Chandler and Sons Automotive


Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5Overall Rating 4.72/5rating 4.72

155 Reviews

95% Would Recommend
Latest Review 2 days ago
DON Z. on 11/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Thanks Again"
Always a satisfied customer with Chandler and Sons. Thank you guys. Prompt, friendly, and reasonable.
Vehicle: Ford Police Interceptor
Service Date: 11/17/2017
Review Created: 11/20/2017 12:50 PM
WILLIAM S. on 11/09/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"They alwaays treat me right!"
Always treat me fair and honestly. Really appreciate the great customer service. Will always take my cars there when I need service.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Corvette
Service Date: 11/08/2017
Review Created: 11/09/2017 02:56 AM
PAT N. on 11/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Regular Service"
Always pleased with the service & professional approach. Nate is a joy.
Have been doing business with Chandlers for over 25 years.
Vehicle: Honda Accord Cpe
Service Date: 11/07/2017
Review Created: 11/08/2017 09:00 AM
JAMES S. on 11/05/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good, honest and quick service"
Personalized service, honest, great turnaround and communication. I have been a customer for over 2 years and am very satisfied
Vehicle: Ford Pickup
Service Date: 10/13/2017
Review Created: 11/05/2017 03:07 AM
DAVID H. on 10/31/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Jeep service"
As always very professional and prompt.
Vehicle: Jeep Grand Cherokee
Service Date: 10/30/2017
Review Created: 10/31/2017 07:36 AM
LARRY T. on 10/15/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Expertise and integrity"
Expertise and integrity. What more do I need to say? I have used Chandler and Sons for 15 years or more for all my vehicles. They really know their stuff. I am confident that, if they tell me I need some work done, it needs to be done, and they will not try to get me to approve something that does not need to be done. In fact, if I ask them about something that I think may need to be done, and it does not need to be done, they will tell me so, even though it means they may be losing some revenue for not doing the work. They are very careful to explain to me, being not very mechanically inclined, exactly what needs to be done, why it needs to be done, and how that particular system or piece works in my vehicle. Very satisfied.
Vehicle: Toyota Camry
Service Date: 10/13/2017
Review Created: 10/15/2017 05:10 AM
ANNA MARIA D. on 10/13/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Safety Inspection"
Excellent service.
Vehicle: Lexus ES 300
Service Date: 10/12/2017
Review Created: 10/13/2017 07:38 AM
ROY M. on 10/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Service done right"
I have been a customer at Chandler & Sons for many years and when they repair a car or do routine maintenance, the job is done right.
Vehicle: Toyota Corolla
Service Date: 10/02/2017
Review Created: 10/10/2017 04:53 AM
ANNA MARIA D. on 10/03/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Regular maintenance & oil change."
Excellent.
Vehicle: Honda Accord
Service Date: 10/02/2017
Review Created: 10/03/2017 03:06 PM
SAMUEL B. on 10/03/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Regular maintenance"
Great communication as always. They do not try and sell you something that you do not need.
Vehicle: Subaru Legacy
Service Date: 10/02/2017
Review Created: 10/03/2017 10:29 AM
JOHN F. on 10/03/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Rip Off"
First, the positive... the staff was friendly and amusing. I brought my car in to be inspected because I had just moved here. Chandler told me my car needed $1,000 of various repairs. . I was suspicious of this assessment because I had just had it in another shop two months previously with a very trusted repair shop from where I had just moved. They did not find any problems with my car. I called the previous shop where I used to live and told them of the diagnosis. They too didnt trust the new assessment. What made me further suspicious was the the woman before me was also given a similar diagnosis of her car. So, I took the car in to two more places. In both those cases, they found nothing wrong with my car other than a fog light needing replacement. The car passed inspection with no problems once I had the light fixed. By the way, the cost Chandler was going to charge me to replace the light was five times the cost of what I paid the shop where I had the work was done. I do not trust that chandler will give you an honest assessment.
Vehicle: Chrysler Sebring
Service Date: 09/05/2017
Review Created: 10/03/2017 05:52 AM
Fred C. at Chandler and Sons Automotive responded on 10/12/2017

