TJ's Auto Center

Reviews (339)

rating 4.908554rating 4.908554rating 4.908554rating 4.908554rating 4.908554

Recommend?
99%

Hours of Operation

Mon 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tue 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wed 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thu 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Fri 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sat closed
Sun closed
3427 E. State St
Rockford, IL 61108
(815) 399-2886
About Welcome to TJ's Auto Center Inc. a full service facility specializing in Fuel Injection, Heating, Tune-ups, Ignition, Alternators, Starters, Air Conditioning and most everything you need to keep your Domestic or Foreign car running like new. We feature our quick no appointment "Lightning Lube". Drive in and get an oil, lube and filter while you wait. Stop by TJ's today and give your car that well deserved oil change regularly, and receive a $2.00 discount good on your next oil change at TJ's "Lightning Lube". Call for an appointment at 815.399.2886 and our professional staff will repair your car quickly and at very competitive prices. Our hours are 7:30 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday. We're located on the corner of East State and Fairview in Rockford so stop by for a visit soon. Thank you from the owners and the staff of TJ's Auto Center Inc. and Lightning Lube.

Latest Reviews for TJ's Auto Center
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
Jim H. in Rockford, IL on 12/09/2014
Jim said this business does the work right.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Impala
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/04/2014
Review Created: 12/09/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
MATT G. in Rockford, IL on 12/08/2014
Professionalism. Period.
These guys are straight to the point. No haggle, no hassle. I had a big coolant and radiator problem that took forever to fix a while back, going thru different shops and 'mechanic' friends. These guys solved it, and have been doing my routine general car maintenance since.

For reference, I own a 1995 Pontiac Grand Am. My car was very well unusable up until this point as the temperature gauge kept creeping into the higher temps causing unwanted wear and tear on top of stress as it's my only car. I'm very grateful for their service.

Very friendly, and straight to the point, while describing specifically what the problem is while diagnosing your vehicle. Highly recommended!
Vehicle: Pontiac Grand Am
Service Date: 12/08/2014
Review Created: 12/08/2014 07:38 PM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
Jeff S. in Rockford, IL on 12/08/2014
Jeff said the business did what they said they would in the time frame promised and the cost was good.
Vehicle: GMC Acadia
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/01/2014
Review Created: 12/08/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 4rating 4rating 4rating 4rating 4
Recommended?
Yes
Chris said this business answered all of his questions and they finished in a timely manner.
Vehicle: Pontiac Grand Prix
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/02/2014
Review Created: 12/08/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Promp service.
I really appreciate the prompt service and advice given to me about my car.
Vehicle: Subaru Forester
Service Date: 12/02/2014
Review Created: 12/07/2014 01:05 PM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
JIM R. in Rockford, IL on 12/05/2014
Honesty about problems. Good work.
They are thorough in their work and tell you about additional problems ,if any and the possible cost.
Vehicle: Ford Focus
Service Date: 12/03/2014
Review Created: 12/05/2014 08:27 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
recent maintenance
Efficient, friendly, caring, careful
Vehicle: Chrysler Voyager
Service Date: 12/02/2014
Review Created: 12/03/2014 03:51 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
WEB S. in Rockford, IL on 11/25/2014
fixing unknown probelm
Thanks for your patience and reasonable costs for finding a possible major but actually maybe not so big problem with our car. You spent time driving and racking it and uncovered a walnut in full shell rattling on rare occasion somewhere in the brake area.. It could have been some huge mechanical problem and at least the walnut might have damaged something. What you need to know is our gratefulness that you took us in just before closing and tried to find it then. And you persisted until resolved the next day, Thanks much.
Vehicle: Mercury Sable
Service Date: 11/07/2014
Review Created: 11/25/2014 11:23 AM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Personal service.
They make you feel special
Vehicle: Ford Freestar
Service Date: 11/20/2014
Review Created: 11/22/2014 12:19 PM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
Nancy H. in Illinois on 11/21/2014
Nancy said this business provides prompt service.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Impala
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/21/2014
Review Created: 11/21/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Spoke with Mary. She said the business was very prompt. They fixed the problem and were very polite. They bend over backwards for their customers.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Chevy Express
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/08/2014
Review Created: 11/21/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Good Service
Thanks for your work. Well done!
Vehicle: Dodge Grand Caravan
Service Date: 11/17/2014
Review Created: 11/18/2014 07:58 PM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Diane said TJ was polite and friendly. The business worked him in without an appointment.
Vehicle: Buick LaCrosse
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/13/2014
Review Created: 11/18/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Barbara said the staff was very nice.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Impala
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/12/2014
Review Created: 11/15/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
excellent, knowledgeable staff
Always the best service
Vehicle: Toyota RAV4
Service Date: 11/11/2014
Review Created: 11/14/2014 01:57 PM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
Jim D. in Rockford, IL on 11/14/2014
Jim said they have good service at this business and they are thorough.
Vehicle: Chrysler Sebring
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/07/2014
Review Created: 11/14/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Sharon said she has been going to them for years and they have always done a good job.
Vehicle: Ford Focus
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/03/2014
Review Created: 11/13/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
David said the business did a good job and he never has to go back for any issues.
Vehicle: Lincoln Town Car
Category: Service
Service Date: 10/23/2014
Review Created: 11/07/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
ANTHONY P. on 11/06/2014
TJ's is the best auto repair shop that I have been to in Rockford
It's nice to deal with people who really care about the quality of the work that they do.
At TJ's Auto Repair the folks there really do care I will return and I will recommend this
shop.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Suburban
Service Date: 11/04/2014
Review Created: 11/06/2014 08:52 PM
rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5rating 5
Recommended?
Yes
Verified by SureCritic
WEB S. in Rockford, IL on 11/03/2014
oil change and basic inspection of vehicle
good job. reasonable price. car runs well.
rthenks.
Vehicle: Mercury Sable
Service Date: 10/21/2014
Review Created: 11/03/2014 10:30 AM
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 339 in total
0 out of 5


Click a star to enter your rating. 5 stars is the highest.
What makes the place so great (or not) in just a few words.
format mm/dd/yyyy
About You
We only ever display the first letter of your last name.
Your email address is never published on our website. This is for verification purposes.
By clicking on the button, you agree to the Terms of Service
Send a Message