2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.53/5Overall Rating 4.53/5Overall Rating 4.53/5Overall Rating 4.53/5rating 4.53
4.5
(14 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JM
Jody M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/14/2019
Great midsize car with great gas mileage
Comfortable, sporty, plenty of leg room in both front and back. It’s a little noisy inside when on the freeway. 55-59 miles per gallon. Love the technology. Don’t like the hatch design takes getting use to.

Pros
Great gas mileage, good amount of leg room, comfortable, technology is good, love the style, hatch back has plenty of room. Paint job seems like an up grade from my previous hybrid sonata.

Cons
Noisy when on the freeway, the motor noticeably serges when picking up speed on the freeway. Hard to get use to the hatchback when looking thru the review mirror. Huge blind spots but makes up for it with the passing safety feature.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kathleen S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
Happy with my car.
I Love, Love LOVE my new car. It has been everything I expected and more!! Mileage ratings were for 58 mpg and we are getting 63-65 - what's not to love. It rides very well for a small car and I believe it is the quality Michelin tires used. Highly recommend this little jewel.

Pros
I give all the above features above 10+

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
Michael T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
The best value and the lowest cost of ownership.
Okay I'm not an owner yet (of an Ioniq) but I recently retired after over 50 years in sales, the last 8 years as a Brand Specialist and Trusted Advisor selling Hyundai products and driving a 2013 turbo Veloster that is paid off and I wouldn't sell or trade for anything except probaby adding an Ioniq and the New Santa Cruz truck when it comes out to my garage. I've been selling cars for about 20+ years and have driven just about every brand and helped 100's of customers find the best vehicle value that meets their needs, wants, and budget.
Here's what I know about Hyundai and the Ioniq: First, if you're looking for the best value in any vehicle then you owe it to yourself to look at Hyundai. Their philosophy isn't about building the best vehicle in the world but building the best car value for your money. They start with the best and longest warranty in the business.
Their basic bumper to bumper warranty will fix your car if something goes wrong for 2 years longer than the rest and their 10 year or 100,000 mile powertrain warranty covers all the expensive parts. They give you more standard features than the others. The other brands charge extra for almost everything on the sticker. Hyundai includes almost everything in the price. If you're a value shopper and want the most for your money then look at Hyundai. They passed the 2 most popular Japanese brands 9 years ago in Brand Loyalty, more people come back and buy Hyundai once they've owned one then any other brand.They have the lowest cost of ownership for the brand and most are lowest cost of ownership in the first 5 years for their class. They own their own steel mills (only 1 other brand does but they only use about 1/3 of the amount of the strongest but lightest, and best quality steel that Hyundai uses), that's only one of the many reasons that gives virtually every Hyundai a 5 star+ safety rating.
Now the Ioniq, they had a great hybrid in the Sonata for those that wanted a hybrid that is way more comfortable then the typical little hybrids out there but efficient too. They set out not to build another hybrid but to build a better one. They get the best gas mileage in a non plug in car then any other brand (I have customers experiencing upward of 70+ mpg's) and well over 600+ miles regularly on a tank of gas. They are the Only hybrid with a LIFETIME warranty on their lithium polymer batteries, and 10 years or 100,000 miles on all hybrid components, saving you thousands of dollars down the road. They are, smaller, lighter, more powerful, last longer produce less heat and are moldable so they took them out of the trunk where they took up so much space and molded them under the rear seats. They used recycled materials whenever possible so many "materials" used inside may look cheap to some are made of recycled plastic, volcanic rocks and sugar cane and the foam inside the seats are soy bean based just in case you ever get stranded and run out of food you can boil them and make soup, ummm!! Just kidding, Lol. Most vehicles come with solar glass to help protect you from uv a+b cancer causing rays and help protect your interior from deteriorating as quickly as possible. Here's another money saving item most people don't know about, almost all vehicles have electronic, motor driven power steering or what they call steer by wire. Have you ever seen a vehicle crash where the steering wheel shaft came back into the driver? There isn't one in steer by wire cars. Most of you know that when you turn on the air conditioning you lose 7-10% of your power and gas mileage, well guess what, most air conditioning in Hyundai's are Electronic Motor Driven also so they don't effect your mileage and power like others do, they don't run on a belt sucking the mileage out of your engine. Keep this in mind when considering what they say is their mileage, you can likely expect 7-10% less with the air conditioning on. Oil changes are 7500 miles instead of 3000 and tire rotation is 8000 miles instead of 4000.
I can go on and on but you get the picture right? If you are a value shopper and want the best value in a vehicle you need to give Hyundai a chance, you'll save money in places you probably didn't think you could. This may not be the perfect car for everyone ( I don't think there is) but I love this car and I think you will too!!!