Hello and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very sorry you did not have a good experience with your first Virginia Safety Inspection. Unfortunatly we are bound by Virginia State Law when it come to how a Safety Inspection is performed. Every vehicle is inspected the same way and for the same safety problems. The results of your vehicle's inspection were as follows: 

1. RIGHT FRONT FOG LIGHT INOP
2. HEADLIGHT LENSES CLOUDY, OUT OF ALIGNMENT
3. RIGHT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM BUSHING IS TORN - REAR POSITION ON FRONT ARM
4. RIGHT REAR UPPER CONTROL ARM BUSHING IS TORN -INNER POSITION

The inspector who checked your car has over 17 years experience as a certified Virginia Safety Inspector and performs inspections according to the requirements set forth by The Virginia State Police. The notes about the inspection results are very detailed and accurate. If you would like to bring your vehicle back to our shop, we would be happy to show you exactly why your vehicle did not pass inspection. If you have a reason to suspect the results of the inspection are inaccurate, we encourage you to contact the Virginia State Police and have a Trooper check to see if those problems are present or not. The estimate we provided you to repair the fog light was $35.18 labor and $24.09 plus tax = $60.72. That you were able to get another shop to repair the fog light including parts and labor for five times less money doesn't sound believable.
It is true the vehicle before yours was given a similar diagnosis of having a torn control arm bushing, and we inspect every vehicle the same way so we often find similar problems. Imagine that! Rubber suspension bushings are subject to wear and tear as well as dry rot from aging. The bushings on your vehicle are now 10 years old and no longer have the same performance. Similar to how an old rubber band looses it's elasticity, rubber suspension bushings also fail due to age. The customer before you was a regular and understood the need for repair, and had it done.
I question how you were able to get an approval without repairing the documented issues. Maybe that is a question better left to the State Police.

Mike Chandler

DON Z. on 09/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Shop!"
I am always happy to use Chandler and Sons Automotive. They are honest and good people.
Vehicle: Ford Police Interceptor
Service Date: 09/25/2017
Review Created: 09/26/2017 06:44 AM
STACEY A N. on 09/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Review"
Friendly and knowledgeable
Vehicle: Buick Encore
Service Date: 09/25/2017
Review Created: 09/26/2017 04:54 AM
ANDY B. on 09/09/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Service like your part of the family"
Ten stars for another great experience at chandler and sons
Vehicle: GMC Savana Cutaway
Service Date: 09/08/2017
Review Created: 09/09/2017 01:06 PM
JASON B. on 09/02/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Tires"
Went in and got 2 new tires put on in under an hour. This is the only place I take my 2 cars to for anything.
Vehicle: Nissan Pathfinder
Service Date: 09/01/2017
Review Created: 09/02/2017 09:36 AM
ANNA MARIA D. on 08/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Oil Change"
Excellent.
Vehicle: Lexus ES 300
Service Date: 08/10/2017
Review Created: 08/12/2017 11:23 AM
CINDY G. on 08/02/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Experienced, knowledgeable technications and staff"
The work was done as promised within quoted estimate. I never worry when I take my auto to them as they have always been honest and up-front in their negotiations/transactions and the workmanship is always professional and reliable. Thank you to the team at Chandler & Sons Automotive.
Vehicle: Toyota Avalon
Service Date: 08/01/2017
Review Created: 08/02/2017 12:55 PM
SAMUEL P. on 07/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Patience + Competence"
Keeping a 16 yr old vehicle alive and kicking!
Vehicle: Lincoln LS
Service Date: 07/28/2017
Review Created: 07/29/2017 04:56 AM
RICHARD C. on 07/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Friendly service, just like the small town garage."
The temp gauge in truck stopped working. I stopped in to see if they could fix it that day. The staff said sure and proceeded to fix problem, while I waited in the nice lounge. Richard
Vehicle: Ford Pickup
Service Date: 07/26/2017
Review Created: 07/28/2017 12:30 PM
PAUL W. on 07/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good job"
Fixed the problem in good time.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Equinox
Service Date: 07/11/2017
Review Created: 07/23/2017 01:32 PM
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 155 in total