2006
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(33 Reviews)
Latest review about 4 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


MS
MARK S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/20/2015
Ski with a Highlander
Our Higlander has nearly 250 K of ski racing miles on it. We never worry where we are heading regardless of the weather. Our Highlander takes care of us all over the west! It holds oodles of gear & racer bodies. When we aren't skiing, out Great Pyrenees, Eloise, loves the spacious back area.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MARTY O.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2015
2006 Toyota Highlander.
It's a hybrid. Averages 25 mpg, handles well and has a nice, solid ride also.
Marty
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
PAUL R. P.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2015
Awesome
Love it. Zero problems.

Pros
Highly reliable

Cons
Mileage not as good as advertised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
STAN B.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2015
I love my 06 Toyota Highlandeer Ltd.
This has been the best automobile I have ever owned. I have had a Chrysler, an Infiniti, and a Lexus. My Toyota has over 118,000 miles and I have never had any major problems. I truly hate to give it up because I am afraid I won't be this lucky again!

Cons
The only negative I have is that the windows could be a bit more air tight.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
JOHN Y.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2015
Best vehicle I've ever owned!
Nothing more to add..........

Pros
Overall quality with over 209,000 miles

Cons
Nothing I can think of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SUSAN C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2016
2006 V6 Toyota Highlander
Simply the best car I have ever owned. The only thing that would improve it would be a little more room in the 3rd row seating. But overall, it's a great vehicle.

Pros
Comfort, mileage (really good for an SUV), durability

Cons
Could use more room in the 3rd row seating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
JOHN Y.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2016
I'm Happy
The best vehicle I have ever owned after 56 years! My last domestic car was in 1985 and I have been "Japanese" ever since (One Honda, the rest Toyota)

Pros
The best!

Cons
Too much mileage!! (2!!,000)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Pat C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/12/2016
Love this car!
Best car I have ever purchased! I love my highlander!!

Pros
Great car in every way! Efficient, dependable, looks great, comfortable!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
KATE T.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2016
Love my Highlander!
Easy to handle, great visibility. Good gas mileage, lots of space in the back, and third row seating is perfect for the occasional group ride. No complaints at all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEANNE S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2016
Highlander trip-check
Trip-cheeked then realized shimming in the steering wheel and took back. They did front end alignment, balancing added weights on one tire. No shimmy and all ready for a trip.

Cons
Arthritis in hands hurt on long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tom M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/27/2017
2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Limited
Vehicle runs great, very comfortable. Gas mileage on the Hybrid is good,

Pros
Has lots of immediate power(hybrid/cvt), very comfortable.

Cons
Third row seating is only good for small kids/short trips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DEBORAH C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/04/2017
Good vehicle
It's almost 11 yrs. old and all I have had to do is purchase a battery, new tires, oil changes, a alternator, and brakes. No major expense. Would buy another Toyota.

Pros
Not enough value when selling compared to price pd. Low maintenance. Great car and very good ride for a SUV

Cons
Too expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
DONALD N.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2017
Highlander
We love our car, good mileage. Good condition.

Pros
We just plan love it

Cons
There is nothing we don't like about it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ALAN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2017
2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
I'm very fond of Toyotas, having had them since 1991 (two Previas and this one. The first was still running strong after more than 300,000 miles).
The Hybrid gives me about 28 mpg on the highway, and has been very reliable, with no major powertrain problems, and one right front axle replacement.

Pros
Very steady and sensitive steering
Smooth acceleration through the range, very responsive

Cons
Rear visibility
Rear wiper blade does not pull out fully for cleaning
Maintenance warning light too bright, comes on too early

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KRISTA B.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2017
The most reliable car I've ever had
I absolutely love my highlander. I bought it new in 2006, it is now 2017 and she is still going strong. I've kept up on the normal maintenance and have had very few problems. The car ate the first set of tires, but they were cheap Toyo tires, the last set were Michelins and they lasted 90,000 miles. I highly recommend this vehicle.

Pros
I've made some improvements to the car - it was a base model and I have installed an aftermarket double din touchscreen radio, new speakers, new wheels, and a remote start/security system.

Cons
4 cylinder is slow to get moving compared to other cars on the road - racing is not something to do in this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kevin M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2017
12 years still running
Never needed anything but basic maintenance

Pros
Reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
WESLEY W.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2017
Comfortable ride
The car runs great. No major problems or breakdowns. Great vehicle and it is very comfortable and lots of room for long road trips.When we need to replace this car, we will probably get another Toyota.

Pros
Dependable, comfortable, affordable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Retha H.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2017
Will Buy Another one in about 100K miles
Such a wonderful vehicle. It was my first SUV, but not first car. Almost at 200K miles and will push it to 300K. Unless my lifestyle changes dramatically, I will get another Highlander.

Pros
Reliable and the hybrid is great on gas mileage.

Cons
My model has the spark plugs in a weird place so a lot had to be removed to get to the spark plugs so they can be changed. This design flaw was changed in the next model, but it cost me a pretty penny when it was time to change the sparks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
GERALD M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2017
Dependable vehicle with a great reputation for great maintenance and reliability. I feel safe driving it.
I bought the Highlander as a used vehicle and have learned to trust its reliability and driving ease. Would recommend it to everyone who wanted a very reliable, good maintenance and safe driving SUV.

Pros
easy maintenance, easy to drive, very reliable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gina W.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2018
Love my Highlander!
Best purchase ever. Love my Highlander Purchased it new and it was the best decision ever. It’s comfortable and fun to drive. Plenty of storage. It’s our vehicle of choice when we go on road trips. I would definitely recommend the Highlander to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 33 in total