Pros
Everything

Cons
None, well as Tim the tool man used to say, more power, for when you feel the need for more power when merging on the freeway or passing or just feel like driving like when you were a kid on curvy mountain roads, don't be afraid to use the sport mode or paddle shifters. You won't believe you're driving a hybrid. You'll feel like you're driving a sports car. Exhilarating!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NL
Nancy L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/03/2019
Surprisingly downsizing doesn’t mean losing comfort
My Ionic Hybrid was a downsize in vehicle. It is still roomy, and comfortable. With in a week or do I felt like this vehicle was made for me. Sporty feel, high tech and eco friendly make this a great choice!

Pros
Bluetooth connection, sport drive, earth friendly

Cons
No CD player. Oil change price with synthetic oil.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
Daniel T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Great mpg, normal driving experience!
I am really loving my Ioniq so far. I get 60+ mpg with normal driving. I love the apple car play, and the sound system is pretty decent! It’s a comfortable ride, I average 250-350 miles per day. I regularly get 700+ miles per gas tank.

Pros
Great mpg
Comfortable ride
Looks nice

Cons
I wish it had a bigger gas tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
George H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2019
The car that is different!
I bought my first hybrid from Garvey in 2011 and it was a great car. I got 36 to 42 miles per gal. and it was great. I just bought a 2019 Ioniq and in my first few months I am getting 50 to 60 miles per gal.. It handles and rides very nice. The only negative I will point out is the rear window in the hatch back is too small. Thank goodness for the back up camera!

Pros
Comfortable, handling, safety features, fun to drive, and the super gas milage. Every one loves the color! Love the heated seat in the winter!

Cons
Small rear window!
Plastic wheel covers!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

IS
Ironoaks S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2019
We use this vehicle for our community patrol and it has met and exceeded our needs.
Both vehicles have preformed as expected over the past two years. Gas mileage is very good considering we drive a low speeds (20 to 40 MPH) and do a lot of turning while on patrol. We are very pleased with the performance of both vehicles.

Pros
as stated above

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Alan D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/08/2019
2019 ioniq blue.
We bought the ioniq blue because we wanted the gas mileage for a cheaper car. The pros cheap maintenance,rides nice, even the low model has touchscreen and nice interior. In summer I get 57-60 miles per gallon (more then advertised by 2-5 mpg more) intown and 45-50 highway (lower then the 55 mpg they said) after break in. Does well in the snow. Cons: seat bottom is not comfortable for long driving also seat doesn’t “hug you” no support,back window has a bar in the middle that disrupts your view backing up or seeing in rearview. Low mpgs when it’s winter (city 50/highway 40) some interior trim looks cheap even on the higher models. A lot of wind noise. Engine is rough when running.

Pros
The pros cheap maintenance,rides nice, even the low model has touchscreen and nice interior. In summer I get 57-60 miles per gallon (more then advertised by 2-5 mpg more) intown and 45-50 highway (lower then the 55 mpg they said) after break in. Does well in the snow.

Cons
Cons: seat bottom is not comfortable for long driving also seat doesn’t “hug you” no support,back window has a bar in the middle that disrupts your view backing up or seeing in rearview. Low mpgs when it’s winter (city 50/highway 40) some interior trim looks cheap even on the higher models. A lot of wind noise. Engine is rough when running.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AO
Andy O.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2019
A Prius-beater in almost every respect.
I have owned and driven 3 different Prius models, the last of which was a 2014 Liftback 3. With each I have had to drive carefully, using the onboard aids, to achieve good fuel economy - typically around 54-58mpg.

When it came time to trade in the 2014 for a new one, I was fully expecting to get another Prius, and even though the current 4th generation models are stylistically a cross between industrial origami on the outside, and cartoonish on the inside, I was more interested in driving quality and economy, along with suitable levels of equipment and trim. Unfortunately, Toyota have moved many of the features I like, such as GPS and keyless entry to models outside my price range, so I thought I'd see what else was on the market that might satisfy my fuel-efficient needs.

This took me to my local Hyundai dealer to have a look at a 2019 Ioniq SEL in Black Pearl. I was not expecting to be impressed, and when I got in it for the test drive, I wasn't. It looked and felt like a normal car. No extensive dashboard tools for eking out mileage, no mode buttons, not much of a geek-factor either. Yet lots of safety features such as lane keeping assist, cross-traffic sensors, automatic emergency braking, radar cruise control, blind-spot monitoring - none available on my Prius, and only on a new Prius at much higher price. And CarPlay, which was not available on a Prius at all, where Entune is still the totally useless, pointless, and entirely disappointing option.

The test drive was a revelation. It became immediately clear that the 6-speed/dual clutch transmission was a great deal more responsive than the Prius CVT, and moved the Ioniq along briskly and quietly, in ways the CVT never did. On the highway, acceleration into traffic was excellent, and overall, the car was comfortable, quiet, and well planted. I was impressed in ways the Prius had not managed in the test drives I'd had. Potentially good fuel efficiency, in a car that drove very normally - suddenly, that seemed like a very good thing.

