TJ's Auto Center

Reviews (373)

rating 4.9061647rating 4.9061647rating 4.9061647rating 4.9061647rating 4.9061647

Recommend?
99%

Hours of Operation

Mon 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sat closed
Sun closed
3427 E. State St
Rockford, IL 61108
(815) 399-2886
About Welcome to TJ's Auto Center Inc. a full service facility specializing in Fuel Injection, Heating, Tune-ups, Ignition, Alternators, Starters, Air Conditioning and most everything you need to keep your Domestic or Foreign car running like new. We feature our quick no appointment "Lightning Lube". Drive in and get an oil, lube and filter while you wait. Stop by TJ's today and give your car that well deserved oil change regularly, and receive a $2.00 discount good on your next oil change at TJ's "Lightning Lube". Call for an appointment at 815.399.2886 and our professional staff will repair your car quickly and at very competitive prices. Our hours are 7:30 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday. We're located on the corner of East State and Fairview in Rockford so stop by for a visit soon. Thank you from the owners and the staff of TJ's Auto Center Inc. and Lightning Lube.

Latest Reviews for TJ's Auto Center
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
honest, reliable service.
very good service and was done in a reasonable time and diagnosed another problem I had with out being asked which three other places could not tell me what the noise I was hearing in the back of my van, would highly recommend. Trustworthy service and mechanics.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Astro
Service Date: 03/10/2015
Review Created: 03/14/2015 08:30 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Marilyn said she is satisfied with the business. She has been a customer for years. They provide good service.
Vehicle: Buick LeSabre
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/09/2015
Review Created: 03/13/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
Sean N. in Rockford, IL on 03/13/2015
Sean said this business did a great job. He said they had really good customer service and the work they did was great. He will return to them for service in the future.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Cavalier
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/12/2015
Review Created: 03/13/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
Matt C. in Rockford, IL on 03/11/2015
Matt said the business did a good job providing service for his vehicle.
Vehicle: GMC Sierra
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/06/2015
Review Created: 03/11/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Always accommodating
Any time I come in Tim and the gang goes out of there way to help me fix my problem in the most efficient way possible. Love this place!
Vehicle: Subaru Outback
Service Date: 03/04/2015
Review Created: 03/06/2015 10:22 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
SUE C. in Rockford, IL on 03/04/2015
It's great to get a same day appointment.
Service was quick and friendly.
Vehicle: Jeep Liberty
Service Date: 03/03/2015
Review Created: 03/04/2015 07:49 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Martin said this business did a really good job with getting him in on time and getting the job done. They fixed the problem with his headlights, which made him really happy. His vehicle is doing great now and he would absolutely recommend them to others.
Vehicle: Chevrolet HHR
Category: Service
Service Date: 02/25/2015
Review Created: 03/03/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Great service and advise.
Took car in for a grease and oil change. Brought car out with a new battery and well as the grease and oil change, because Tim noticed it was needed. Thank you so much.
Vehicle: Subaru Forester
Service Date: 02/19/2015
Review Created: 02/23/2015 11:49 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Stephanie said the business got her heater working.
Vehicle: Pontiac Grand Prix
Category: Service
Service Date: 02/16/2015
Review Created: 02/20/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Trust in Tim's Mechanics
The Toyota needed a complete work over as far as the suspension system was concerned. TJ's Auto Center did a great job on getting this extensive work done in a reasonable time. Very happy and please with the work done. Looking forward to many more miles with this auto.
Vehicle: Toyota Camry
Service Date: 02/18/2015
Review Created: 02/19/2015 07:38 PM
rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Recommended?
No
Spoke with Sheila. She said this business did a diagnostic and fixed what the machine said was wrong. She was charged $400 for this repair, but that was not the problem. They thought her on board computer needed to be fixed and they were going to charge her $1000 for this repair. She had someone outside of this business pick up her vehicle. She spent $300 for the crank shaft sensor repair and now her vehicle is working. She would not recommend others to this business over the issues already mentioned.
Vehicle: Pontiac Montana
Category: Service
Service Date: 02/13/2015
Review Created: 02/19/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
B2d35d29f708729facbcfe9cfd3141d8?s=28
Tim J., Owner at TJ's Auto Center responded on 03/06/2015

Sheila,

I was just wondering did you end up taking it to two different places besides us? Because we only charged you for the tow which was $65. We didn't feel right in charging for anything for diagnosis because we couldnt fix it. Feel free to call me if you even want to, but we quoted some possibilities, but didn't charge you anything but the $65 tow, only because we have an outside source that tows for us. I don't blame you for not being happy with us, but I thought I was doing the right thing by not charging you for anything including our time and parts etc. I just don't want to be blamed for something that wasn't true.

TIM JAVUREK
TJ's Auto Center
815-399-2886
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Elaine said the business is so considerate. They picked up her vehicle and she is very satisfied with the service.
Vehicle: Mercury Tracer
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/15/2015
Review Created: 02/19/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Les said the business does a good job.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Impala
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/19/2015
Review Created: 02/19/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Sarah said the business was good and appreciated them not trying to up sell her anything.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Cobalt
Category: Service
Service Date: 02/02/2015
Review Created: 02/18/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Robert said the business is really good.
Vehicle: Saturn SC1
Category: Service
Service Date: 02/06/2015
Review Created: 02/17/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
Eric K. in Rockford, IL on 02/17/2015
Eric said the business helped him with a tow. The price was reasonable.
Vehicle: GMC Envoy XL
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/29/2015
Review Created: 02/17/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
oil change
Always prompt and courteous service and very customer oriented.A trustworthy shop for any automotive need.
Vehicle: Volvo S80
Service Date: 02/10/2015
Review Created: 02/11/2015 09:14 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Patricia said the business was very honest and took the time to explain everything to her in detail.
Vehicle: Toyota Camry
Category: Service
Service Date: 01/30/2015
Review Created: 02/04/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
family atmosphere
Tim, Peggy and crew give personal, conscientious auto service. Very pleasant, reliable, on time.
Vehicle: Mercury Montego
Service Date: 01/27/2015
Review Created: 01/30/2015 06:33 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
MATT G. in Rockford, IL on 01/22/2015
great as always
have used these guys for years. I only go to them. Highly recommended!
Vehicle: Pontiac Grand Am
Service Date: 01/21/2015
Review Created: 01/22/2015 08:04 PM
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 373 in total
0 out of 5


Click a star to enter your rating. 5 stars is the highest.
What makes the place so great (or not) in just a few words.
format mm/dd/yyyy
About You
We only ever display the first letter of your last name.
Your email address is never published on our website. This is for verification purposes.
By clicking on the button, you agree to the Terms of Service
Send a Message