2019
Subaru
Ascent

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(31 Reviews)
Latest review 19 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MC
MARY C.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2020
Awesome
I LOVE this rig. I knew I wanted it but it has more than I imagined. Very powerful, plenty of cargo space, towing capacity and absolutely beautiful. I'm could not be more pleased. I feel very safe and comfortable in this rig. Great buying decision.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RJ
RAYMOND J.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2020
The best
The Ascent currently the best vehicle of 17 vehicles I have owned in my lifetime. Hope it continues to be th best.1

Pros
Comfort. Very nice driveaility . Quite with very little road noise

Cons
Original tires kept going flat. Fuel milage. Spare tire access.needs to come with remote start as standard feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
RUSS V.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/30/2020
An excellent vehicle!
Our 2019 Assent is excellent, in almost all respects. While there are a few issues the company and our dealer are working to resolve, we would not hesitate to purchase another.

Pros
Subaru has done an excellent job in designing and building this vehicle, and we are very pleased with it.

Cons
There hase been minor issues with the electronics, and we have taken it to the dealer several times. Nothing serious, or dangerous, and the dealer has been very responsive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RICKY B.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2020
Great vehicle. More legroom & buttroom than any other make we tested
No significant complaint whatsoever. Value for the Money rating reduced due to the minor issue is that Subaru does nothing to ensure their navigation.vendors provide the service for which they are contracted. The only reason for purchasing the Touring model was the navigation system. If we had known then, what we know now, we would have purchased a different model since Google maps and Waze actually work. Subaru navigation is subpar compared to our Toyota navigation experience but represented by the sales crew as being comparable or superior. That is one thing that no one at any dealership has been able to demonstrate prior to purchase because it requires subscription activation which will not be done until sale/purchase.

Pros
Legroom
Buttroom
Ride
Safety features
Digital rearview mirror GREAT vs optical mirror

Cons
Navigation Traffic non functional
Variable transmission can be jerky at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
PAMELA P.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/27/2020
Subaru Ascent
Love my car and all the safety features. Am concerned with the 2 recall issues in past 7 months

Pros
A very big car which is what I like. I have the Touring and love the heated steering wheel.

Cons
Recall issues

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
STEPHANIE R.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
02/21/2020
Big, comfortable,fast.
The car moves ok, but two recalls all ready, transmission is a joke.

Pros
Size and value

Cons
Transmission

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
COLLEEN V.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/01/2020
Love my Ascent
Perfect for our growing family!

Cons
We live in the Columbia River gorge. After it snows, if there is any snow on the the top of the car, as the car warms up, the snow will slide all at once down the windshield and you have to stop the car to clear it. I have had to stop in the middle of downtown as I can’t see to drive and it’s too heavy for wipers. I’ve never experienced this with a car before. I have to be sure to clear the roof of snow before I drive. Could you develop some kind of “lip” for front area of the roof of the car so it can’t all slide down at once?? Otherwise, I LOVE IT!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
TONYA M.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/31/2020
Great Car
Love this car! Plenty of room, comfortable and I love all the safety functions.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VJ
VALERIE J.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
Best Ever
I have owned many SUV’s and the Subaru Ascent is by far my favorite. Not only all the safety features but also all the room and comfort it has. I loved everything about my ascent and I wish I had it when my kids were younger.

Pros
So many. The big sunroof. Push button to start.

Cons
I wish the cup holders were a bit bigger to hold the bigger water bottles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GENE S.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2020
Best Vehicle that I have ever owned.
Going in and out of Ranch with 14 plus inches of snow & drifting; and my original tires are only 5/32. Simply Amazing and you can travel the freeway all day long at whatever speed you want.

Pros
Plenty of power and ability to handle snow conditions.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VJ
VALERIE J.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
Love my Ascent
I’ve owed many SUVs and this one hands down is the best that I have driven/owned. I love the options that come with the car and all the room it has.

Pros
Just about everything.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JEFFREY H.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/21/2019
2019 Ascent limited
Great family car!

Pros
Lots of room in the 3rd row

Cons
Gas mileage doesn't seem as good as advertised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RV
RUSS V.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/09/2019
Subaru Delivered a Great Car!
We've had our Ascent for six months and, so far, we are very pleased with it. Can't say enough about it, we've also had many favorable comments from friends.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
VICKI M.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2019
Ascent
Love my Ascent, had a Forester before the Ascent and Toyota’s before that.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
REBECCA S.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/31/2019
zippy and easy to drive
I like most things about this vehicle, but it is missing the birds eye camera I had on my previous SUV and I wish the back window opened without lifting the hatch. Seat are hard and the heated seat gets too hot really quick.

Pros
zippy and handles well in snow. dependable and well built.

Cons
no birds eye view camera, seats are super firm and get hot quick, the back window does not lift open without opening the hatch.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
PAMELA P.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/20/2019
2019 Ascent Touring
I had a Yoyota Highlander which I loved. Took me a few weeks but now I love the Ascent. It is a little larger than the Highlander which suits me fine. Very quiet and comfortable on trips. Great car!

Pros
Good gas mileage. Great safety features. Smooth and quiet ride.

Cons
The top of the hood allows pine leaves, etc to get caught.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
STEPHANIE R.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/16/2019
Big
Nice car, comfortable, a bit of a slug on slow acceleration, but kick in the turbo and zoom

Pros
Big and easy to exit and enter

Cons
A slug.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RICKY B.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2019
Ascent fits Us
We needed a vehicle which allowed easier in/out than our 9 month old Honda Pilot. The Ascent front doors/seat arrangement and legroom was a perfect combination for our mobility issues. This is the first time in a while that we could stretch our legs fully both passenger and driver sides. Hip room was significantly wider (per side) which you cannot tell from reading the mechanical spec sheet. It's also nice to drive a car that is not always shifting gears due to the 8 or 9 speed transmission like was in the Pilot. The Ascent is really peppy and will "get up and go" when needed.

Pros
We've had the vehicle less than 24 hours, so nothing gets a 10 (for now).
Hip room, Front leg room, Easy in/out for our mobility issues.

Cons
None yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEFF S.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/07/2019
Great full size car
My Ascent is top of the Ascent line. I especially enjoy the ride on the 20 inch wheels. The car is instantly responsive to steer and it has excellent power for passing and towing. The safety features are easy to master. It has numerous extras like auto response windshield wipers and high beam lights. Cameras give you more than just a backup look around. I definitely made the right choice in this vehicle.

Pros
Comfort and performance

Cons
Cargo area has a slight tilt

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MY
MARCELA Y.
2019 Subaru Ascent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2019
Greatest car for big family
I love our car, it's great for our family.

Pros
I love everything

Cons
I can't stop driving

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 31 in total