California Smog & Automotive Institute


Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83

855 Reviews

98% Would Recommend
Latest Review 4 days ago
Shannon W. on 01/19/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Shannon said she has never experienced a problem with this business.
Vehicle: Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/09/2018
Review Created: 01/19/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Athina P. on 01/19/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Athina said she would recommend the business. The staff is polite.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/08/2018
Review Created: 01/19/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Jerry E. on 01/16/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Outstanding customer services!"
Love this place! Turn around time & customer service is amazing!
Vehicle: Nissan Altima
Service Date: 01/15/2018
Review Created: 01/16/2018 11:46 AM
Sam T. on 01/11/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
Sam said the business had him waiting too long.
Vehicle: Toyota RAV4
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/09/2018
Review Created: 01/11/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Doris W. on 01/10/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Doris said the staff has always treated her well when she asks questions. They always go beyond the duty of their job and the facility is nice and clean. There's a great receptionist who is nice and they are always there for her. It's a great place to go.
Vehicle: Hyundai Sonata
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/03/2018
Review Created: 01/10/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Jose D. on 01/05/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Jose said the staff were friendly and interactive. They called him to ask him questions about his vehicle.
Vehicle: Mazda MX-5 Miata
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/28/2017
Review Created: 01/05/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Jason C. on 01/03/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Jason said this business was nice. He enjoyed the work they did, and it was done in a timely manner. They were very informative on what they did and why they did it. He stated they confirmed what he thought needed to be done. They did a good job.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz C300
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/29/2017
Review Created: 01/03/2018
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Andre A. on 12/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Andre said the service was good.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Avalanche
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/29/2017
Review Created: 12/30/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Rachel P. on 12/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"More than just a smog check"
Came in for a smog check and felt like I got to pass the time with an old friend. Reception was prompt (called from my web form within the hour), professional, helpful, and super friendly. Prices were posted and fair. Space was clean and waiting area smartly decorated (for the holidays) and comfortable. Came home and immediately recommended CSAI.
Vehicle: Honda HR-V
Service Date: 12/29/2017
Review Created: 12/29/2017 09:53 PM
Fran M. on 12/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Fran said the staff were very efficient ,friendly and knowledgeable.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Equinox
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/21/2017
Review Created: 12/23/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Patty M. on 12/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"It's the People."
A shout out to Patricia, Brittaney, Wynona and all the wonderful auto tech. gentlemen. My car and my sanity are so much better because of all of them. They really know how to take care of their customers. Keep up the great work.
Vehicle: Saturn SC 3dr
Service Date: 12/14/2017
Review Created: 12/22/2017 08:17 AM
John G. on 12/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
John said the service was good.
Vehicle: Lincoln Navigator
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/15/2017
Review Created: 12/22/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Todd F. on 12/21/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"mostly not a great experience"
I got my car towed to CSAI auto by AAA as a AAA certified auto shop. I was told that my car would need new spark plugs and coils, and since it was due for an oil change I asked them to do that as well. I approved the work and was told it would be completed by the end of the day. So I returned at 4:30 and was told that the car needed much more work than originally thought. My service technician explained that the wrong spark plugs were put in by another auto shop which caused damage to the valve and/or cylinder and the engine needed to be rebuilt or replaced. He was going to get estimates for parts by the next day. The next day he said it would cost around $7,000. I told them no thanks and that I would have the car towed away that evening. In the meantime I spoke with the mechanic that put the bad spark plugs in and would have the car towed to them directly in order to fix the damage they caused and that I did not want to pay them to look at it. We got the car to them that night and the next day they worked on it. Late the same afternoon around 3:30 PM the owner of CSAI auto Jonathan called and said that his technician was wrong and that the spark plugs were not the cause of the damaged valve/cylinder. As soon as I got off the phone with Jonathan I called the other mechanic who had already been looking at the car all day and explained that it was not the spark plugs after all. By then they had already done a compete engine diagnosis and charged me $156 for it. CSAI charged me for their incorrect diagnosis and also the oil change since they had done the oil change before diagnosing the engine problem. Good thing my totaled car has fresh oil in it!! So the total came to $228. To add insult to injury, CSAI auto never applied the AAA discount. So the whole ordeal cost me about four times more than it should have. I would have given one star but Brittney and Jonathan were both very nice so the extra star is for them.
Vehicle: MINI Cooper Hardtop
Service Date: 12/12/2017
Review Created: 12/21/2017 11:08 AM
Louis M. on 12/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Louis said the service was good. The employees took care of what he needed to have done. This was a good experience for him.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz C220
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/08/2017
Review Created: 12/18/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Joshua C. on 12/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Joshua said the business is straight forward and they were done quickly.
Vehicle: Ford Ranger
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/29/2017
Review Created: 12/18/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Jesse G. on 12/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Jesse said the facility made his vehicle pass. They were really friendly and they kept him abreast of the situation.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Pickup
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/14/2017
Review Created: 12/18/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Richard W. on 12/17/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
" Outstanding and professional service"
Brittany was so very helpful and easy to deal with. She kept us informed all along the way and our Jaguar was repaired and ready when promised. Everyone in the shop were helpful,professional and we were so glad that AAA recommended this shop to us. A++++++ experience.
Vehicle: Jaguar XJ
Service Date: 12/15/2017
Review Created: 12/17/2017 04:58 PM
Freddie G. on 12/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Freddie said the business is very quick and provides good service.
Vehicle: Lincoln Town Car
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/11/2017
Review Created: 12/12/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Stephen C. on 12/11/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"very technically sound staff and reputable service"
they did the service and advised you on what it meant and how to prevent the same problem in the future- the battery check/charge and what the results
meant was one of the best Ive ever gotten

they would have gotten 5 stars if they had noticed my internal dome light was left on that I forgot to turn off that help deplete my battery
Vehicle: Nissan 300ZX
Service Date: 12/11/2017
Review Created: 12/11/2017 10:43 PM
Neil R. on 11/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Neil said he was happy with the service.
Vehicle: Acura 3.2TL
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/21/2017
Review Created: 11/28/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 855 in total