2019
Hyundai
Veloster

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(70 Reviews)
Latest review 4 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JF
James F.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2019
Poor man's GTI
I had a GTI and loved it. This car cost thousands less. Yes, the GTI has a few more HP. It is a bit smoother in acceleration and is a more refined driving experience. But when I see the Veloster, it actually makes me smile. I think the styling is cooler. I have the Ultimate Turbo in sunset orange with the 6 speed. (Hyundai deserves HUGE kudos for making this car in cool colors with a stick shift!!!) SO many other car companies are wimping out and making "sports cars" that do not have manual transmissions. Or you CAN get a MT, but only stripped down and in an ugly color. HUGE credit to Hyundai on this.

The car is fun to drive, accelerates nicely and has great technology. If you have never had "rain sensing wipers," this feature alone is a huge bonus. The information on the gauges is not quite as easy to read or get to, as it is in some cars. But it is acceptable.

I bought this car in part because of the quirky door configuration, but I am a tiny bit bummed that it is not easier to access the back seat from the driver's side. A seat that folds forward and slides to allow access without needing to mess up your seat settings would have been nice. I know it can be done, because I have had cars that do it. That is a tiny knock, but it is an annoyance.

In most other respects, the car has given me little to complain about. No, it is not a GTI. But it is a great substitute for thousands of dollars less. And when you see it, it will make you smile.

Pros
Fun to drive, accelerates nicely, good gas mileage. Nice tech features. Styling that makes you smile. Great colors. Manual transmission.

Cons
Hard to access back seat from driver's side. Cup holders are poorly placed for use with a stick shift.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
Shanin R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2019
2019 Veloster
Absolutely love this car! From the body design to the comfort seating, Like the options of having 3 different drive mode. Surround sound awesome. Low noise! Easy to maneuver and get around! Plenty of room!!

Pros
Love everything about it!

Cons
Seatbelt alert too high pitch
Need reverse camera alert sound low deep pitch
Hard for Hearing impaired to hear high pitch
Paint chipped near the foot step ledge driver side, from debris hitting the barely sticking out panel not flesh with the exterior door
Grip on steering is alittle tense, without the in lane mode

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
KIRK G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2019
Verloster 2019 - Great Value with Style
We really enjoy driving our new 2019 Veloster. I didn't even consider this car until I saw it. We test drove it and love it. We purchased the base model which very stylish, feature rich, good pick-up with good gas mileage. My 14 year old son says this is going to be my car when I get my license.

Pros
Stylish. Good gas mileage. Good pick-up in sport mode. Bluetooth and Carplay are great with the touch screen.

Cons
Should be more convenience features in base model, like power seats and position saving, backing up alert when close to object. Doesn't have driving lights below the headlights

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
James S.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
I'm in love with my Sunset Orange 2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo R-Spec
You might think this review is written by someone at Hyundai because I say all the right things... but it's probably because I'm a new fan-boy. This is my 3rd Hyundai product (previous 2 were 2014 Kia Cadenza and 2014 Kia Soul) and I'm very impressed so far. The R-Spec is exactly the car I was looking for and more. I wanted a small, at least decently powered car that was fun. The car comes with sticky sport tires and a short throw 6 speed manual... It's got all the tech I could ever need... it's just what I was looking for and the price was too good to pass on. I would highly recommend this car as it just puts a smile on your face every time you drive it.

Pros
Fun, tech, sporty, design, quirky, color, all the other things.

Cons
Had one wheel that needed to be replaced because the clear coat was coming off badly. Warranty took care of it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
Noreen M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2019
Veloster is Great
This is the second Veloster I have owned, and I love this car. It is sporty, fun to drive and has great styling. My husband and I have taken several long trips and it is very comfortable and there is ample storage for luggage. One major consideration when purchasing the first Veloster was that it has front wheel drive. It handles great in the snow.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anita M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2019
Love teh Veloster
We bought the 2019 1.6 Turbo model and think it's well worth the extra $$ for all the extra features and power. Rear window visibility is adequate but limited, but you get used to it. The smart features such as driver's assist and blind side warnings are great to have and definitely keep you safer on the road. This car is sporty and well worth the money.

