2020
Hyundai
NEXO

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(12 Reviews)
Latest review 15 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SO
SURESH O.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/02/2021
Excellent standard SUV
Silky smooth drive. Driving on highway or local roads feels like touchscreen experience, very smooth handling. Car feels very sturdy and well built, the new interior features are superior, built for daily usage. The control panel feels like driving spacecraft!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
Dmitry R.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/03/2020
Car of the future!
I love this car. You get incentives like the other clean air vehicles. The range is at least 350 miles so it's similar to other gas powered cars. Plus it's got the smart parking assist! If more hydrogen stations pop-up, I'm sure more people will wanna drive these cars.

Pros
It's A clean air vehicle. It's got really nice features that only people who drive it know want. It's exclusive.

Cons
Minor interior designs, but it's a new car. Doesn't have a lot of horsepower, but then this car isn't meant for that.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
Bruce R.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
Amazing vehicle
Just superlative. Refueling can be a bit difficult but that’s it ........................................................................................................................................

Pros
A sweet ride.... a move towards the future

Cons
Fuel cost .... and difficulty in refueling. It freezes over at times

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PR
Peter R.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
PRo
I have had the Nexo for 9 months and due to Covid-19 restrictions have driven it less than normal. But I have just passed the 3000 mi mark, and I can say that the Nexo has performed exceptionally well. It is a joy to drive it, and it can do 360 mi per Hydrogen tank. It takes all road grades with ease and can run at 70-80 mph for long distances on a freeway.

Pros
The Nexo Limited is a masterpiece.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JACK S.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
A vehicle surprise
I had a hybrid, which I was very happy with. The styling of this vehicle is so much better than the Hydrogen Toyota. The local dealer had 1 available, with incentives from Hyundai & California I couldn't pass it up. It's the most fun to drive, quick, nimble & fast. Love the big wide information screen. The Hydrogen stations are convent in California. Waiting for Nevada to have Hydrogen stations.

Pros
I love my Nexo. the best Hyundai I've owned. This is the families 6th Hyundai in the 15 years.

Cons
Only one concern, I love the interior, the seats are great. I just wonder about the mix of leather and cloth trim. Will the cloth wear as well as the leather.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jill M.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/28/2020
What should be a great experience is less then perfect.
We love this vehicle. The fuel and engine are excellent. The interior fittings wonderful. The handling very good. Comfort excellent. Interior and Exterior styling. Standard features very good. Two big problems are with the storage of stations on the radio and the impossible refund of a rental car needed for going out of range. The Radio drops all stored stations anytime from 1 hour after storing the stations - to 3 days later. Time consuming frustration. Customer service is worthless, once sent us to.Hyundi dealer that was closed. The navigation system also stores locations and randomly dumps them. The second area is the system for renting a car. We never received the vouchers. We have never been given accurate information for renting and receiving money from Hyundai for the rental. We had a competiors hydrogen car for 3 years - this process was easy and seamless.

Pros
Hydrogen, Fuel Card, Fully Features. excellent milage. I recommend the car, not the service.

Cons
Service locations (only 2 in So,Cal). Can not get fix to what was told as a software issue. Can not process refund for car rental. Can not receive refund for fuel purchased on our own debit card due to the card being denied.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Suelyn R.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
What a great followup to the Tucson FCEV.......and the only SUV based option out there.
Everything we hoped it would be as our third FCEV; Great technology package, SUV with a Sunroof. Looks FANTASTIC and handles well. Love the dash, lane keeping system is less intrusive than some others I have driven recently. Really a fine vehicle. that shows that Hyundai put a LOT of thought into their second version of a FCEV. Love the range as well as we are getting 350 or so and we do not drive conservatively.

Pros
pretty close to everything. I do not give 10's or 1's as an FYI.