Costed fully, the SEL worked out to be equivalent to a Prius costing almost $6000 more, and as long as I was able to return similar fuel-efficient results, I knew I'd be happy.

The first tank of fuel returned 61.3mpg, mixed city and highway, and in the warm temperatures this spring, the car is averaging 65mpg on my daily city commute. And it does this without me having to try, as I did before in the Prius. The result is a comfortable, pleasing, driving experience which is relaxing and satisfying.

When I stopped by the dealer, I told the salesperson that if any Prius owner came in to look at an Ioniq, to tell them that a satisfied customer with 12 years of Prius ownership said the only complaint is that it had taken so long to realize there was a better option to drive.

Pros
Comfortable
Quiet
Excellent dual clutch transmission
Well implemented safety aids
Great equipment level including CarPlay/Android Auto
Modest very effective styling inside and out
Dual-zone climate controls
Useful multi-function instrument display
Sport mode!

Cons
Lack of cargo cover supplied as standard ($150 extra)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EV
Elizabeth V.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2019
My new Prius
I love my new Ioniq...it runs like a Prius and is less expensive with a better overall warranty! This is an awesome car! It gets great gas milage like the Prius, and sometimes even better milage! Very comfortable and easy to drive.

Pros
I love everything about my new Ioniq

Cons
Wanted a sun roof...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Carlos G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/28/2019
IONIQ 2019
Nice car and would recommend it to my friends and family. Looking forward to taking it on a vacation this summer and see how well the advertised mileage is (55 MPG).
At the present time I am getting 55 MPG in town so I will see what it does on the highway driving.

Pros
great gas mileage.

Cons
No CD player

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Susan K.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/11/2019
Hyundai Ioniq
Absolutely have no words that can describe this wonderful hybrid its mileage and reliability is outstanding. I get any where from 58 to 64 mpg absolutely love it! Who said toyota doesnt have a competitor!! Need I say more?

Pros
Mileage and reliability

Cons
More cup holders? ?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Marr R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/27/2019
Ioniq Limited only gets 46 mpg
Love my 2019 inoniq limited except for one thing, gas mileage. After doing some post purchase research you prob won’t get 55mpg in the linited. Most users average 43-47mpg. My 2018 SEL was a solid 55 days overv50 deg and still over 50 on days around 40. The linited is 83 lbs heavier and uses a 17” tire. Had they used the 15” wheel are tire combo off the SEL I think a solid 50 would be possible. I’m considering now. Unless your in solid warmer than 70 deg temps I don’t see my limited getting my pre ious 55mpg my SEL got. That being said, I feel a bit duped by hyundai on the gas mileage and looking at buying the 15” sel wheel package. Interesubg note, the 2019 prius that come with sunroofs also are made to come with 15” tires and wheels from their 17” package so I think due extra weight on sunroof package to maintain 50/54 mpg. Other than that the limited ultimate package is a beautifully equipped car. Love the updated stereo, safety features, bluelink, toms of safety features. The bigger plug in hybrid electric motor wouid prin help too as long g as you can live with 45 mpg you will be happy. I drove a 2008 prius pkg 6 for 10 years very happily mileage 46/48 mpg ironically.

Pros
On limited ultimate Infinty stereo tons of legit safety features, bluelink for remote start, mem seats sunroof , Apple car play and android auto, passenger power outlet, beautiful logical interior, great leather, sport mode works really well, nice for when need the extra power. iPad holder in console

Cons
On limited totally disappointing gas Mileage 43-48 mpg, no 15 “ alloy wheel tire option with limited available to maintain 55 mpg. Cheap plastics on door bottoms, no HUD avail on limited like the prius, no auto sensing rain wipers, goes to headlights from DRL too soon in daylight, no LED headlights till 2020. No way to go to dedicated EV mode in hydrid. Motor seems underpowered for limited ultimate package extra weight, a 1.8 L motor wouid be welcome. No glove box light, no split glovebox no rear usb outlets option, on Canadian models offer rear heated seats in North America

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Adolfo A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/24/2019
I bought a brand new lemon!
Completely unsatisfied with the 2019 ionia Limited. Feels more like a Lemon than a brand new car.

Summary: if you are trying to avoid headaches and frustration, buy a prius.

I'll definitely spread the word to my fellow Veteran friends who are also interested in purchasing a Hybrid...Don't but the Ioniq.

Pros
Great looking car with nice features.

Cons
My Brand New Ioniq Limited is a lemon! I've had it for a month and I am experiencing engine issues. First it was a screeching noise (loose engine part), now, the gas engine is kicking in almost immediately when I begin driving. It's currently at the service department, hopefully they will resolve the issue(s).

In addition, I drive very slow, coasting when I can, to maximize the mpg, but I'm still around 45mpg.

If I had to do it again, I would have bought a Prius. :(

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 14 reviews