Pros
Safety features

Cons
Limited rear window visibility

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SITHIDETH K.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2019
Veloster N is beyond my expectations
This car's main competitors are the Focus ST, Civic Si and Golf GTi and the performance exceeds all of those cars. I now know why people compare this to the Civic Type-R constantly. Getting behind the wheel of this car pretty much every day, it has put a smile on my face, no matter how bad of a work day I had.

Pros
-Quick car
-Handling exceeds other cars under the $30k price point
-Easy to completely disable traction and stability control

Cons
-Was released during winter and only offered summer tires
-Found a screw on the floor in the back and have no idea how it got there or what's loose

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Anita C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2019
Awesome Car
Awesome car, it is fun to drive and economical even with the turbo and manual transmission.. As previous owner of a Veloster I would definitely recommend them. The safety features of the car was a selling point, along with the overall appearance and style of the car.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Annette R.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/27/2019
Best bang for the buck sports car
I got the r-spec and it is an amazing first car. Lots of features and fun for the price. Everything works as it should. I couldn't of asked for a better car for the price. I really enjoy it. The styling is also very good.

Pros
Fun to drive
Good MPG
Cheap price
Cool features

Cons
Interior creeks sometimes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Theodore G.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/25/2019
veloster N
originally I was going to purchase the turbo r spec , but was suggested to seriously consider the N model....im glad I did as it exceeded my expectations in all areas, price, engine, handling, appearance etc., but most of all color....the perform blue is incredible and this car can be tuned right in the vehicle while driving and its a blast....

Pros
great value , handles fantastic, color , reliable

Cons
interior sparce,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VM
Vinicius M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/24/2019
2019 Veloster turbo ultimate
Great car, fun to drive, I have my veloster since August 2018, and I'm still excited about the car, the fun factor is amazing, I own a 6 speed manual, ultimate turbo
I find the seats to be very comfortable, and the car have so much technology, the only thing I would ask Hyundai it would be for a better Exhaust system where it would crackle like the veloster N, something you have the option to order, over all I love my car and would recommend, I'm very happy with my choice,
I was always a honda fan in the past, but Hyundai won me over with the veloster.

Pros
All around fun car, it delivers the power when it needs it. It is that simple,
I'm a proud owner

Cons
I hear a small sound inside the dashboard when I drive, Seems like a lose screw

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Renee M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2019
I love my Veloster
This is my second Veloster . I had the 2016 and now I have the 2019 Turbo. Great handling, style and love the new features. It’s styish. I have The moonroof and set sun on my forehead almost every day.

Pros
I get tons of compliments on style. Plus it’s very roomie. I can fit a 6 ft. Christmas tree by just folding Down the seats . Plus it’s so fun to drive.

Cons
Front end is low so I hit a parking pilon day one and bent the under carriage of the bumper.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Terrance C.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/23/2019
Everything you want and need
I've owned two 2029 Velosters - a turbo ultimate and now the N. And t need your help. We need to buy more of these N models so they can justify just putting all the stuff that makes the Ultimate even a model into the N - heated seats and will charger would be nice, but I'm thinking big like two tone interior and exterior and more paint options like Sunset Orange. That's really all the car needs.

It's fast, slick 6 speed manual is a delight to operate, it has more cargo space than a Jeep renegade, it sounds fantastic, it's thunderously fun to drive, a laugh on a back road, and you can tune how the car drives on top of the preset modes.

I cannot wait to see what they do next, because I haven't had this much fun driving since the 90's...and I was a bit young to appreciate my dad's "active driving" style then.

Test drive this car and I think you'll fall in love with it too - just remember, in the winter you'll need winter tires if you live in a place that actually has snow or ice or before 40F temps regularly. You'll thank me later.