Cons
The mapping feature to find the closest fueling station to you we have never been able to figure out how to use it. Wish that when I used my phone to autostart it, that it did not leave it running with the emergency flashers turned on until we get it. Looks funky when it is light outside and really weird when it is dark. Wish the USB plug that makes apple car play work was the lower one and not the upper one.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
Russell T.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
Great Green!
Love it. Not in love with the center console and woul love seat positions memory, but otherwise, great vehicle. We need good green alternatives to electric cars. Convenient to refill on longer trips.

Pros
Quiet ride, economical, new and interesting, GREEN

Cons
Need more refueling stations and some in neighboring states.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TY
Teck Y.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/28/2020
2020 Hyundai Nexo stylish with high tech features!
This vehicle is fun to drive with a lots of high tech features except memory seat/mirror and steering wheel. Very comfortable mid size SUV that can drive around in CA but have problem with the radio which been fixed and the braking system is kind of weird sometimes (The whole vehicle shake crazy while normal stopping on bumps or slippery roads.

Environment friendly with Zero emission which we liked. If leasing it, it will be fine with refill rebates or else you have to pay to refill the Hydrogen gas which will be more than the gas per tank ($100 about 380 miles). Acceleration is good compared to other Hydrogen cars now. Hope they can build more stations and all around ASAP as sometimes it is not enough and very inconvenient to all the owners.

Blue link function is a plus but was an headache when we registered/setup it, took almost 3 months. After that you can start/lock/heat/cool/reverse/park your vehicle with phone or remote. Just like Tesla. Overall, we like it because we leasing it with rebates or else, we might not want to purchase it with the $60K and pay for expensive refills. thanks :)

Pros
Environment friendly, Very Comfort with a lots of high tech features (Blue Link).

Acceleration is fast compared to other present Hydrogen cars.

Free refill with rebates.

Cons
Refill the Hydrogen is expensive compare to gas and have to drive far away (About 10 miles from my house) to refill it. Sometimes the refill station is emptied or out of services then you need to drive far away or wait for few hours or a day to refill it. No memory seat, mirror and steering wheel setup. Braking system is kind of weird sometimes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Dennis M.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/28/2020
Innovative but needs refinement
This vehicle has very innovative technology including cameras and zero emissions. However the gear shift design is awful and dangerous to the point I have to strap my dog in a harness in the back seat to prevent him from accidentally putting the car into a different gear. The gear shift buttons are also not always responsive. I’m not sure how that got signed off on as it’s a lawsuit waiting to happen. My other complaint is that the Navigation system is awful and can’t seem to find addresses of places that have been around for decades. I use my phone connected to the screen instead. If this is what Hyundai thinks is quality for their most expensive car, I would not even think about wasting money on a Genesis.

Pros
Zero emissions, most stylish of all Hydrogen vehicles available.

Cons
The gearshift design is dangerous and I would not be surprised if Hyundai ends up paying a massive settlement in a lawsuit someday due to the design flaw.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOSHUA C.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/28/2020
Fantastic Vehicle. Could use five changes!
I love the Nexo... I just want an additional driver side cupholder like the one that pops out for the front passenger. Second change is that I want a BLACK interior option. Lastly, accessories. I want all weather floor and trunk liners. Fourth, I want more service centers local to me. Lastly, the lane keeper assist needs to be refined to center the car better. I sways within a lane on the highway. Everything else is perfect with the vehicle.

Cons
Need an additional cup holder
Black interior option
More local SERVICE centers
Need accessories and most importantly...

... lane keeper assist needs to be refined to prevent inlane serving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
John L.
2020 Hyundai NEXO
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/02/2020
The best available Fuel Cell EV
I compared this car to the Honda Clarity and Toyota Mirai and the Hyunada Nexo is by far the best Fuel Cell vehicle available. I also look at buying a Tesla model 3, but the numbers for the Hyundai Nexo was so much better. Since it's the only Fuel Cell electric SUV, I think it beat a lot of the competition.

Pros
Hydrogen fuel cells
Good value for the money

Cons
Hard to find hydrogen gas stations
No memory seats
Cameras don't work very well in the rain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 12 reviews