looks nice inside, passenger by driver still has leg room with a car seat in back, high seats

Cons
Recalls, would like better gas mileage, windows wobble a lot when open,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BV
BONNIE V.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/10/2015
Kia soul
Not quite what I expected.

Pros
Its size makes it easy to maneuver. It gets okay not great gas mileage. It does have a good sound system.

Cons
Very noisy. Seats are very uncomfortable if you are going on a long ride. You feel every little bump in the road through the pedals.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lou C.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/26/2017
2012 Kia soul
My only concern is that at almost 120K miles I'm using about 2qts. Of oil between oil changes and this is after a $2000 cylinder head work.

Pros
Drive great good sound system love the stick.

Cons
Using oil

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KAREN L.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/19/2015
Love my "hamster car;)"
My first Kia product bought new. Very dependable service at dealership. Very dependable car so far!!

Pros
Stylish
Dependable in Minnesota winters
Love Bluetooth ease

Cons
Did not come with block heater
Had mileage reimbursement

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARTHA R.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/19/2015
Kia Soul 2012
Good size, comfortable, but low milage.

Pros
Enough space inside
good driving
Perfect size

Cons
Blind back part of the car.
Low milage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JOSEPH H.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/03/2015
The soul car
Fun car a lot of space works wonderful for a new family. Enjoy driving it

Pros
Value for the money

Cons
Resale value

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SUSAN or JEFF B.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/14/2016
Kia Soul
The Soul is really fun to drive, gas mileage, not great. Seats very comfortable. Sets up high.

Pros
Looks good, fun to drive, has a lot of get up and go. Pretty roomy for a small car

Cons
Not good on gas. U can feel every bump

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MIKE P.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/12/2017
Rate my soul
Surprisingly good ride handles better-than-expected

Pros
Surprisingly smooth ride spaceships interior good handling good features

Cons
Engine can be sluggish probably a little too small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CHRISTIAN T.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/17/2017
Kia soul
Good car

Pros
Good gas mileage. Reliable

Cons
Loud interior noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
CATHY P.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/05/2017
2012 Soul!
I'd buy another....

Pros
Good gas mileage
..easy to get in and out...good storage room

Cons
18 in tires give very rough ride....2012 soul has very cheap front speakers., literally peeled off. Just spent $100 for coil on #3 cylinder, but that's only fix in 30k miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DEBORAH H.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/07/2018
2012 KIA Soul
Comfortable, reliable and easy to drive.

Pros
Very comfortable, love having Bluetooth and Sirius Radio.

Cons
Blind spots.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Sharon C.
2012 Kia Soul
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2018
Reliable gas saver
Bought used and have only needed normal maintenance such as oil changes and filters, and rotating tires the sunroof leaks in a heavy rain. The power windows act up. Hard to drive in the wind, but otherwise she is great!

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Wind blows the car easily
Easy to flip
Not a sport car, tiny 4 cylinder so you need to know her limitations before trying to pass or gain highway access

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARTY A.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2015
Great road car
Fun to drive, comfortable seats.

Pros
Textured dash reduces glare. Good A/C and heater.

Cons
Textured dash is hard to clean. Blind spot in right rear quarter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CD
Char D.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2015
Love my Kia Soul 2012
This is my favorite car ever. I drive a LOT. It has 65,000 miles on it and has never needed anything other than maintenance and tires. Gas mileage is good. Just love it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
BARBARA F.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/13/2015
I love, love, love my Kia Soul
As always I'm very pleased with Metro Kia and the service department. I love my Kia Soul and plan on trading it in in a few years for another one, I also got my husband to purchase a Kia Optima a few months ago.

Pros
Feels bigger inside but still a pretty small car.

Cons
I would like the back opening just a little bigger to get larger items into the back, it accommodates a lot but you can't really get a single bigger item in the opening.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Tim H.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2015
Kia Soul is a great small & big vehicle!
I bought my 2012 Kia Soul + new and I now have 60,000 miles on it. It gets great gas mileage (29-38 mpg) and it is fun to drive. It has so much cargo space and can easily fit 5 full size adults. I am a music teacher so I am always filling it with music stands, equipment, etc... It has so much space for a smaller suv. No mechnical problems at all. I'd buy another one but I think I am going to continue to drive this one way over 100,000 miles. I am a happy hamster owner! Tim H.

Pros
Great buy for the money!
Space.
Great mpg.
Fun to drive.

Cons
Little noisy on the highway.
Plastic smell in the summer time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
COLLEEN M.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/25/2015
Love my 2012 Kia
Just the right size. Premium package with the Exclaim makes it practically a luxury car!

Pros
Easy to get in and out of. Comfortable in all seats. Lots of room in back for whatever you are hauling. Fun to drive.

Cons
Stiff ride. Road noise.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
JEFFREY V.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/01/2016
Love my Soul!
I'm partially disabled, and needed a vehicle that was easy to get into/out of and had room for me to store my wheelchair. I didn't want a full size SUV, so the Soul is perfect. With one seat down in the back I can fit my wheelchair/scooter for easy access, and it's small enough that I can park it anywhere and it's a joy to drive. I've also had several other people drive it and they've all enjoyed it as well. When the time comes for a replacement, I'm definitely looking at the EV (electric) Soul.

Pros
- Has room for a scooter/wheelchair
- Easy to drive
- Connects to my iPod
- Bluetooth for hands free operation of phone

Cons
- 2012 model doesn't have built in GPS (though it was added to later models)
- UVO (the OS that drives the stereo) can be flakey, and regularly crashes outright

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jeff W.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2016
Kia Soul overall review,
Good not exceptional gas mileage, lots of room, comfortable and goes down the road straight. I love the sound system and have zero complaints on this car. 60000 miles before my first brake job and only front required, other then that the battery also just stopped holding a charge not bad for 4 Wisconsin winters again at 60000 miles. I currently received a notice for a recall for a possible under-body corrosion issue, and Kia is adding additional protection under this campaign. I would buy this car avian and recommend it to my friends and family. Jeffrey W-R

Pros
Gas reimbursement card from Kia 850.00 back so far AR 45000 MILES.

Cons
gas mileage was understated by manufacturer, see pros.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
ROSALIE K.
2012 Kia Soul
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2016
Greay Car
I love my KIA SOUL..It drives great..I feel safe in my car, and it is perfect size, lots of room even for my 6'4" Son. Lots of leg and head room, fold the back seats down and you can carry anything..

Cons
I wish there was a roof rack or a way to attach one..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 28 in total