Pros
Incredibly fun to drive, more cargo space than you expect, great performance and handling, best cloth seats at and above its price point, aggressive MSRP

Cons
Dealers are marking these up like crazy so be careful, no real significant color on the inside, limited exterior colors, no heated seats

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michael D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
Veloster Turbo R Spec
Car is super fun to drive and handles incredibly well. Looks awesome and it's fun in a 6 speed manual. Awesome wheels and tires and the interior is nicely layed out and comfortable. Road noise is prevalent and some of the plastics look cheap

Pros
Fun to drive, great on gas, tons of cargo room, comfortable seats

Cons
My Bluelink never has worked and the dealership can't fix it, car is not great in any type of snow, some of the interior plastics are cheap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Melissa M.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2019
Excellent car for a writer or college student
After purchasing this car, I am very satisfied! As a writer, I find that I am making phone calls and texting on a regular basis and this car allows for both, through Apple car play—I don’t have to take my hands off the wheel to complet the task. The car offers comfortable seats, speed (sport mode) and gas saving mode (smart). There is also a lot of room for passengers and amazing surround sound speakers, which is important for singers (like myself)!

Pros
Apple car play, sport and smart mode, comfortable seats, lower to the ground, lots of room for passengers

Cons
Sirius XM radio

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
Delilah P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/15/2019
100% satisfied
I love the Veloster and it's sporty body style. It gets excellent mileage in economy setting. It handles great and functions very stable. The vehicle has a lot of power and accelerates very smooth. I love the three door style which makes it unique. The phone feature that syncs with the car is so easy and convenient and is used 100%. Overall as a first time owner of a new vehicle I am 150% satisfied with my choice with the 2019 Veloster. Best car I've ever owned!

Pros
GREAT mileage; comfortable to drive; handles the road snug and sturdy; very responsive with precision control; features for connectivity to phone are great; sun/moon roof is awsome; sound system has clarity; for a smaller vehicle it has lots of room; love the three door style; safety side mirror notification of other vehicles is a definite plus; trunk/hatchback stores all our needs.

Cons
I'm short and wished the visors extended further down to block the sun out better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
Eliezer D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/13/2019
Love my veloster manual 6 speed 2.0
Love my 2019 Hyundai Veloster 2.0 manual 6 speed . Fast little car that moves when you need it too. Saves on gas. Suspension is tight like I like it. Turns corner with ease of handling. Totally change my mind to a positive about Hyundai product.

Pros
Love the car

Cons
Nothing bad about my car

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Richard D.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/12/2019
"Sonic Silver" 2019 Veloster 2.0
This is my very first new vehicle purchase, ever! I am very happy with the trade equity, as well as the final up-front deal that I received from Grappone Hyundai. My new 2019 Veloster 2.0 has everything that I both need or could ever want in my car! The sporty look & feel, the strong fuel economy, the good performance, plus the overall build quality is also very strong with this model. Cheers to the 2019 Veloster's new design!

Pros
The amount of up-scale standard features that come included, which is quite typical actually (Thank God) for both Hyundai & KIA alike!

Cons
No sunroof on the base model. The engine on the base model can be a bit sluggish while driving under Normal Mode.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
Stephen A.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2019
Veloster turbo
Great car,plenty of pep for getting into us 19 traffic, and great gas mileage ,really good price point for everything you get, my car is the one called the ultimate so it has all the bells and whistles, I really enjoy driving it.

Pros
Very nimble and affordable car

Cons
Full leather seats not available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RP
ROBERTO P.
2019 Hyundai Veloster
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2019
2019 Veloster Premium
Surprised with the overall quality of the vehicle and the style did for me. I was very surprised wit the overall vehicle quality and finishes. The paint was flawless and te entertainment system far exceeded my expectations. Love the Veloster.

Pros
Style, fun to drive, good performance and above all, the overall quality of the vehicle. I was surprised to learn that Hyundai quality and manufacturing standards for their latest vehicle. Impressive. Rear visibility is not an issue as reported by professional reviewers and when compared to other similar hatchbacks. Entertainment system is very good and functional.

Cons
Driver seat lacks lumbar support and passenger seat lacks most of the common adjustments specially height. Also needing for additional comfort are exit handles for the driver and rear passengers. Interior noise abatement could be improved to complete the overall driving satisfaction.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 70 in total