Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(922 Reviews)

ReScore Reviews™ (2)

ReScore
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
99% Would Recommend
Latest Review about 2 hours ago

Reviews


Verified Customer
Rockford, IL
Toyota Tacoma
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2021
New Tires
Always great service

LG
Luke G.
Shannon, IL
Ford Explorer
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/19/2021
Professional, Friendly Service
Addressed the service issue on the vehicle, good communication, no pressure, great to work with.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/20/2021

Thank you Luke for this 5 star review!  We are so glad you were happy with your first visit here.  It was a pleasure doing service for you and we hope we can be of help in the future!  Dave & Gina


JM
john m.
Freeport, IL
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/19/2021
terribly overpriced
I called them for a transmission problem. In no time they called me saying it was completely garbage. Gave me an estimate of $3200 for a used with 80,000 miles with no warranty, or a rebuilt for $4100.
I took it elsewhere to a true transmission shop where they explained it was not completely garbage and rebuilt it for $1430 with a 2 yr 24,000 mile warranty.
Needless to say I wont be going back. If you dont trust their word how can you trust their work?
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/20/2021

John, we are sorry that you were not happy with your visit here.  We do not rebuild transmissions, but we do put a lot of rebuilt transmissions in and they work really well for our customers.  The used transmission we quoted you did come with a 12 month/12000 mile warranty and the Jasper rebuilt one has a 3 year/100,000 mile warranty nationwide.  We gave you prices based on what we thought was best for a permanent solution for the problem you were having with your vehicle.  Your vehicle is a nice car and is worth keeping for a long time.  We did not say your vehicle's transmission was complete garbage, that is not a term we use.  We did say there was a problem with your transmission and we gave you recommendations based on that.  We pride ourselves on our honesty and our work.   Dave


Verified Customer
German Valley, IL
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/15/2021
Get what you pay for
They do excellent work and are very knowledgeable. They are also very expensive.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/18/2021

Thank you so much for the 4 star review!  Yes, you are right, some repairs do require lots of work which does make them more expensive, but we always emphasize doing the job correctly and with the right parts, taking customer's safety in mind too.  We are not the least expensive in town, but we feel we are the best!  Thank you for your visit to our shop and we hope we can be of service to you in the future!  Dave & Gina


GW
Gina W.
Belvidere, IL
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2021
Great Service as always!!
Dave and Gina Timm are great people and everyone there is so trustworthy! We value their opinion and believe in their expertise.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/18/2021

Thank you Gina & Lee, we appreciate the 5 stars and we appreciate your business all these years!  The fact that you drive a ways to come to us makes us feel special!  It's always a pleasure doing work for you!  Gina & Dave


GH
Gretchan H.
Apple River, IL
Chevrolet Spark
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2021
Friendly knowledgeable helpful
Very helpful. Work done at cost estimated and before time estimate. 100 % would use again and will recommend
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/12/2021

Thank you Gretchan for the 5 stars, we really appreciate it!  We are so glad you were happy with your visit here and that you would recommend us!  If we can help you in the future, please let us know!  Dave & Gina


MP
Marna P.
Freeport, IL
Chevrolet Sonic
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2021
car wouldn't start
My car wouldn't start. So had Alberts come jump it. I had called Auto Repair specialist and told them I would be bring it in. That would they have time to work on it without an appointment. they said yes. They took real good care of me. They ran a test check on everything, put new battery in.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/04/2021

Thank you Marna for the great review!  We are so glad we could help you out in your time of need!  That's what we are here for!  If there is anything else you need, please give us a call!  Dave & Gina


JC
Jan C.
Freeport, IL
Subaru Legacy
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2020
Great Service and wonderful staff from Jen at front desk to Mechanics and Owners..
They get you in as soon as possible. When I have had emergencies they get me right in. They explain everything they need to work on. There are never surprises. I will not go anywhere else.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/04/2021

Thank you Jan for the 5 stars!  Thanks too for all your business through the years, we really appreciate it!  It's always a pleasure doing service for you!  We love that you won't go anywhere else!!  Dave & Gina


BM
Barb M.
Forreston, IL
Toyota Camry
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/29/2020
Very friendly, they know what they are doing.
Everyone is very professional and friendly. You get in very quickly, explain the needs of your car and are able to take care of them.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 01/04/2021

Thank you Barb for this great review, we really appreciate it!  We are so glad you were happy with your lastest visit here!  As always, we are here for you anytime, especially in your time of need!  Dave & Gina


SP
Shawn P.
Freeport, IL
Kia Optima
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/23/2020
🔑 Trans repair
As usual Dave and Gina and there staff repaired my car the same day and at reasonable price.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 12/28/2020

Thank you Shawn for the 5 stars, we really appreciate this!  We are so glad you were happy with your latest visit here and that we could get you in and out quickly!  Please keep us in mind for any furture service you may need!  Dave & Gina


JZ
Joyce Z.
Freeport, IL
Chevrolet S10 Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/23/2020
Service
Friendly service and readiness to answer questions.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 12/28/2020

Thank you Joyce for this great review!  We are so glad you received friendly service and we answered your questions readily.  We look forward to seeing you again!  Dave & Gina


MF
Merlyn F.
Freeport, IL
Chrysler PT Cruiser
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2020
Best Place for Service
Dependable service and reasonable prices.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 12/21/2020

Thank you Merlyn for the 5 stars!  We really appreciate that and your business!  Dave & Gina


TC
Tim C.
German Valley, IL
Mitsubishi Outlander Sport
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2020
Quality work, excellent customer service
ARS have always been very accommodating when scheduling service. I completely trust my vehicle in their hands. Their customer service is #1... If it's not right, they make it right! Thank you!
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 12/21/2020

Thank you Tim & Vick for this great review!  We are so glad you were happy with your last service here and that you trust us and appreciate our customer service!  That's really important to us!  Dave & Gina


Verified Customer
Freeport, IL
Dodge Avenger
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/16/2020
SERVICE
SERVICE WAS GREAT. WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF I COULD HAVE GOT A RIDE AS MY WIFE CAN NOT DRIVE BECAUSE OF MACULAR IN BOTH EYES SO HAD TO FIND SOME ONE TO DO IT.

WOULD BE NICE IF YOU SEENT OUT THE DISCOUNTS EVERY SO OFTEN . MAY LOOK GOOD BUT NOT A VERY GOOD CHANCE OF USING THEM IN A MONTH AFTYER YOU JUST HAD WORK DONE.
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 12/21/2020

Thank you for the review.  We are glad the service was great for you and we wish we could have given you a ride home, but due to Covid we are not giving anyone rides right now (to keep you safe and us too).  We understand what you are saving about the discount expiring and will look into that.   We will see if we can extend that for our customers.  We appreciate you giving us this input and we will try and make it better for your next visit!  We are thankful for your business!  Dave & Gina


TW
Tom W.
Freeport, IL
Chevrolet Traverse
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/10/2020
Full Service
Fast, reliable service! Staff keeps customer updated on all issues with vehicle! Well trained and and very clean atmosphere
Dave T. from Auto Repair Specialists responded on 12/15/2020

Thank you Tom for the 5 stars!  We are so glad you were happy with your first visit here and we hope to see you again!  Dave & Gina


Displaying Review 1 - 15 of 922 in total